Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Waters At His Greatest
Ok - so this is typical John Waters circa 1975 had he won the (then) equivalent of the lottery. Bigger budget version of "Polyester" complete with all the usual JW trappings (late 1950's - early 1960's songs, unlikely castings etc.) Storyline a little weak and distinct lack of iconic lines, but some worthwhile cinema moments (Tracey Ullman dancing under newly-acquired...
Published on 20 Dec 2006 by wayne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars When the trailer describes a movie as shocking, twisted and depraved you know it's got to be a John Waters film.....
When the trailer describes a movie as shocking, twisted and depraved you know it's got to be a John Waters film! His latest in a long list of alternative cinema offerings is a real dig at American morality at a time when the USA was going through a particularly Christian fundamentalist period. A Dirty Shame (2004) is a return to the vulgarity of his earlier movies being...
Published 1 day ago by Movie Rambler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Waters At His Greatest, 20 Dec 2006
By 
wayne (manchester UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Dirty Shame [DVD] (DVD)
Ok - so this is typical John Waters circa 1975 had he won the (then) equivalent of the lottery. Bigger budget version of "Polyester" complete with all the usual JW trappings (late 1950's - early 1960's songs, unlikely castings etc.) Storyline a little weak and distinct lack of iconic lines, but some worthwhile cinema moments (Tracey Ullman dancing under newly-acquired sexual prowerness in old folks home is excellent ) - I am sorely missing a cameo by the late-Divine and the late (r) Cookie Mueller would have been superbly cast as Ray Ray's PR, but a decent array of modern-day "also-rans'" make for an appropriate JW movie. I will watch this again and again and it is well worth adding to your collection if you are that way inclined. My only other gripe is that Chris Isaac fails to get his kit off but perhaps the budget didn't stretch that far !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 9 Mar 2011
By 
Olly M (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dirty Shame [DVD] (DVD)
This film is gleefully naughty, and pleasantly warped, reflecting its director, John Waters. Unlike some of Waters' early films, the acting is consistently good, and in places brilliant. Tracey Ullman is fine as the central character, but Suzanne Shepherd's performance was worth the price of the DVD, and more. The handbag scene had me laughing helplessly, as tears streamed down my face. I'm even laughing as I type this. It deserves 5 stars for the acting, the laughter it causes, and the delightfully warped quality at its heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars When the trailer describes a movie as shocking, twisted and depraved you know it's got to be a John Waters film....., 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dirty Shame [DVD] (DVD)
When the trailer describes a movie as shocking, twisted and depraved you know it's got to be a John Waters film! His latest in a long list of alternative cinema offerings is a real dig at American morality at a time when the USA was going through a particularly Christian fundamentalist period. A Dirty Shame (2004) is a return to the vulgarity of his earlier movies being both subversive and outrageous, described as a sex education film where none of the fetishes on show are made up, it works on the pretext that someone somewhere is performing a so called unnatural sexual act as you read this!

It starts sedately enough in a middle class area of Baltimore, rows of lovely houses with immaculate gardens and white picket fences; young innocent children play on well-manicured lawns. But inside the houses reside their repressed mummies and daddy's. That is until they get a bump on the head, meet Ray Ray and turn into sex addicts. This is what happened to Sylvia Stickles (Tracy Ullman), she hated not only the psychical act of sex but also the very idea of coupling with another human being; leading her husband Vaughn (Chris Isaak) to masturbate in the loo to sex magazine’s to release the poor man’s frustrations! But then she is involved in an accident that involves head injury. Through this incident she meets mechanic Ray Ray Perkins (Johnny Knoxville) and joins him at his garage where she discovers she is not along in her newly discovered sexual urges.

In this flaming cauldron of hidden lust Waters uses hypersexual activities as a metaphor for religious worship where a garage mechanic is treated as a sexual saint, the saviour of the puritanical residents of Hartford Road, their conversion brought on by an accidental bump on the head. This sexploitation movie is more a sly grin rather than being outright funny. Although it’s great to see the John Waters of old on display but I don’t think it will ever become the cult classic that Pink Flamingos (1972) become. The ‘extra’ on the DVD, All The Dirt… is in fact far funnier than the actual feature and informs us that John Waters is to Baltimore what Ingmar Bergman is to Sweden and that if he had not become a filmmaker he would probable have become a mass murderer! http://brianmatthews60.blogspot.co.uk/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stick to waters earlyer work., 25 Jan 2011
This review is from: A Dirty Shame [DVD] (DVD)
A Dirty Shame starts of like it could be somthing great in a tasteless kind of way but by the time your half way thorough it you will no doubt have the feeling that someone has repeated a joke to you over and over again.
I would say stick to John Waters ealyer work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars what a waste, 22 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: A Dirty Shame [DVD] (DVD)
this film is a satire on american values ,and sadly just comes across as a load of daft and unfathonable spliced shorts. thank the powers that be for tracey ullman and the other main players without whom this film would be for the bin!
rickwill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I love practically anything by John Waters!, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dirty Shame [DVD] (DVD)
Ridiculous, silly, trashy......and very entertaining in a way that only John Waters can get away with. Wonderful and I still think Tracey Ullman is very talented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dirty Shame [DVD] (DVD)
This is what used to be called a bad "B" movie. A pathetic storyline, bad acting what more can be said? Watched once and never again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not John's ace in the hole, 25 Aug 2010
By 
Kuma "kuma" (Reading, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dirty Shame [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst I found this movie to some extent enjoyable and I bust a little chuckle now and again, here John came a long way from pulling off, I mean pulling this movie off... Ultimately, the big concept that the film is built around - that people who get hit on the head become sex addicts - doesn't hold together and what plot there is seems to dissolve about half way through into something incoherent. What you are left with is a bunch of skits filled with references to unusual sexual practices done in a way that will still allow it to be shown at your local multiplex cinema. Its also let down by its casting, not by the Walters' regulars who deliver the expected on cue but by the b-list celebrities who blunder their way through this movie.

I ummed and ahhed over whether to give this 2 or 3 stars, it gets 3 stars because the documentary with John and characters explaining the feature is much more satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not John Waters best., 18 July 2010
By 
Ernie (Kent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Dirty Shame [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of John Waters, but this really isn't up to his past efforts. 'A Dirty Shame' is basically a tale of sexual perversions brought on by head injuries in a small, suburban town.
Instead on creating great characters and a fun story, Waters seems simply out to offend as many people as humanly possible. On one level 'A Dirty Shame' tries to be a commentary on the current state of sexuality in America, but for the most part it's just a tiresome parade of perverse gags that drowns out any statement it tries to make. The problem for me is that the script was too juvenile, the jokes weren't funny, it relied too heavily on shock factor, and towards the end it was really running out of steam.
Overall the film is not that bad, it's just that it falls far short of Waters usual high standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An hilarious modern cult classic, 17 July 2010
By 
This review is from: A Dirty Shame [DVD] (DVD)
John Waters came to fame (or is that notoriety) as a terrorist film-maker, making the 'big time' with his offbeat study of sixties Baltimore - Hairspray. There is always a particular feel to his films but they have softened since those early days. This film recalls that sense of the renegade. In Europe people will see this as an outrageous but very funny romp, and a clear swipe at Bible Belt America's moral dogmatism. To homely Americans it must have been a complete travesty.
The film wastes no time in drawing you into the indivuals and the subject matter in JW's offbeat, almost cuddly approach. Once you've seen Selma Blair's unfeasibly large breasts the film has you in it's grip. A few minutes on and you have been introduced to many strange deviations that normally stay hidden behind closed doors. Then the head banging begins (and I mean that in the literal sense). Every time a head is hit we are treated to a montage of clips from those odd little back street films the States made so many of. They are a delight, along with the film score, all taken from the same period. The film then continues to gather pace getting ever more surreal and funny until it's very American ending. The final shot leaves you thinking 'I don't believe he had the gall to put that in'.
Belief is stretched to breaking point; it abounds with sexual references, inuendos and euphemisms that are an education, but however far out it gets the comedy holds you. And all that with nothing more explicit than a few brief nude shots, tame compared with most modern romances.
Certainly not one for prudes or those with a traditional outlook on life. But if you like the unusual and films that push the boundaries then I highly recommend it. Everyone I know (bar one) who has seen this considers it the funniest film they have seen in many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Dirty Shame [DVD]
A Dirty Shame [DVD] by John Waters (DVD - 2005)
3.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews