Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great
i loved this film, it was sweet and a little funny but it didn't go overboard with useless jokes that no-one laughs at, the acting was superb and the film was overall a hit.

I didn't expect to be impressed by it when i bought it under the reccomendation of a friend but i was pleasently suprised, it was actually good with J Lo in it.

The scenario is...
Published on 1 May 2006 by Super_22_chick

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute and entertaining
Jennifer Lopez is beautiful and very funny in this film, and Jane Fonda is hilarious as the rich mother-in-law to be who considers Lopez's character to be nowhere near good enough for her son, played by Michael Varten. So Viola (Fonda) sets about trying to get rid of Charlie (Lopez) through various devious plots and schemes, many with daft and humerous consequences. The...
Published on 22 Aug 2008 by L. H. Healy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 1 May 2006
This review is from: Monster In Law [DVD] (DVD)
i loved this film, it was sweet and a little funny but it didn't go overboard with useless jokes that no-one laughs at, the acting was superb and the film was overall a hit.

I didn't expect to be impressed by it when i bought it under the reccomendation of a friend but i was pleasently suprised, it was actually good with J Lo in it.

The scenario is realistic, an overprotected mother doesn't want her son to marry anyone let alone a woman who skips between about 5 jobs and she will go to all lengths to stop the marriage, even fake an anxiety attack and pay a man to pretend to be a doctor.

I loved it sooooo much, great for a girly night in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab funny perfect rom-com, 4 Feb 2011
This review is from: Monster In Law [DVD] (DVD)
This film is the perfect romantic comedy, takes you away into a perfect dream world, and makes you really want to be Jenny Lopez and Jane Fonda is HYSTERICAL. watched this many times and still laugh, great story line tho you know there will be a happy ever after - what else?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, 13 May 2006
This review is from: Monster In Law [DVD] (DVD)
Actually watched this the day it arrived, and really pleased I did. Having seen the trailer for it on another movie, I knew it had to added to my rental list. Although single myself, I've worked with enough people to know quite a bit about Mother In Laws to put me off them.

Cannot recall seeing Jane Fonda in a movie since Barbarella, but her comedy in this is first class especially the nut allergy and her "don't leave/stay with me" supposedly girly friendship with her new daughter-in-law played by Jennifer Lopez. This was only the second film I've seen Lopez in (the other being Angel Eyes) and her move to comedy was a good one, so wouldn't hesitate to try others. Also liked the personal assistant character although my only complaint would be some of her lines were not that clear leaving the viewer to work out what she said. The appearance by Elaine Stritch was a total surprise when she went up in the cast, couldn't think what character she would play in this type of movie, but you'll have to rent it to find the connection. Overall a really enjoyable film, would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cute and entertaining, 22 Aug 2008
By 
L. H. Healy "Books are life, beauty and truth." (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monster In Law [DVD] (DVD)
Jennifer Lopez is beautiful and very funny in this film, and Jane Fonda is hilarious as the rich mother-in-law to be who considers Lopez's character to be nowhere near good enough for her son, played by Michael Varten. So Viola (Fonda) sets about trying to get rid of Charlie (Lopez) through various devious plots and schemes, many with daft and humerous consequences. The two younger leads make a gorgeous couple, and Lopez is great at the cute, sweet role she has, though she is funny too. Fonda makes the most of the part and shocks with her deviousness! Inevitably the groom is oblivious to all this going on under his nose, and the arrival of a surprise wedding guest provokes an entertaining conclusion to all of the scheming!

Enjoyable and daft, a nice length and easy to watch, funny and romantic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good rom com, 16 Aug 2008
By 
Dodster (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Monster In Law [DVD] (DVD)
If you like romantic comedy, this comes highly recommended.
The scenario has been done before. Sweet girl (J.Lo) finds the man of her dreams (Michael Vartan) only to find he comes with baggage, in form of a dimented mother (Jane Fonda). Naturally, no one is good for her son, and the mother sets out to destroy the relationship.
Very funny comic mayhem ensues as the two lock horns.
This is an undemanding but engaging romcom. Well acted and with a delightful cameo by Elain Stritch.
Very, very watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster In Law [DVD] (DVD)
This is one Excellent funny film, will have you crying with laughter. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars waste of money, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster In Law [DVD] (DVD)
good film, poor quality disk, thats all you can say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Film!, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster In Law [DVD] (DVD)
Jennifer Lopez is great in this film. Jane Fonda is also excellent, and you will laugh out loud from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster In Law [DVD] (DVD)
Product received in time frame. Product as described. Have watched the film and there are no problems with it. Lovely feel good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Fonda is diabolical, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster In Law [DVD] (DVD)
A must-see movie, Jane Fonda is diabolical. If you have a monster mother-in-law, I guess this will be the perfect gift for Mother Day, her birthday or her Christmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monster In Law [DVD]
Monster In Law [DVD] by Robert Luketic (DVD - 2005)
3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews