Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The review for hardcore pokemon gamers!
Pokemon XD is an even better sequel to an already great game...

...Although I do use the term "sequel" loosely, it borrows character models and most of its locations from its predecessor, which the games developers have taken a bit of a kicking for by the press.

But does the familiarity bring contempt? In my opinion, the answer is no.

The...
Published on 28 April 2006 by Mtdore

versus
2 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointment...
Starts off well, ends in tradgedy. The game is flawed and is much worse than Colleseum. Less fun than dangling your diddles in a mincing machine.
Published on 3 Jan 2007 by Beechy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The review for hardcore pokemon gamers!, 28 April 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokémon XD: Gale of Darkness (GameCube) (Video Game)
Pokemon XD is an even better sequel to an already great game...

...Although I do use the term "sequel" loosely, it borrows character models and most of its locations from its predecessor, which the games developers have taken a bit of a kicking for by the press.

But does the familiarity bring contempt? In my opinion, the answer is no.

The fact that you're familiar with the environments means you know where the essentials -such as pokemon healing machines and PC's- are located.

By way of "catchable content" I'd say this game was weaker as a package than collosseum, it has 83 shadow pokemon to catch and also some wild ones, but ALOT of the catchables are B-class and relatively easy to aquire in the portable versions of the series.

The main attractions here then, are Lugia, Articuno, Zapdos & Moltres. And for me personally, Dragonite (its earlier forms take decades to evolve), but some people will wonder why the hell they'd be interested in Articuno/Zapdos/Moltres as they're readily available in FireRed and LeafGreen. I would also like to add that the rarest safari zone pokemon are all here for catching and relatively easy to get. Chansey, Kangaskhan, Scyther, Pinsir and Tauros are all here, which is a great help for me as I've never managed to get a Chansey or Tauros on any other pokemon game.

The games first hour is incredibly tedious, a boring introduction to a run-of-the-mill story, and some one-sided battles that you're advantaged in. Something many players will appreciate is that the starting pokemon is Eevee, and you get a chance to evolve it into any of its 5 evo forms very early in the game.

You get Eevee at level 15, and at the first "dungeon" location - Cipher lab (yup, taken from collosseum...) you can capture 6 useful pokemon Houndour, Gulpin, Baltoy, Mareep, Spheal and Seedot, all at level 17. This and the fact that Eevee can turn into one of any 5 types, means you have more control over your future throughout the game. I know I wasn't willing to train a level 3 Rattata at the start of Pokemon Blue...

You will feel like there's alot more choice in this game, 5 hours in you may have a Vaporeon and a Houndoom, whereas the guy across the street is Plugging away with Espeon and Nuzleaf (the vast majority of XD's battles are 2vs2). Beats the "standard practice" of using a Geodude against Lt. Surge and an Articuno against Lance the Dragon tamer, don't you think?

The best new addition is the "purification chamber" you basically leave your shadow pokemon somewhere in a circle of the "pure" breed, and it's heart opens as you take steps through the adventure and go about your business. The pokemon will purify faster if the circle of pokemon surrounding it "beats the other", I.e. Grass>Water>Fire>Ice>back to grass, which is a nice little addition.

The game is a little on the easy side, you wont find any of the early battles a struggle providing you train, and training is easy as simply exiting a location and returning allows you to re-match with many of the games opponents. As an adventure this subtracts from the enjoyment, but if you're a hardcore pokemon fan like me, the game will be your training/evolving/collecting items "centre", and you'll love every consecutive hour on a night you should spend revising.

Wild pokemon are also available, but in a different way to the gameboy games. You leave "pokesnacks" on stands in certain areas then continue with the adventure. After a while you'll be notified that a pokemon has found the snack, and it's up to you to get to the pokemon before it finishes its meal. This isn't as harsh as it sounds, exiting an area doesn't take long at all, and once you have, it's a simple case of selecting the place you left the bait on the world map, and effectively teleporting there (you watch a 5 second cut-scene of your character braving a desert on a bike). One you're where you left the bait, you have a regular 1 on 1 battle as you would if you found a pokemon in the grass somewhere in Johto.

All in all, it's definitely one for pokemon fans and gets 2 fat thumbs up from me, it's not perfect, and it's no independent game, but it's exactly what it's supposed to be, which is a substantial suppliment to work alongside your GBA games and intensify the experience as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Same structure as the first game., 13 Oct 2008
By 
A. Ibironke - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokémon XD: Gale of Darkness (GameCube) (Video Game)
The games story is basically the same as the first one: Pokemon Colosseum. However there are more Legendary Pokemon to capture and you can capture wild Pokemon from little areas called poke spots. Another thing is that the Pokemon have better moves than in the last game and some attacks look better. In the first game purifying the pokemon was hard and took ages, but now you can just put the in a special machine and not do any work. The shadow pokemon also have more shadow moves than in the first game. Note that there is no pokeball glitch in this game making it harder to catch pokemon and meaning you spend lots of money in the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but still no real wild Pokemon., 4 Feb 2006
By 
Robert Booth "Minty" (nowhere near the moon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pokémon XD: Gale of Darkness (GameCube) (Video Game)
Pokemon XD is the second full-length 3D adventure for the Gamecube, and the storyline picks up where the first game left off.
You start out in a pokemon laboratory, where the scientists are building a brand new snag machine and purifying chamber, as the old syndicate Cipher are up to no good again. The first part of the story involves you running errands for the scientists, collecting machine parts and battling folk as you travel.
But as soon as you return to the lab, ipher attacks and carries off the Professor, the boss of the laboratory where you live. After that, one thing leads to another, and you end up embarking on a quest to save the professor and rid the world of Cipher altogether.
Shadow pokemon are back, and can be purified in the same way as before (on Pokemon Colloseum), but there is a new method- the Purify Chamber. This adds a vital puzzle element to the game, where you need to mix and match different types in order to purify the shadow pokemon in the quickest time possible.
Wild pokemon are also in the game, but don't get too excited: They only appear at certain points on the map, and you need to leave bait to lure them out. There is no searching-in-the-tall-grass in this game, which is disappointing... But the inclusion of the catchable Lugia, Articuno, Zapdos and Moltes make up for that.
The graphics are almost the same as pokemon colloseum, but with a few improvements and some awesome cutscenes.
Overall, a worthy purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pokemon XD ROCKS!!!, 7 Nov 2006
By 
Spyro Madgirl "~ Tasha ~" (Sheffield, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokémon XD: Gale of Darkness (GameCube) (Video Game)
I think it's the best Pokemon game out there. It's got brilliant graphics, colour and music, great characters and 83 Pokemon to snag. Almost double the amount in Pokemon Colosseum. You meet characters that previously appeared in Colosseum, and snag Pokemon that you couldn't snag before, or obtain without events. Like Lugia itself.

You have to buy this game, it is AWESOME, and although I've completed it, I still get hours of fun out of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Pokemon Game ever, 25 Jan 2014
By 
J. LEE "P Lee" (Guernsey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokémon XD: Gale of Darkness (GameCube) (Video Game)
For me, XD was the best Pokemon game out there when it came out, and I have no reason to believe otherwise in the 8 years since. A bigger broader storyline, a better soundtrack, more Shadow Pokemon, a few new areas...for me, I can't really find fault with it, and if I could, I generally couldn't give a crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great fun game, 7 Feb 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokémon XD: Gale of Darkness (GameCube) (Video Game)
a good pokemon game to play,great fun collecting all the pokemon,and fighting in all the battles.my son found it very aesy to understand,great for small children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One Word..., 7 May 2008
By 
J. Walton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokémon XD: Gale of Darkness (GameCube) (Video Game)
This game has almost the exact fun factor i was looking for.
I will keep this short.
Have you ever wanted on a pokemon game to travel to another place by road instead of just flying?
Well, on this, you can't, a bike is used and it's the games only bad flaw.

However on a light side this game offers a 3D effects Pokemon experience and you proboably start with the best pokemon at the beginning... An Eevee

This is good because in the usual games you choose from Fire, Grass or Water.
However here you get an eevee and if all of a sudden you change your mind and want a Fire Pokemon, not a Water one, No Problem! Considering You haven't already evolved it! (Hint : Stop your Eevee evolving until your certain!)

Overall this game is a great addition to the Pokemon games however could use a little more adventure when getting from place to place like on the old gameboy games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Pokemon game so far, 27 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Pokémon XD: Gale of Darkness (GameCube) (Video Game)
Gale of Darkness is better than Colosseum because it has better shadow pokemon and they are easier to purify. It features two of the new 4th generation pokemon, Munchlax and Bonsly. You can catch shadow Lugia at the end, and also the three legendary birds.
The evil organisation, Cipher, have returned and have stolen a pokemon cargo ship using the ultimate shadow pokemon.
It is much easier to purify pokemon now because there is a purifying chamber where you can put in up to nine pokemon at a time.
The graphics are almost the same as colosseum, but there are new attacks and old ones look better.
There are much more shadow pokemon than on colosseum and most of them are better.
There is a way to catch wild pokemon on there but I am not going to tell you how.
Gale of Darkness is definitely worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pokemon XD gale of darkness reveiw, 11 Nov 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokémon XD: Gale of Darkness (GameCube) (Video Game)
Pokemon XD is a great game full stop, but can feel limiting. IT's a great atempt at a 3D pokemon RPG, follows many attributes from it's prequel collosseum. The battles are deep, beautifuly set out graphicaly and great in multiplayer. The ability to battle and trade from firered, leafgreen, ruby, saphire and emerald is just great. Why is the game limiting? The fact you can only capture shadow pokemon. This means you may have to be very patient to get the pokemon you want. Lack of patience will cause you to be very bored of the game quicker than a catapult shoots a rabid skinny cat. You can capture wild pokemon but only a selected few, which at the point of the game you can get them are quite weak. You also have to bait them with snacks, which requires MORE patience. As great as this game is, i'd recommendit for very patient pokemon fans only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best pokemon game to buy, 30 Dec 2005
This review is from: Pokémon XD: Gale of Darkness (GameCube) (Video Game)
pokemon xd gale of darkness is a very good pokemon game it has some really goood featres such as you can get some new shadow pokemon and you can capture the ultimate shadow pokemon lugia. you can also get the newly discovered pokemon bonsly and you get to ride in a speedy scooter you get an eevee as your first pokemon and you have some old places from colosseum like phenac city and pyrite town and a few more there are lots of great things to do in it and it deffintly the best game around for pokemon. remember you got to catch em all !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xacc48fe4)

This product

Pokémon XD: Gale of Darkness (GameCube)
Used & New from: Ł51.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews