Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of that delightful Samara
Right from the beginning it is importanat that you have seen the first Ring film. If you haven't then you won't know why, for the girl, watching the tape is so integral to the opening of this film. After Rachel (Naomi Watts) and her son Aiden are introduced it becomes less of a factor but it is still good to know a bit more of the background of the characters...
Published on 15 Dec 2006 by Air Raid Patrol

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars origanal or remake ?
This movie was actually pleastantly watchable by no means a classic but enjoyable all the same . The plot revolves around the son of naomi watts character being possesed by samara [the evil dead girl from the first movie] and the desperate attempt to send her back from where she came . Alot was made of the origanal ring and how scary it was supposed to be but i personaly...
Published on 23 Aug 2007 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of that delightful Samara, 15 Dec 2006
This review is from: The Ring Two [DVD] (DVD)
Right from the beginning it is importanat that you have seen the first Ring film. If you haven't then you won't know why, for the girl, watching the tape is so integral to the opening of this film. After Rachel (Naomi Watts) and her son Aiden are introduced it becomes less of a factor but it is still good to know a bit more of the background of the characters.

Normally in the horror genre the acting is pretty second rate but in The Ring Two it's fairly strong, especially from the boy playing Aiden and slightly less so from Watts.

Sound is fitting to the intensity and tension of the film and the score doesn't rely on commercial songs like almost all teen horror films. This film is far too sophisticated for that.

Visual effects are impressive, especially the water effects in the bathroom scene. Samara has been well realised, and this has been helped by the director of the original Japanese "Ringu" directing this film. He created the character in the first place and as such is the perfect man to bring his vision to a mainstream western audience. The featurettes on the disc will reveal a little more about how long it took to get the look of Samara just right.

This is psychological horror at it's finest. Not gory by any stretch of the imagination, but still not for the faint of heart. It's not for everybody.

It seems that Japan is the place to look for original horror stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Sequel., 1 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: The Ring Two [DVD] (DVD)
I qutie liked the first ring as it was very scary and jump-out-of-your-seat moments that you wouldn't forget. I rented the ring 2 as I'm a fan for Simon Baker and wanting to know why they made a sequel. It starts of with two young teens watching the tape and one gets it while the other is frightened stiff about this horrid event. Rachel and Aidan are trying to move on from the events that shattered their lives forever, Rachel works in a newspaper place and bonding with Max (Simon Baker) while Aidan is taking photos and being a normal child. But when Rachel finds out that Samara is back and for revenge, she must stop the curse from hurting her son and end this horror once and for all. Though it sounds really good, it's so disappointing to be shown on screen. I was a little creeped out but it seemed so staged and rushed, the co-stars don't get a chance to shine and the true horror from the first has disappeared like it wasn't there to begin with. It dosen't really make a lot of sense also, what's with the deer turning evil? Bah, I'm glad I rented it before buying. A very disappointing sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars origanal or remake ?, 23 Aug 2007
This review is from: The Ring Two [DVD] (DVD)
This movie was actually pleastantly watchable by no means a classic but enjoyable all the same . The plot revolves around the son of naomi watts character being possesed by samara [the evil dead girl from the first movie] and the desperate attempt to send her back from where she came . Alot was made of the origanal ring and how scary it was supposed to be but i personaly found these two remakes more watchable and faster paced and found the critism of the remakes a bit on the 'snobby' side and uncalled for . If you like a good horror movie then check them out and add your own side to the origanal or remake debate , its only personal choice after all .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good scares but not as good as the first, 19 April 2006
By 
M. riley "dylandk201" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ring Two [DVD] (DVD)
The ring 2 continues the first one where if u watch the film u will die in 7 days etc. This is clear from the beginning with a couple of teens dying making the news. This brings in to light the contining episode of the tapes haunting presence. There are some good scares early on with the moose chase and the twisted faces also the visuals of the tree veins on the walls and the girls presence. It doesnt go into detail about the history of the tape visuals so much, and to be honest the drowned girl in the lake really gives up and is defeated far to easily to make an ending. There is so much unexplained stuff to which needs answering. It needs more to it to be better then the first. Watchable but some might find it disapointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Samara has really lost her touch, 10 Aug 2005
By 
R. L. GREEN "rlg201" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ring Two [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the first Ring film so much that I couldn't wait to see this but apart from one moment of sharp intakes of breath and grabbing of friends' arms at the beginning (where Rachel thinks she sees Samara again) it wasn't even mildly scary. In fact that moment was more scary because I was anticipating it to be rather that actually being scary. It rumbles along with no real sense of direction and the plot gets progressively more ridiculous. This is a blatant cash in on the success of the first film but they would have been better leaving well alone. Naomi Watts is in annoyingly blonde and pathetic form when she crashes into a herd of killer deer and then decides to just sit there in the middle of the road and stare at them until, surprise, surprise, they attack. Samara is distictly unscary and the reason for this is that this time around the screenwriters have tried to humanise her a bit more and portray her not as a creepy little freak with unnaturally long hair but as a vulnerable little girl who just wants a Mum, how is that meant to be scary? I also found that towards the end I was losing the plot and it didn't make any sense but that could just have been because I had fallen asleep. Absolute rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great, 23 Sep 2005
By 
J Kilby - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ring Two [DVD] (DVD)
This is a sequel that simply didn't need to be made. The American remake of THE RING was a terrific movie, and while it did not tie up all loose ends, it was deliberately ambiguous and morally downbeat. The story of these characters was complete.
THE RING TWO repopens the story of Rachel and her son Aidan, and this was a mistake. By revisiting the same characters rather than seeking a new story vein, it struggles to find a worthwhile direction and ultimately ends up compromising the original movie.
That's not to say that THE RING TWO has nothing to recommend it. It has atmosphere and a few good scares, the performances are good and the characters are likeable. It succeeds where many mainstream horror movies fail.
However, as a sequel to the tremendously good THE RING, it is a collosal disappointment, and worthy of only two stars.
SO WHY DID I GIVE THIS DVD THREE STARS?
Well, on the disk is a ten-minute bonus movie called RINGS. This mini-flick sets up the events at the start of THE RING TWO. I'll not give anything away, but I will say that the chilling premise of this small film is inspired, and in an expanded form it would have made a FAR better movie than THE RING TWO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars meh, 9 July 2007
This review is from: The Ring Two [DVD] (DVD)
The mini movie that comes on this dvd (rings) is far superior to the 2nd movie. There is no reason for this film, it just pees all over the ending of the first one. They did everything they had to stop S, now she's back. Why? I don't even remember.
We have psycho deer, a psycho child (who should be in therapy by now) and not much else. I found it rediculous and just let down the first film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ring 2 U........., 22 Sep 2006
This review is from: The Ring Two [DVD] (DVD)
Disappointing sequel, considering Naomi Watts and the director of the original Japanese Ring were on board. I enjoyed the first movie, but just felt this one strayed too far away from the original concept. Most of the cast are woefully underused (the film was either heavily edited, or just poorly constructed), there are many plot holes and scenes that need explanation but receive none, and the heavy use of water imagery has already been done in the original Dark Water film.

On the good side, the film was well shot, although some CGI was a little ropey.

Worth seeing? Just. A few minor scares, but nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Loved the first ring, hated the second!!!, 20 Aug 2005
This review is from: The Ring Two [DVD] (DVD)
I havent yet watched the japanese version of ring 2 but after finding out its the same director as the japanese one, then i wont even bother. In short, this has to be one of the worst sequels since the exorcist 2. I mean, why did they have to change the director from the first one. The Ring was full of suspense, scares and a good story which is rarely found in horror movies these days. This one however is just an attempt to cash in on the first one. Its full of multiple ploy holes and the movie's torpid pacing and blocks of dead space will leave plenty of time for a bored and frustrated audience to yell obsenities at the screen. Oh, and somebody please send that little boy back to acting school!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Ring Two, 18 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Ring Two [DVD] (DVD)
This film was absolute garbage. I thought the first one (The Ring) was quite unusual, not your run of the mill horror, and I thought it was really good. Not so much scary, but really, really creepy. So I was keen to watch the sequel - what a disappointment. The storyline & acting was weak, weak, weak. If there was an option to rate 0, I wouldn't give it any stars at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ring Two [DVD]
The Ring Two [DVD] by Hideo Nakata (DVD - 2006)
2.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews