Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light as a soap bubble but very funny.
This high-concept farce was probably the film that first propelled Almodovar into International consciousness more than 20 years ago. All the characteristic trademarks are here, including an escalating cascade of unlikely (but strangely convincing) events and a handful of wonderfully written parts for women, who all give superb performances, especially Carmen Maura in the...
Published on 10 May 2008 by Ian Richardson

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars oh dear!! not for me-despite Antonio!!
I always give a'go' to any film with Senor Banderas,BUT,sorry--i thought this was nonsense.I know he wasnt well established then,and the film was not 'starring' him,but i just couldnt get into it at all.Nice to see a very young Banderas---however,I much MUCH! prefer him in his later films[looks-wise definitely].A really mixed-up film in general-full of mixed -up...
Published 3 months ago by lady anna


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light as a soap bubble but very funny., 10 May 2008
This review is from: Women On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown [DVD] (DVD)
This high-concept farce was probably the film that first propelled Almodovar into International consciousness more than 20 years ago. All the characteristic trademarks are here, including an escalating cascade of unlikely (but strangely convincing) events and a handful of wonderfully written parts for women, who all give superb performances, especially Carmen Maura in the central role. Every actress who works with Almodovar seems to emerge blessed by the experience both professionally and personally. Of course, as soon as you sit down to examine the thing rationally it evaporates into thin air but it is terrifically entertaining while it lasts and a great introduction to this marvellous Director. (It is also fun to see a very young Antonio Banderas doing great things with a bit of unlikely casting).
The new DVD has a fine print but few extras. However, on Amazon it's a bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comedy about someone U really KNOW....., 12 Jun 2002
By A Customer
The wildly hysterical international box office hit, Women On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown, introduces us to Pepa (Carmen Maura) who has just been jilted by an answering machine. The love of her life, Ivan, (Fernando Guillén) has just ended their relationship and she is heartbroken.
But misery does love company. Her girlfriend, Candela, has fallen in love with a terrorist. Ivan's son wants to rent the love nest Pepa shared with Ivan. Ivan's crazed wife arrives with loaded guns and Ivan himself is about to fly off to Stockholm with his new girlfriend on a plane that Candela's boyfriend plans to hijack. Pedro Almodovar's films are usually twisted, zany, and a bit disconcerting. This is probably one of his best films, along with "Tie Me Up, Tie Me Down", (also starring Banderas). He uses many of the same actors in his films, but this is probably the best use of Maura in any of his films. Pepa is a strong, formidable character that evolves throughout "Women." From first meeting her in the film it appears that she is shallow and one-dimensional, but in the final scenes of the movie, particularly when she finally gets a hold of Ivan, you realize that she is indeed a decent person.
It's enough to drive any woman to a nervous breakdown - or beyond, in this madcap farce from acclaimed director Pedro Almlódovar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars so great it even makes you nostalgic for the 1980's, 27 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Women On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown [DVD] (DVD)
a wonderful film, still as entertaining as ever, its just a shame that the Optimum (hah!) release is framed at 1.78:1 instead of the correct ratio - note the incomplete cast names on the famous opening credit sequence for example. Also has burned on subtitles to annoy all those Spanish speakers out there. Otherwise I'd give it 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almovodar greatness, 12 Sep 2009
By 
Mrs. N. A. Brittain "N. Brittain" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Women On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fantastic early Almodovar film starring a much younger and geekier Antonio Banderas. It's a funny and slightly mad film that is always enjoyable to watch. Comes in Spanish with English subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, inventive farce, 24 July 2010
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Women On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown [DVD] (DVD)
Great fun, as Almodovar's visual sophistication continues to expand from film to film, and his ability to create a subtle mix of the campy, the surreal, and real emotion grows ever stronger. Full of odd and silly twists and turns, and populated by absurd but still very human characters. It's also a film with a theme - the amazing strength and resilience of women.

So why not a 5 star rating for a film a lot of smart people consider a flat-out masterpiece?. Maybe I need to re-see it a third time, but on recent round of working my way through all of Almodovar's films, it felt paper thin. I enjoyed it, but it didn't feel like a film that would stick with me, or effect me. In some ways, I found the far more flawed `Matador' has more unforgettable images, moments and challenging power. That said, this is still very worth your time. You'll smile a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almodovar Lite, 20 Jan 2014
This review is from: Women On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown [DVD] (DVD)
"Women on the Verge" is Almodovar at his lightest and fluffiest and is a good introduction to the filmmaker.
Unlike some of his darker and more twisted films, I felt comfortable watching this one with my teenager who's studying Spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars oh dear!! not for me-despite Antonio!!, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always give a'go' to any film with Senor Banderas,BUT,sorry--i thought this was nonsense.I know he wasnt well established then,and the film was not 'starring' him,but i just couldnt get into it at all.Nice to see a very young Banderas---however,I much MUCH! prefer him in his later films[looks-wise definitely].A really mixed-up film in general-full of mixed -up women,just as the title suggests.Lots of good reviews i know--but not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilariuos, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Women On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown [DVD] (DVD)
First saw this in Italy with Italian subtitles so bought it and found it just as funny, best film by Almodovar if you do not want too much sex on the screen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Women On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown [DVD] (DVD)
Funny. A sort of sitcom with Spanish temperament. Well played. Interesting to see Antonio Banderas play when he was still a young boy. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Almodóvar classic, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Women On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown [DVD] (DVD)
Highly recommended classic Almodóvar comedy released in a clever collection of DVD covers. The dialogues are hilarious and delivered by first class actors, specially Carmen Maura! If you haven't, watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafbe34f8)

This product

Women On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown   [DVD]
Women On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown [DVD] by Jose Maria De Cossio (DVD - 2006)
7.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews