Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars20
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 May 2001
This album has served me well over the years.It never fails to satisfy that need to just remember how real and simple music can be. How good it is to just sit back and listen to some honest but extraordinary musicianship.This album draws you in and makes you its best friend. Before you know it you'll be constantly coming back to see how it's getting on, to find that it's "doing just fine thank you, and how are you?".
Danny Thompson on double bass with Martyn's distinctive guitar work is surely one of the greatest partnerships of all-time. It is a privelage to have the opportunity to hear how good Blues-folk music can be. This album along with his "Inside Out" and "Solid Air" albums are among the best recordings of the early seventies and demand to be alongside Stevie Wonder, Miles Davis,The Beatles, Stones et al. Do yourself a favour for such a low price you would be getting a serious amount of talent for your money and a lifelong friend who'll be there when you're getting stressed with the world.
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
I bought this CD to replace a rather old and scratchy vinyl version of the album that I bought not long after it was originally released. The intervening (nearly) 40 years have done nothing to diminish the excellence of the tracks; there are some absolute classics.

Songs like "Sunday's Child" and "You Can Discover" are heart-rendingly beautiful both in their lyrics and in John's arrangement and playing. He was an astoundingly good guitarist and me managed to produce a delicacy in his playing (whether acoustic or electric) that added to the emotion of the words he sang.

Yet at the same time this album marks a further move away from the purely acoustic work that he was originally known for. The album contains a mixture of tracks. Some, like those mentioned previously hark back to his earlier work but others such as "One Day Without You"; "Root Love" and "Clutches" have a distinct jazz-funk feel to them and provide an indication of how his future albums were going to sound.

And of course, there is "Spencer The Rover" a traditional song given a wonderful acoustic arrangement and sung beautifully. He did have a great voice, after all.

What a talent he was. A great song-writer; an excellent singer and a magnificent guitarist.

Rest In Peace, John.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2009
A truly great album from the now sadly deceased John Martyn. There will never be the likes of him again, but at least we can glory in these fabulous albums. This album in particular is sadly under-rated, containing as it does, the genius of Spencer the Rover, Sunday's Child and the immense Lay it All Down with Danny Thompson on bass. Heart on sleeve just doesn't convey the emotion. Genius.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The description above, applies to this Beautiful album. Another master-class in singing/song writing.There`s not a day goes by that I don`t miss the great man. Blessed with a voice that could make Angels weep, and a sublime dexterity with the guitar. Rave on John Martyn, Rave on!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
Sunday's Child is often the forgotten one in John Martyn's astonishing run of classic albums in the mid 70's. After the ballsy, jazz fusion of Inside Out, he for the most part went back to the acoustic guitar to record these songs. It's chilled, and I am sure was a chosen soundtrack for the stoners back in the mid 70's. Root Love is almost a pre-cursor to Big Muff which would appear on his next album One World. One Day Without You & My Baby Girl are lovely late hour confessionals that Martyn does so well. His cover songs, are simply astounding, the soulful Satisfied Mind, and the mesmerizing folk standard Spencer The Rover. What a character Martyn was, his music - relaxing, romantic & soulful. However, his life was far from that. John liked the booze & drugs, and the odd pub punch up. His upbringing in both Glasgow & Surrey allowed him to switch into either accent. so it's amusing to hear his live recordings where he could be talking to the crowd in broad Glaswegian or a Home Counties accent. Always seemed a witty, self effacing chap too. Great album. Great man.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 May 2006
John Martyn's 1974 album carries on the fine run of classic early/mid severties albums which mark him out as a rare talent. A talent which has never grown dim despite the passing decades of emotional and physical decline which has seen him suffer Brendan Behan-esque alcohol induced torments.

Hopefully life in the Irish countryside might provide him with an anchor to cling on to.

Back to the album: It flows through the speakers like an aural river....deep and dark. Dappled with sunlight and clouds. As a guitarist Martyn is an alchemist. Tossing fire laced with honey from strings stretched to breaking point.

Sunday morning...strong coffee,newspapers and John Martyn. What more could you ask for ?
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 October 2005
1974 and John Martyn is on a roll. Following 'Solid Air' and the vastly under-rated 'Inside Out',JM continued in a rich vein with the release of 'Sunday's Child'.
The bluesy vocals,clean acoustic pickings over-laid with dreamy bass lines and the fuzzy guitar licks which energise tracks like 'Root Love' are a long way from the hippy fairy days of 'London Conversation' and 'The Tumbler'.
Excellent stuff from a giant amongst musical pygmies !
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2009
Had it on vinyl. Even better on CD tho poignant cos he died.Wonderful album, relived my youth!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 October 2014
For me,the last of the great JM records,along with Bless the Weather,Solid Air,and Inside out.After these he developed in other directions,and although I can't say I hated this other material,there was a loss(or lessening) of what had been so beguiling.Becoming a more rock oriented artist may have won him other followers,I don't know,but John Wayne,Big Muff,etc,certainly didn't do as much for me as I'd Rather be the Devil,or May you Never.Listening to One World again, I think the decline started there,and of course Phil Collins and Eric Clapton tried to make him a star,when he really was a niche artist,and had his audience already.So Grace and Danger left me a tad lukewarm,with Phil sticking his oar in,and thereafter,a JM record was a bit of a hit and miss affair,never bad,don't get me wrong,but past the glory days.So buy this,and the other 3 I've mentioned,and I believe you'll have a true best of collection of a wonderful musician,and a complicated man.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
My feedback is to say how great it is to see so many people write good stuff about a gifted man, John Martyn's singing and playing is in a place of it's own with a lot of imitators (best form of flattery) but none to come near him, sadly missed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)