Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another Fall classic
This is premium Fall, it sounds really fresh and revitalised after the troubled times of a few years back. Smith sounds fired up, the band are tight, the whole thing sounds like they are having fun again. For a band who've made more classic albums than most bands have songs, it's great to have such a brilliant new album. Heavy, rolling, locked-groove bass-lines, catchy...
Published on 4 Oct 2005 by Barry N McKeown

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good - but a bit too familiar
Overall this is a very enjoyable Fall lp but, to me, it's a bit backward-looking. It's like a catalogue of what The Fall have been up to now. Clasp Hands is very much Brix-era. What About Us? could have been on Middle Class Revolt, Blindness and Youwanner could have been on Hex Enduction Hour.
Midnight In Aspen and Early Days of Channel Führer, on the...
Published on 15 Nov 2005 by thomas12321


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another Fall classic, 4 Oct 2005
By 
Barry N McKeown (Stoke Newington, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fall Heads Roll (Audio CD)
This is premium Fall, it sounds really fresh and revitalised after the troubled times of a few years back. Smith sounds fired up, the band are tight, the whole thing sounds like they are having fun again. For a band who've made more classic albums than most bands have songs, it's great to have such a brilliant new album. Heavy, rolling, locked-groove bass-lines, catchy tunes (well I think so), Smith is almost even singing at some points. Ride Away has choppy guitar and almost an oompah feel, but of course sounds like The Fall. Blindness lurches with menace, a bit like Big New Prinz. I can Hear The Grass grow would be in the charts, if I was in charge; it's a bit like Infotainment Scan period stuff. There's hints of Free range in all this too, and Dr Buck's Letter.
Job's a good'un!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Fall Album, 17 April 2006
By 
J. Mann - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fall Heads Roll (Audio CD)
I've followed The Fall for ages and this is one of their strongest albums. The opening track is unusual - they usually provide a very powerful and driving opening track so I guess this is something to stop them getting too predictable. The album as a whole is very good, every track is excellent and it is something you can listen to over and over again.

I find it difficult to decide if they have created a new Fall sound - as Smith has done in the past for example with Levitate - or if they have returned to the sound of a previous era. My conclusion is that this album takes all that was good about The Fall in the past and has bottled it, as if there was some essence of Fall that Smith just keeps making more and more pure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Living Leg End" at his best, 5 Mar 2007
By 
K_Deel (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fall Heads Roll (Audio CD)
Most groups' best albums usually come early on in their careers. However, The Fall's are dotted about within their bulging corpus of work. But then The Fall have never been like most groups. There are four or five tracks on this album that compare well with anything Mark E Smith has written in the past 'Blindness', 'Pacifying Joint' and 'What About Us' in particular. The (now departed) band are excellent with thunderous rhythms to the fore and riffs driven into the ground like fence posts. If you haven't picked up a Fall album for years, I'd recommend this as a good place to get back on board!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to form with vengeance, 9 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Fall Heads Roll (Audio CD)
The Fall return to their riff dominated repetitious best with this latest release. Dominated by driving garage rock with more than a nod towards the Stooges this album however has a couple of more reflective pastoral pieces with the elegiac "Midnight Aspen" offering an sideways nod to Hunter S Thompson. The driving "Youwanner" is a synthesis of all that is great about this latest incarnation of the band. Smiths acerbic wit is written large across the album with no ex band member or stone left unturned. A marvellous album repeating the return to form begun with "The Real New Fall LP".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fall classic album 2005 alert...., 23 Mar 2006
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fall Heads Roll (Audio CD)
While I'm of the persuasion that every Fall album is decent - 'Room to Live', 'Cerebral Caustic' & 'Are You Are Missing Winner?' have several moments - there are certain titles that stand out and join the classic Fall album set: 'Live at the Witch Trials', 'Grotesque (after the gramme)', 'Hex Enduction Hour', 'This Nation's Saving Grace', 'Bend Sinister', 'Extricate','Shiftwork', 'The Infotainment Scan', 'The Marshall Suite' & 'The Unutterable.' The obligatory line-up changes have occurred since the last classic double whammy of 'Marshall' & 'Unutterable' - as the last two Peel Sessions show, the most recent line up(s) have found a new Fall on rare form. Anyone who has seen them live recently - I had the pleasure in Stratford Upon Avon last week - will know this is another great version of The Fall. 2003's 'The Real New Fall LP - Formerly 'Country on the Click' was the first classic move, an album almost as good as this and one to add to the Fall classics list. The line-up almost survives here - Ben Pritchard (guitar/backing vocals), Eleni Poulou (synthesiser/vocals) and the ever present Mark E. Smith traded in David Milner abd Jim Watts for Spencer Birtwistle & Steve Trafford. Amazingly the progress from 2003 onwards has continued and 'Fall Heads Roll' shows the new Fall are as great as the old Fall. As much as I love the reissues of the albums I love, 'Fall Heads Roll' shows the contemporary version is the most important. I can't think of a Fall album I'd like to listen to more NOW...
These songs have been around a few years - live, the final Peel Session from 2004 and on the 'Interim' mini-LP - the latter perhaps working in a similar manner to something short and sweet like 'Slates.' It's all great, all a highlight - I even like 'Early Days of Channel Fuhrer' and the closing 'Trust in Me' (sung by Trafford?) Opener 'Ride Away' is fantastic, not sure why someone said it was awful - it clearly belongs to the 'Kimble'-side of the Fall! 'Pacifying Joint' is where the album kicks into life, Korg-drones against some of that angular garage-punk - it's like Elastica never happened. Lots of these songs are based around that tight garage rock sound, the excellent production exploiting the joys of these songs. 'Assume', 'Youwanner', 'Bo Demmick', the cover of The Move's 'I Can Hear the Grass Grow' and 'Clasp Hands' all fitting the bill and wiping the floor with such pretenders as The Storks, White Stripe & The Yeah Yeah Liars.
...& then there are the songs that join the ranks of the finest Fall-tracks - 'Midnight in Aspen' (reprised like 'Winter'), the epic kraut-garage of live favourite 'Blindness', and the tale of a rabbit from East Germany and Harold Shipman, 'What About Us?' - which has better keyboards and a slightly tighter arrangement than the prior Peel version (the 'Hop!Hop!Hop!' mantra coming in just at the end now).
'Fall Heads Roll' is a fantastic album and was a key highlight of 2005. The band are reportedly back in the studio again with Grant Showbiz ('Dragnet', 'Shiftwork', 'Country on the Click', Billy Bragg, Wilco)- a band in their prime after all these decades. Who'd believe?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fall's gold, 9 Jan 2006
By 
J. W. Bassett (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fall Heads Roll (Audio CD)
Thirty years have passed since The Fall released their seminal debut, Live At The Witch Trials. While the band appeared to be in decline, 2003’s Real New Fall LP was hoped by many to indicate that the fire and passion that saw them knock out classics like Dragnet, Grotesque and Perverted By Language with almost casual regularity has returned.
Opener Ride Away is as jaunty a tune as they’ve released since their version of The Kinks’ Victoria. The electronic swirls bop along to a ragged reggae skank and a one-two beat with Mark E Smith’s cheeky, intermittent, “hey hey” is a perfect introduction to what is the most frequently brilliant Fall album since This Nation’s Saving Grace.
Pacifying Joint has Eleni Smith’s synthesiser zipping over the kind of dirge guitars that only The Fall do this well. That Smith’s lyrics are delivered in the perfect drawl is but icing on the cake. Blindness, having appeared on both Interim and the Peel Sessions Box Set, will be the track most anticipated by Fall fans. Harking back to their long-standing rule that ‘longer is better’ and sounding meaner than ever, Smith’s band demonstrate the magic that can make seven minutes of the same riff feel like a far too short length of time. Later, Smith deconstructs The Move’s I Can Hear The Grass Grow by literally tearing apart the original’s multi-layered arrangements and turning it into a raucous singalong.
Only the Mark E Smith-less Trust In Me (which, annoyingly, closes out the set) sounds out of place on an album which not only proves that The Fall can live up to their legend but, in fact, are more than able to surpass it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 27 Jun 2008
By 
D. J. Marsland (manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fall Heads Roll (Audio CD)
this was the album that the Strokes wanted to make. But the Strokes weren't bright enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A typical Fall album, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fall Heads Roll (Audio CD)
A typical Fall album. They may grate at times but they never let you down. The first Full album after the death of John Peel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fallen on His Feet, 19 Sep 2006
By 
Mr. Peter Barrett (Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fall Heads Roll (Audio CD)
This is an essential Fall album which drops one star only because it has one or two tracks which are difficult to listen to.

On the other hand, it has others which are classics. This guy is still on top form after 30 years on his very own bandwagon. Buy it, it's the real deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A return to form for The Fall, 23 Feb 2009
By 
J. Dalton (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fall Heads Roll (Audio CD)
The Fall at their finest. Contains the classic "Blindness" and other great tracks "Pacifying Joint" and "Ride away"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fall Heads Roll
Fall Heads Roll by The Fall (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews