Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars12
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 4 January 2006
Don't buy this album expecting a Deftones album. Like an author using a nom-de-plume, Moreno made this record as a side project for a reason. There *are* a couple of tracks that verge into Deftones territory (mainly along the lines of gentler tracks, like Minerva or Passenger, although not quite as powerful).
But this is a wide-ranging piece of work, sometimes leaving metal entirely behind and ranging into elctronic-influenced and indie sounds. At one point, you will swear that Chino is collaborating with Belle and Sebastian. At another, the bass-line and vocals are heavily - and enjoyably - reminiscent of The Cure (whose "If Only Tonight We Could Sleep" was covered so perfectly by the Deftones). Make no mistake, though: influences might be there, but this album is anything but derivative.
A comparison would be between the work of Keenan in Tool and A Perfect Circle, or between McCoy in the Fields of the Nephilim and Nefilim: there is a clear common thread, but the delivery is wider and at times you feel the band are finding their feet in a new medium.
Ataraxia, the opening track, is a brilliantly-chosen opener. It sets mood and expectations, and the listener embarks upon the later tracks wanting to like what they will hear. The rest of the album is wide-ranging, and this experimentalism does mean that there will be both more and less satisfying tracks for almost any individual listener.
To summarise, if you are approaching this album merely as a piece of left-field metal/indie music, you'll probably enjoy it rather a lot. If you are a Deftones fan expecting more of the same? The odds are that you will find something you like, but some tracks will take longer than others. Do take the time to check out the samples that are provided above.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2005
Yep, so a deftones 'side-project' it is. If you like all that is heavy defotnes-wise, maybe this will shock you, as this one mellow SOAB of an album. Chilled out the max, this is a great album to work or sleep to, hence their name I presume. Not a very rocking affair and is a bold departure from anything Deftones-sounding (although the sound can be compared to songs such as 'Teenager' and other songs from around the White Pony Era. This album works incredibly well and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to chill and be merry.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2009
Was not expecting this at all when i eventually bought it in the absence of any recent Deftones albums. Some really inspiring and special melodies. Ataraia, Ever, our ride to the recory and Ever since WW1 are tunes you can not get out of your head once hear and give a deep atmospheric feel. The singing is gives the strength required to match the atmosphere. Not too sure what the words mean though! This should become a cult collectable album if there is any justice in the world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
Atmospheric, subtle, well constructed, haunting, dark, experimental are all words I would use to describe this masterpiece. It just keeps on growing on me, and Zack Hill on drums blows my mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2005
Haunting lyrics, weird beats, like nothing you have heard before. Deserves far more publicity than the crap in the popular charts.
If you liked Deftones tracks like "anniversary of an..." you'll LOVE this. Very "dark Side of the moon".
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Happy with my purchase:)good service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2005
Well I've heard varying things about this album- but after a day of listening it really speaks for itself! Similar to Deftones but not too similar- showing Moreno has something to say on his own. A beautiful album to relax to, but interesting and experimental, pushing the boundaries of the genre and thinking outside the box.
GREAT! Bring on the next Deftones album if it's anything like this!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
Excellent Album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2005
This album is an absolute must for those wishing to chill out, or sleep! Every song is awesome in its own unique way, all with an undertone of Mogwai and even some hip hop beats, as obscure as that might sound given this band features the front man of no other then the Deftones, which is another bonus, as Chino's voice consumes the tracks as if they were made for his voice. If you like the Deftones, and are looking for sometihng similar, then you won't want to buy this, though given the fact that each song is a five star masterpiece, you should buy it anyway! Blinding!!!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2005
It starts out fairly promisingly and there are a few reasonable moments later on, like "Live From the Stage" but overall this album doesn't really do it for me. I am a Deftones fan but that doesn't mean I exclusively dismiss anything that isn't heavy. I was expecting this album to be more in the vein of "Lucky You" from the last Deftones album but I would go as far as to say that not one track off this is anywhere near as good as that. I like Deftones more than most metal bands because they know how to get that unnerving, haunting quality and was hoping that this was going to carry over to Team Sleep via Chino and that this album would have some really mellow, sinister songs. I didn't get even a hint of that goosebump sensation that the best haunting music gives me while listening to this album. A lot of the songs consist of two strummed chords per bar and don't really develop into much. I was really eagerly awaiting the female- vocal led track "Tomb of Liegia" from the pre- release articles I read, but that turned out to be worst track on the album, by a long long shot, the simplest most cliched, repetitive guitar riff accompanied by a dreadfully crude vocal with abysmal lyrics to match. So there you go, my verdict is that this album is not actually very good. And I really wanted to like it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)