Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All Hail king Monkey!, 26 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
Its hard to believe that Ian Brown is already on his obligatory greatest hits album, can it really be that long ago since the demise of the legendery Stone Roses? Its really a credit to the man that he pulled himself together so magnificently working at twice the rate his old band did. Enough of the needless history lesson though, theres no TIME for such nostalgia when reviewing a very current artist.
Granted, Ian Browns solo albums have all been rather patchy hit followed by miss affairs, but this collection smashingly rectifies that, creaming off the best of the harvested crop, mining carefully for the diamonds. And boy has there been some diamonds, "My Star" and "Corpses" make for an astonsihing opening barrage guitarist, co-writer and fast friend Aziz Ibrahim magnificently poignant on both. "Dolphins were Monkeys", "Be there" and the anthemnic "FEAR" are other high points reminding the listener just how good IB solo work can be. Unfortunately the forgettable plodfest of a collabaration with Noel Gallagher, "Keep what ya Got" snuck in through the back door but hey, at least the CD format spares us the embaressing video!
New single "All Ablaze" is a magical return to form reperesnting Brown at the height of his powers and closing number "Return of the Fisherman" is a slice of the cryptic and mysterious gnostic stuff that fans so adored the Roses for.
He'll never top the Roses, but for my opinion nobody will so just enjoy this collection for what it is! And what it is is the Greatest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monkey Puzzle, 10 Feb 2006
By 
Big Daddy K (South East, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
Totally agree that 'Dolphins..' is a significant track, but the other six reviewers need to listen to 'Whispers' to savour the true Brown attitude and gritty lyrical content. Coupled with some fantastic guitar work this track stands out from everything else on the album for me. I'm dissapointed that the UNKLE mix of F.E.A.R. wasn't included, but the original version does allow some respite to appreciate the clever, weaving structure...this lad should've been a poet when he first swung out of his tree! Buy this album if you've missed having the warm 'baggy' feeling of Fools Gold, since the Stone Roses imploded. Also, play this CD to people that are blinkered towards the blandness of The Seahorses, to remind them what they're missing out on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice one, 6 Feb 2006
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
I was not sure if I would be able to listen to a whole Ian Brown album - I do like individual tracks but thought a collection might stifle the senses. I was wrong and this is a good album with a great deal of contrast. Stand out track for me, amongst many, is 'Dolphins Were Monkeys'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We know know which one had the talent then!, 25 Sep 2005
By 
DJ Reeves (Sandbach, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
Just a quick review of Ian's new greatest hits compilation.
Over the course of his 4 solo albums Browny has undoubtedly grown as an artist in his own right. This album brings together some of his finest moments (and manages to miss one or two!)
He is at his peak when he steers clear of the slightly jazzy mumbo-jumbo of his last album and instead focuses on the melody and drive of tunes such as FEAR, Be There, Dolphins Were Monkeys and My Star.
That is not to say that his last offering did not deliver some killer tunes, represented here by the excellent Longsight, but with tunes as good as All Ablaze being produced the future those indeed look bright!
Can't wait to see him live again later in the year and already looking forward to the new album next year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ian Brown is The Greatest, 21 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
Ian Brown is in my opinion the best songwriter in the World. His wordsworth way with lyrics, his ability to incorporate different subjects into his writing I find wonderful. Ian Brown is also responsible for F.E.A.R. which is quite possibly the most intelligent piece of song writing ever composed. This album provides a batch of fantastic Ian Brown records such as Golden Gaze, Whispers, Longsight M13 and When Dolphins Were Monkeys. Ian Brown will probably never get the recognition he truly deserves which I find frustrating. He has not appeared to have forgotten where he comes from and the fact that he remains true to himself is a testament to the man. His ability is in my opinion undeniable. Ian Brown is The Greatest and this album will tell you why. Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ian Brown's Greatest Hits - A momentous collection, 4 July 2006
By 
R. J. Panter (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
Momentous is a word that I use sparingly. But this collection simply is just that.....Momentous! Since buying this CD it has slowly made its way to the small, but priveliged, end section of my CD collection that consists of, in my opinion, the real classics (ironically he joins The Stone Roses among a few other legends).

For anyone that is totally aware of Brown's work to someone who has never heard any of it. This is the real deal and a must for any CD collection.

All his classic tracks are on board beginning with the wonderful and hypnotic 'My Star' following on with the beautiful 'Corpses in their mouths'. It then takes you on a journey right through to the dark and funky 'Return of the Fisherman'.

But it's the middle section that leans towards momentous for me.

The legendary "Dolphins were Monkeys", and the dark, brooding "Golden Gaze" are followed by the simply mind blowing "F.E.A.R." and the poetic beauty of "Whispers". Then the album sets new levels with argueably Brown's masterpiece "Keep what ya got" (the best Oasis track they never wrote).

The album is also stitched together well with top tracks like "All Ablaze", "LongsightMI3" and "Love like a Fountain".

I cannot speak highly enough of Brown and this collection. It is a must buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 3 Nov 2005
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
Anyone who liked the Stone Roses but has been unimpressed by Ian Brown should at least listen to this album. Anyone who's liked some of his solo work, but doesn't own much of it (like me), should buy it and they'll love it.
Comparisons with the Stone Roses should be put to bed, even if there's an obvious heritage. This is Brown's own work and it stands out.
Whilst he can't really claim it all to be "greatest hits", it's an excellent collection of mature alternative rock/pop. "My Star" still sounds fresh 8 years on, and "F.E.A.R." just makes my nerves tingle.
Go on! It's only a few quid on Amazon. You won't regret it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mans Done Good, 30 Oct 2005
By 
Mr Dboyd (Balham,LONDON) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
The title says it all get the ltd edition book cd and you really have got a gem not the greatest voice in the world but ian brown can write a tune and this album has the lot from his first few songs rough and raw " My Star, Cant see me "
To micheal jackson covers " Billie jean, Thriller " to some decent remixes and his last few singles the greatest does exactly what it says.
some top tunes a few covers and remixes, Buy this album
the stone roses have gone but ian brown lives on and grows strong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who would have thought after 1996, 1 July 2006
By 
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
Who would have thought after the disastrous Stone Roses Reading festival performance in 1996 that Ian Brown would remerge like he has today. The best way to describle Ian Brown's solo material is that each song on this Greatest Hits CD is different from one another and doesn't sound like anything like the Stone Roses. Ian Brown shows great innovation with each tune, from the string influenced track F.E.A.R to the acid house sound of Love like a fountain. Each track is great in its own way so skipping a track really isn't an option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class, 23 Sep 2005
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
Corpses in their mouths is different class, along with FEAR and All Ablaze. This album has some class tunes on and is well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb431d7e0)

This product

The Greatest
The Greatest by Ian Brown (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews