Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Russian Indie Folk Rock Album - damn good
Bought this album cold never having heard of them before, and wasn't disappointed.
Very strong album full of life, fun and noise. A real mixed bag of styles and sounds but they all come together somehow, driven by the energy of it all and the singers strangely satisfying vocals.
I imagine they are fantastic live, what comes across is their love of music and...
Published on 8 Nov 2005 by a m beechey

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars negresses vertes influenced
if you think this is good check out Mlah by Les Negresses Vertes. They are defo an inspiration to Gogol B, but with a North African/ Spanish influence.
Published on 7 Sep 2007 by redrun


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars probably the most adrenaline pumping and exhilirating band around!, 4 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. P. M. Jenkins "sly volk" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike (Audio CD)
Having been bored of general student genres of music entering my second year (september2006) a friend suggested that i listen to gogol bordello. Having accumulated an ipod full of samey dnb and hiphop i needed something interesting and catchy to perhaps overt my musical attention to something a bit more alternative. URRRRRRRRRRRRRRRAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!Simply stunning, from the moment i started listening to 'Sally' i was bowled over!The originality of the instrumental mixed with the raw and unique vocals of Hutz was simply incredible. 3 months after having first listened to underdog world strike Gogol came and played moscow where i was studying at the time. To say that the hairs on the back of my neck stood up in this chic, underground cellar style venue when gogol smashed start wearing purple is an understatement to say the least. Singing along to this half brighton beach english and gypsy ukrainian russian was the point when it occurred to me-how is this band not more famous?!Have since bought super taranta which is, if anything even better in some ways, and am currently awaiting their 2006 album "Multi Kontra Culti Vs. Irony"

If you don't buy this album you wil miss out sorely, but if you do decide to buy this masterpiece then prepare to be blown away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gypsy Punks, Gogol Bordello - Vibrant, original, a ray of sunshine in an increasingly musically bland world, 7 Feb 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike (Audio CD)
After going to the cinema to see the excellent `Everything is Illuminated', I came away determined to buy the soundtrack which was full of energetic gypsy music with an intriguing modern style and lyrics. And thus it was that I discovered Gogol Bordello, the world's first band to mix traditional gypsy instruments and stylings with the energy and anger of punk. I was to later learn that Eugene Hutz, the lead singer of Gogol Bordello acted one of the major parts in the film, and the rest of the band have a walk on cameo.

This is a really ear catching record, one that makes you sit up, take notice and say `WOW!'. Essentially this is what the Clash would have sounded like if they had ever decided to record with accordions, fiddles and tubas. The frenetic dance energy of Gypsy music fits well with the raw passion of the punk movement, and the resulting synthesis is full of vitality, lively dance music with lyrics that are by turns humorous and angry, and always passionate. It is a unique, feel good foot tapping record; original, fun and well worth a listen. I love it, and am now off to track down more of this innovative group's back catalogue. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underdogs strike, 29 Sep 2005
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike (Audio CD)
I love fusion bands, and I always have. When multiple styles click together and create a new, vivid hybrid, then there's no other sound like it in the world.
That's also a good description of Gogol Bordello's third full-length album, "Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike" -- a mad mixture of gypsy, punk, reggae, Latin and who knows what else. It's more than a little insane, as it spins without warning from one style to the next. But the energy and spirit make that a good kind of insanity.
It opens with staccato snarls and unpolished fiddle playing in "Sally," before exploding into a streak of frenetic punk music. Just when it seems that they have settled into a signature style, they kick into "Immigrant Punk," which is best described as rock played with fiddle and accordion.
Eugene Hutz has the right amount of punk sneer that you'd expect for such music, but he also doesn't seem to be taking himself seriously. He fits into metal-tinged rockers, gypsy dance music, and a bunch of other genre-straddling song styles.
In a nutshell, don't expect any of this to sound like... anything you've ever heard.
Frontman Hutz -- who stars in the much-anticipated "Everything Is Illuminated," adapted from Jonathan Safran Foer's novel -- seems to be spreading his colourful personality all over the music. Exhibit A: lyrics as wild and insane as the music. Example: "Start wearin' purple for me now/all your sanity and wits/they will all vanish/I promise!" Okay, Eugene, whatever you say!
Hutz also provides the frenetic percussion and some of that equally energetic guitar. And he's backed by Yuri Lemeshev's accordion and Sergey Ryabtzev's violin, which add a folksy flair. It's a very weird sound, but Gogol Bordello manages to balance it out between the gypsy-Slavic sound, and the punk energy.
The title of "Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike" pretty much describes the album itself -- a mad, wild, colourful patchwork of different sounds and styles. Refreshingly weird and original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gypsy kings!, 29 Jun 2006
By 
Stephen Freed - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike (Audio CD)
I bought this album out of curiosity last week and it hasn't been out my CD player since! It is certainly incomparable to anything I normally listen too, but it's fast pace and Eugene Hutz's amazine gruff voice make this an album worth every penny. Highlights of the album are I Would Never Wanna Be You Again, 60 Revolutions, Oh No, Start Wearing Purple and Misto! If you are looking for something different and exciting this is definitely not one you should miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anarchy!, 15 Jan 2007
By 
O. J. Cook - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike (Audio CD)
Up until 2005, American punk really just didn't get it. It had none of the snarl, spit and snot that the british punk bands had during the 70's. Then this dropped onto shelves. Its really rather good. "Sally" and "i would never wanna be young again" just show how punk should sound - manic, angry and bursting at the seams with energy. This album has had me headbanging (and occasionaly pogo-ing) in my sleep. Its the perfect antidote to most of the radio i hear and the music TV i try not to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great stuff!!, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Ms. S. Quinn "Archie Goodwin" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike (Audio CD)
I love this CD. For one thing you can hear all the words and they are great lyrics--especially the one about wearing purple. It is very upbeat and I play it frequently. I am in the elderly age group and this is not the kind of music I usually like but I sure enjoy listening to the Gypsy Punks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant band, 31 Aug 2013
This review is from: Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike (Audio CD)
I have seen this band live, 3 times. Incredible and I love the tracks on the album, possibly the best album they have made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars how can you not like these guys, 30 July 2013
By 
J. F. Lawton "originaldestiny" (yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike (Audio CD)
Its the 2nd Bordello CD Ive purchased and once again its a CD bursting with Gypsy punk energy I can highly recommend this CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike (Audio CD)
If u like the punk era then this is for u. I bought this for my husband who says its great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant vodka soaked voices and startling lyrics, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike (Audio CD)
I came across Gogol from the Film " Everything is Illuminated" where they sang " start wearing purple" and never looked back. It's also worth checking then out on You Tube as well as they perform as well as they sing. There music is hard to describe a mic of slavic rock with edge of punk. Great lyrics, stunning voices and everything from amazing love song to mourning lost lands. Be prepared to be amazed - they are gypsies with a punk attitude
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafa855bc)

This product

Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike
Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike by Gogol Bordello (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews