Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Silly, but Highly Enjoyable, Schlock Horror about a Family of Killer Dolls
Chucky is a vile looking, 18 inch tall male doll, who comes alive when he's possessed by the spirit of a particularly sadistic and deranged serial killer. Chucky's son, Glenn, is another possessed doll, working as a ventriloquist's dummy at a fairground. Glenn (Glenda?) has gender issues and a big issue with incontinence. Tiffany is Chucky's girlfriend, another doll who's...
Published 1 month ago by William Mason

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Chucky has gone to seed.
It would be pure folly to have expected Seed of Chucky to be a brilliant entry in the Chucky franchise, the big-wigs pulling the financial strings behind the scenes clearly had no idea what had made the series popular in horror circles in the first place.

Bride of Chucky (part 4 for anyone counting) was bold and it worked, it managed to be that rare old thing...
Published 6 months ago by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Silly, but Highly Enjoyable, Schlock Horror about a Family of Killer Dolls, 21 Mar. 2015
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Chucky is a vile looking, 18 inch tall male doll, who comes alive when he's possessed by the spirit of a particularly sadistic and deranged serial killer. Chucky's son, Glenn, is another possessed doll, working as a ventriloquist's dummy at a fairground. Glenn (Glenda?) has gender issues and a big issue with incontinence. Tiffany is Chucky's girlfriend, another doll who's possessed by the spirit of a murderer.
Jennifer Tilly plays herself, a busty, deliciously slutty actress, who's making a horror film involving the Chucky Doll (she also voices the Tiffany doll). The action initially takes place on the set of the horror movie, where the family of killer dolls go on the rampage with the film crew...
You see a lot of the action from a first person point of view, i.e. through the eyes of the killer doll. There's an early scene which is a fun homage to the shower scene in Hitchcock's Psycho, and which sets the overall vibe of the movie. It's campy and tongue in cheek, not an out and out spoof or comedy like the Scary Movie franchise, but it doesn't take itself too seriously. The animatronics and special F/X for the three dolls is very well done, especially the facial expressions, which give the toys their own personalities. If you're looking for a horror flick to disturb or scare you, look elsewhere. If you want a horror which entertains exactly because it pokes fun at itself, and mixes the gore with goofing about, this flick is a decent choice. Some reviewers have berated this film precisely because it's not a serious horror, but it's not intended to be. A film which has a toy doll pleasuring himself over stroke mags to provide a sperm sample, and another toy doll trying to impregnate the lead actress with a turkey baster, is not aiming to be regarded alongside the likes of The Exorcist and Romero's Dawn Of The Dead. It's fun schlock horror with lashings of gore, a beer and pop corn movie one can watch without taxing the brain. Recommended.
Thank you for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Chucky has gone to seed., 28 Oct. 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Seed of Chucky [DVD] (DVD)
It would be pure folly to have expected Seed of Chucky to be a brilliant entry in the Chucky franchise, the big-wigs pulling the financial strings behind the scenes clearly had no idea what had made the series popular in horror circles in the first place.

Bride of Chucky (part 4 for anyone counting) was bold and it worked, it managed to be that rare old thing of a horror film able to marry up horror and comedy for good entertainment purpose. Unfortunately everything about Seed of Chucky is lazy and weak. There is no story of substance here, it is neither funny or scary, the parody and self awareness the makers go for runs out of steam after 15 minutes! When the writers are reduced to a masturbation sequence to get their meta kicks then you know there's problems. 3/10, and that is purely for Jennifer Tilly and her delightful way of not taking herself seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Could almost be considered a `reboot', 24 Jan. 2014
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Seed of Chucky [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, so `The Seed of Chucky' ISN'T a `reboot,' but it does radically shift from the previous three films' `formulas,' making it come across as a real change of direction. The first `Child's Play' film was a classic horror - a straight horror. Naturally (as with so many horror franchises), the sequels (parts 2 and 3) weren't received quite so well, also staying true to the original's horror vibe. Therefore, in this one (also the first `Chucky movie' to drop the `Child's Play' title) they decide to play it for laughs (or at least black comedy anyway).

The killer doll, Chucky, returns with his - equally psychotic - `wife' Tiffany and this time they're accompanied to Hollywood with their `gender-confused' child, Glen (or possibly Glenda).

And I thought the film was great. However, it's worth noting that there are plenty of people out there who disagree with me. I actually find the new `black comedy' take on the Chucky films just as good as the original horrific line. But a fair share of the audience obviously didn't appreciate the change of direction.

Full marks to Jennifer Tilly who not only voices Tiffany, but stars as herself and mercilessly sends herself up, portraying herself as an evil human, not an awful lot better than the evil dolls.

So, expect more killing and bloodshed, only this time played for laughs rather than scares. Unless of course you find Chucky's son/daughter doll more than a little creepy in his androgynous seventies David Bowie/Ziggy Stardust kind of way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Seed of Chucky Review, 5 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Seed of Chucky [DVD] (DVD)
Seed of Chucky Review

The 2005 movie Seed of Chucky, is it worth the money, or is it just a waste

We start the film with a family of 3 and it is the little girls birthday. The little girl gets handed a doll. And they abuse this doll. All the family go to bed and the doll comes to life and peeks out of the cardboard box in came in. In its view is a cake and hanging from that a knife. He silently climbs out of the box and grabs the knife. He then proceeds up the stairs to were the mother of the family is taking a shower. He opens the shower door silently and jumps into the shower, attempting to stab the mother, when that fails she slips out of the shower and cracks her head. We just see blood pouring from her head. He then attempts to exit the shower but hears the father of the family coming for them. When he does he acts like a doll and when the father picks him up he starts to repetitively stab him. He then falls down onto the ground from the banister and the knife stabs into him. He then grabs the knife and runs into the child's room. And he attempts to stab her when he repetitively spoken the words of "Your pissing you pants". And then he wakes up to what seems to be a tranquilest fair. And he abused by his master. Then he has a plan to escape when he gets a rat to bite his masters hand. He then escapes from the fair in search for his mother and father. Chucky and Tiffany. He already knows his mum and dad are at a film set in Hollywood. So he looks for them there in the prop room. When he chants and evil spell to bring them back to life, used in Child's play to transfer Charles Lee Rays body into the Doll named chuckys body. When he does this they come to life and once again Glen, as he is called, is ripped on again by Chucky. They then reek havoc on the city of Hollywood. And then the film begins, with more havoc then ever before. Guest stars Britney Spears, Chucky rolls her off a cliff for driving to slow.

My final verdict is that it was boring a bits, it had more comedy than horror, it ruined the horror side of chuckys life but was a funny film so I'll give it that and i'll rate it 3 stars as it wasn't horrifying as it was intended but it was funny. So Three Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You have to love chucky!!, 11 Aug. 2013
By 
Mrs. A. L. White "Madwhite" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seed of Chucky [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit it, I love chucky!! This film is both funny and gory, The fact you get 2 murdering dolls in this movie makes it great plus you see the love story between chucky & Tiffany which is kind of sweet in a slasher movie kind of way!! I've loved most of the chucky movies except for Childs play 3. If you love slasher movies with a hint of comedy you will love this film!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Chucky Wasn't Lucky., 29 Oct. 2007
By 
ChrisHaydon "chrishaydon_63" (Whitstable, Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seed of Chucky [DVD] (DVD)
'Seed Of Chucky' as a piece of cinema isn't that bad being totally honest but compared to the original, 'Child's Play', things have just tragically gone down-hill for Charles Lee Ray.
You know a film isn't going to be anything special when the actors are replaced by rappers and ex-popstars.
A prime example of this is 'Halloween: Resurrection' which had Busta Rhymes as a main character alongside Jamie Lee Curtis, it just didn't work.
The 'Child's Play' franchise have become increasingly worse down the line, especially when the writers decided to change the film from a 'Horror' to almost a 'Black Comedy'.
Don't get me wrong, Chucky's character hasn't changed that much which is good but the stories and situations he is placed in are just terrible.

'Seed Of Chucky' had the potential of being a good film but I feel that the writers just got overly carried away with this stupid comedy side of Chucky.
Since when has a serial killer been funny? I know the things he says are funny and that's okay because that's part of his character but the fact that every single death, problem, situation, basically every line spoken has a punchline is just ridiculous.
Everybody knows that sequals generally aren't as good as the original but this film is just pathetic.

Sorry Chucky, I liked your old films but you have lost the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cut Chucky some slack!, 18 Nov. 2005
By 
This review is from: Seed of Chucky [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, the story line isn't the best story ever, but with the exception of the Original Childs Play, when have the stories been excellent?
These films are about a twisted killer continuing his depraved way of life in the form of the Good Guy doll.
I'm a fan of the first 3 movies (I own them all) and I really enjoyed Bride of Chucky, it was a refreshing change from the first 3 movies and brought modern humour to the saga.
As I said, Seed of Chucky has a far from brilliant story, but it is full of new twisted jokes. Humour wise... it's a killer, definetly funny. I have recently got a friend to watch Seed of Chucky who hated the first 3 movies and wouldn't entertain Bride of Chucky. He actually enjoyed the Seed of Chucky and has now watched Bride of Chucky (He enjoyed that to).
If you just want to be entertained with some slightly disturbing humour and don't wana get dragged down by a heavy story line... Watch Seed of Chucky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 2 July 2008
By 
G. I. Iversen (North-Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seed of Chucky [DVD] (DVD)
I think this is a great movie, well worth the money. Of course I am biased, since I love silly horror movies *and* I love the wonderful Miss Tilly. Speaking of Jennifer Tilly, has she ever looked better than in the first few scenes of this movie? I don't think so. She's beyond gorgeous and, as always, her acting is great. She really is a great actress and sadly not recognized as such by most of the world.
Anyways, the plot may be a little far-fetched, but this is the kind of movie where the plot is supposed to be a little crazy.
There's enough blood and gore to keep fans of the genre satisfied. And Chucky is just as horrible and evil as he always was.
The whole Glen/Glenda business can get a bit much at times, but alltogether I think it's a great movie. But I guess you'd have to be a fan of this kind of thing, to appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chucky, Tiffany and Glen(da), 26 Feb. 2007
By 
marky77 (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Seed of Chucky [DVD] (DVD)
Seed of Chucky (or Child's Play 5) is a much better movie than most of these reviews suggest it is. Similar to Bride of Chucky, this is more Comedy than Horror but it is still a funny, gorey slasher movie.

The movie starts as Glen heads to hollywood with plans of bringing his parents (Chucky and Tiffany) back from the dead. However, they run into some family probelms along the way as Chucky insists that Glen is a boy while Tiffany says that Glenda is a girl. As well as argueing over the gender of their child, Chucky and Tiffany go on a bloody killing-spree to the horror of their offspring, Glen(da).

Seed of Chucky is a funny (and sometimes scary) movie with plenty of blood and gore. I was surprised to see that when they brought back the Child's Play series (first "Bride of...", now this) they turned it more or less into a comedy, but I like these just as much as the Child's Play movies.

I would reccomend this movie to fans of either horror or comedy movies and to anybody who enjoyed the previous Chucky movies, especially Bride of Chucky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the others!, 30 July 2014
This review is from: Seed of Chucky [DVD] (DVD)
Really not impressed. I absolutely loved the original Child's Play movie and it generally creeped me out, sorry to say I couldn't say the same thing about this one. I imagine it was meant to be cheesy and not scary? I just couldn't take it seriously. I watched it from beginning to end too, to at least say that I gave it a go. The original scared quite a few people at the time because of the technology to move the dolls around, however now, it was just like watching "Scary Movie" really. Just a bit of a laugh. Won't be watching again and wouldn't really recommend to watch along with the other Chucky films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seed of Chucky [DVD]
Seed of Chucky [DVD] by Don Mancini (DVD - 2005)
£3.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews