Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
461
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Video Game|Change
Price:£18.79+ £2.03 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2006
I've liked the Mario Kart games since the first came out for the Super Nintendo back in the nineties. It seems like Nintendo releases a version of this for every platform, and the DS version is just as good as any of the others as far as I can tell.

There's a bit more complexity - the range of attributes that separate each character is larger, and more tracks to race on (including "classic" tracks and completely new ones). There's also a few items I don't remember seeing before, and drifting around corners is a bigger deal than it used to be - getting used to that took some time.

This is all detail though - the game is just as lighthearted and fun as it ever was, so if you enjoyed previous Kart games, you're going to like this one. A great time-killer for commutes on the tube or time lost in the airport!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Mario Kart series has been around since the dawn of time (or, for a pretty long time anyway!) but this is yet another top game... if you own a DS you really should get Mario Kart. It's one of the most fun games I own, even for single player gaming - and when you play it against your friends, it's even better!

Various game modes (normal race, time trial, driving missions, and the excellent battle mode and "shine runners") and a great set of tracks (including some of the old favourites from previous instalments in the Mario Kart series) will give the game long-term appeal.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2006
This game, in a word, is excellent. 16 well designed new tracks along with another 16 of some of the best classic tracks in the Mario Kart series, as well as the inclusion of Mission mode to test your driving skills and the endless thrill of Wi-Fi matches against anyone, anywhere make this pretty much perfect. However I do feel there are some flaws with it. For example, on Wi-Fi matches I have found that some of the classic tracks cannot be used (including Mushroom Bridge, which is one of my favourite tracks too). Another flaw is that the Mission challenges are quite easy (until the last boss battle of level 7), and also there are not enough of them! My only other grumble is that I would have liked to have seen Ninty add more of the classic tracks from previous games, though with all of the other stuff crammed into here it's easy to see why they didn't do anymore. If you do want to play more of the classic tracks then I would suggest Mario Kart Super Circuit for GBA. It's quite old now, but you should still be able to pick it up quite cheap and it has 20 new tracks (from which came four of the classic tracks on the DS version) and all 20 of the original Mario Kart tracks!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2006
I got this game with the DS, so I didn't think it would be that good. I was wrong. The game has spectacular graphics, you can control the Karts easily and I was never bored. I recommend this game strongly, though it takes a few minutes to get into.

Charlie aged 9
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2006
Having read all the review's i thought i would post one of my own as i am an older gamer 20+ im in need of something more than pretty grahics, i had my doubts about this game, but within 15mins of playing this game my doubts were gone, this game is just so much fun, this game comes into it's own with the wi-fi as a single player game it's good but not great as it's far to easy if ur a good gamer like myself that is lol the best thing about this game is the multi-player option which you never get bored of. and the good thing about it is you only need the 1 kart. my advice is if you dont already own this game and your looking for multi-player fun and something that will last months if not years of mental stimulation then buy this game.. get some mates over and battle on.. so all in all for single player mode i award this game 3-stars reason being is that the single player mode is just to short and to easy still great fun while it last's though, but for multi-platyer mahem 5-stars, trust me it really is that good..
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2006
Being a Mario Kart fan myself, this is the one game that persuaded me to fork out £100 for my DS. The series has always provided me with a satisfactory level of entertainment, but when it comes to the crunch, the original on the Super Nintendo always seemed to be the superior game, and I wondered if Nintendo would ever recreate the magic they started with.
Mario Kart DS not only equals the original but, for the first time ever, betters it! It has everything you could want in a Mario Kart game and throws out all the rubbish aspects piled in from Mario Kart 64 and Double Dash. From Double Dash it has kept the ability to change what karts you use for each character (with obvious limitations) and has removed the character specific items whilst adding 2 totally new ones (although the Wario/Waluigi Bob-Ombs are still in there, just available for everyone). Plus, with 8 characters to start with and 4 to unlock, there's plenty of choice in racer/kart combos by the time you're finished!
Usually, this is where all the cool features end, but Mario Kart DS has added tonnes more for you to play around with. Time Trials now have unlockable "Staff Ghosts" and Battle Mode is now not only playable in single player, but has blow up balloons using the DS mic (nice touch, many people hate it but I personally think it's brilliant). Nintendo have also added Missions and an extra multiplayer/single player mode called Shine Hunt.
The game is fantastic with just what I've written here, however, I've saved the best 'til last. You can now use a Wireless Router, a Nintendo wifi USB plugin or hotspot to connect to players all around the world and build up a roster showing people just how good you are. It's so simple to get on to too. Ok, it's no XBox Live, but it's much better than the chaotic services provided by Sony's PS2 at least. You can even create your own emblem to display on your karts for people to recognise you by.
If you're a fan of Mario Kart, then you have no reason NOT to buy this. It is by far the greatest Mario Kart game ever made, and if you own a DS, it's definitly worth a look as it's probably the best game on the handheld. It's beautiful and suits the DS down to a tee, taking advantage of all it's functions. My only two grudges are that they've kept the blue shell as an useable item and that you often get people who drop out of online games because they're losing, but these minor points are overshadowed by the game's absolute brilliance.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2005
Mario Kart since the day of the SNES has always been great, every single Mario Kart game thats been releaesed has been fantastic! But this Nintendo DS game is prehaps the best! With brand new tracks, plus old tracks from the SNES, N64 and the GBA games, but in 3D, the game offers alot and thats only the tracks! 2 Different types of karts for each character and they all have their own abilities and weapons. Also in the game are the weapons you pick up from the track like the red. green and blue shells and many more! The courses are 3D and they are beautiful to look at!
There are mission mode, challenge, time trial, and the mutiplayer battles or the on -line accss gameplay, as long as you ahve the WiFi though! The gameplay is fast and smooth and I cant actually pick a fault with the game. I do wish there was more laps on some tracks like but overall this is a brilliant title! There are lodds to offer in the game which people will play and come back to for years!
Classic already!
Go and BUY IT!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2007
My 5 and 9 year old love this game with the ability to choose your character and car. They have recently got their own individual DS machines and now play against each other with the wireless connection. They can also play with them both being on the same racing team, good for avoiding sibling arguments about who won etc.

Great colourful and fun game
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2007
After palyin mario kart games throughout my life including snes, n64 and the gba versions the most haveing played others such as double dash, not so much and not knowing them very well, i can say this is the best by far. after having this game for around 6 months i am still playing.

In the beggining you cant choose very much in choice of karts for each character. but unlocking them is a reletivly easy and fun task, not too challenging, unless you are aiming for the full three stars, this is where the difficult side of the game comes in. Starting the game in order then, the 50 cc is very slow and can be boingingly easy for those who are familier with the game although, perfect for those getting to grips and also those having played other games in the series in the past, the gameplay i believe is better than before. So getting to grips with the excellent power slides is very good for begginers and pros of the older versions.

Tracks are well varied having some of the old classics from older versions bringing back many fond memories, there are also a whole load of new tracks each brilliantly made. There are a full 32 tracks to race on and lets not forget the fun battle arena's, six in total. Ballon battle with the great idea of blowing into your DS's mic to blow up ballon, also shine runners is in here which is good multi player but not for the single player i believe.

The 100 cc speeds the game up a little and adds to the difficulty helping you to develope your powerslides for you to get ready for the 150 cc. This speeds up to the max with difficulty up again, finishing first overall should not be too much of a problem, but getting those stars will challenge. Then once all this is done theres the 150 cc mirror mode. This a very clever idea adding to the difficuly of being familiarised to the tracks, they are mirrored, so a right turn is a left vice versa.

There is still more to do, missions. These vary well from going through checkpoints to beating bosses. There are six levels with 9 missions in each, but there is also a mission 7 with 9 more missions to be unlocked. Speacking on unlockables, you recive these by completing the grand prixs and finishing first, you unlock some characters and also, the ability to choose whatever kart you wish with the character you wish, giving you a wide chioce of finding the perfect combination in which there are simple stats showing you what the accelaration and speed etc are.

Once all of this in complete theres still the best part if the game yet, the multiplayer, with friends or with the world, nintendo wifi is superb and quick to get you a game with three other people in the world. There is also download play, where someone whos hasn't got the gaem but has a DS, they can download and play with you, whcih is a good addition.

Overall a excellent game 10/10 if you own a DS or dont own one, get one for this, superb!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2016
I bought the brand new Mariokart DS Cartridge and it came with the case that had all the leaflets within
The case was sealed in the typical 'brand new case' plastic
The game itself works perfectly
Came within Amazons allotted delivery time
I got free packaging which made it all better
Works with both DS and DSI
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 13 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)