Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent box set.
First of, I'll just say FINALLY! I've been waiting for this series to come out on DVD since the format started. Well, now I've got it, and was it worth the wait? It sure was.
The picture quality is very good from what I've seen so far. The show was shot on film, so it generally looks good anyway, not suffering the way so many shows did in the 1980s when they switched...
Published on 13 Sep 2005 by Mr Ghostface

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars present
bought as a present for an avid who was very pleased-price is excellent for what you are getting-not my viewing fare but she loves it.
Published 10 months ago by D. A. Putley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent box set., 13 Sep 2005
By 
Mr Ghostface (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder, She Wrote - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
First of, I'll just say FINALLY! I've been waiting for this series to come out on DVD since the format started. Well, now I've got it, and was it worth the wait? It sure was.
The picture quality is very good from what I've seen so far. The show was shot on film, so it generally looks good anyway, not suffering the way so many shows did in the 1980s when they switched to tape. (Even a big show like Dallas switched and it looked terrible). Anyway, the transfer seems nice and the episodes I've watched so far are all clean. The sound quality is excellent too, and the menus are nicely animated.
A fantastic show delivered to TV with respect.
One thing though, I do still love watching the afternoon repeats on BBC1. Just feels more natural on terrestrial TV. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine mystery series, thanks to solid plots, the pleasure of recognition and, above all else, Angela Lansbury, 22 Nov 2007
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Murder, She Wrote - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Murder, She Wrote might be a set of comfortable cozies designed for the BarcaLounger crowd, but count me in. It also is a classy murder mystery series which, over 12 seasons with usually 22 one-hour shows per season, maintained a high level of consistency and viewer loyalty.

I think there are three reasons for this. First, the mysteries are solid. The writers mostly play fair with the audience. There are clues to be had if we're alert (although sometimes the clue may be so insignificant that expecting it to be noticed is optimistic). The mysteries often involve relationships among people with whom we're given the time to get to know. There seldom are out-and-out rotters. It's not always possible to spot the villain early, and when justice is done, thanks to Jessica Fletcher (Angela Lansbury), the conclusion is satisfying.

Second, Murder, She Wrote was shrewd in using the "So that's what happened to him (or her)" ploy in most of the programs. It can be immensely satisfying to a target audience of a certain age to come across once well known actors you haven't seen in quite a while. Lansbury and her producers almost always had strong character parts written for former marque names who still commanded affection and fans. In the Season 1 set, for instance, you'll encounter, among others, Howard Duff, Virginia Mayo, Martin Landau, Dan O'Herlihy, June Allyson, Van Johnson, Dane Clark, Jose Ferrer, Milton Berle, Stewart Granger, Eddie Bracken and Samantha Egger. These aren't stunt roles. The actors carry their weight. Angela Lansbury has always been a supremely confident and successful actor. She seems to thrive in having strong actors to play off of.

Third, and most importantly, is Angela Lansbury. Over the years her appeal and her successes in movies, on Broadway and on television have been extraordinary. She seems able to play anything with complete aplomb. Did a dance hall girl ever have a more suspicious mind or do a more generous act than Em in The Harvey Girls? Did a housemaid ever seem more sluttish than Nancy in Gaslight? Did a grandmother ever seem...odder...than Grannie in The Company of Wolves? Did a mother ever seem more like an ice-cold demon from hell than Mrs. Iselin in The Manchurian Candidate? Years ago I saw her on Broadway in Sweeney Todd as the deranged Mrs. Lovett. Whenever she was on stage she simply dominated the audience. The role of Jessica Fletcher, mystery writer and resident of Cabot Cove, is one she could have played with her eyes shut. It's to her credit as an actor that she didn't. She turned Fletcher into an immensely likable character, smart, experienced, shrewd and, above all else, sympathetic. The fact that we like Jessica Fletcher is due to Lansbury and is the reason the series lasted for 12 seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Murder Mystery, 19 Oct 2005
This review is from: Murder, She Wrote - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Its about time JB Fletcher found her way onto a DVD boxset. For years Ive been trying to grab a copy and I managed to at my local Woolworths for 23! Barigin and its giving me many happy hours.
Its wonderful watching Jessica crack mystery after mystery and Ive never seen the pliot episode, but I loved it. It showed how a widow from a small sleepy town can become a huge celebritiy. 6 disks of pure mystery gold here and you would be mad to miss out on it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angela Lansbury as the 1980's Queen of Sleuthing, 16 Dec 2011
By 
Mikey (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Murder, She Wrote - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Back in May 1985, ITV commenced a series which would go on to run for 12 series, Murder She Wrote. The structure was extremely straightforward. Each week, novelist Jessica Fletcher (Angela Lansbury) would become involved in a murder, either at home in Cabot Cove, Maine or on one of her many destinations that she would end up in. Basically if Jessica Fletcher is in town, you can be sure of a murder.
To this day the series has had countless reuns on both the BBC and ITV. During the 1980s and 1990s ITV had first run episodes and then repeated them all. In the 2000s BBC1 and BBC2 took turns in running them. Even to this day (December 2011), ITV are rerunning episodes in the afternoons. Not to mention the numerous satellite channels that have also screened it. This series could be played forever!
Just a tiny selection of the countless guest stars in this first boxset include - Ned Beatty (Homicide: Life on the Street), Tom Bosley (Happy Days), Dack Rambo (Dallas), Jared Martin (Dallas), Kerry Armstrong (Prisoner: Cell Block H), Jerry Orbach (Law and Order), Barbara Babcock (Dallas/Hill Street Blues/Dr Quinn Medicine Woman), John Beck (Dallas), Morgan Brittany (Dallas), Diane Muldaur (LA Law), Rue McClanahan (Golden Girls) and William Windom in a different role to the recurring role he would have from series 2 as Dr Seth Hazlett.
"Murder Takes The Bus" is probably my favourite episode in this set. Go on, buy the set and find out which one you like the most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whodunnit?, 7 Oct 2013
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder, She Wrote - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I love to buy first seasons of tv series and have loads such as Little House on the Prairie, Star Trek, The Six Million Dollar Man, The Incredible Hulk, The Twilight Zone and many others.

My partner in crime aka the better half loves Murder She Wrote and all the female cop/crime tv from years gone by. She's obviously picked some tips up as she always seems to catch me out!

So I've bought her this first season for Christmas so she can sit in her new slippers and Christmas socks infront of the fire watching Jessica solve crime after crime. I won't mention the Snuggy as it didn't go down well at all last year :(

Murder She Wrote was a very successful and well loved series that ran for 12 seasons from 1984 to 1996 and also incorporated 4 movies. In this six disc set you get all 22 episodes including the pilot.

Here's a quick run down of the season one episodes which may jog your memory -

Disc one
-The Murder Of Sherlock Holmes (The Pilot Episode)
1 Deadly Lady

Disc 2
2 Birds Of A Feather
3 Hooray For Homicide
4 It's A Dogs Life
5 Lovers And Other Killers

Disc 3
6 Hit, Run And Homicide
7 We're Off To Kill The Wizard
8 Death Takes A Curtain Call
9 Death Casts A Spell

Disc 4
10 Capitol Offense
11 Broadway Malady
12 Murder To A Jazz Beat
13 My Johnny Lies Over The Ocean

Disc 5
14 Paint Me A Murder
15 Tough Guys Don't Die
16 Sudden Death
17 Footnote To Murder

Disc 6
18 Murder Takes The Bus
19 Armed Response
20 Murder At The Oasis
21 Funeral At Fifty-Mile

Guest stars throughout season one included Leslie Nielsen, Martin Landau, Andy Garcia, Joaquin Phoenix, Peter Graves, Vicki Lawrence, Jerry Orbach and Milton Berie.

The series is in full screen with English or Dutch subtitles. There is no audio description on these discs.

A fantastic box set of over 1,000 minutes of Murder She Wrote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just right, 25 July 2012
By 
GM Harlow (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder, She Wrote - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
These episodes are just right for watching while on my exercise bike. I use it most days when at home, and also my rowing machine.
I think probably what we all like about this series is the life style. Jessica Fletcher lives in a nice house in a small town where everyone knows her and she is well liked. She travels extensively, and makes her living writing books. Everyone thinks this must be a really enjoyable and easy way to live, so watching the episodes is really a marvellous escape into an ideal world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jessica rocks!!!!!!!!!, 3 Sep 2005
This review is from: Murder, She Wrote - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
jessica is the best detective since poirot what more could a murder she wrote fan wish for? the best box set around.I recommend this to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder She Wrote Season 1- FANTASTIC, 6 July 2012
By 
Linda Farrell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder, She Wrote - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This boxset is worth every penny. Angela Lansbury gives an Oscar Winning Performance as Mystery Novelist/Amatuer Sleuth JB Fletcher. each episode is brilliant, complex and leaves you guessing Whodunit till the very end. loved every minute of it.

My Favourite Episodes of Season 1 are the Pilot "The Murder of Sherlock Holmes", "Birds of a Feather", "Its a Dogs Life", "We're off to kill the Wizard", "Death casts a Spell", "Capitol Offence", "Broadway Malady", "My Jhonny lies over the Ocean", "Paint me a Murder", "Tough Guys dont die", "Murder takes the Bus", "Armed Response", "Murder at the Oasis", "Funeral at Fifty Mile"

Murderer's Better beware when JB Fletcher's on the Case
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vary Good, 20 Aug 2011
By 
Traffic (Kiruna, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder, She Wrote - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those TV programmes my mum used to watch when I was a kid, and I didn't like it back then because it just seemed to wussy to my young teenage mind. But, some handful of years later, I saw a couple of episodes of TV and actually enjoyed it. I think that Angela Lansbury is a brilliant actress and really gave the series its vary own unique way. Good, clean entertainment. I am seriously considering building up the entire 12 series for my collection.

So, here is all 22 episodes of the first season which aired from Sep 84 to Apr 85, in which we see a variety of instantly recognisable actors who make appearances from time to time. The transfer to DVD has vary good; picture clear as is the sound.

Recommended good family entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 7 Dec 2011
This review is from: Murder, She Wrote - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
murder she wrote has everything comedy mystery great stories and great value for a a whole season this would be a great series to collect remember when you watch one series you will want the next one amazon is a great place to get a deal on murder she wrote
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder, She Wrote - Season 1 [DVD]
Murder, She Wrote - Season 1 [DVD] by Angela Lansbury (DVD - 2005)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews