Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sugar Induced Knock Out!, 29 Jun 2006
This review is from: Sugar Rush: Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
At last, a sigh of releif can be heavily breathed: our generation has a tv show worth all the hype. By contrast, lacklusture attempts at jaded youth like 'Thirteen' and 'Kidulthood', seem laughable-and this is a hybrid of comedy and drama.

It rises above pointless controvesy of exposing what being a teenager amidsts the urban decay, and back-drop of our MTV driven culture is like. The natural ease, makes it so brilliant. Instead of being too gritty (which means too depressing)or too light hearted (which would take away from the realism and issues highlighted throughout the series) it remarkably strikes the balance.

As Blondie's 'One Way Or Another' starts, your fears are put to rest. Sugar (aka Marie Sweet) has to be one of the most volatile ficticous creations of recent times, that it is no wonder the show is named after her.

Lesbian Kim describes herself as a 'fifteen year old queer virgin who is sexually obsessed with her best friend'. The premise: she is gay, Sugar is not.

Not afraid of being politically incorrect or shying away from rather tawdry (but highly amusing) senarios, it could not be more sweet natured.

There has been some criticism over the shows target audience-it has an eighteen certificate, thus indicating it is meant for an adult audience. But don't be mislead. This is NOT titilating lesbian soft porn for middle-aged men to oggle at.

Most young people who i have spoken to love it, and it is not difficult to see why. Sugar Rush should be shown in schools over Britian, as it really tackles what is pivotal when at an impressionable age.

Not for the light-hearted, but when was a show about a fifteen year old lesbian ever going to be?

Watch now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sugar rush..it's addictive, 3 May 2006
This review is from: Sugar Rush: Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I purchased this off amazon a while ago having seen bits of the series on TV and deciding that I needed some DVD's to entertain me for a while. This now sits firmly as one of the best DVD's I've ever bought. The series is funny, heartwrenching and just amazing to watch. Captured through the eyes of Kim, a self-proclaimed '15 year old queer virgin' lusting over her best friend, the elusive and outrageous Sugar, this series shows Kim's desperate attempts to get together with Sugar whilst dealing with her less than normal life. With an unorthodox family consisting of her whorish mother, househusband dad and freaky, alien-obsessed brother, things at home aren't exactly easy. The series has something for every teenager, and adult for that matter, as it touches on matters of the heart, domestic problems, relationships and sexuality without getting too deep or depressing. I can't wait for the next series which is due this summer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and entertaining drama, 13 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Sugar Rush: Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
For some reason, most of the reviewers seem to think this series would only appeal to younger viewers, well, I'm male, 50, and thoroughly enjoyed the series. I missed the first few episodes, and came upon the program while trying to find something entertaining; and was I glad to find this gem. The series works on many levels. On a basic level, the leading characters are funny, and sexy; always giving the viewer that tempting thrill of the forbidden (lesbianism is one of the mainstays of most mens' fantasies). But when you start to get into the mind of Kim, you can watch the series at a more meaningful level, and you really feel for her and her problems at trying to understand her feelings; I remember longing for a certain girl, who was so out of reach..... Later on, you find that the seemingly tough Sugar isn't quite as tough as she wants the world to believe. Add to this, all the goings on around Kim's dysfunctional and frankly bizarre family!!!

As far as I'm concerned, if you've a sense of humour, and an open mind, Sugar Rush will be for you, no matter what age you may be. Buy it and enjoy. Thank you Channel 4, for the first series, and now series 2 is running, and just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An incredibly addictive and sassy series, 20 July 2005
By 
Mr. S. M. Baines "lemmingology" (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sugar Rush: Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Sugar Rush, a TV adaptation of Julie Burchill's novel of the same name, sees 15 year old Kim (Olivia Hallinen) and her family give up a posh lifestyle for a new life in Brighton (am I the only one who finds it ironic that it's set in Brighton, which has one of the most thriving gay communities in the UK?). At her new school, Kim quickly makes a friend in the rambunctious Maria Sweet, otherwise known as Sugar. However, her feelings appear to be deeper than she first realises, as Kim slowly finds herself falling in love with her new best friend
As if that wasn't enough, Kim's family and surroundings are beginning to get embarrassing. She was a space-obsessed freak for a brother, an obsessively house-proud father, a 'married' gay couple as neighbours whose 'son' quickly takes to stalking her, and a mother who embarks an a steamy affair with the house decorator. Sugar seems to be Kim's only escape... but eventually she finds herself wanting to escape from her too
Although different from the novel in a few ways, the premise is still the same - 15 year old girl finds her true personality and realises her sexuality while she's at it. The plot is full of clever twists and turns - none of which I'll reveal, naturally :) - and although it slows down a bit after the first episode, it all picks up again around the 5th or 6th. Olivia Hallinen is a fantastic actress for her age, coming across perfectly as the teenage girl who's lost within herself, and I was also pleased to see a fairly large role for one of my favourite actors, Neil Jackson (best known for the role of Phil Wallis in Sky One's Dream Team), who plays the decorator. At the end of the day, it's a decent, well-scripted, brilliantly acted drama about adolescence and discovering forbidden love for the first time. I'd recommend it to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the music from the TV series has been changed!, 19 Aug 2005
This review is from: Sugar Rush: Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I was extremely excited about the series Sugar Rush on Channel 4. I watched and recorded every episode but when i came to buying the DVD I was fairly disappointed to find that all the original music from the TV series had been changed. One of the main reason I liked the series was because of the music and I was not 100% satisfied with this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most endearing pieces of television I have ever seen, 3 Oct 2007
By 
Ian (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sugar Rush: Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Sugar Rush follows Kim, a teenager from a comically messed-up family, as she narrates a lively video autobiography of her lesbian obsession with her oblivious best friend Sugar, while trying to deal with her family life.

It is by turns darkly humorous, daft, uplifting and moving. And somehow, while clearly being larger than life fiction, it retains a degree of seriousness and realism that has inspired people who find themselves in parallel situations.

Not that you have to be gay or teenage to appreciate this brilliant programme. Any age, gender and sexual orientation can associate with the ironies and decisions that Kim faces. It does contain swearing, drinking, drug use and sexual references that may offend or alienate some, but it is not gratuitous, rather it depicts irresponsible teenage life and adds humour. In fact, the programme indirectly promotes an understanding of differing sexualities and teenage frustrations through sympathies developed for the characters.

The excellent acting, combined with some nice cinematography, dynamic direction and great music bring the characters and freshness of the seaside resort to life. There are some very atmospheric and moving sequences, and wonderfully bright and funny scenes that can't but raise a smile.

It is not without fault, though. There are a few episodes in the middle of the series that seem to have been perhaps re-ordered at a late stage or merged with elements originally intended to fit earlier or later. There is also a tendency to over-use flashback or summary clips, such that the same (very brief) piece of footage may be repeated three or four times over the course of a couple of episodes. This is nit-picking though, as neither of these aspects was as noticeable on a weekly TV series, and only becomes apparent if a few episodes are viewed back to back.

As others have commented, most of the mainstream pop music from the transmitted TV version has been replaced by music from indie and little-known musicians for the DVD. Unless you have a very good memory or had a particular favourite piece, don't let this put you off. The DVD soundtrack is perfectly good and atmospheric, with many tunes chosen to have similar qualities to the respective TV version. I've become so used to the DVD music that, when stumbling upon a repeated episode on TV, the original pop soundtrack now seems brash and intrusive.

The DVD includes director and producer commentary on the first and last episodes. There's some interesting background information here, but the discussion is rather muddled and divergent. There are also several deleted and unfinished scenes.

A DVD of the second series is also available and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a gem, 19 Aug 2006
This review is from: Sugar Rush: Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
this series has grown on me every single time i have watched it. i have become so involved in the characters that i cant quite beleive i'm 'watching' a series, more so living it. Kim's obsession with Sugar is painful to the point it becomes hilarious with as many sneaky looks up her skirt as possible,but we do feel for kim in every way remembering how mixed up we were as teenagers. i love this series and recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great stuff BUT..., 18 Aug 2005
By 
This review is from: Sugar Rush: Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I loved this series and couldn't wait to get it on DVD and its still great, but I think its important for fans to know that due to contractual reasons edits have been made to the music on the dvd so some of the tracks that made moments of the programme great have gone, all nouvelle vague tracks such as teenage kicks and in a manner of speaking have been removed and replaced with inadequate songs sometimes messily placed and too loud, it doesn't however remove from the quality of acting or story, but still its a blow :( but its a wonderful series and still loving it, but unfortunately not quite as lyrically pleasing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best TV drama series ever!, 26 Sep 2005
This review is from: Sugar Rush: Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
When I saw the trailers for Sugar Rush, I thought it looked interesting and decided to give it a go, not realising how good it was going to be. The programme focuses on 15 year old Kim, who moves to Brighton with her family and forms a frienship with a girl named Sugar, and ends up falling in love with her. I thought the programme dealt with the issue of lesbianism really well, along with other issues such as alcohol and drugs.
The performances here are brilliant, particularly from Olivia Hallinan as Kim, struggling to come to terms with the fact that she's gay and trying to cope with life in her dysfunctional family. Lenora Critchlow is also captivating as wild child Sugar, who is prepared to do almost anything.
Overall, this is a fast-paced series with an extremely good story, and offers a no-holds barred insight into teenage life. Make sure you do not miss this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pierless, 17 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Sugar Rush: Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Where to begin in praise for this superlative TV series? It is in turns both life affirming and heartbreaking; this is the closest you will ever come to falling in love without actually having to meet somebody. It's a simple old story; girl meets girl, girl falls in love with girl, girl tries to drug girl to get her into bed... Then we have the well drawn and rounded characters, the perfectly pitched humour, the wonderful evocation of the British seaside town; presented here as an orgy of colour and sound. Its a show that goes to prove that the dynamics of love are pretty much universal, no matter what your persuasion. What a shame that the outstanding original music soundtrack has been replaced on the DVD with stock ditties and weak cover versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sugar Rush: Series 1 [DVD] [2005]
Sugar Rush: Series 1 [DVD] [2005] by Sean Grundy (DVD - 2005)
5.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews