Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely tough but ultimately rewarding game
The game is real time strategy simulation within a fantasy world which resembles the Lord of the Rings. You have elves, orcs, wyverns to name a few.
The graphics are superb but identical to the first game( no improvements there!). The sound effects are great also for example the thundering hooves of the cavalry, and the voice overs are good also(my favourite are the...
Published on 11 Jan 2006 by Andy Bogard

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mixed thoughts
Kingdom under fire : Heroes is, to me, not that greater game.
Yes the combat and the strategic part of the game are excellent, with great moves and brilliant graphics this game would have 5 stars, If, it wern't for 3 main things. 1 is that the talking in between levels is extremley annoying (you will find yourself vigerously tapping the x button to skip all the...
Published on 29 Nov 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely tough but ultimately rewarding game, 11 Jan 2006
By 
Andy Bogard (Milton Keynes, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kingdom Under Fire: Heroes (Xbox) (Video Game)
The game is real time strategy simulation within a fantasy world which resembles the Lord of the Rings. You have elves, orcs, wyverns to name a few.
The graphics are superb but identical to the first game( no improvements there!). The sound effects are great also for example the thundering hooves of the cavalry, and the voice overs are good also(my favourite are the female dark elves).

Having completed the first game, I was looking for a more advance version of the original game play with new marcinaries. However it was abit of a let down that the mercinaries you recruit remain identical to the previous game ( no new mythical beings ) with the same faces .( This was why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5).
The story line is very complex with seven different chracters each having their own view of the events that take place. It links nicely to the first game and seeing the ending of a character is extremely rewarding( after may tough battles).
The levels in the game are very tough. It was so tough that I exchanged the game when I got stuck on one of the levels. However I thought I 'll give it another go so I brought the game again and having spent hours on it I have learnt some secrets that will make the game abit easier namely do not save game unless all your troops/teams survive ( so you gat maximum experience points for upgrades), and know the enemies weaknesses( check enemiy troops resistance at barrack e.g elves are weak against poison/Earth spells.)
Overall this is a must buy if you are into Fantasy /Lord of the ring type strategy games! Be Warned !, it has taken me 4 weeks to complete 3 characters quest( approx 13 hrs of play time each character not including the ones my troops didn't survive.)
This Game is by no mean a push over!
Long Live the Dark Legion !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the weak, 22 Mar 2006
By 
Mr. R. D. Draycott "fredpinkles" (Preston, Lancs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingdom Under Fire: Heroes (Xbox) (Video Game)
Admittedly, I started playing this (having already bought and completed the original), then put it away for a while to play something easier. The first two characters have some immensely difficult parts in their levels - Walter's is the search for the ancient heart with Rithrin - having faced an infinite army you have to take on about 4 units of flame wraiths all casting meteor? Took me ages to think of the solution, then I had to restart the game and spend all my exp. and cash the right way to beat that one (cavalry!) Same for Ellen, except I can't remember the difficulty anymore.
Basically, this game builds on the previous game, filling in the back story (you have to be paying attention to the dialogues, otherwise you'll sit there wondering what they're on about), and it is just VAST. There's about 8 playable characters, with around 10 levels each, and each level takes an average of 30-40 minutes (some take an hour easily). That's a lot of effort, especially when you realise that your plans for your army are just not going to cut it.
Vastly entertaining. Extremely difficult at times (even the first level of Urukubarr's campaign had me scratching my head), but ultimately supremely rewarding. If you can complete this give yourself a gold star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kingdom Of Heroes, 4 Dec 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kingdom Under Fire: Heroes (Xbox) (Video Game)
I will tell you now, it is better to be a veteran of the original game before playing this.

I am and I still got wasted after the first few of Ellen's missions, the game difficulty is seriously cranked up, it is even tougher than the first one.

The story line is awesome, gameplay rocks, it is a perfect blend of strategy and combat. This game absolutely rocks but it is NOT for the faint of heart. If your the kind of person who can't hack losing then I would recommend a slightly easier game, it took me a very long time to complete. when you finish a campaign save your game and then load it again, I recall that if you reload a completed campaign you can travel across the world and fight in every corner of the map.

If that isn't enough then there is a feature where you can choose your character and create an army with a set amount of exp. and gold and pit yourself against as hard an opponent as you like, create yourself a challenging fight or just lay waste to a weaker force, your choice.

If you buy this I can tell you that you won't be dissapointed, an excellent challenge for experienced gamers and new players alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than all the rest, 6 Oct 2005
This review is from: Kingdom Under Fire: Heroes (Xbox) (Video Game)
Ever since the first one i was extremly impressed at how well you can control your army. Plenty of action and more characters i really think that the second one is much more RP-(Role Playing) than than the first. After playing a demo of this game i can say that the graphics are better. The way you control your army is better and the new range of Units available. Compare both games together and you can't go wrong.
If you liked the first you would be mad not to like this one to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heroic Bloodshed, 21 April 2012
By 
J. Clarke "Alright Sally" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kingdom Under Fire: Heroes (Xbox) (Video Game)
For me, Kingdom Under Fire: Heroes was a rare impulse buy - after hearing good things about the original game from friends, the images on the back and the 4 ratings on the front cover (Official Xbox Magazine rated ELITE, 9.0/10 "A must have title", E3's Editors Choice for best in show 2005, dubbed "One of the Xbox's best offerings". Only available on Microsoft's Xbox console, Online Enabled (for a now defunct Xbox Live service), KUFH was developed by Phantagram and Blue Side Studios, both creators of the predecessor KUF 'The Crusade', a game which it doesn't differ much from. This time, you get more different characters with brand new story-lines, new troops, maps and a generally better battle system. While there are 7 characters to choose from in the beginning, each ones story is fairly short and consist of around 10 main plot battles and 5 optional ones for further experience and gold. Regardless of its short single player experiences, KUFH became one of my favorite Xbox titles due to its addictive customisation and accumulation of troops as well as its strenuous learning curve. Rated 12+ by PEGI due to a fair amount of fantasy violence and the odd curse.

STORY
The game is a prequel to KUFTC, 5 years before the Encablossa war (an everyone for themselves type continental peril) accurately dubbed 'The Beginning of Chaos. Dependant on which character you choose, the story can be broken down into 2 sections, practically of good and evil. The human alliance involves pushing back the hordes of orcs and sneaky dark elves, and take the castle stronghold of Arein, where the vampire lord dwells. The dark legion is more about the defence of the castle, acquiring new allies and keeping them on a leash while you try to usurp them and their land. It spans across several areas of the continent Bersia known as Hexter, Vellond, Hironeiden, Ecclesia and Azilla, occupied specifically by each set of races, tribes and armies. One constant in the story however is the plan of Valdemar called 'The appeasement of Vellond' which sees his armies strike deals with neutral forces and crush enemy resistance. Another reoccurring noteworthy plot item is the 'Ancient Heart', an artifact of unknown origin and religious importance. Once thing is certain however, everyone fights, everyone dies, civil war is rife throughout.
CHARACTERS
The Human Alliance
Rupert (Hard) - Wielding a two handed war hammer, this savage man fights for his human homeland of Hironeiden, with slow but strong attacks and a high defence. A companion of the 'good' characters from past games. Only made available when one of the human storylines are complete.

Ellen - a half elf character, using a swift sword was an Ecclesian army captain, later turncoat, who focuses on multiple blows, fast attacking and mana regeneration. Wife of the Crusaders main character Gerald, who she befriends and follows under his command.
Walter - Found on the PAL front cover of the game is a holy warrior with a mighty mace and shield. A man of faith, almost cult like belief, utilizing spells for healing and improvements. His God Encablosa whispers to him on occasion, forcing his hand to commit terrible deeds to prove loyalty, making this campaign a tough journey about religion.

The Dark Legion
Cirith - A beautiful dark elf whose story is mostly based on family ties and military orders, which end up with the task of stealing the 'ancient heart'. Her attacks are rather weak but incredibly fast, using a katar as her main weapon.
Morene (Nightmare) - A half vampire whose raw beauty is only matched by her brutal mindset. Dressed in the most revealing outfit ever seen, she sees to the needs of the King of Vellond, Valdemar, Leinheart's father, and is sent to dispatch various troops with her bone blade, as well as keep a close eye on the dark prince. Like Walter, one of 2 story-lines must be finished before being unlocked.

Urukubarr (Hell) - The mightiest ogre of the tribal chieftains. A defender of the ogre land Hexter, Urukubarr faces the toughest campaign in the game, making peace with the vampire lord, only to discover their intentions are far worse than first thought. He uses his bare hands to tear into enemy troops and is only available to play when Morene's story has been completed.
Leinhart - Son of the vampire lord, and prince of Vellond, Leinhart is a half-blood sporting a deadly longsword. His task is to unite the orc tribes of Hexter in an attempt to gain a powerful ally, but soon enough he takes up a supportive role to the mighty Regnier. Fairly quick attacks with good rhythm and hilariously devious conversations make this my personal favourite character.

Each character has they're own specific move set, with steady controls of A as a strong attack, X for quick hits, B special moves and Y special attacks. Most of which can be combined for devastating moves that can plough through droves of enemies at once or just be visually gruesome. They all have fairly different storys that don't always necessarily tie into the past games, nor do they always come across each other in battle. Your beloved heroes are not alone on their journeys either, accompanied by captains and generals beneath and above you. Devald, my particular favorite wingman, is an undead lich, that always refers to Leinheart as 'Milord' and tries to suggest the best course of action when battle ensues or is considered unnecessary. He is often brushed off as an annoyance and gets told off a few times for his insistance with memorable lines of dialogue in and out of battle. Devald: "War-chief Kulu's force is critical." Leinhart: "I'm asking you politely, Devald. Shut up." all in gloriously well done voice acting.
BATTLES
Start off by selecting your additional troops of up to 4 and when allowed, 2 extra support units. The objectives aren't always the same, but the majority of the time, the task is to decimate everything in sight. You take control of all your units and guide them across the map in search of others or objectives. You can give orders for troops to change their formation (tighter or spaced apart) for strategic advantages, send out lone soldiers to scout out the unknown battlefield (up to 3), send units to specific locations and position them to get every advantage out of your surroundings (which consist mostly of thick forests, barron deserts, mountain side hellholes and medieval camps and castles). The landscape also ties into battle very well, for example, placing units underneath trees makes them less vulnerable to arrow attacks, having the upper ground and making surprise attacks from the rear catch your enemies off guard etc. When units commence in battle, you take control of your character and dish out the damage personally, searching for high ranking officers to damage their morale and leave them hopeless, saving time and your troops lives. In time, the battle cries of your men and main general can be a bit annoying, with phrases like "We'll get another chance later" when retreating and character introductions. Each troop has their own health and SP bar (stamina or special points) along with their own unique abilities for use when SP is high enough. These mostly include healing & destruction spells, with elemental benefits like freezing, burning, paralysis, poisoning etc. Generals can also be summoned to aid you when pressing the white or black buttons.

TROOPS
Range through the different races of elves, humans & orcs - each with separate paths to becoming stronger, more advanced fighters. The unit types consist of various infantry, sappers, archers, spearman, axeman, cavalry, mortars or combinations of two. Special unit types also offer some fantastic options: elemental incarnations, massive scorpions, dirigibles, swamp mammoths, wyverns, catapults, balistas etc. With this vast arsenal of strategic options, you can make sure no battle is ever the same and plan your next one immensely to be in your favour. These troops get better stats and defence by being levelled up after gaining EXP from battles (which is spread out as you wish) to increase specific stats like attack power, elemental strength, teamwork, riding ability, frontal assault and several other perquisites to achieve the next rank. Every troop is led by a superior officer which can be changed and upgraded singularly. With victory, comes gold to spend on new recruits, weapons and armour. Purchase new leaders with new battle options in pubs, offering them a deal and haggling for a better price. Kit your troops out in new gear to make them more resilient in battle, acquire unique weaponry with elemental damage, more gold & EXP gain, better health & SP regen.
MUSIC
The soundtrack is built up of non stop heavy metal-core instrumental rock. Lots of chugging, grungey guitars with finger blister melodies, double bass pedal & over the top symbol use for intense battles and well chosen tracks to match themes such as retreating and gaining the upper hand. Outside of battle, the music is the same as the menu song - a downplayed, epic orchestral piece with sinister undertones. The credits upon completing the game bizarrely have timid piano pieces which may seem fitting to the end of fighting, but when you know the story, its only the beginning. The games introduction video that showcases the battles has some lyrics, along the lines of "I am alive, I am war" with the insane heavy metal musicianship going on. Even the when plotting out the battle beforehand you get bombarded with an intense metal-core soundtrack.

MULTIPLAYER
This feature was fairly good, meeting fellow opponents on Xbox Live to do battle with in similar fashion to the games campaign. Unfortunately there is no cooperative option which would have made this function so much more enjoyable and it was quite difficult to find anyone to compete with anyway and as of May 11, 2010, the old service was disconnected completely, making this mode obsolete.
NEGATIVES
Sometimes in battle, you'd get caught between fights and escaping which seemed like a glitch as you couldn't really do anything to stop it. Some troops just don't bare strong enough capabilities to warrant an inclusion to your battle or the game itself for that matter and the inclusion of the 'bone dragon' is even more of a slap in the face now as it sounds so awesome and appears a possible troop upgrade in the progression tree - but it was only possible in multiplayer. These are the only faults I could find for the game, that and loading times between battles and loading of saves, but since this is fairly old now and on the original Xbox platform, I can let that slide.

CONCLUSION
The difficulty will put a lot of gamers of as some levels are just ridiculously hard and only perfect timing and strategy will prevail - this is something I applaud because games don't challenge gamers as much anymore.. at least not legitimately. So I'd rate this a very high 4/5 stars, missing out because of the lack of coop, missing multiplayer, and somewhat short stories. Even so, I still go back to play this game every so often - because it defines the word challenging, whilst being rewarding, without being boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 July 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kingdom Under Fire: Heroes (Xbox) (Video Game)
Kingdom Under Fire: Heroes is an amazing game, when I brought the game I was surprised about all the features that were in it and how superbly executed that they all were. You control soldiers and issue commands to them all while fighting alongside them simultaneously in real time. This game provides a fantastic blend of action, RTS and RPG and delivers on all fronts. I'll sum this epic gem up in sections:

The gameplay is rather unique. You control troops and issue commands to them all and then charge the enemy and start fighting against them as your character After you finish a mission you can level your character and troops up and there are so many customization options that they make this game one of the best RPG's of all time when it comes to customization. It's a great achievement when you finally level your character up to LV 99 and then replay missions where the enemies are so weak that their attacks don't even hurt you. The RTS elements are good as well and you'll probably often find yourself controlling troops even while you are in combat providing an adrenaline based experience. This just makes the game feel even more epic as you struggle to fight and control troops, all at the same time while ultimately provides a challenging and difficult experience which just adds all the more to the fun and achievement when you finally do win a hard mission. To sum the gameplay up: amazing RPG elements, amazing RTS elements and so many combos and attacks for each of the heroes that you get to play as.

The story is truly fantastic as are the characters each who have great depth to them. The story is quite complicated if you haven't played the previous Kingdom Under Fire game but you can understand it after you play all the characters completely and that is when you realize it is a great story. Kingdom Under Fire: Heroes fills in the gaps of the previous game and doesn't continue with the main story really. It shows why Walter and the patriarch wanted the ancient heart - an artifact from the devil - why Walter stole it from the patriarch and how he found it as well as how he destroyed it. Walter's end mission is the greatest as he faces every army from every nation with his small army and the momentum building up to this part certainly delivers an awesome experience. Truly I must say that the story in this game is one of the best I've experienced.

Conclusion:

Great music, great combat, almost never ending RPG elements and a brilliant RTS experience, this game is a must buy for anyone.

10/10

P.S

I don't view comments so questions won't be answered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mixed thoughts, 29 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Kingdom Under Fire: Heroes (Xbox) (Video Game)
Kingdom under fire : Heroes is, to me, not that greater game.
Yes the combat and the strategic part of the game are excellent, with great moves and brilliant graphics this game would have 5 stars, If, it wern't for 3 main things. 1 is that the talking in between levels is extremley annoying (you will find yourself vigerously tapping the x button to skip all the dialog) they are talking as if you are meant to know what the hell they are talking about. 2ndly is the difficulty and the actuall levels - i was really looking forward to this game, and the first few levels on ellens campaign are good and intreging. But when you have to escape through a cave full of lava it is rediculouse. You get hammered buy 3 units of the best infantry and archers. (against your moderate forces of spearman archers and your unit) Plus you get this man in the background saying "Curatio poisens the men" which can mean either , cast the spell on the to poisen them, or we are being poisened by curatio. Maybe it's ju8st me but i can't get past that level (maybe im doing something wrong)This sort of thing happens on every campaign for me, it's like they expect you to know what you are doing, all the time (no help atall, or not enuff) The 3rd is when your general unit is fighting (the one with your hero in) is all the men in that unit die you loose the game. Which i cannot stand, even if you have the rest of your entire army fighting somewhere else, you loose. I personally think they should have made the hero separate from there unit, and given them a separate helth bar of something. But in my opinion it's the right game, for a minority of people. i wouldn't buy it again if i had the choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best RPG'S ever made!, 19 Sep 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kingdom Under Fire: Heroes (Xbox) (Video Game)
Kingdom Under Fire Heroes, is much longer than any other Kingdom Under Fire, and it has more characters. The Story is great, and some of it continues of from Kingdom Under Fire The Crusaders. The main Character is Walter, who recieves a message from God to destroy an evil artifact. Unknown to Walter and the other person who recieved this message(The Pope)this message was actually from a demon...The Lord of Darkness.

Anyway enough about the story, what about the missions? Well their are around 10 missions in everyone's story, and that gives you 10 hours or less, or even more hours of playtime for each Character, and their are 7 characters, so if you dont replay games, you should still get 70 hours out of this game. However if you wish to replay missions, you can, this allows you to get a character up to LV99 you can even buy the best armour avalible so that when people attack you, your health does not drop. You can also make the best army ever, by getting their resistance's up so that nothing hurts them. This is why this game is One Of the Best RPG'S ever made, I still dont think it beats Kingdom Under Fire The Crusaders, but it's still a good add to the series.

I've got hundreds of hours out of this game...that shows how great it is.

I dont review replies to reviews, so dont bother replying.

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok But Bugs, 13 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Kingdom Under Fire: Heroes (Xbox) (Video Game)
A great Game for the first campagin........ ellen's campagin is brilliant level 5 and 6 are just running levels anyway ill move on after ellen's campagin you get ruperts now this is a VERY HARD campagin im actually stuck on it at the moment leinhart's campagin is actually impossible walters campagin has a bug on lvl 2 (Altar Of Destruction) when "anymonus" name does not move to follow you to the ancient heart" he did once then i got no support while killing 4 teams of fire wraiths i got support once again just like when "anynmous" followed me but on the other hand the combat is great the designers of this game really needed to lower the difficulty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kingdom Under Fire: Heroes (Xbox)
22.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews