Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Russian Indie Folk Rock Album - damn good
Bought this album cold never having heard of them before, and wasn't disappointed.
Very strong album full of life, fun and noise. A real mixed bag of styles and sounds but they all come together somehow, driven by the energy of it all and the singers strangely satisfying vocals.
I imagine they are fantastic live, what comes across is their love of music and...
Published on 8 Nov 2005 by a m beechey

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars negresses vertes influenced
if you think this is good check out Mlah by Les Negresses Vertes. They are defo an inspiration to Gogol B, but with a North African/ Spanish influence.
Published on 7 Sep 2007 by redrun


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Russian Indie Folk Rock Album - damn good, 8 Nov 2005
By 
a m beechey (ROSS-ON-WYE, HEREFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike (Audio CD)
Bought this album cold never having heard of them before, and wasn't disappointed.
Very strong album full of life, fun and noise. A real mixed bag of styles and sounds but they all come together somehow, driven by the energy of it all and the singers strangely satisfying vocals.
I imagine they are fantastic live, what comes across is their love of music and life, mad certainly but probalby not that far from genius.
The best album i've bought in along time, certainly the best impluse purchase i've made this year.
Play it loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joyful, Anarchic, Irresistible Gogol!, 12 July 2006
By 
D. Jeary "Plutonic" (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike (Audio CD)
I saw Gogol Bordello live a few days ago in Nottingham, and they were outstanding - I felt like I'd attended a wild but exceedingly good-natured party afterwards! You may perhaps be thinking that their particular brand of mongrel musical influences is `not really my kind of thing'. I recommend you put your pre-conceptions and prejudices behind you, because if you love a good beat, love to dance, sway, clap, pogo, headbang or whatever,if you've ever tapped a foot to a reggae beat or wished you could join in one of those Eastern European wedding dances, then believe me, you will enjoy this band!

On record, you don't get the full live drama and spectacle of course, but nevertheless, `Gypsy Punks' is an extraordinarily exhilarating listen. My favourites are the irresistible gypsy dance vibes of `Mishto!' and `Not a Crime!'; the frenetic and punky `I Would Never Wanna Be Young Again'; stomper `Undestructable', which (like so many of the songs) makes the accordion seem oh-so-cool; and `Underdog World Strike' with its reggae beat and entrancing violin riff.

This album features some of the wittiest, most hilarious, most poetic and yes, most insightful lyrics I've heard for ages, and much of their impact is down to lyricist /vocalist Eugene Hutz's delivery, which somehow manages to be both manic and precise at the same time. Check out especially the lyrics to `Oh No', `I Would Never Wanna Be Young Again', `Illumination' and `Dogs Were Barking'. It's by no means a `one man band', though - the level of musicianship of all the band members (and violinist Sergey Ryabtzev in particular) is outstanding.

If you're open-minded and love new musical experiences, buy this album - you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you'd never wanna be young again, 24 Mar 2006
By 
S. Fyfe "Zig-zague" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike (Audio CD)
What a fantastic find. A band fronted by ukrainian refugees and now based in New York - so think gypsy, stick in a huge dollop of colourful punk and then throw around circus and a bit of art school - some people have compared them to the pogues, manu chao, les negresses vertes or the clash, and certainly if you like these bands you should like gogol bordello, but this is faster and once you've heard the CD you'll think these other bands are laid back. Great tracks include start wearing purple, i would never wanna be young again, avenue b, dogs were barking and Mishto! You'll not regret buying this CD so go on click that buy button now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alexis..stop spleening me..., 7 Feb 2006
This review is from: Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant, fast-paced, mish-mash, punk/gypsy/folk/funk rocker of an album. I only bought it because Eugene is in 'Everything is Illuminated'...but it's really grown on me and is, currently, my album of choice.
'Start Wearing Purple' is a great song...but the stand out/can't get it out of my head song is Avenue B.
It's different, it's enjoyable, play it loud and sing along!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very, very cool, 28 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike (Audio CD)
This review is based on hearing one song, Start Wearing Purple, which is fantastic - there's definitely some gypsy and some punk with elements of ska and circus-gothic panache thrown in for what I assume is fun. They have a legendary live reputation in New York and the singer, Eugene Hutz, is clearly more ringmaster than singer. He has an off-kilter grasp of English, and a huge moustache. Nice to see our Slavic neighbours indulging in something other than death metal and Metallica rip-offs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FULL ON!, 13 Nov 2006
This review is from: Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike (Audio CD)
Bought this album after hearing in mates truck. Can't stop playing it, have had it on all day (with the repeat button). Its just so exciting, I would call the genre of this album "Gypsy Ska Punk" the lyrics are just a big effortless piss take out of social issues and perspectives and presented by the lead singers with a raspy, powerful and relaxed (unforced) voice. You can tell that they just love to perform and arnt afraid to use their voices and dialects to their maximum potential rather than conforming it to a particular genre. LOVE the pronunciations..."IMMIGRRUNT PONK". The rhythems mixed with the violin and accordian "fiddler on the roof" style riffs are so playfull they draw you in i cant stop beating my arms and getting carried away by it. Am so going to see them live next summer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars favourite purchase of the year so far and there is stiff competition in that department, 8 Sep 2007
By 
jax "jax" (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike (Audio CD)
Well where do I start. My other half come home from work one day several months ago and said someone told him that I must listen to Gogol Bordello. We then caught some of the Glastonbury coverage on the TV a short time later - this included Gogol Bordello performing "Start Wearing Purple". I then went and purchased Underdog World Strike which arrived at work one day, I put my headphones on as I was leaving my office (on the second floor) and by the time I hit the ground floor, I had a big smile on my face. The whole album is fantastic from beginning to end and I will, no doubt, be purchasing their back catalogue before too long. I can't stop telling people about them. I never listen to a band half-heartedly and couldn't live without all of the CDs in my varied collection but every so often a band comes along that makes you sit up straight, open your eyes wide and give your full attention to and they are definitely one of those bands.

Thank you Gogol Bordello so much for making music and long may it continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GYPSY UNDERDOGS ARE TAKING OVER:BUT WE LIKE IT!!!!, 5 Jan 2006
By 
Mr. M. O. Penrose "rock_dude86" (LEEDS, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike (Audio CD)
this album is fantastic. i cant explain how good it is because there is so much going on. but the basic deal is you have 9 ukrainian gypsy punks playing a beautiful combination of music from their homeland, folk stuff with accordians and fiddles and things from the middle east, and then you have a lovely punk ethic of anything goes, somewhere there is some lovely ska/reggae influences, along with other world music, its like the theme to a crazy circus, and its BRILLIANT>>>> you need to hear it. the most innovative album you need in your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Planet wierdo sends evil genius to entertain earthlings into submission., 13 July 2006
By 
Brian Watson "Dr Vodka" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike (Audio CD)
Think offspring of Iggy Pop, Lemmy, Stephan Grappelli and Jo Strummer stolen by gypsies and forced to perform in a East European Levellers Cover band having never heard the Levellers - on speed; and acid.

I bought the album and have listened to it until i bled. They could be another novilty band BUT they are so much more. The music is intelligent and expertly arranged, the sound is layered and complex, the effect is a massive grin.

The album is brilliant but live they are extra - gob smackingly great. I think it may be the best gig i've been to in the past twenty years and i've been to plenty of gigs.

Buy the album, buy the tickets, improve your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Clash meet the Pogues in eastern Europe. Album of the decade, so far., 24 Feb 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike (Audio CD)
If you haven't heard of this band, let me enlighten you: Gogol Bordello are currently the most thrilling, exhilerating and uplifting band on the entire planet, bar NONE. Okay, so they don't have a lot of competition...but their hybrid sound of Punk, Ska, Hip-hop and (most importantly) eastern European "Roma" (i.e. Gypsy) music is so good, you'd honestly be a fool not to at least sample it.

This is by far their best album - superbly recorded in glorious analogue by Steve Albini - and one that actually captures much of the celebratory power of their extraordinary live shows. I won't write any more as, frankly, I don't have the extensive vocabulary necessary to wax lyrical about this truly wonderful band. However, in a just world, they'd be superstars - recognised as ground-breaking, unique, Punk auteurs. As it happens, they'll probably not be fully appreciated until they're long gone, a la The Clash.

Make sure you're one of the few who catches them NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike
Gypsy Punks Underdog World Strike by Gogol Bordello (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews