Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Introduction to Music of The Orient
Over the years I have heard snatches of Chinese music from watching television documentaries. And, after reading current reviews on this particular disc I decided to give it a try.

This CD compilation comprises of twelve tracks played by various ensembles and artists ranging from Hanshin Chinese Folk and Dance Ensemble, Pan Jing and Ensemble, Xiao Ying and the...
Published on 14 Aug 2009 by E. A. Redfearn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars as discribed
I purchased this cd to accompany a dvd of our visit to China and found it just what I wanted
Published 16 months ago by MRS JUNE TIPLER


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Introduction to Music of The Orient, 14 Aug 2009
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Chinese Music (Audio CD)
Over the years I have heard snatches of Chinese music from watching television documentaries. And, after reading current reviews on this particular disc I decided to give it a try.

This CD compilation comprises of twelve tracks played by various ensembles and artists ranging from Hanshin Chinese Folk and Dance Ensemble, Pan Jing and Ensemble, Xiao Ying and the delightful singer, Wei Li.

I was quite impressed by the tracks offered and just to mention a few:

Sound from Afar (Miao Xiaoyun)
Little Boat (Heart of the Dragon Ensemble) which is a gem of a track.
Liang Xiao (Heart of the Dragon Ensemble)
Beautiful Nandu River (Wei Li) which is a beautifully haunting piece, one of the highlights of the CD.

Indeed, whilst listening to these tracks it brought back good memories of my trip to Singapore which I made during late spring of 2008.

Sound is very good, with a spacious and warm stereo sound, although it has been recorded at a high level.

An excellent introduction to music of the Orient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oriental beauty, 30 July 2007
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Chinese Music (Audio CD)
This CD includes twelve beautiful pieces of traditional Chinese music played on a variety of Chinese instruments such as the erhu, pipa and ruann. All the pieces on this CD are excellent, wonderfully relaxing and is great to listen to after a hard day of work. My favourite piece on this CD is Beautiful Nandu River brilliantly sung by the Chinese soprano Wei Li. Also included with the CD is information about each piece and the artists that perform them. This is a brilliant CD suitable for anyone interested in oriental music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The very best of Chinese Music (CD), 17 Oct 2011
By 
Derek Vernon-morris (Greater Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Chinese Music (Audio CD)
This is a very atmospheric recording by contemporary musicians from various regions of China. Many of the musicians are instructors, for example the Soprano Wei Li lectures in music and drama at London University, and I was a little disappointed that there were not more vocal tracks on the album, but the last track is a lovely song, Beautiful Nandu River.
Award winning Xu Pingxin is one of the first people to hold a Masters Degree in 'yang-qi'(dulcimer)performance, and is represented here by a Cantonese tune; Raindrops beating on Banana Leaves.
Two tracks by the Hanshin Chinese Folk and Dance Ensemble founded in 1991 feature well known tunes from Taiwan; a very rythmical Ballad of Four Seasons, and Spring Dawn at Yang Ming Mountain, derived from Folk Dance music.
Very haunting lute music is featured on a track by Miao Xiaoyun; Sound from Afar.
A lovely peaceful melody, Liang Xiao composed at New Year 1927 is played on the xiao (long lute), by Heart of Dragon Ensemble, a UK based group who also play Little Boat, a dulcimer track which evokes a very picturesque scene.
Prize winning Zhou Yu & Ensemle present a erhu (violin) track; Song of the Heart.
Another UK based musician from Beijing Cheng Yu, performs with the London Chinese Orchestra featuring the pipa (pear shaped lute) and drums on; Water Flowing from High Mountain.
After gaduating from Shanghai Conservatory of Music. Chen Dacan became interested in Chinese Religious Music (Taoist and Buddist),and studied extensively in France before settling in the UK as leader of the London Chinese Orchestra. Here he plays another evocative melody; Spring Water Reflects the Moon.

This Audio CD comes with an attractive booklet of notes in English German and French. The music has great Universal appeal as is the case with much Folk and Traditional music around the world, and the inspiration drawn from natural surroundings, as many of these songs do, can be related to an everyday experience. It is alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHINESE MUSIC, 10 May 2011
This review is from: The Very Best of Chinese Music (Audio CD)
THE VERY BEST OF CHINESE MUSIC CD, IS A DELIGHT. BEAUTIFUL MUSIC FROM BEGINNING TO END. MOTHER ENJOYED IT SO MUCH, HAD TO GET A DISC FOR HER TOO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another world, 18 Sep 2006
By 
Nic (Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best of Chinese Music (Audio CD)
This album reminds me of being at Walt Disney World in Epcot and being in the China part of the park. Its relaxing and pleasant to have as background music. Similar to being in your favourite chinese restraunt and really getting into the atmosphere. I would recommend this to anyone who loves the film Memoirs of A Geisha as the music is similar and it really transports you to another world when you sit with your eyes closed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely soothing music, 15 Jun 2011
By 
S. Burr "Sarah" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best of Chinese Music (Audio CD)
Firstly this isn't my kind of thing, I only bought it to tie in with my chinese themed dinner party. However, everyone said how soothing the music was - we actually quite liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable to listen to, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Chinese Music (Audio CD)
Good quality and a bonus of being able to download also included in price. Settled down and relax if your having a chinese evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I was looking for!, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Chinese Music (Audio CD)
As a massive fan of period Chinese movies & Kung Fu flicks I always loved the old school Chinese background music you would hear, or see some some old man playing in the background of a tea house in these movies.
However I had no knowledge of where to even look for this kinda music so gave this alum a chance. It's exactly what I'd hoped for! Never gets old and all the songs blend seamlessly together or some super relaxing listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the very best of chinese music, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Chinese Music (Audio CD)
After spending time in china , i wanted a cd of traditional chinese music , this cd reminds me of that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something a little different, 17 Nov 2013
By 
S. A. Short "Hippychick" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Chinese Music (Audio CD)
This is a great introduction to Chinese music if you are thinking about buying this genre of music.Beautiful soothing tracks [but don't think 'alternative therapies' type music....although they would be great to meditate to if that's your 'thing']Excellent value for money,The cd was delivered promptly. Would recommend this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best of  Chinese Music
The Very Best of Chinese Music by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews