Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC ALBUM WITH FANTASTIC RE-MASTERING & EXTRA TRACKS
The original album 'Songs From The Big Chair' features the worldwide smash hits 'Shout', 'Everybody Want To Rule The World' (No.1 in the USA, No.2 in the UK) and 'Head Over Heels'. However, it was only eight-track long and didn't fully showcast Roland Orzabal amazing talent at writing meaningful and out-of-the-mainstream compositions. The extra tracks on this re-release...
Published on 1 Mar. 2004 by Film Buff

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5* album tacky deluxe version not, deleted when it's been re done
Songs from the big chair is still one of the best 80's albums, it sold millions and when you listen to it you can see why. Shout, Everybody wants to rule the world, Head over heals, every track could be a single, and in fact nearly every track was. The problem with this set is not the music, but the mistake's in the track listing the package no longer having the plastic...
Published on 17 Jun. 2012 by Mr. R. G. Prizeman


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He has played it non stop and we have all enjoyed the DVD, 28 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was purchased as a Xmas gift and my husband was over the moon. He has played it non stop and we have all enjoyed the DVD. I was concerned as I am not an expert on Tears for Fears, and some of the reviews criticised some of the tracks. I have to say my husband finds each and every one of them just excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Greatest Albums Of The 80's Gets A Makeover, 12 Nov. 2014
By 
Michael 80 (San Francisco,USA) - See all my reviews
Disc 1 is excellent. Remastering is awesome. Disc 2 is mostly good except for a few 7" versions for which a vinyl source was used as the original masters weren't available. Overall this is a worthy 2cd collection! If you're a hardcore fan then maybe the 6 disc set will be better !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I need to thank you for the nice packing, I received the titles in good shape, 5 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
wow, wow, wow.... I am speechless when I played the CD. I owned the title in both CD and Vinyl in the 80s when it was released. I can still remember "Shout" and "Everybody wants to rule the world" take me and my friend go crazy...... The only regret for me was I only get hold of "Everybody wants to rule the world" in 12 inch single. Now, with this edition... I had all of the singles released from the album.

I had yet to play the 5.1 mix, but as a fan I also purchased the blu ray version on this title and Hurting.

As for Amazon UK, I need to thank you for the nice packing, I received the titles in good shape.

I can wait to play both the blu ray discs and treat myself to a music journey back in time on this coming weekend.

Thanks again to Universal music to release this title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing value, 23 July 2006
This review is from: Songs From The Big Chair - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Having originally been released as an 8 track album, it's amazing and a testament to the power of remixes and b-side that Big Chair now commands a release worthy of 2CDs!

The pinnacles of the Tears catalogue gets an amazingly strenous workout here, adding rarities and unreleased material to the already burgeoning catalogue of vinyl only tracks. Hardest track to find? Maybe the Piano Version of Working Hour or the edit of Shout. Nice to see that I Believe (A Soulful Re-Recording) is getting a much needed airing as well.

This is an awesome collection for anyone with even a passing fancy for the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great but still the correct version of Mothers Talk (U.S.Remix) is not present in this box set, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Overall this is a great box set. Eveyone should own. I just want to point out that the record company still confusing about the correct version of 'Mothers Talk (U.S.Remix) which is the best version of the song (both Roland and Curt confirmed this in their own words in the booklet of the box). None of the three U.S.Remix that included in this box set (so called U.S.Remix, Video Version and U.S.Remix - Alternate) are the correct version of the real 45 rpm single version that was released in USA and Canada back in 1986. The only place you can find the correct version on CD is 'The Best of Tears For Fears - The Millennium Collection' (see photo attached). Here I can tell you what exactly the versions in this box set are. This is the third time that they made this mistake since 1st remaster in 1999 and deluxe edition in 2006.

Mothers Talk (U.S.Remix) - This version was actually the track that was bonus to the single 'Famous Last Word' from 'The Seeds of Love' album released in 1990 which was incorrectly labeled as U.S.Remix in the first place, that's why the record company always thought this was the correct version. They are the same structure as the correct version but with (too) much reverb added on it made this version less rocky, less punchy even the drum part sound like the drum machine not the real drum. This is the same version that included in 1999 remaster edition.

Mothers Talk (Video Version) - Though this seems to be the closest version to the correct version but it contained the additional verse in ballad style at the beginning.

Mothers Talk (U.S.Remix - Alternate) - This version added some sound elements in the background through out the song. This is the same version that included in 2006 deluxe edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Box Set!, 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All you could ever want from the album that encapsulates the sound of the mid 80s.
This box set is identical in packaging and layout to superb The Hurting box set: http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Hurting-Tears-For-Fears/dp/B00DYCHPMC
but thankfully addresses the omissions from that collection. The extras and thought that has been put into this box set is truly outstanding.
The DVD contains all the promo videos (including 'The Way You Are' and the Laurie Lewis directed version of 'Mothers Talk') with the nice addition of several TV appearances. I remember watching TFF perform 'The Working Hour' on Wogan and getting excited at the prospect of another single release as bands performing album tracks on prime time TV just didn't happen... but 6 singles from a 8 track album might have been pushing it a tad)
The comprehensive 'Scenes from the Big Chair' video with an interview with producer Chris Hughes are also here.
The tour booklet is glossy and filled with great photos.
The 'Songs From The Big Chair' booklet is insightful and fascinating with in-depth contributions from Roland, Curt, Chris Hughes and David Bates (A&R). For example: Curt wanted the album to be called 'The Working Hour'!
The cds are crammed full of every vinyl release and its nice to see the extended version of 'Mothers Talk' finally being included.
Personally, I was most anticipating disc 4-'Unreleased Songs from the Big Chair' and whilst I'm not a big fan of live versions the Massey Hall concert versions are ok but the gems for me are the previously unheard 'early mix' versions. All of them are excellent.
'Mothers Talk' sounds fantastic! In this instrumental early mix the bass comes to the fore and all the elements of the song (especially the guitars and string samples) are there, it sounds very much like a shortened early version of the 'beat of the drum mix' but without the vocal samples. The 'broken revisited' backward vocals are added to the reprise at the end of the track and it works well. Curt and Roland may not like the track now and slowed the tempo for the US Mix but the energy in this version is palpable - PLAY IT LOUD!
'The Way You Are' features the original lyrics as performed live and features interesting samples - another song C&R don't like but the vocal harmonies and percussion make it work (the extended version on disc 3 being the best version in my opinion).
'Broken' sounds like an extended remix of 'We are Broken' with its creative use of saxophone and its longer running time.
'Shout' sounds more like a demo version than the other 3 'early mixes' and is very interesting!
Overall: Superb and comprehensive. This is the benchmark for what box sets should be.
PS-fingers crossed 'The Seeds of Love' box set gets the same treatment, and here's hoping the original (discarded) versions of the songs on it are being sourced, mixed and readied for inclusion...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything I was Expecting AND MORE!!, 17 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. R. Lockley "richie68" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a complete 80's freak,It was my era,My sound and my youth,This is another one to cross off my list of "MUST HAVES","Songs From The Big Chair" is one of the many stand out albums of the 1980's without a doubt,And to include all the B-sides,Remixes and "Scenes From The Big Chair" makes it a classic,Much better than the earlier Deluxe Edition, To include a Replica Tour Programme Is a Great touch too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic 2nd album, 29 Jan. 2004
After the sheer brilliance in the debut album, you find a more
commercial album than its predecessor and more accessible.
Though this album still has its dark and deeper moments, it rates
equal to that debut album.
'Every body Wants to rule world', 'Shout', 'Mother's talk' and 'Head over Heals' are memorable singles, but all are I think over shadowed by the wonderful 'The Working Hour'.
'Broken' and 'listen' are wonderful album tracks but also in this Remastered addition you get a taster of the great 'B' sides TFF produced.
enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Misunderstood Act, 24 April 2015
I only recently purchased the CD of this masterpiece having relied on a scratchy old vinyl copy for years. It sounds great and has stood the test of time for sure.What a very misunderstood group TFF really were - lumped in with the new romantics and 80s pop in general , when in fact hey were a remarkable act with more in common with Joy Division than with Flock Of Seagulls!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80's Music Peaks all too early., 18 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With 'Songs From The Big Chair' T.F.F improved 10 fold on their debut album 'The Hurting'. From the soulful 'I Believe', to the crashing guitar rifts of 'Broken' and on to the melancholic 'Working Hour' this album oozes class. It was the anthem of my teenage years, with a track to reflect all my teenage angst, from the highest high to the lowest low. It just didn't get any better than this. Listen to and enjoy all the best of a truly great decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Songs From The Big Chair - Deluxe Edition
Songs From The Big Chair - Deluxe Edition by Tears For Fears (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews