Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd have liked them to be longer
I got this yesterday (amazing service Amazon, especially as it was only released yesterday) & have checked out both movies as I never got the 4K Release of Ghostbusters last year, and they both look and sound spooktacular (Yep, I went there). I watched the two new Interviews this morning with Ivan and Dan, and they're really enjoyable. I'd have liked them to be longer,...
Published 3 months ago by PrestonBornBoy

versus
58 of 73 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie. Shame about the DVD Package!!!!
I love GHOSTBUSTERS. It's one of the best films to come out of the 80s and i already had the original DVD release of this and it's inferior sequel on DVD. When i heard this gift set was coming out i waited in anticiapation for it's release only to find that you are much better off sticking to original releases. First off, half the special features are missing from the...
Published on 16 Sep 2007 by Mr. Dean Mullett


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd have liked them to be longer, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this yesterday (amazing service Amazon, especially as it was only released yesterday) & have checked out both movies as I never got the 4K Release of Ghostbusters last year, and they both look and sound spooktacular (Yep, I went there). I watched the two new Interviews this morning with Ivan and Dan, and they're really enjoyable. I'd have liked them to be longer, but they go into a lot of detail about the movies, and talk about how the movies got off the ground.

I was disappointed that the GBII Deleted Scenes didn't have the one with Eugene Levy or Possessed Ray, but they still have a great selection, and having both Ray Parker Jr & Bobby Brown's Music Videos for "Ghostbusters" & "On Our Own" is a nice touch too.

I'd have also loved a tribute video or something to Harold Ramis, but we have mourned him ourselves, so it's fine :)

Overall, it's a great little package, with the UV Codes for both Movies, a nice little slip with a Thank You to the fans from Ivan Reitman, and the little Booklet included covering the making of the movies, is fantastic too with some great pictures in there too from both movies.

If you're debating getting this, then don't. It's a great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, irresistible entertainment. Sublime and genuinely thrilling. First class masterpieces., 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Five gold stars, baby! The original is beyond words but just to say/type it's possibly the best comedy ever made. Ever. But since I've already reviewed the blu ray of ghostbusters thus review is for the much maligned sequel which, IMHO, I think is worth five gold stars all on its own. This might not be the popular opinion but I liked the sequel as much as the original. What the sequel lacks that the original had (namely that epic model building/real life skyscraper and the rather disturbing, for a PG, armchair sequence) this film makes up for with a more fleshed out role for Ernie Hudson aka my favourite ghostbuster and more for the wonderful Annie Potts to do. Also what's good here is the always watchable and lovely Sigourney Weaver here returning as the female lead/damsel in distress. Hers is a performance that makes the film. In addition David Margulies returns as the exasperated mayor of New York City and he's just as good here as he was in the first film. Also adding to the entertainment value is a brief cameo from Harris Yulin as a cranky judge who almost gets his just desserts. The only downside here is a returning Rick Moranis who is insufferably irritating but it's a small wrinkle in an otherwise epic sequel. And if all of the above wasn't enough that guy from Ally McBeal is a hoot and a half as a creepy museum curator who has designs on Dana. And there's some truly magnificent visuals to boot. Look out for Philip Baker Hall in a tiny one line cameo and also Ben Stein, similarly outfitted. Finally Mary Ellen Trainor appears at the beginning as a mom who hires Winston and Ray. Oh, I probably should have mentioned at the start I am a sequel whore. And in my opinion this is one of the best sequels ever made. Subtitles for HOH / SDH are available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TWO IN THE BOX READY TO GO !, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
2 my favourite movies now on blu ray which i managed to get for great price of £10 from Amazon.co.uk
the original is the best now with the "Ghostbusters" by Ray Parker Jr music video which the first blu ray I had didn't have which i love, the interview with Dan Aykroyd and Ivan Reitman about the first Ghostbusters film, they again interview in the other film "Ghostbusters 2 " .
Ghostbusters 2 also comes with music video of " On Our Own" by Bobby Brown plus deleted scenes.
A must for any Ghostbusters fan with the UltraViolet you watch both movies on any device which I got my Smartphone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb quality and perfect piture and sound., 26 Nov 2014
By 
D. P. Samuel "kempo" (wales,uk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
GhostBusters has never looked so good!-I bought this bluray box set cos im a fan of these 2 classic movies and I read up that the picture quality is superb and I received the quickly and watched them and I was blown-away at how good the picture quality was,especially when you consider how OLD these films are..i highly recommend this excellent bluray box set to any fans of ghost busters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Fan of GhostBusters, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostbusters/Ghostbusters 2 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Love Ghostbusters and now I've got my 4 year old son singing on top of his lungs "When there's something strange, in your neighbourhood, who ya gonna call - GHOSTBUSTERS". This is a really good mother and son bonding session. (Yes - I need to get out more - but it is harmless fun.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Double for a Tenner!!!!, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic deal the 2 movies on Blu Ray for a tenner!!! cost double that at HMV both films look great in 4K remaster and sound for a 30 year old movie fab i remember showing the original film in 1984 when i was a cinema projectionist it did amazing business for several weeks a classic film. The new interviews with Ivan Reitman and Dan Aykroyd are very interesting they both still have a lot of love for the sequel as they go and we also get the great Ray Parker Jr video for the song GhostBusters!!also you get a nice little booklet with lots of background information and pictures on both films. The slimer mode view on the first movie is great picture in picture while you watch the film lots of super memories from director and all the cast including the late Harold Ramis.If you are a fan buy now at this price you wont be disappointed even Mr Stay Puft would smile at this price who you gonna call Amazon right now enjoy!! Mark. Wallasey,Merseyside. 21st Sept 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Endless, scary fun, 8 May 2003
What an extra-ordinary, hilarius set of movies. Enjoying both "Ghostbusters" and "Ghostbuster II" back to back united on a VHS tape is a great fun...and a great bargain!
Both movies are classics and feature Bill Murry at his best. The plots are humorous, but not ludicrous. A group of unemployed scientists start a ghostbusting agency in New York and save the city from destruction by weird, powerful, disembodied entities...twice.
While "Ghostbusters II" is in part sort of a remake of the first movie, it does contain some fresh ideas and mainly works because of the five-years-later effect – we meet the characters from the first movie again and see what has become of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 73 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie. Shame about the DVD Package!!!!, 16 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Ghostbusters/Ghostbusters 2 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I love GHOSTBUSTERS. It's one of the best films to come out of the 80s and i already had the original DVD release of this and it's inferior sequel on DVD. When i heard this gift set was coming out i waited in anticiapation for it's release only to find that you are much better off sticking to original releases. First off, half the special features are missing from the first films dvd and the second film has two inferior animated episodes slapped on the disc to make up for having no special features at all. The other bad thing about this gift set and probably the worst is the picture quality of the transfers. The first movie is so overly enhanced that it actually makes the film look dated. The effects in it are over coloured and grain is highly visible in nearly every shot. The second films transfer is somewhat better than that of the first but it seems to have high amounts of colour slapped on the picture which give the film a colour bled look. My honest opinion is to stay away from this box set and stick to the first dvds. Even the aspect ratio is altered on the first GHOSTBUSTERS film, it was originaly 2.351 and has been altered to a 2.401 ratio cutting off some of the picture from the top and bottom of the screen. GHOSTBUSTERS fans, please avoid this at all costs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have loved these movies since i was a kid delighted they ..., 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have loved these movies since i was a kid delighted they are both now on Blu-ray. they have been remastered brilliantly and this is the cheapest i have seen them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT MOVIE MAGIC, 6 Feb 2006
some nice packaging if youre bored of the old seperate releases,a nice little book with some background on the films,as for the films themselves i personally enjoyed the sequel more than the original,bill murray is superb in these
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghostbusters/Ghostbusters 2 [DVD] [2005]
Ghostbusters/Ghostbust
ers
by Ivan Reitman (DVD - 2005)
£5.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews