Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than an iPod
I bought my Creative Zen Micro about 2 months ago, so I have lots to say about it.
To Start, the sound quality was simply amazing. It put my dad in the wrong, with his comment "It'll be all tinny sounding and when you jog it it'll stop." He was proven wrong on both accounts. The audio clarity actually beats the iPod, at 98db SNR. My dad couldn't believe it at first,...
Published on 14 Aug. 2005 by Eugene

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but...
The Micro is a great little MP3 player - better value for money and better functionality and storage than iPod or other makes of similar price. The sound quality is great, the amount of music you can store is superb, the voice recorder is good quality and the FM radio caps it off nicely. It's easy to use once you get used to the touch pad technology and on the music...
Published on 17 Aug. 2005 by Oidhche


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than an iPod, 14 Aug. 2005
By 
This review is from: Creative Zen Micro SE 5GB - Silver (Electronics)
I bought my Creative Zen Micro about 2 months ago, so I have lots to say about it.
To Start, the sound quality was simply amazing. It put my dad in the wrong, with his comment "It'll be all tinny sounding and when you jog it it'll stop." He was proven wrong on both accounts. The audio clarity actually beats the iPod, at 98db SNR. My dad couldn't believe it at first, he was gobsmacked. Even with the earphones supplied it is great, but I would reccomend upgrading to any real enthusuiasts. If it is to be used while in the car, or on the train, I'd reccomend some noise insulating full-size headphones, to really enjoy the great quality to the full.
The software it is supplied with in very easy to use, lightyears ahead of iPod's iTunes, and the song transfer is simply unbelieveable. 1-2 seconds for each full-size song, and I transferred 900 songs in no time at all. Whats great, is the AutoSync feature, which automatically finds all the music on you're P.C, and transfers to the Micro.
The Zen Micro is unbelieveably ergonomic, with its curved edges that fit nicely into the palm of you're hand. It is supplied with a plastic "shell" and a little "bed" made of silk.
What I found slightly dissapointing, was the battery life. Claimed at 12 hours, the most I squeezed out of it was about 8.5, admittedly, I wasn't using the supplied headphones, I was using some full-size ones. Whats definitely an advantage is the replaceable battery, unlike the iPod's inbuilt battery, it is simply placed in the back of the Zen. There are also other batteries for the Micro that have longer batterie life, up to 48 hours I think, but the supplied one is jst 12.
The Zen also plays WMA (songs copied from a CD using Windows Media Player) as well as MP3s.
If you are torn between an iPod Mini and One of these, I would go for this one every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent but falls a bit short of my expectations!, 19 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Creative Zen Micro SE 5GB - Silver (Electronics)
I have had my micro for a while now and i am so glad that i bought one - having converted from the cassette player the absolutely tiny size of the micro is brilliant and a lot less bulky and embarassing then my walkman! plus its really nice to have a micro instead of your usual Ipod!
I love the design and i found the keypad easy to navigate and use.I also found the software extremely easy to use(once installed) and have managed to fit on all my tunes, so no problem with the storage capasity.
However even though i am really pleased with it there have been a few minor problems - Firstly the software is pretty much one of those things you have to figure out on your own as the instructions are so vague! also i have found the back of the battery compartment slides of very easily and sometimes the full graphics on the screen arent always displayed, also the battery life isnt that good so i would suggest you buy a spare battery as a back up - other then that i am very pleased with it, sound quality is excellent and i have had no problems with the headphone jack unlike some people although i am a bit on edge just waiting for something to go wrong as i am not too sure just how reliable it is in the long term! if you thinking about buying one of these do it! Mine was definitely worth the investment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but..., 17 Aug. 2005
By 
This review is from: Creative Zen Micro SE 5GB - Silver (Electronics)
The Micro is a great little MP3 player - better value for money and better functionality and storage than iPod or other makes of similar price. The sound quality is great, the amount of music you can store is superb, the voice recorder is good quality and the FM radio caps it off nicely. It's easy to use once you get used to the touch pad technology and on the music side you can't fault it. The only way it can be faulted is hardware reliability: I am now on my 4th body in 9 months due variously to hard disk failure, faulty USB cable (admittedly not the body) and two with a headphone jack problem, already mentioned by someone else. Creative and Amazon have both been very good on the support side, replacing without any problems and being very helpful on the phone. I might think twice about the Zen Micro in future because of the hardware problems I have had, but while it's in warranty I am happy to stick with it. If it goes wrong again I might reconsider!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheaper and better than the Ipod, 23 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Creative Zen Micro SE 5GB - Silver (Electronics)
If you are sat on the fence, thinking: 'Ipod or Creative... Ipod or Creative....' heres a few words that will sway you to getting the Creative.
Apart from the fact its cheaper, it has so much more to offer. For example, Ipod overlooked putting a radio in their Mp3 player. Guess who didn't?
The battery life is better than Ipods of the same price, and there is no annoying click wheel. Everything you need is supplied with the Mp3 player, unlike Ipod, where you have to buy chargers and stands and other accesories for it.
The sound quality is better and has a higher output. It has a unique DJ function, which gives an Album of the Day, Most heard, least heard and random play all.
There is no need to muck around with iTunes, Creative supply good software or you can sync the music quickly with Windows Media Player.
The screens dont scratch, and it is more reliable than iPods.
The only drawback is that it is very sensitive, but after a good hour or so you will get used to this.
If you have a little flash stick MP3 player, and lots of music, get this. You will not regret it, its so good to have all you music accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!!!, 12 July 2005
This review is from: Creative Zen Micro SE 5GB - Silver (Electronics)
In addition to my earlier review (may be on a different page!), please note that the radio works well. You will find that most of the preset stations are useless, but you can use the auto-scan or manually find stations and then save them. As with all portable FM radios the reception can be variable, you just have to move around until you find the best reception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Creative Zen Micro SE 5GB, 13 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Creative Zen Micro SE 5GB - Silver (Electronics)
Nice little unit with good quality sound but suffers from reliablity problems. After about 5 months of use a faulty jack gives sound problems (this is not unusual I know of several owners that have suffered the same problem) and after 6 months the unit died completely. Zero after sales service from Creative. An expensive MP3 player for 6 months use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creative Zen Micro SE 5GB - Silver
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews