Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Babycakes
After the outstanding original adaption of 'Tales...', we get Armistead Maupin's second installment of the cleverly interwoven stories of several colourful San Francisco residents in the 70's.
The main hunk of the story focusses on a bunch of tenents living in several flats in a place called, 28 Barbary Lane. Everyone who crosses the paths of...
Published on 22 Jan 2006 by Ms. S. Morton

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for those who remember the original
please don't wast your money buying these DVDs I bought Tales and More. Tales .They are so heavily edited that they are more like trailers. the characters are given no time to develop and most of Maupins wonderful story line is lost. If you have yet to experience the Tales series buy the books ,it will be much more rewarding.
Published on 27 Nov 2011 by Kevin bear


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Babycakes, 22 Jan 2006
By 
Ms. S. Morton (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Tales Of The City: Episodes 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
After the outstanding original adaption of 'Tales...', we get Armistead Maupin's second installment of the cleverly interwoven stories of several colourful San Francisco residents in the 70's.
The main hunk of the story focusses on a bunch of tenents living in several flats in a place called, 28 Barbary Lane. Everyone who crosses the paths of these tenents are somehow mysteriously linked to one another, leaving little threads or clues to the mysteries surrounding them. It's these threads that once woven together create this rich tapestry that is 'More Tales...'
Once again, we witness the wonderful Olympia Dukakis play the equally wonderful and intriguing landlady, Mrs Anna Madrigal.
Lauraa Linney also resumes her role as the warm and innocent, Mary Ann Singleton, continuing her search for love.
This series also sees the arrival of several of the main characters being recast. Such favourites as, Mona Ramsey had been recast from Cloe Webb to the slightly more youthful, Nina Siemaszko. At first this is somewhat disappointing and baffling, to say the least, but as the series progresses it becomes less of an issue.
The character of Michael 'Mouse' Tolliver on the other hand is a different story. Paul Hopkins replaces Marcus D'Amico in this role, and subsequently overplays it, which can at times be irritating.
This series also saw the arrival of the hilariously foul-mouthed Mother Mucca, an elderly lady who runs a brothel in the desert. She will have you in fits of laughter, especially in eppisode one, with her moral ramblings about Mona's flirtation with Angel Dust (PCP).
In conclusion-if you loved the first installment, it may be a little hard to swallow at first (with the various recastings etc), but the warmth of the characters still shines through.
It's a story of love, understanding, forgiveness, betrayal, and above all, hope. And as the story unfolds, you'll wish that you too knew people like these. You'll wish that you lived at, 28 Barbary Lane, and had a beautiful landlady such as, Mrs Madrigal who'll leave you little 'presents' taped to your front door.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maupin back in flying colours!, 23 April 2001
By A Customer
Once again, it has not been a disppointment to see the video after reading the book. Armistead Maupin's excellent, intricate story of people intertwining and finding themselves - and others - in the big, legendary city of San Francisco has been faithfully rendered in this second video set based the second two volumes of on his six-book series. Maupin was quite involved in the work on the video series, and it shows. The video is a faithful rendering of all the elements, all the toungue-in-cheek comedy, all the comments on society, of Maupin's original text.
The video picks up where "Tales of the City" left off, and takes us through an emotional rollercoaster ride that leaves us feeling as if we left our heart back up at the top of Lombard Sreet. But of course, it is back at 28 Barbary Lane.
Mona goes in search of her roots, Michael continues his search for true love, Anna picks up the pieces after Edgar, Mary Anne learns big-city savvy (and - has she found someone?). Dee Dee takes her life more and more into her own hands, much to Beauchamp's chagrin.
Watch for another cameo appearance by the storyteller himself. The end leaves us breathlessly waiting for ... "Further Tales of the City" on video! Please, stop torturing us! Release it SOON!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In love with love, 2 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Tales Of The City: Episodes 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
Ignore the major story arc if you like, it's not that important. As with Tales of the City, and all Armistead Maupin's books, it's about the characters and their lives and loves, the way they deal with the highs and lows and, ultimately, about friendship. The direction (as with Tales of the City) is a bit ponderous, the whole thing could have been a bit pacier, but after TotC we're seeing the characters move on and begin to spread their wings. I think I like 'More Tales' just a little more than TotC as it nudges everyone on just that little bit further. The characters are so real, they feel like friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 15 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Tales Of The City: Episodes 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
even better than the first tv series, yes some of the cast changes do take alittle while to get used to but I do think the new Michael is even better , plus for a fifteen cetificate there is still alot going on here. Just wish we could get the third series over here on dvd.My one complaint, spent 2 whole evenings watching and then felt soooo sad when it was over x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and enjoyable to watch, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Tales Of The City: Episodes 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
Incredibly close to the book and a heap of fun to watch over and over again. If I had any criticism at all I would say it's a shame Michael Tolliver didn't have a moustache as he had in the book, but that is minor and doesn't ruin it at all. Olympia Dukakis is awesome..... as ever :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great sequal presentation., 12 Mar 2013
By 
John Routledge (Molesworth, Tasmania, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Tales Of The City: Episodes 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this series on T V many years ago. The only disappointment was the repacement of 'Mouse' and the redheaded girl. Somehow didn't quite fit the bill but after 2 episodes I got used to it. Love Maupin's writings and they transfer to the screen so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more tales of the city episodes 13[ vhs] [1998], 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brilliant viewing it is about a group of neighbours and friends living in america very moving funny and everything in between
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as the books!, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Tales Of The City: Episodes 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
So lovely to jump back in time and in the stories. Fantastic cast with the amazing Laura Linney & Olympia Dukakis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice to have, 8 Dec 2012
By 
R. Chambers (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Tales Of The City: Episodes 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
I don't like this series as much as the first. Some of the actors from the first series were replaced, although the main actors, Olympia Dukakis and Laura Linney, continue and the new actors do great jobs. Still, it is an excellent series and whenever we watch the first series, we always want to continue watching the second. I do wish the third series, Further Tales of the City, was available in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales of the City, 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Tales Of The City: Episodes 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
A wonderful tale of interwoven lives & secrets based on the novel by legandary writer Armistead Maupin.
Well worth getting just for Olympia Dukakis's portrail of Anna Madrigal she makes the character her own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

More Tales Of The City: Episodes 1-6 [DVD]
More Tales Of The City: Episodes 1-6 [DVD] by Pierre Gang (DVD - 2005)
5.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews