Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More fun than waxing!
I have not seen the original film, but this is not a remake of the Vincent Price movie, similar to the recent House on hauted hill film also done by Dark castle is not a straight remake. This is very much a modern day teen horror and is one of the best I have seen of the gerne and I have seen quite a few!
Very similar in some ways to Wrong turn, a group of young...
Published on 19 Dec 2005 by DVD Fan

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A novel kind of "all over body wax"...
I haven't seen the 1953 original version of this film starring Vincent Price , but I suspect that it is better than this 2005 remake. There is nothing in "House of Wax" that I haven't seen before. It is a fairly ordinary "slasher" film featuring a group of young people on a road trip who end up getting bumped off one by one in an isolated village in...
Published on 28 Mar 2006 by L. Davidson


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A novel kind of "all over body wax"..., 28 Mar 2006
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I haven't seen the 1953 original version of this film starring Vincent Price , but I suspect that it is better than this 2005 remake. There is nothing in "House of Wax" that I haven't seen before. It is a fairly ordinary "slasher" film featuring a group of young people on a road trip who end up getting bumped off one by one in an isolated village in Louisiana. A lot of the gore in the film is totally gratuitous and certainly does not add to the enjoyment of the film. The dialogue and characterisation in "House of Wax" is cliched and uninspired and the action is mostly predictable , although the acting itself is reasonably good. For me ,the highlight of the movie was the House of Wax itself , a superb Gothic creation and the stunning special effects in it at the end are the saving grace of a fairly run of the mill "horror" movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More fun than waxing!, 19 Dec 2005
By 
DVD Fan (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I have not seen the original film, but this is not a remake of the Vincent Price movie, similar to the recent House on hauted hill film also done by Dark castle is not a straight remake. This is very much a modern day teen horror and is one of the best I have seen of the gerne and I have seen quite a few!
Very similar in some ways to Wrong turn, a group of young friends head of for a road trip to a football game and take a shortcut of the beaten road. After camping overnight one of the cars needs a repair. So off they go into the local town where they could become the next main attraction!
House of wax has some good young actors, especially Elisha Cutbert and Paris Hilton in the eye candy role. Good special effects you barely notice as they blend in rather well. Some grusome and original death scenes! For a 15 this does have some gory moments, similar to other Dark Castle productions I noticed. Overall a very good, original horror featuring a strong cast, a bit slow to start but once things start to go wrong for the group the action doesn't let up. Horror fans espescially will want this in their collection!
It has plenty of extras too, a fun commentary by the 4 main actors as they view footage from production and out-takes. A very unique extra as they laugh and joke looking back to the time of filming and nearly 30 minutes long! There is a 10min feature on the production design of the House of wax and the town set. A 8min feature on the special effects used. Also 1 deleted scene, short gag reel and a trailer. A well put together DVD with some fun extras and a great film! 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly entertaining!! Well worth a look!, 26 Aug 2005
This review is from: House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Don't make the mistake of automatically thinking this movie can't be any good, just because Paris Hilton is in it. Some critics complained about the slow start to the movie, but this is because time is taken to let us get to know the characters. If we don't don't get to know them, then we're not gonna care when bad things start to happen. Elisha Cuthbert and Chad Michael Murray come away from this film with the acting honours, with Elisha in particular being a very believable horror movie heroine. The movie really comes into its own in the final 20 minutes, when there is some superb effects work to portray the demise of the actual wax house. If you saw this film at the cinema, the DVD is well worth getting for its extras which include - B-roll and bloopers, Cast commentaries, Wax on, Melt down, Gag reel, Alternate open, From location - Joel Silver reveals House of Wax, theatrical trailer.
So go on, sit back and enjoy yourself - this film is 100% guaranteed to entertain you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars House Of Wax DVD, 13 Oct 2005
By 
K. A. Mearns "kevin6187" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
House Of Wax has to be one of, if not the best film i've ever watched - it has everything anyone could possibly want from a horror film and more and features some amazing talent from up and coming actors including Elisha Cuthbert (from 24), Chad Michael Murray (from One Tree Hill) and .. well .. Paris Hilton.
The basic plot is about a group of six friends on their way to a football game and decide to camp out in the woods. In the morning they find their car has been tampered with so make thier way to a deserted 'middle-of-nowhere' town to find help. This town is home to Trudy's House Of Wax - a seemingly popular attraction with extremely life-like wax inhabitants. But when the group start being bumped off one by one and becoming involentry members of this Wax Mueseum, they uncover this town's shocking secret and must escape before there's none of them left to tell the tale.
This film, as any other, offers it's share of thrills and chills and can be quite gross at times but is interesting and fast paced from the word go, never looses it's grip on the audience and builds up to a stunning and visually magnificant climax which will stay with you for a while.
The plot's is great but the cast help carry the film also, even Paris as she brought alot of media hype to this movie and i was shocked to see myself hoping she'd survive in this film as it was Elisha who brought my attention to it.
The DVD also offers great special features including 3 Featurettes, a Behind The Scenes Audio Commentary for Bloopers with 4 of the cast (Elisha, Chad, Paris and Jared), an Alternate Opening Sequence and the Theactrical Trailer.
I recommend this to fans of such films as Darkness Falls, Wrong Turn and The Texas Chainsaw Massacre but not so much to fans of the original as this version is very loosly based on the Vincent Price classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars no, paris hilton IS NOT good but the rest is good!!, 1 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I saw this film in the cinema when it first came out mostly because I am a HUGE horror movie fan and also chad michael murray is hot!! I was actually pleasantly surprised when I saw this because it actually keeps the scares up throughout the film mostly thanks to the fantastic brian von holt.However when i say I was pleasantly surprised, i mean after i got out of the cinema and had time to block out any horrific moments i then had a chance to think about how good the film actually was. Be warned this film is not for the faint of heart!! It is extremely gory!!
The only down point in my opinion in this movie, apart from the extreme gore, is paris hilton's performance. She sucks and that is me putting it nicely. She is wooden and unbelievable and throughout the entire film i kept thinking 'should she not be going to a party about now?!' Honestly I did not think she died soon enough! That being said her death scene is easily the most imaginative and frankly, the funniest!
Don't let Paris Hilton put you off this film though. The rest of the performances are fantastic particularly elisha cuthburt and chad michael murray along with brian von holt. And if you are a particulary hardcore horror fan no doubt you will enjoy the death scenes which are a complete shock and surprise each time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gruesome and scary: House of Wax is awesome!, 18 Feb 2006
This review is from: House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
What do people want in a scary movie? A bit of gore, tense moments, a scary psycho? If that's want you want in a horror movie, House of Wax fits the bill perfectly. If you ignore the acting skills of some of the young victims(hmmm...Paris Hilton)you are slowly introduced to the simple story. Teen-agers on a trip, car gets sabotaged, find nearest town, look in the macabre 'House of Wax', get killed off one by one. House of Wax is so entertaining. It has horrible murders and gruesome incidents that get you hooked from the word go. There are also some really exciting chases through the derelict town and after all the murders and chases you come to the end where the movie leaves you on a deadly cliff-hanger that makes you want to watch it again and again. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars House of Wax - Whew!, 8 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Well worth the wait. A throw-back to the old Friday the 13th and Halloween 'slasher's' but with an excellant plot-line and some outstanding "death's" A big 5 star for Paris Hilton's character end. The FX were excellent a good mix of CGI and old fashioned effects that worked well. This film was produced by the same people who made Ghostship and you can tell, same great production values and set design. Well Worth Watching! (WWW)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, But NOT A Remake!!!, 24 July 2005
By 
Mr. P. A. Reeves "DoctorDonna" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
First of all this movie is not a direct remake of the 1953 classic! It's more of a film that has borrowed the main plot and then ran with it. With that out of the way i'll continue. A group of friends are on their way to a football game when they have to pull over and camp for the night after being diverted by a road block. The next morning they find one of their cars needs a new fan belt after the old one broke (i don't think it broke people) and then the horror begins! This is a great movie that is full of creepy sets and the town it self is really cool! The cast is great, lead by Elisa Culbert (24), with Chad Michael Murray (One Tree Hill), Jared Padalecki (Gilmore Girls) and Paris Hilton (Who actually is good!) and not forgeting Brian Von Holt as the very disturbed Bo/Vincent! All in all a good movie that was overlooked because of critics bashing Paris Hilton! Go on, give it go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Great film, packaging was perfect would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This movie is one of the best horror films ive ever seen, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This movie is one of the best horror films ive ever seen..well done ...realy tense all way through and the acting is brilliant even from paris hilton...the effects were amaizing....I coudnt take my eyes off the screen..so all u horror fans that dont own this movie ..buy it you wont be dissapointment..brilliant film ..well worth a buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House Of Wax [DVD] [2005]
House Of Wax [DVD] [2005] by Jaume Collet-Serra (DVD - 2005)
3.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews