Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic deluxe edition
This edition of Dio's classic Holy Diver is remastered by Andy Pearce as are the other Dio 2012 deluxe releases, which means, unlike other Deluxe Editions out there, this one isn't simply a volume bloated re-release. Very fine, clean and detailed sound, but just a tad bright. Disc 2 has some wonderful rare goodies that alone make this worthy of the purchase. The packaging...
Published on 31 Mar. 2012 by Fernando

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Holy Diver - awesome album but why not a DVD??
I've always loved Dio's stuff so this album is highly recommended. I just wish these Deluxe Editions would include a DVD with some live footage, rare interviews or similar... Not just the easy way out e.g. demo recordings, old live recorings etc. we're in the 21st century now! We want DVd/Bluray included with these packages otherwise imho they are "Deluxe" more Special...
Published on 19 Sept. 2012 by J. BLIGHT


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic deluxe edition, 31 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Holy Diver (Audio CD)
This edition of Dio's classic Holy Diver is remastered by Andy Pearce as are the other Dio 2012 deluxe releases, which means, unlike other Deluxe Editions out there, this one isn't simply a volume bloated re-release. Very fine, clean and detailed sound, but just a tad bright. Disc 2 has some wonderful rare goodies that alone make this worthy of the purchase. The packaging is your standard for these editions, a wonderful foldout digipak and an informative booklet stuffed into one of the open flaps. Highly recommended edition if you have the cash. Tracklist below.

Disc 1 (Original newly remastered album)

01. Stand Up and Shout
02. Holy Diver
03. Gypsy" Vivian Campbell
04. Caught in the Middle
05. Don't Talk to Strangers
06. Straight Through the Heart
07. Invisible
08. Rainbow in the Dark
09. Shame on the Night

Disc 2

01. Evil Eyes (studio recording, originally appeared on B-Side to Holy Diver single)
02. Stand Up & Shout (Live B-Side, from the Rainbow in the Dark single)
03. Straight Through the Heart (Live B-Side, from the Rainbow in the Dark single)

King Biscuit Flower Hour, 30th October 1983:
04. Stand Up & Shout
05. Shame on the Night
06. Children of the Sea
07. Holy Diver
08. Rainbow in the Dark
09. Man on the Silver Mountain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy Diver: Dio – Stand up and shout about this, 14 Aug. 2014
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Holy Diver - Remastered (Audio CD)
First released in 1983, this is the debut album from heavy metal group Dio, fronted by Ronnie James Dio, a man of such modesty that when he chose a stage name he essentially called himself God. Which is a little unfair of me – the guy had a huge talent and a voice that made him an integral part of some of the best heavy metal bands around.

Though dominated by Dio’s impressive and powerful vocals, this is definitely a group effort, with the slashing guitars, driving bass and pounding drums an essential part of the sound. The opener ‘Stand up and Shout’, immediately grabs the attention but it is with the title track that the band truly hit gold. This is a classic of the genre, and good as they are most of the other tracks on the album pale slightly in comparison. The album then proceeds through a standard heavy metal workout, with a relentless pace and energy that leaves the listener feeling a bit exhausted by the end. It’s a classic, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy Magic, 6 Oct. 2005
This review is from: Holy Diver - Remastered (Audio CD)
I don't know how many times I have bought this cd,firstly on vinyl,tape,cd and now this collector's edition,remastered,if you are a fan you will already have this cd,but for the younger fans out there,you should buy this,with a 16 page booklet and exclusive interview of Ronnie James Dio on the cd,this is well worth the price at Amazon,The songs are classics,every single one,first recorded in 1983 all the tracks sound fresh ''Holy Diver'' will never date and still stands up well in 2005,This is a timely release as Dio tour the UK next week and perform the whole cd on stage live,Holy Diver is Holy Magic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ronnie is out on his own and he ROCKS!!, 19 Mar. 2003
By 
Peestie (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Holy Diver (Audio CD)
The first album by Dio and Ronnie Dio's voice is amazing. After leaving Black Sabbath we hear Dio making music that is more than an equal to any of the Sabbath stuff.
This album is full of great heavy metal tracks and in my opinion has some of the best of Dio's work on it. The title track, Holy Diver, is a heavy metal classic, as is Don't Talk to Strangers.
If you have ever heard anything by Sabbath (with Dio as lead singer) and liked it, then you will love this album. It is quite possibly one of the classic heavy metal albums of the 80's and that put it up against stiff competition and it still shines through as one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars holy diver.. deluxe extravaganza, 28 Mar. 2012
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Holy Diver - Remastered (Audio CD)
Aaah Holy Diver,generally regarded as the third part of an UN(HOLY) trinity including Rainbow's RISING and Sabbath's HEAVEN AND HELL,who am i to disagree,I've loved this since '83,can still remember my local record shop pulling the vinyl from under the counter as i walked in,stating we've put this aside for you as we know your a big Rainbow fan,aaah the good old days,£3.99 i think it was,its a fabulous album from start to finish with several tracks that went onto become bona fide classics ,such as the title track,'Stand Up and Shout,'Rainbow in the Dark' and the delightful 'Dont Talk To Strangers' This remaster(by Andy Pearce) doesnt sound any different to the 2005 edition (to my ears anyway),it reinforces my feelings that the drum sound wasnt all it could have been but not enough to lessen my enjoyment.A true classic.

Bonus tracks: a plethora of live tracks including several from a KBFH show,a couple of live b'sides and the highlight the majestic studio track 'Evil Eyes',still cant believe it was left off the original album.

This is a superb deluxe edition,excellent photos,booklet and decent liner notes,well done all round to those involved
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Instant Favourite, 23 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Holy Diver - Remastered (Audio CD)
I had heard a couple of Dio songs, and was particularly attracted to the top quality guitar playing (usually the basis for deciding which albums I buy). However, after the first track on the album, it was clearly apparent that I hadn't heard their best work, as the star of the show is quite obviously Ronnie James Dio.

Who'd have thought that little old bloke would have such a pair of lungs on him? Easily one of the greatest front men in history; an excellent metal singer, up there with my other favourites such as Iron Maiden's Bruce Dickinson.

The album rocks hard, in classic, clichéd style (go and watch the video for Holy Diver on YouTube), but what I particularly liked was the elements of immense atmosphere and, at times, the feeling that the songs really had some emotional background to them. Really immersive, and has earned a well respected place in the top end of my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rediscovery, 22 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Holy Diver (Audio CD)
I bought this album on vinyl when it was released, over 20 years ago. I really can't remember what prompted me to buy it in the first place, probably something to do with the album artwork, as in those days I was a surly teenager and into all things demonic....I do remember playing it a lot, but with the advent of CDs, it had lain, gathering dust, for many years. Until this weekend, when something spurred me on to give it a spin on the turntable, along with a number of other plastic beauties who had been neglected for an age. And what do you know? Out of all of my vinyl specimens (and there are many) Holy Diver hasn't been off since. It may crackle, and "Stand Up And Shout" jumps a bit, but I now remember what got me off my arse all those years ago. Suffice to say, I am putting in an order right now for the CD version. If you haven't listened to this, get it, and do it now. You will not regret!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!!, 18 July 2006
By 
M. J. Maley "mikeitup" (here) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holy Diver - Remastered (Audio CD)
Ok, lets get a few things sorted first. I am a metal fan and I am a guitar palyer (not that good). I am an ardent fan of 80's metal and some early 90's too.

Having heard a couple of later Dio offerings "Holy Diver" somehow slipped under my radar.

That changed a couple of weeks ago when the remastered version arrived at my door.

It is simply an astounding debut. Little he may be but DAMN! this guy can SING!!!

There is not a bad track on it and to think that guitarist Vivian Campbell (Sweet Savage, Riverdogs, Shadow King and Def Leppard) was just 19 when he recorded this epic just p***** me off even more.

A classic slice of 80's rock (often called "Hair Metal") but alot of people forget that the musicians (mostly) from this era piddle ALL OVER 99% of the guys releasing albums these days. OK, guitar bands may be popular today but it is like comparing a sunday pub football team with Man Utd.

Classic tracks such as Stand Up and Shout, Holy Diver, Caught In The Middle, (the totally awesome) Don't Talk To Strangers and not forgetting Rainbow In The Dark this is well worth a puchase.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Dio album without a doubt, 31 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Holy Diver - Remastered (Audio CD)
So little Ronnie got sacked from Sabbath by Tony Iommi, same as he'd been sacked from Rainbow by Ritchie Blackmore, and decided to go it alone. He rounded up a couple of old mates from his Rainbow and Sabbath days (Jimmy Bain and Vinnie Appice respectively), found himself a hotshot guitarist who had just started to make a name for himself, and released an album that would firmly identify Ronnie as being the heavy metal equivalent of a game of Dungeons and Dragons.
Witches, sorceresses, kings, knights, minstrels, wolves, elves, rainbows, pots of gold, demons, nightmares, tigers - it's like a game of Talisman on your CD player.
The songs, of course, are fantastic. The band were surprisingly tight, given Jimmy's reputation as a hard drinker, but then revelations made by the musicians since they left Dio have indicated that RJD might be a bit of a tyrant, or at least a hard taskmaster.
In the interview at the end of the CD, Ronnie talks with fondness about the making of the album, the search for a guitarist (a toss up between Viv and John Sykes), his unfair dismissal from Sabbath, and the inspiration behind the songs on the album. And he claims that he hates Rainbow In The Dark. Come off it Ronnie, you wrote it to let us know how you got to where you were at the time (Rainbow is Rainbow, Dark is Black Sabbath). And you used to perform it live with gusto, grinning and skipping around like a munchkin on acid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest British rock albums, 30 May 2006
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holy Diver (Audio CD)
I have had this on vinyl, cassette and CD. It is an absolutely brilliant rock album.

The poorest track in my eyes is Gypsy, every other one is a stormer from the anthemic Stand Up and Shout, the brilliant title track to Invisible which could almost be a Rainbow track down to the standout Rainbow in the Dark with its classic intro.

This album rightly appears in almost everyone's top 100 rock albums and for a good reason.

To say it has diminished in power after 20 years would be wrong in my eyes. Don't talk to Strangers and Straight Through the Heart I still play on 11.

Ronnie James Dio IS a rock legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holy Diver - Remastered
Holy Diver - Remastered by Dio (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews