Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than theatrical release
I've been dying to see this directors cut of The Chronicles Of Riddick for some time, in the U.S, it came out at the same time as the normal version, so i thought we'd never end up getting it. But, i am pleased to say that i was wrong.
While being a big fan of the theatrical cut, i always had the feeling that an extended cut would be better recieved by the common...
Published on 21 Sep 2005 by MC

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sci-fi fun
The Chronicles of Riddick is an epic, messy film with some big ideas and good intentions but hampered by bad execution.

Following on from the exceptional Pitch Black, this beefs up the story and mythos to extraordinary levels. Kudos must go to David Twohy for the sheer imagination and spectacle he has on show here. The problem is it is too much in one film. The...
Published 16 months ago by T. Cosens


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than theatrical release, 21 Sep 2005
By 
This review is from: The Chronicles Of Riddick (2 Disc Directors Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
I've been dying to see this directors cut of The Chronicles Of Riddick for some time, in the U.S, it came out at the same time as the normal version, so i thought we'd never end up getting it. But, i am pleased to say that i was wrong.
While being a big fan of the theatrical cut, i always had the feeling that an extended cut would be better recieved by the common movie goer, and would help the movie flow. This is true, as in the directors cut we get more of a history for Riddick, and we get more information on his Furyan origins and on why his race is almost extinct, making Riddick seem a lot more important to the universe than he seemed in the other cut. We also get a new character in the movie, a woman (presumably Furyan, maybe his mother) who comes to Riddick in his dreams to remind him of the terrible tragedy that happened on the planet. We also get a few tantalising glimpses of Furya itself, whetting the appetite even further for the sequels. Also, supporting characters like Jack/Kyra, the mercs who catch Riddick, Lord and Dame Vaako and the Norwegian prisoner leader are more fleshed out, giving us extra oppurtunity to identify with them.
The action scenes on Crematoria are also extended including a spectacular new part were Riddick comes to truly realise he is Furyan and who it was who destroyed his race's world. Other action scenes in the movie are either the same or only extended by a few seconds of extra footage.
The new footage also serves to make some scenes of the movie more emotionally charged and just that little bit more exciting. For example, when Riddick is looking at the devastation when the Necromonger invade Helion Prime, we see flashback of Furya, and also the final 30 mins in necropolis. So if you didnt like the theatrical cut, give this a try, if you liked the theatrical cut, definately buy this, anyone who has not seen either, i would recommend both, but the directors cut is the better movie.
I've heard that in the planned sequels they will go to the underverse in number 2 and then back to Furya in number 3, i sure hope these get made as i love the character and the movies, and this could turn out to be a great sci-fi saga in the years to come, and the more people who buy the DVD the more chance we have of the sequels getting made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most underrated film ever, 28 Jan 2006
By 
Runeweaver - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chronicles Of Riddick (2 Disc Directors Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
This film has been overlooked by the masses,because film critics called it Chronicles Of ridiculous,and gave it 1 star ratings.But if you check the scores of people on amazon who have seen it,most love it,I do too.Im so glad i bought both versions,as they both have a very different feel to them,So dont wait buy it,you will be very glad you did.The film draws you in right at the start and the only downsides to this film are,that it has to end,and that there probably wont be a sequel,due to the bad taste of you average highly paid film critic.
Well seems my last comment might be wrong,as Vin Diesel has commented in a recent interview,that there might be another film,so fingers crossed riddick fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex & Quality Story, 25 Oct 2005
By 
J. H. Sweet - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chronicles Of Riddick (2 Disc Directors Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
I am a discriminating Sci-Fi fan, both literature and film, and I definitely do not agree with what professional critics had to say about this movie. I'm glad I didn't pay attention to the reviews and watched it for myself.
The story includes Dune-like intricacies (prophecy, conflicting character motives, foreshadow, plots within plots, human weaknesses, multiple heroes, patience, questionable morality, rituals, inner challenges, sacrifice, etc.) but without the extended, drawn-out politics to slow the story. It is fast paced and entertaining along with the important issues and messages. The art in this film is breathtaking including the rocky fins and caves of the ice planet, the Necromonger ship; the sparkling seas, sands, and architecture of Helion Prime; and the brutal beauty of the jagged, glassy, and blistering Crematoria. The DVD version really showcases the artistic elements of this movie.
The film has a Conan flavor with the non-traditional and non-innocent hero doing the right thing instead of the easy thing, and getting involved though he doesn't have to. The superhero (and regular hero) qualities of the Riddick character are also a nice addition to the story: speed, protection of the weak, strength, ease of killing, frequent flying through the air during attacks/escapes, quick thinking, sense of humor, resistance to Necromonger mental intrusion, enhanced eyes for night vision (Achilles heel being light sensitivity), precision, gracefulness despite bulk, piloting skills, use of varied weaponry, respect for life, risk taking, etc. The combination of weaponry is also interesting - unique craftsmanship blades mixed with Sci-Fi technology weapons. However, the violence in this film is very tasteful, similar to the Zatoichi movies, where our hero is able to kill without a lot of blood and gore. And he only deals out death when forced to, not at whim or randomly. There is also a similarity to Kurosawa stories as well, specifically Yojimbo and Sanjuro regarding the flawed hero and the motives of the characters, with some events and symbolism corresponding to Throne of Blood. The story of The Luck Child is also played out in this film, which is especially nice for those of us who love fairy tales.
The acting is first-rate. All of the actors did a fine job, but Vin Diesel's performance is truly exceptional. I had no idea he was so incredibly talented. (I always thought he was mainly an "eye candy" actor. Not so.) He is amazingly expressive throughout the movie without the use of his eyes at all. (They are surgically enhanced with no pupils and covered with goggles part of the time.) And his voice, diction, and inflection are obviously a product of natural talent, serious training, and careful attention to his craft. I now have a new appreciation for the quality of his work.
I would rank this film right up there with some of the greatest Sci-Fi movies of all time including Metropolis, Blade Runner, and Forbidden Planet; and the story itself merits comparison to classic Sci-Fi books such as the Robot novels, Dune, The Chronicles of Amber, and the Foundation series. I recommend people watch this film and judge its merits for themselves. I don't think the critics of this movie watched it very carefully.
I have great difficulty choosing between Pitch Black and The Chronicles of Riddick as far as a favorite. The stories are both wonderful with important and profound messages, as well as unique and interesting elements; but they are so dissimilar that a side-by-side comparison is not really feasible. The fact that the two are so different from one another is a good part of what makes them both incredibly special and a significant contribution to the realm of Science Fiction entertainment. I truly hope that if more films are added to this saga, they are equally original and surprising in content and style, instead of relying on formula or cookie cutter repetition like many series seem to.
J.H. Sweet, author of The Fairy Chronicles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Much Maligned Gem, 28 Nov 2004
By 
D. Lloyd "Riddick" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Big Vin is back as the So bad he's great Riddick. This film was trashed by the critics but i loved every minute of it at the cinema.Taking huge design influence from David lynche's DUNE and fleshing out Riddicks Badass character (Snake plissken for the new millenium)The film starts at a sprint and doesnt slow down, never letting the somewhat silly pretentions of the plot get in the way of the awesome set piece action.This isnt going to get Mr Diesel an oscar, but he clearly loves the character and this comes through in his performance. If you love sci fi that offers spectacle and were annoyed with the direction the Matrix sequels took (architect speech anyone?) give this a go. Utterly enjoyable kick ass nonsense :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sci-fi fun, 14 Aug 2013
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The Chronicles of Riddick is an epic, messy film with some big ideas and good intentions but hampered by bad execution.

Following on from the exceptional Pitch Black, this beefs up the story and mythos to extraordinary levels. Kudos must go to David Twohy for the sheer imagination and spectacle he has on show here. The problem is it is too much in one film. The ideas are substantial and in most cases very interesting. A race called Necromongers are rounding people up and converting them to their way, slowly taking over the galaxy one planet at a time.

As usual Riddick finds himself lumped in the middle of the conflict through no fault of his own. So reluctantly he embarks on a quest to rescue an old friend and free the city of Helium Prime.

The settings are stunning and the level of detail is admirable. The story though is a crushing disappointment. It is bland to say the least and only ever feels like it is there to string one beautifully filmed scene to the next. Twohy clearly has a vision and wants to show it off but it is to the detriment of the story.

It isn't all bad. For the most part it is a fun romp with a favourite anti-hero. The sets are interesting, the action fast and dare I say furious and Diesel gives good gruff as always. A standout scene with Riddick leading a crew over ground whilst the bad guys track underground is a great hark back to a similar scene in Pitch Black and only serves as a stark reminder of that films superiority. When re-visiting Chronicles it really isn't as bad as the critics first thought. It has many flaws but underneath the gloss is a fun action film which, when taken lightly, is all you really need. The anticipated third film looks set to strip it all back to basics which can only be a good thing.

Very much style over substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy the commercial version - buy the directors cut, 4 Oct 2006
By 
C. Crossley "kilo40" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The very sad fact about this excellent film is that it was killed (in spirit at least) by the movie studio in an effort to make it more 'viewer friendly'. I have both versions of this film on DVD and I can say unequivably that the commercial release is horrid, I can't stand to watch it, but the uncut director version is nothing short of excellent, one of my favorite films - why? The directors cut fleshes out the plot in a much better way and sits together as a film more naturally. The commercial version is edited completely different and cuts out all the story aspects of the film, focusing on being an action movie rather than a true sci-fi film. In short it doesn't work, all action and no plot leaves the commercial version empty, souless, spoiled. If you love sci-fi and especially if you loved Pitch Black then buy this film, but please buy the real version and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars necromundacious, 15 Feb 2008
By 
The Chronicles of Riddick is pure bubblegum sci-fi. The storyline is a rehash of countless other action films and adds nothing new to either the sci-fi or action film domain. Stylistically it looks great. The locales are fantastic, the effects are good, and the enemy is sufficiently threatening (in a camp villain kind of way).
This is a film which doesn't take itself seriously (and doesn't try to) and this can be seen in the editing and various enemy and location names.
I enjoyed pitch black, especially Vin Diesels Character, Riddick. While this film does not have the subtly, tension or even character development of pitch black - I still thoroughly enjoyed it!
The Chronicles of Riddick is not a thinking mans film, but it is interesting, exciting, and while it might be pretty transparent, it did enough to hold my interest throughout (yes, I like easy going action'ers). I'd happily watch it again.

P.s I'd advise people who enjoy this kind of sci-fi to look into the First series of Lexx - it has a very similar feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Necromongous!, 5 Jan 2006
This review is from: The Chronicles Of Riddick (2 Disc Directors Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
I dont know if I missed the point of Pitch Black, but I thought the star of the film was the aliens not Riddick! Never the less Mr Diesel has returned as Riddick, a larger budget and oodles of charisma.
Chronicles continues some years after Pitch Black, theres still a price on Riddicks head and Jack is now a hot lady! Diesel is given the time and space to really grow into the character of Riddick and he pulls off a fantastic performance. The supporting cast is OK but overshadowed by Diesel.
The film is very visual and looks fantastic the larger budget has been spent well. Helion Prime, the set peices on Crematoria, the Necromongers assault all look awesome. The action is well staged and Riddick is a character you can really root for.
This isnt the classic some reviews have claimed it to be, but neither is the disaster it was pinned as, although it did flop dramatically upon its cinematic release. The flaws lie in the fact a lot of the plot revolves around characters and races that are given no depth, do you care that the people of Helion Prime are being exterminated by the Necromongers, No because we dont really know who they are. This isnt that much of a problem if this is just back groung information giving a situation Riddick can be surrounded with, and I suppose Riddick is the centre of the film, its just a lot of time is spent around the unknown, but this does build a visually stunning movie.
I always think its best to get the Directors cut there isnt that much more here from the Theatrical release, about 15 minutes, a little bit more about Riddicks back ground but thats all.
Possibly not bettering Pitch Black but still well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Riddick returns!!!!!!!, 23 Dec 2004
By 
L. E. Stacey "lukestacey12" (Portsmouth, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well heres the problem!!! I loved Pitch Black and the anti-hero Riddick it introduced. In PB Riddick was a baddass, take no prisoners, dont give a **** out and out bad guy, who assisted purely for his own benefit and survival.
Fast forward to TCOR and Riddick returns, but he isn't quite the same Riddick. Riddick whilst still possessing some 'classic' one-liners has to be frank mellowed and is cast as the 'hero' of the piece. Sure he disposes of some bad guys in vicious and brutal fashion, but its now all for a good cause!!
The Riddick universe has also changed somewhat. PB was very much a more recent take on the future in terms of technology,weaponry and design etc. in TCOR the universe has expanded into a more futuristic vision, complete with multiple spaceships, alien creatures and laser guns. This makes it feel alien compared to PB and it loses alot of its edge and grit because of it (Riddick is now also some kind of 'special' being, and light no longer hurts his eyes?)
Only in ceratin scenes does this film feel like it bares any resemblance to PB, and that is namely the Crematoria cavern run!!
All in all its good to have Riddick back on our screen's, but i'd have preffered a more realistic approach (ala PB), and as a result I think PB is the Superior film of the 2 (and was about 1/5 of the budget)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why is Pitch Black + Doom + Chronicles of Riddick available as a box set on Blu ray, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best science fiction movie ever made & you can watch it repeatedly seeing something new everytime, fantastic on Blu Ray
ps// I cannot understand why Pitch Black + Doom + Chronicles of Riddick is not available as a box set as Amazon would easily sell lots especially as the cheaper box sets would be far better value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chronicles Of Riddick (2 Disc Directors Cut) [DVD]
£3.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews