Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£10.71+ £1.26 shipping

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on 14 November 2003
Californian rapper, producer and general genius nut Madlib brings forth his helium guzzling intergalactic pimp hustler alter ego (Lord) Quasimoto to send a little blunted reality our way. It is ridiculous how talented this man is. It appears that this loop digga is not content with flipping the jazz script with Yesterday's New Quintet, redecorating Blue Note's vaults for a new audience or Madlibbing in the name of Stones Throw. We must give thanks for this.
Merely through glancing at the neon inlay and hearing the mind bending array of sounds on air, more than a hint of psychedelia permeates. In true Stones Throw fashion, Madlib has beats to spare as the listener is taken on a whirlwind otherworldly trip for some 24 tracks, incorporating soul and jazz samples, snippets, rants, vocal harmonies and a multitude of sounds. Pianos and flutes figure prominently to give the album that laid back vibe. The interplay between Madlib and Lord Quas is intricate and very playful as they unleash many 'verbal dumplings'. The originality is right on point with 'Boom Music' revealing a quirky Chinese xylophone loop. 'Real Eyes' is about as smooth as things get while 'Green Power' and 'Basic Instinct' make head nodding your favourite fun pastime. Jazz Cats more than tips Madlib's hat to his obsession for the likes of Monk, Davis, Coltrane et al. If you need a break then check 'the Unseen'. The number of jewels on this album might confuse some but that's the general idea; to convey the idea of 'astro travellin'' as the man would put it. Sample sniffers will no doubt detect touches of labelmates Breakestra, Andy Bey, Ronnie Laws and Marlena Shaw. The likes of Mr Herb, Medaphoar and beat dropping head honcho Peanut Butter Wolf also pop in to catch a little fun. All elements conspire make this a unique hip hop experience. Welcome to the smokiest silliest most effortless party in the land.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 28 February 2005
Not sure why previous reviewers held back the stars on this. this joint is really different. I only discovered Lord Quas 3 years ago and at first I thought it was eminem mucking about lol. nevermind. The sampling used on "Come on feet" alone tells you what a gem this is. The quirky breaks (and breaks in some of the songs for some random banter) work very well.
I've not heard anything so cool since De La's "3 feet...". In this blinged out era it's very refreshing to find a hip hop album that doesnt patronise the listener. keep it unseen please.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2009
Being a hip hop fan for more than 10 years now I was positively surprised by this album which went under my radar at the initial release. Loved the beats from the beginning which remind me of mid 90s Primo, Pete Rock and Diamond D, who get's shout outs on the album. However I thought I'd never get used to the high-pitched vocals of Madlib's alias Quasimoto, the weed-smoking yellow alien from outer space. But with more and more listenings I started appreciating the voice more and more because as Madlib himself has stated he sounds like Barry White rapping and hearing only his voice an entire album would get a bit monotonous. So it's nice to have this blend. The rapping tackles various subjects from women and drugs to police harassment and Madlibs favourite musicians. And let me say this again, the beats really are fantastic from beginning to start so even if you're having doubts about the vocals try giving the album a chance, cause otherwise you'll miss out on another Madlib classic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 29 April 2004
A lot of people hate on this album because of madlib's sped up voice alterego Quasimoto on the mic.
If it bothers you that much, pick up the instrumental version. I don'tmind it, tho i admit i can't listen to it all the time.
Beat wise, this album is fantastic. Some of Madlib's best work.
I like it because it's original, and also very refreshing. If only morealbum were like this.
If you enjoy it, even just the beats, go and pick up Madvillain, and albumMadlib has done with MF Doom.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
MASTERPIECE!madlib the badkid at his freaky best!!!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 9 February 2003
Having heard quasimoto on a mix tape by DJ Yoda, i wanted to hear some more and i wasnt disappointed, brilliant. Word play is fantastic but the best part is that listening to this cd you are faced with probably the most entertaining and innovative voice you'll ever hear in rap. Even if his lyrics were poor the voice would keep the head nodding. Buy it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 12 August 2004
Great stuff, so different in many ways but the same J-Lib style. Laid back, I like to have a smoke to it personally, what a talent his guy is, incredible....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

The Unseen [VINYL]
The Unseen [VINYL] by Quasimoto (Vinyl - 2015)

Madvillainy by Madvillain (Audio CD - 2010)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.