Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars surprising favourite
it took a long time for me to be persuaded to watch this film...but when i did i was pleasantly surprised.
i may be looking at this from a different angle, but i dont think this film is meant to be a car crash/chase fest but more of about the ties between different ppl with a little humour and hot cars thrown in for good measure.
Acting not Royal Theatre but if...
Published on 11 Oct. 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Before "Fast and Furious 1,2,3,4 etc,"there was this!
Pre Dr Who Christopher Eccleston is the head of a carjackin crime syndicate who ships stolen cars abroad.Cage,s brother owes him,so Cage gets a group of car jackers together to fill a rota in 24hrs to help try and bail his brother out!.Great turn from Robert Duvall as the veteran organiser and one of Vinnie Jones better earlier efforts..Angela Jolie is along for the...
Published 22 months ago by Malcolm McDonald


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars surprising favourite, 11 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Gone In 60 Seconds - Director's Cut [DVD] (DVD)
it took a long time for me to be persuaded to watch this film...but when i did i was pleasantly surprised.
i may be looking at this from a different angle, but i dont think this film is meant to be a car crash/chase fest but more of about the ties between different ppl with a little humour and hot cars thrown in for good measure.
Acting not Royal Theatre but if ur looking for a fun, sat night with popcorn this film does the trick.....soundtrack isnt bad either!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Film Ever, 2 Aug. 2009
By 
Elaine Shortall "Film buff" (Dublin, Ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone In 60 Seconds - Director's Cut [DVD] (DVD)
Gone in sixty seconds is a brilliant film. It is on the edge of your seet action with guns, fast cars and a brilliant performance by Nicholas Cage. This film although it was made in 2000 has not gone any way out of date. it is one of my favourite films of all time. Believe me you will not regret watching this film, it is a classic !!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Unrated Edition, 13 Sept. 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone In 60 Seconds - Director's Cut [DVD] (DVD)
Gone In 60 Second (DVD).

DVD Info.
Format: PAL
Language: English
Subtitles: English
Subtitles For The Hearing Impaired: English
Region 2
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 2.35:1
Running time 122 minutes
Unrated Directors Cut -Contains 9 minutes of additional footage not seen in the theatrical release.

Cast.
Nicolas Cage as Randall "Memphis" Raines
Angelina Jolie as Sara "Sway" Wayland
Giovanni Ribisi as "Kip" Raines
Robert Duvall as Otto Halliwell
Delroy Lindo as Det. Roland Castlebeck
Timothy Olyphant as Det. Drycoff
Will Patton as Atley Jackson
Chi McBride as Donny Astricky
Vinnie Jones as "Sphinx"
Christopher Eccleston as Raymond "The Carpenter" Calitri
Scott Caan as "Tumbler"
T.J. Cross as "Mirror Man"
Master P. as Johnny B. (Uncredited)
William Lee Scott as Toby
James Duval as "Freb"
Frances Fisher as Junie Halliwell
Grace Zabriskie as Helen Raines
Carmen Argenziano as Detective Mayhew
Bodhi Elfman as "Fuzzy" Frizzel
Arye Gross as James Lakewood
Michael Peña as Ignacio
Cilter as Xita

Box Office.
Budget: $90 million
Box Office Gross: $237,202,299 (worldwide)

Trivia.
1)Nicolas Cage did most of his own stunt driving for the film. He attended the Bondurant Driving School in Phoenix, Arizona, Willow Springs & the Bobby Ore Stunt Driving School in preparation for the film. He liked the race car driving school so much that he continued to pursue it as a hobby after shooting was completed
2)After some disagreements with the director about re-writing process, Scott Rosenberg left the project. The writers Jonathan Hensleigh & J.J. Abrams came in and did uncredited re-write on the script.
3)Christopher Eccleston did not actually have his drivers license during the shoot. He did not choose to take the drivers test until several years after the film was released.
4)Angelina Jolie, Delroy Lindo, Giovanni Ribisi & Scott Caan were also trained in stunt driving by Bobby Ore, albeit not as extensively as Nicolas Cage.

What's The Plot.
Legendary car thief Randall 'Memphis' Raines is forced to come out of retirement when his brother Kip ends up in debt to evil mobster Raymond Calitri who proposes Randall steal Fifty cars in exchange he'll let his brother live.

Charged with stealing fifty cars by Friday, Randall sets about reassembling his old team - including former lover Sara 'Sway' Wayland, mechanic Otto Halliwell & the silent but strong Toby but faces further challenges in the form of rival car thief Donny & local detective Roland Castlebeck, who has history with Randell & wants to put him behind bars once & for all.

Timelord Thoughts.
This is Bruckbuster entertainment from iconic action producer Jerry Bruckheimer that's based on a 1974 movie of the same name & star's Nicolas Cage as Randall 'Memphis' Raines alongside Mrs Brad Pitt - Angelina Jolie & the excellent Robert Duvall, as Raines comes out of car-thievery retirement to save the life of his brother's Kip from the hands of notorious gangster Raymond Calitri by stealing a list of 50 exotic cars for him in one night.

The story starts off a little slow but it soon builds up pace while the car chases that are of the main centre of the action are well directed by director Dominic Sena & skilfully edited & deliver plenty of testosterone fuelled action that keeps the audience entertained.

Nicholas Cage is the standout star of this movie & delivers another great if slightly quirky performance as Randall Raines while Giovanni Ribisi is decent enough as Raines troubled brother Kip who can't seem to stay out of trouble, while Angelina Jolie as Sara is just a token love interest with hardly any screen time & doesn't get involved with any of the action which is very disappointing.

Robert Duvall plays Otto Halliwell a father type mentor to the Raine brothers & gives a warm believable performance here, while one season wonder, former Doctor Who actor Christopher Eccleston is watchable as the villain Raymond Calitri but doesn't get nearly enough screen time to make the character an imposing sinister threat.

So can a movie about stealing 50 beautiful cars based on a 74 remake that hardly anyone remembers possibly succeed?, well yes because this is a Jerry Bruckheimer produced action flick & Jerry Bruckheimer movies aren't known for big small independent movies & this film certainly delivers the goods & makes for a entertainingly good 2 hour movie that now contains an additional 9 minutes of extra footage that was cut at the time to obtain the US PG-13 rating & now has a bit more action especially in the final action packed car chase with Raines driving the Shelby GT-500 while evading police capture.

Overall, Gone in 60 seconds isn't about this reviewers sex life despite reports of the contrary by my ex girlfriend & instead is a entertaining Friday night switch your brain off action flick that delivers non-stop action & enough suspense to keep the testosterone junkies happy, at times the movie's a little slow in parts & at other times boarxers on being quite unbelievable, but at the end of the day Cage & co give us solid Bruckbuster action packed entertainment.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good remake! who would of thought it!, 21 Sept. 2008
By 
K. D. Squire (Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone In 60 Seconds - Director's Cut [DVD] (DVD)
Ive seen the original and ive watched this one countless times and what can i say but the remake is so much better! The cars, the story, the cast are all phenominal. Nick cage plays a blinder as a retired car theif brought out from retirement to aid his dimwitted brother secure cars for a pre doctor who cristopher ecclestons british baddie!

The chase scenes are great to watch the cars are good to look at angelina jolie is just the cherry on the cake! even vinne jones plays a lovable character!

This film is all about speed and fast cars, its a great film that can be enjoyed over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome car movie, 25 July 2011
This review is from: Gone In 60 Seconds - Director's Cut [DVD] (DVD)
This is an awesome film, one of my favourite. Some people may say it's rubbish but you're only going to like this if you're into cars, car films, action films or nicolas cage. I have been waiting so long for nicolas cage to make another film like this but he has never really managed to reproduce anything like this, he suits the part in this down to the ground, you think it is actually him in real life. I have seen the original as well and this is far superior, much better action, better cars, better actors and far more gripping. Awesome sound track too. Okay, there may be 1 or 2 cheesy scenes? but i love them too. 'Gone in 60 Seconds' and 'The Rock' are my 2 favourite films. Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Before "Fast and Furious 1,2,3,4 etc,"there was this!, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone In 60 Seconds - Director's Cut [DVD] (DVD)
Pre Dr Who Christopher Eccleston is the head of a carjackin crime syndicate who ships stolen cars abroad.Cage,s brother owes him,so Cage gets a group of car jackers together to fill a rota in 24hrs to help try and bail his brother out!.Great turn from Robert Duvall as the veteran organiser and one of Vinnie Jones better earlier efforts..Angela Jolie is along for the ride....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Snapped up in 60 seconds, 22 Feb. 2013
By 
Gr8ESC (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone In 60 Seconds - Director's Cut [DVD] (DVD)
This was just too good to pass up at the price....

The Director's Cuts of movies also provide in my opinion a more enjoyable experience for the viewer as it's very much a case of what the film maker expected to see themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gone in 60 seconds, 18 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone In 60 Seconds - Director's Cut [DVD] (DVD)
All I can say about this film is that it is quality from start to finish, love the cars and the chases and it actually has a great storyline and a great cast! I'd you haven't seen it, buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars jack 2012, 7 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone In 60 Seconds - Director's Cut [DVD] (DVD)
nicolas cage is hugley underrated and is clearly on of the greates actors ever, and this film goes along with that as a fast paced, cool film that you could watch over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Action dvd, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone In 60 Seconds - Director's Cut [DVD] (DVD)
This dvd arrived very quickly and the condition of the item was excellent . The dvd itself Gone in 60 seconds is worth watching especially if you a like fast actin movie .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gone In 60 Seconds - Director's Cut [DVD]
Gone In 60 Seconds - Director's Cut [DVD] by Dominic Sena (DVD - 2005)
£3.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews