Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Forgotten Masterpiece, 9 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Inside Out (Audio CD)
Whilst "Solid Air" is the undoubted Martyn meisterwerk this, the 1973 follow-up, is a stunning follow-on that sadly seems to have been forgotten. With more of a jazz, rather than folk/blues feel, sublime bass work from Danny Thompson and Martyn experimenting even more with echoplex and distortion effects through his acoustic guitar (echoing much of his live performances of the time) this seems in many ways a much more mature offering. His singing is on many tracks intentionally slurred or skat orientated, often utilising his voice as another layer of sound rather than just delivering lyrics. In addition to Thompson his "backing band" included the extended Traffic line-up of Stevie Winwood, Chris Wood and Bobby Keyes all of whom are used to fantastic effect on the ensemble pieces.The extended "Outside" is clearly heavily influenced by John Coltrane and he seems to acknowledge this with a mesmeric chanting of "Love Supreme..." on a later track...one assumes a nod to Coltrane's masterpiece. If you liked Solid Air and fancy something a little more challenging then this deserves a serious listening to....late at night with the lights down low.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mmm ... felt natural, 8 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. I. Stephen "dj_dadrock" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inside Out (Audio CD)
14 reviews for Solid Air and only one so far for this album, kind of illustrates a point, I think ! Whilst Solid Air and One World are peerless, that's not to ignore what was released inbetween, nosireee. If anything this album contains some of John's finest songs and some completely dreamy instrumentals. Go on, give one a good home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Often overlooked, 19 Sep 2008
This review is from: Inside Out (Audio CD)
Released within eight months of Solid Air, you can tell JM was on a roll...and indeed if you liked Solid Air, chances are you will love Inside Out too, as it ploughs a similar jazzy/folky/psychedelic furrow to it's predecessor...and (hurray!) Danny Thompson does the honours again on stand up bass.

It will always amaze me that Martyn has always been slightly marginalised in the music stakes. Many of his songs are timeless pieces that could and should be covered by lots of people, but the reality is quite different. Maybe it's because he stamped his personality so strongly on them...who knows, but Fine Lines, Ain't No Saint, Make No Mistake have got classic written right through them. This is another great, great album from the man. Some may argue it's not quite as flawless as Solid Air, but lovely languid smoky late nite listening just the same. Pukka.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply Rad, 14 Oct 2005
By 
Clem Fandango (N Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside Out (Audio CD)
Almost a five star album. John Martyn's follow up to his seminal 'Solid Air' appears to have been lost amid the hype surrounded the aforementioned album and later greats such as 'One World' and 'Grace and Danger' but don't for a minute believe the lack of cult hype denotes a rare JM bummer. No Siree...this is an amazingly futuristic album which sounds as good today as it did on release in 1973.
John had certainly left the trad folk scene behind and despite offering a fuzzy guitar version of a traditional Scottish lament 'Eibhli Ghail Chiuin ni Chearbhail' to appease the old folkies, 'Inside Out' is very much in the distinctive jazzy/bluesy vein which has been the Surry/Glaswegian's stock in trade for nearly four decades. Powerful compositions delivered in the classic JM growl. Big bass lines...rasping drums and soaring sax solos compliment John's guitar and vocal contribution.
One of JM's best without a doubt !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my favourite John Martyn album, 18 Sep 2008
By 
J. R. P. Wigman "Hans Wigman" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inside Out (Audio CD)
John Martyn has given us brilliant music and the string of 70's albums Bless the weather/Solid air/Inside out/One world is particularly wonderful. "Bless the weather" has a wonderful atmosphere but is not uniformly strong, while "Solid air" (containing the all-eclipsing and glorious title track) has a wonderful collection of songs and is rightfully a great contender for the title of "best album". But it lacks the cohesive strength and freedom that "Inside out" has. "Inside out" explores a wide range of musical scopes and exudes optimism and confidence. There are no weak tracks at all, and the musicianship is (thankfully with the brilliant Danny Thompson still on board) great as usual. Follow-up "One world" and predecessor "Solid air" may have attracted more attention (being less "difficult"?) but "Inside out" is John Martyn's best and most adventurous album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another in a long line of masterpieces, 1 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Inside Out (Audio CD)
He was a genius of course, although perhaps "Inside Out" isn't as iconic as "solid Air" or "Grace and Danger' it still rates five stars. Far above any of his contemporaries, far and away the most innovative of musicians of his time, John Martyn has left a fabulous legacy and "Inside Out" is a great part of it. Lord only knows why this man wasn't a great star, possibly something to do with his somewhat self destructive nature I suppose. So thanks to Mary Malrooney for introducing his music to me all those decades ago!!! I've not stopped listening to him for nearly 40 years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Inside Out and Everywhere Else, 14 Sep 2011
By 
Glenn "Omaha" (Devon England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Inside Out (Audio CD)
John's fifth solo album, released in 1973, this sublime collection marks the beginnings of his musical trajectory towards jazzier writing/performance and the use of his voice as a distinctive instrument to match his peerless guitar playing. The songs are bolstered by Danny Thompson's supreme double bass playing as well as by luminaries like Steve Winwood on keyboards and Chris Wood on saxophone.

First track 'Fine Lines' is a beautiful melodic song in John's inimitable folk-acoustic style, but the slur in the voice that will become so prevalent across this whole album and all future work has its incipient roots here. Third 'Ain't No Saint' signals the much more experimental writing too: a jazz-chant about Love [as John writes comically and always somewhat self-effacingly, as if his seriousness shouldn't be taken that seriously: 'love...love...love...love...tra la la...triddly dee dee'], the voice oozes this word over dancing acoustic riffs with tabla and other energetic percussion provided by Remi Kabaka.

Inverted title and fourth track 'Outside In' makes psychedelic use of the signature Echoplex that John perfected, especially when playing live. This song is gloriously expansive in its guitar range and with Thompson's bass dancing in and out of the groove. The saxophone puts in layers of slow romantic jazz with John's punchy bursts of more chanted love, it is love, guitar now echoing and looping its waterfalls of sweet chord sequences, until the voice growls and shouts out in ecstasy. John has spoken of the inspiration behind such a sound:

'I don't think I would have done some of the stuff on Inside Out if I hadn't heard 'Karma' ['Karma' by Pharoah Sanders, released in 1969]. The only reason I bought the Echoplex was to try and imitate Sanders' sustain on my guitar...I pursued the fuzz box and its various accompanying things just to try and get the sustain that you can get from a sax. I just really wanted infinite sustain at the press of a button. And I almost achieved it. And it sounded so sweet to me. And I knew that people would like to hear it because nothing like it was around. If it makes me feel good, I kind of have this touching faith that it's going to stay with somebody else.'

Sixth track 'Look In' is a fuzzed-up rock gem, and the Martyn growl continues to mature, though the song finishes on his delicate best. 'Beverley' is a beautiful instrumental for then wife, with Thompson's bowed bass perhaps full of lament under the acoustic core and then gorgeous straining electric lead. Eighth 'Make No Mistake' is classic Martyn songcraft but with the voice again working through more range and variation, and this too ends on a love-chant

'A love
Love again
A love supreme, divine
Anyway that you want it to be
Love - Its love, its love
Love! Love! Love!'

Penultimate track 'Ways To Cry' is starkly emotive in its honest, complex message 'If I ever took another woman I was in my need for you/If I ever took another woman I was bleeding for you', and last track 'So Much In Love With You' signs off on a pure-jazz, voice-hazed declaration that not only indelibly brands his love-statement into our aural consciousness, but fully establishes the direction of so much of his future sublime music. At £3.99 this is an absolute steal!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An overlooked classic, 24 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside Out (Audio CD)
Released between Solid Air and Sundays Child, Inside Out sees John incorporating a jazz influence into his sound. Danny Thompson plays sublime bass and Remi Kabaka plays African drums. Other artists credited on the album are Steve Winwood, Chris Stuart, Chris Wood, Kesh Sathie, Bobby Keyes, Diga, Rhett, Brian Cooke and John Wilde but no detail is given about who plays what. John's voice is at its best, full of feeling and emotion.
This remaster includes extra live tracks and a couple from BBC Radio 1 "Sounds of the Seventies". Whilst not as accessable as Solid Air, this album is a slow burner that will grow and grow on you. It is now my favourite JM release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Martyn, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside Out (Audio CD)
Some of his best material! Not quite Solid Air, but brilliant, anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inside Out, 13 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inside Out (Audio CD)
First.... .. of all i got this one,then the rest.....it's written,somewhere....that this was John Martyn's favorite of the albums he recorded, it's.......[in my opinion]......... far out.. ... 'Solid Air' ,'Sundays Child' and 'inside Out' are his three like the Stones 'Let it Bleed' ,'Exile on Main St,' and 'Sticky Fingers' and Dylan 'Highway 61 Revisited' 'Blonde on Blonde' and 'Bringing it all Back Home'....[
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inside Out
Inside Out by John Martyn (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews