Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best TV shows ever...
If you've yet to see any of Angel, you're in for a treat. I was a massive Buffy fan but I was a bit worried that the spin-off might not be as good. I needn't have been concerned - Angel matches up to (and in my opinion often eclipses) Buffy, and is a complete success. It's aimed at a slightly older audience, and is darker, sexier and more violent.
David Boreanaz does...
Published on 26 Mar 2006 by Miss

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars slowly getting all of angel as i was in two ...
slowly getting all of angel as i was in two episodes and never saw the end of the seasons cos salome used to do my head in
Published 3 months ago by karen davey


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Finding it's feet, 7 April 2007
This review is from: Angel - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
As a Buffy fan I was a little under whelmed by Angel. The producers tried hard to make it a different show, but hamstrung themselves by linking it too closely to the parent show. The first episode sets up the series pretty well, but the villain is neither funny nor impressive. Also Wolfram and hart seemed like a bad analogy rather than a sinister force. Doyle was the highlight of the series, shame he was cannon fodder from day one. Cordelia being on the cast seemed a daft idea for 90% of the series. so far so bad.

So the good? The acting is generally good, the script is pretty witty as a whole, and despite the flaws it was clear that towards the end of the series the makers found how to make the show work on its own.

The introduction of Wesley from buffy again seemed a bad idea, and even at the end of the series I had doubts. where as by the last episode of the series cordelia is perfect for the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather predictable and very boring. The main character is the 'good guy' who ..., 18 July 2014
l was hoping this 1st season would be well worth watching because of the positive reviews. WRONG. Rather predictable and very boring. The main character is the 'good guy' who tries to save other peoples souls before they' shuffle off this mortal coil' . The first episode seemed a bit lame but l persevered by watching several episodes .However the plots are very rather similar.
Angel tries to get selfish humans to 'repent' before they die/he succeeds and they are then presumably taken either 'upstairs' or 'hell'.Then there is this irritating tabloid reporter trying to get on his nerves,etc;etc;
Sorry but l will not be watching anymore episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angel is what Buffy should have been, 4 Sep 2001
By A Customer
I am a huge Buffy fan. So please dont think that from the title that it is my intention to diss the series. But this is Angel, a darker, more sinister series that will do anything to shake off the Buffy mythology. For instance in Season 1, we have the death of a major character, how many series can say that. This is an excellent series, an excellent story and most of all an amazing DVD set. If you dont buy this then you need your head testing, and buy Season 4 DVD of Buffy when it comes out, that way you can really understand the crossover episodes, but still buy Season 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uneven but it gets better, 24 Oct 2001
I broadly agree with Kim Newman's review. It's uneven but it gets better towards the end. Also I think it improves even more in Season 2.
I think the comments about ditching a regular halfway through are valid (though the rumours are that it was a decision forced by circumstances in the real world). However I think Wesley is a welcome replacement. His initial incarnation in BtVS was pretty one dimensional but here he gets filled out more and he can certainly handle the switching between drama, action and comedy which makes both Angel and BtVS fun.
Finally to the person who said this is "Dark Buffy" - when you've seen all of Season 5 - you'll realise that Buffy is Dark Buffy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...not filmed in widescreen..., 25 Feb 2002
By A Customer
...Angel was not filmed in widescreen until the currently airing season 3.
Great set, must own before it goes out of print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing New Series, 6 Sep 2001
By A Customer
After having watched all the Buffy the Vampire Series I was not so keen on the idea of Angel breaking off on to his own show. However I was very pleasently surprised, The first episode was done very well which showed how the whole agencey is brought together and introducing a new character Doyle, and even showing a new side to Cordillia. The Series itself has a few doggie moments but overall is a very good series, with the different mix of characters and stories it works very well, and the characters growth is shown very well by the end of the series. A few tear jerking moments mid season where tissues are needed, and some very funny moments especially with Cordillia's new flat. Overall I would say that if you are a fan of Buffy then you will love this Series, I did and I can't wait for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware the presentation!, 30 Oct 2001
By 
Andy Piper "social bridgebuilder | photograph... (Kingston upon Thames, Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Series 1 of Angel is a bold step, establishing a darker, moodier show which carried over just the right level of comedy and background from Buffy. It's a great series and I was looking forward to the DVD release.
Unfortunately, although the series was filmed in widescreen, the DVD release is 4:3 pan-and-scan, so true fans, DVD enthusiasts and owners of widescreen sets get let down by a shabby presentation. Beware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Goes downhill after episode 9..., 14 Nov 2007
This review is from: Angel - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm sure most people reading this will already have watched buffy, so you will be familiar with the whole vampire with a soul thing, i probably don't need to go into that! You want to know what the show's like. There is the introduction of the Angel character, and in the first episode it gives you a recap anyway, so you don't really need to have seen buffy. The character Cordelia joins the show- she was also in buffy. So far so typical buffy spin off. However, with the introduction of the character Doyle( played by Irishman Glenn Quinn)- a gorgeous, Irish, half-demon half-human who provides the much needed comic relief with the brooding presence of Angel and the self absorbed Cordelia. He's the one thing that stops it being just a buffy spin off. Unfortunately, due to the script writers infinite wisdom, he is killed off in the 9th episode 'Hero', apparently to create the 'anything could happen' feeling, making the show too dark and depressing to watch at times. Then, as a Doyle replacement, (if there can ever really be a replacement for Doyle) Wesley is introduced- another buffy character. And not even a good one at that. This is when it really starts to get bad. However, i would recommend buying this set, even if it is purely to watch the first nine episodes- they are Glenn Quinn history now, as he sadly passed away at the too-young age of 32 in 2002.
Season two is also a lot better with the introduction of several new, interesting characters, so it's worth watching season one to catch up.
So, in conclusion- buy it! (Especially if you like irish accents!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLOODY GOOD!!!, 10 Jan 2005
I bought the Angel season 1 DVD's before I had started watching it on TV. when I watched it had a great mystical sense that was dangerous and very adictive. I preferred it to 'Buffy the vampire slayer' because I think that the story was more strong and it did not seem to drag on. It has some great action scenes and some awsome masks, and the show was not serious, nor comedy but is a bit of both. This is a must see!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angel - Season 1 [DVD]
Angel - Season 1 [DVD] by David Boreanaz (DVD - 2005)
£14.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews