Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars121
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£30.00+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 July 2003
If you like Romance, Drama, Comedy, Action + a bit of nudity in your films then this is for you.
Airplane 1 is about a plane disaster where the the crew and most passengers become violently ill with food poisoning, and an ex war pilot who drives people to suicide with his flashbacks, must take control of it and land it with the help of his girlfriend, a doctor and Otto Pilot the inflatable auto pilot, to save the passnegers lives.
Aiplane 2 is a space plane to the moon, and the navigational system shorts out and takes them to the sun, it can open airlocks and gas intruders, but thats not all, theres a suicidal bomber with a $1 million life insurance policy, and worse yet they're all out of coffee!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2014
Airplane! quite possible my favourite film of all time and guaranteed to put me in a good mood. I can't count the number of times of seen it, but I can't get enough.
As for Airplane II, it never seems to b shown on telly these days, so getting the two together seemed like a good bargain. The sequel is more of the same really. Same basic plot and often the same jokes but not done in a bad way - more of a homage to the original film. BUT, the writers of Airplane! (Zucker Abrams Zucker) changed their mind about writing a sequel so the studio passed the writing duties onto other people, so the second film falls short of what it should have been. As long as you don't watch the to back to back (as I did) it shouldn't spoil your enjoyment.

As for picture and sound, well the films were made in 1980/1982 so are standard definition, the sound is good quality but not going to win any awards. There are no bonus features, just the films, but as they're so entertaining you wouldn't need anything else.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2004
Airplane 1 and 2 are comic masterpieces.
They contain all aspects of comedy from slapstick, one-liners, cheesyness, spoofs, repetition and wit. These films are the soul reason why i make jokes because they point out the obvious flaws in everyday life. The idea of a comedy based purely on a plane seems quite limitless, but in these films there are no limits to the comedy!
Airplane 1/2 will have you laughing for hours. I am laughing now, as i am remembering what happens!!!!! These masterpieces are neccessary - because you know that if you fail to laugh out loud once during the film, then you need to be taken to the doctors!! The film is just dangerously funny - you must stretch before hand so that you don't hurt your stomach from the sheer amount of laughter!!!
Purchase these filma and never be stuck for comedy, as they produce it by the barrelful!
Thank you
Adios!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2011
timeless classics airplane 1 just hilarious silly and usually in bad taste great to see behind the scene comic gems can still laugh at this now aged really well. dont usually like sequels but airplane 2 is an exception to the rule silly again classic william shatner appearance just what you need when you just need to laugh out loud these gems wont be bettered especially by todays so called comedies every home should have these 2 films on the shelf
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2010
Being a child of the 90's I grew up with very little knowledge of films such as 'Airplane' and 'The Naked Gun' but what I can truthfully say is that this sort of comedy is absolutely timeless. If I can sit with my friends, all of whom had not seen it before, and still be in hysterics then it is clear that this film actually traverses some comedies nowadays. If I had to compare it to modern comedy it would be somewhere between 'Anchorman' and 'Hot Fuzz' in style, both of which are films I greatly enjoy. Whilst the sequel is not as good as the first, the comedy is so light-hearted across both film that I cannot bring myself to give it anything other than 5 stars!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
I remember the helpless laughter of my first view of these films. They are still hilarious. I watched the first one with my 19 year old son, trying not to hype it up beforehand and we both fell about laughing. Joyous, hilarious and classic.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Airplane!
Every thing you ever wanted to know about air travel
Leslie Nielsen has been around for a long time and in many leads before striking out on a road to comedy. This is but one story. However it was a turning point for him from leading man in "Forbidden Planet" (1956), to serious doctor in" Airplane!" (1980), to Field Guide in "National Geographic's "The Savage Garden" with Leslie Nielsen (1997)
Airplane has a great cast including Robert Stack (playing himself), Lloyd Bridges (glub glub), and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (just as defensive as ever).
This movie is unique. It is the first; I have seen displaying one liners with serious intent. It was not just slapstick or Abbot and Costello. It worked well enough for sequels and other films to be made in the new genre. I keep it with the Leslie Nielsen Collection.
------------------------------------------------------------
Airplane II
On a higher plane than then the original
This is a more futuristic version of the original Airplane movie with A few different people and a few different jokes while keeping to the original formula.
Not as surprising as the first, but still worth watching. People who made their living being heroes including Lloyd Bridges (Sea Hunt), Leslie Nielsen (Forbidden Planet), Raymond Burr (Perry Mason), now let their hair down in this thought provoking sequel.
This may have contributed to the conversion of William Shatner from Captain Kirk (Star Trek - The Original Series, Episode 28: The City On the Edge Of Forever) to "The Big Head" on 3rd Rock From The Sun. I am waiting for the collection of his commercials to be published.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
Two brilliant films. If you've never seen Airplane!, then what are you doing with your life? It's one of those films everyone quotes and many people have in their top tens. Definitely a must watch.

Some people give Airplane 2 a bad rap, which I think is unfair. It has the bad fortune of being a sequel, but it stands up well enough on its own - the lack of Leslie Nielsen made up for by the appearance of William Shatner. The sequel is even more ridiculous, instead about a space plane going to the moon. The plot doesn't take itself seriously and the film is fun if you don't watch it with a judging eye.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2009
Watching these again, you cannot help but admire what amazing films they are. Having followed the annual disaster movie, the parody elements are perhaps lost on new viewers, but my teenage son seeing them for the first time thinks they're brilliant. It's a testament to their quality that they stand on their own as hilarious films. Well worth watching when you want to have some escapism and a really good laugh!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
"Is that a good sign?" "It does the job!" Hilarious! You have to be on the wavelength but the whole thing is so ridiculous that you have to laugh.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)