Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real Meccano
There seem to be two kinds of Meccano on the go now - one type is largely plastic and uses a lot of preformed parts which mean, in effect, that the job is virtually done for you.

And then there's this kind. Real Meccano, where you have to use your imagination, ingenuity, fingers and tools.

We've been gradually buying most of the traditional Meccano...
Published on 29 Oct 2011 by GrahamG

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Meccano multi models
Not the best product by this manufacturer and it is not suitable for the age range suggested. I think that the age range should be reviewed.
Published 17 months ago by Mr. Robert Griffen


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real Meccano, 29 Oct 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meccano Multi Models 15 Model Set (Toy)
There seem to be two kinds of Meccano on the go now - one type is largely plastic and uses a lot of preformed parts which mean, in effect, that the job is virtually done for you.

And then there's this kind. Real Meccano, where you have to use your imagination, ingenuity, fingers and tools.

We've been gradually buying most of the traditional Meccano sets for a young relative of ours who displays an unusually advanced aptitude for taking things apart. Supplying him with Meccano has ensured that he is now more usually preoccupied with taking his own stuff apart and putting it back together. Which is good.

As much as I approve of Meccano I would specifically recommend this set as an add-on to an already purchased set which came with a motor, a gearbox and a set of conventional wheels, the reason being that this set then gives you something new and different that you don't get in most of the other sets - a pair of caterpillar tracks, the special grooved wheels to run them on, and a cable mechanism which is good for making a lever mounted in one place on a model remotely control something somewhere else - in this case the boom of the digger illustrated, but you can use it however you like, of course.

As far as I am aware, none of the other entry level or mid-level sets contain these parts.

Please note that the no.15 kit does NOT come with a motor. Some of the other kits do, but this one does not.

Recommended as a supplement / add on to an existing set, rather than a first purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of handy parts, 30 Jan 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meccano Multi Models 15 Model Set (Toy)
Many of the current Meccano sets contain a number of bespoke parts that don't have long term value. This, however, is one of the better sets. Many reusable items.

As with all Meccano, I couldn't possibly offer 5 stars without some bearings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for us grown-ups, 29 Nov 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Meccano Multi Models 15 Model Set (Toy)
(Note: this review refers to the 20 model kit with motor, not the 15 model in case the review goes wandering again!)

When I was small, I had Lego to play with, but my friends with big brothers had meccano sets and I was always fascinated by their strange metallic constructions. We couldn't afford it though, and I was likely too ham-fisted a child to have made much progress.

Fast forward to an adult me, who just watched a whole tv programme about Meccano and suddenly realised I can afford it now, plus have the time and the hand-eye co-ordination required. I couldn't resist!

I'm happy to report that its every bit as much fun as I hoped, maybe more so - this set includes a 3v motor so you can make your models zoom around, and the satisfaction from assembling the motor and watching your axle spin round at the flick of a switch would surely be wasted on a child. These are modern revamps of Meccano, so some of the pieces are plastic, most are solid metal with the familiar holes in however, and the fiddly screwdriver assembly method has been replaced with a more user-friendly Allen key system, which tightens up nuts and bolts beautifully (and untightens equally well when you've made a mistake..)

Gone too are the frustrations of all these clever bits and a lack of clue how to turn them into something - the kit comes with full colour, clear, step-by-step instructions for 8 models, and by putting several together you really do start to get some ideas for what other things you could create on your own. I'm sure the average 9 year old would get on great with this toy, so if you have children and were pondering, take the plunge. Just buy a set for yourself to fiddle with once they're in bed though, or just keep the treat to yourself! And if you are an adult, keep it out of the range of your parents, my mum is itching to have a play too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas gift, 26 Jan 2013
By 
eric parker (Southampton england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meccano Multi Models 15 Model Set (Toy)
Excellent learning toy for seven year old. Must make sure I get more models in the future. Well done Mexican.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Meccano Multi Model 15, 25 May 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Meccano Multi Models 15 Model Set (Toy)
Brought this for my nephew, he said it was good fun and enjoyed playing with it, what more can I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good construction toy, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meccano Multi Models 15 Model Set (Toy)
It arrived promptly in good time. It appears to be good value as you can make many models. Our Grandson liked it. We liked it as it is substantial and different from Lego.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars who needs electronic toys, 23 Sep 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meccano Multi Models 15 Model Set (Toy)
it really was wonderful to see my Grandson so absorbed in this. He totally forgot the expensive electronic toys in his bag and spent the whole day constructing - it doesn't have to be expensive for children to enjoy, can we start getting away from the moronic games and get back to letting children use their imaginationMeccano Multi Models 15 Model Set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meccano model set, 11 Aug 2009
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meccano Multi Models 15 Model Set (Toy)
Product better than described. Well packaged. Delivered as promised. Great value. Lots of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Meccano multi models, 10 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. Robert Griffen (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the best product by this manufacturer and it is not suitable for the age range suggested. I think that the age range should be reviewed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Educational and constructive, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meccano Multi Models 15 Model Set (Toy)
Always a winner for the younger children and birthday and christmas. Waiting to hear what my friend's five year old thought of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Meccano Multi Models 15 Model Set
18.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews