Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabbath at their raw best.
This is a must-have for Sabbath fans. The only "official" early Sabs set is on view here. To be sure, its a bit dated in terms of stage-show, editing, etc but isn't that part of the beauty of the thing? When Beatles fans go nuts over B&W film of the terrible four, no-one complains. So screw the critics. This is a fantastic DVD of the Sabs at their best. A must-see for all...
Published on 7 Oct. 2009 by Spin

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great picture and performance, but awful sound
I'm very merciless when writting review of any music-featuring DVD that doesn't serve its primarily purpose well - THE SOUND.
What's the point in fact that this is one of rare official DVDs that feature full concert performance of Black Sabbath, that the setlist is impressive or that the picture quality is pretty good (although including some...
Published on 30 Jan. 2006 by KoKy_the_rock_maniac


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabbath at their raw best., 7 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath - Never Say Die [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is a must-have for Sabbath fans. The only "official" early Sabs set is on view here. To be sure, its a bit dated in terms of stage-show, editing, etc but isn't that part of the beauty of the thing? When Beatles fans go nuts over B&W film of the terrible four, no-one complains. So screw the critics. This is a fantastic DVD of the Sabs at their best. A must-see for all genuine rock afficianados, and essential to Sabbath fans. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gig, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath - Never Say Die [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This live concert from the '78 Never Say Die Tour is one of only two officially released Black Sabbath shows on DVD - the other being the recent 'Gathered In Their Masses...' concert from their latest '13' Tour. The sound quality isn't great but it's passable because it's a very enjoyable show, plus there's not much early live stuff to be had - that's of decent quality anyway. It makes a change to see an Ozzy that bounces off the walls when performing, rather than the shuffling Oz of later years we are all used to. Also it seems odd having him placed off to one side while Tony Iommi stands centre stage in the spotlight (although Tony is THE RIFFMEISTER he's the least interesting, performance-wise of the four, to look at). Doesn't matter though as Ozzy never stays offside for long - running about, air guitaring with Iommi and getting the crowd going front of stage. It's an energetic performance from all of them really, all of 'em sounding great - Geezer totally into it looking cool and what a treat seeing Bill Ward like a Beowulf behind the skins bashing out the rythms. You get to see plenty of finger-picking and fret board action too. Bill does a brief thing on the drums - I expected more of a solo but I suspect that may have been lost in the editing? Also,two of the songs (Dirty Women and Symtom Of The Universe) seem to be cut a bit short rather than coming to a more natural sounding conclusion. There are some crap dated 'special effects' here and there but this really is a great gig and definately worth the buying. No extras!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NEVER SAY DIE!, 10 Aug. 2006
By 
This review is from: Black Sabbath - Never Say Die [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I must disagree with my friend KoKy, who - by the way - reviewed DVD I bought. :)

I understand him in a way - we all want perfect sound. BUT...

I believe most of you will agree with me that quality of sound/picture/menu/sleeves is - after all - still the FORM. And what is more (and the most) important is - after all - the CONTENTS.

So let's start from the contents of this DVD.

This video was originally released as VHS, some quarter of a century ago. :) It features Sabbath's concert filmed professionally at legendary venue Hammersmith Odeon in London, on June 19, 1978. Unfortunatelly, this video does not contain complete concert, but it still has most of it, with all the most important songs. (A few songs which are missing were probably not recorded at all.) The concert was part of the "World tour 1978", the last Sabbath tour with Ozzy.

And now for the most important issue of all - Black Sabbath are fuckin' BRILLIANT at this concert! Ozzy is great, Geezer is great. Tony is... well, Tony. And Bill Ward - like reviewer ncassar said - "just blows you away"!!

My favourite part is the begining of the show - "Supertzar" intro with the first song "Symptom of the Universe", which fitted together perfectly. But the whole concert is awesome, I can't describe it with words - you have to see it for yourself.

Now, the sound quality is not so great - although not so disastrous as KoKy wrote. But here is the main difference between his and mine way of looking at the things. He wrote: "What's the point ... when the sound is terrible?" And I say: for the good sound, you have albums (CDs), and the POINT of this DVD is not the sound, but the picture. This DVD is important because we can SEE Sabbath live on stage. Great sound quality would be more than welcome, sure - but here, sound is less important than the video. (Video quality is not perfect, but still quite good.)

So... the concert, Sabbath performance itself - gets 5 stars, no doubt about that. But I will took one star away for the bad sound quality. Furthermore, I will took another star away because the sleeve and menu of this DVD are so incredibly cheap, and without any extra stuff, and without almost any information about the show!

So... that leaves us with 3 stars for this DVD. But now I will ADD one star for the fact that THIS IS THE ONLY OFFICIAL SABBATH LIVE DVD (for the 1970's era)!

With more good will from producers/publishers of this DVD, I believe this COULD be much better edition. This band... this show... deserves better. With that in mind:

4 stars ... highly recomended.

"WE LOVE YOU ALL!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ozzy rocks....as do the others, 21 Aug. 2013
By 
BobM (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath - Never Say Die [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Ah. The 1970's. Such memories. While also being into the Moody Blues, Genesis, Yes, ELP, Barclay James Harvest and similar, I also found Sabbath pretty damn good.
This concert is very good.
Maybe the visual quality is only average, but the concert rocks.
Osbourne is truly on form.
Iommi shines, as do Geezer and Ward.
Excellent, just excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great picture and performance, but awful sound, 30 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Black Sabbath - Never Say Die [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I'm very merciless when writting review of any music-featuring DVD that doesn't serve its primarily purpose well - THE SOUND.
What's the point in fact that this is one of rare official DVDs that feature full concert performance of Black Sabbath, that the setlist is impressive or that the picture quality is pretty good (although including some camera-artifacts and flashing), when the sound is terrible?
It is as some guy in the crowd was recording simply using only a microphone, connected to a pocket casette-recorder.
Even with most primitive knowing of audio editing tecniques, like equilising, producers of this DVD could've enhanced the sound immensely. But, no! Just put it quickest way you can in one black plastic box, and launch it on the market, counting on all those deluded Black Sabbath fans!
Two songs of this DVD (Symptom of the universe, Snow blind) are featured on "Black Sabbath: Story 1" DVD, where they have surpassingly better sound - not just volume. Which is a proof that you can do it, if you want - and if you respect your customers. This should've been a professionaly done DVD, and it even doesn't demonstrate a good intention to make things work, which sets it below any bootleg DVD. I could bear the fact that this concert was not pro-recorded back in 1978, but c'mon... this is clearly producer's flaw, since these 2 songs sound pretty well on the Story DVD.
I don't recommend this DVD at all. It sets me down as a customer, and as Black Sabbath fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap but good, 16 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This DVD contains a classic Sabbath performance from the Never Say Die tour, great varied set list and the band are on top form. Unforunately this is just a straight port from the video thats been out for years. The sound is improved but the picture quality is abysmal and there are no extra features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black Sabbath - Simply the Best, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath - Never Say Die [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
What can you say about this band. Ozzy is punching out the vocals, Tony is just fantastic on the guitar, Geezer is an unsung hero on bass and as for Bill on Drums is there anyone better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For all heavy metal fans, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath - Never Say Die [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Getting my black Sabbath collection together, hade a lot on records years ago, have always loved these guys, so have really loved watching this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quality, 10 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath - Never Say Die [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
love sabbath saw them in manchester on this actual tour when i was a lot younger.

its brill.

if you love sabbath you are bound to enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good!, 3 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath - Never Say Die [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
il prodotto è arrivato integro e la spedizione è stata veloce. venditore raccomandato.che palle non so più che scrivere! all is ok thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Sabbath - Never Say Die [DVD] [2008]
Black Sabbath - Never Say Die [DVD] [2008] by Black Sabbath (DVD - 2014)
£17.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews