Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerfully epic ending and a glorious new beginning
'Boom Town' features the return of Margaret - the remaining member of her family of Slitheen, and is a nice little episode that has a 'time out' feel to it. This time round, it's set in Cardiff, and features some lovely shots of the city, including the new Millenium Stadium I think? I'm not really impressed by the Slitheen, as I find them unconvincing, but there's only...
Published on 9 July 2005

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been better
This is probably the weakest set of episodes of the new, revived show's first season. A pity given that they conclude the series.

Boom Town is the "time out" episode, before we rush headlong to the finale. Any reservations anyone may have about the Slitheen should be allayed by Annette Badlands's excellent performance as the alien in the skin suit. The...
Published on 29 July 2008 by Some Random Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerfully epic ending and a glorious new beginning, 9 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who : Series 1 - Volume 4 [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
'Boom Town' features the return of Margaret - the remaining member of her family of Slitheen, and is a nice little episode that has a 'time out' feel to it. This time round, it's set in Cardiff, and features some lovely shots of the city, including the new Millenium Stadium I think? I'm not really impressed by the Slitheen, as I find them unconvincing, but there's only one, and she's in human form most of the time, and in actual fact, the actress who plays her - Annette Badland steals the show.
For the final two-parter - 'Bad Wolf' and 'The Parting of the Ways', we are back on board Satelite 5 - one hundred years on from 'The Long Game', where it's all gone reality tv crazy, what with 'Big Brother' and 'The Weakest Link' and even a mention of 'Ground Force' I think? Russell T Davies has done an excellent job of sending up the banality of reality tv with the fact that even after 100 years, 'Big Brother' and 'The Weakest Link' are still being aired. This two-parter features Ann-droid (voiced by Anne Robinson) and two robotic style advisors (voiced by Trinny and Suzanna), who all get blown up. Then there's the remaining fleet of 200 Dalek Ships that survived the great Timelord War, who go undectected at first, but eventually get revealed, you then get to find out who/what 'Bad Wolf' is.
Finally, you get to see the amazing and moving re-incarnation of Christopher Eccleston's Doctor into David Tennant's, and you know what, he was "fantastic", but may I also take the opportunity of saying what a wonderful entrance Tennant made, he is definitely going to be my kind of Doctor, playing it in a quirky manner like Tom Baker did.
My only critism about the final two episodes, and I'll probabably be hated for mentioning it, is that maybe given that there was so many Daleks on the loose, perhaps more people should have been shown getting exterminated, especially on the lower floor, where Russell T Davies cut away from it just as they were going to be mass exterminated (perhaps he thought it too crude and in poor taste), but it does tame the impact of the Daleks invading Satelite 5.
This has been a wonderful new beginning for Doctor Who. The last time it was this consistently good was the Phillip Hincliffe period, way back in the mid 70's. My only wish is that they toughen it up a bit, don't get me wrong, I love all the humour, innuendo, character involvement, but at times the new show is perhaps a little too camp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'You are the Weakest Link! Goodbye!" - Cardiff, The Weakest Link and lots and lots of Daleks!!!!!, 2 Oct 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who : Series 1 - Volume 4 [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
This is brilliant collection of episodes of `Doctor Who' from the new series. The final set of stories with Chris Eccleston's Doctor and has to be the best of the best. Three episodes (two stories) on one DVD. The first set in Cardiff in the modern day and the last two set in the far, far future with deadly game shows and millions of Daleks. Some terrific performances from Christopher Eccleston in his final swing as the Doctor, and Billie Piper who truly proves her mettle as the Doctor's companion.

`BOOM TOWN'

Since I'm a Cardiff dweller and the series is filmed in Cardiff, I was thrilled to bits to find that this episode was actually set in Cardiff and the bay itself. All the locations looked familiar including the Millennium Centre, Roald Dahl's Plass and the barrages and walkways around the bay itself. I enjoyed going into the restaurants where the Doctor, his friends and Margaret Slitheen were having lunch or dinner.

Of course this episode follows on from the two-part story 'Aliens of London'/'World War Three', where after the Slitheen get destroyed by a missile in `Downing Street', one Slitheen manages to survive. Margaret Blaine (Blon Fel-Fotch Passameer-Day Slitheen as she's called) (played by Annette Badland) has managed to make herself Lord Mayor of Cardiff in six months and has set up the Blaidd Drwg project to build a nuclear power station to provide energy for the city itself. But it all turns out to be a trap, as the Doctor, Rose and Captain Jack (who are on holiday) with Mickey manage to capture Margaret and discover the truth about the project as a means for her escape by blowing Cardiff itself with the use of a space-time rift in the bay.

This episode has some very strong character plot developments throughout, as the Doctor gets to Margaret over dinner when she tries to persuade not to take her back to her home planet and be executed on first sight. It's also a very interesting episode for Rose as her relationship with Mickey changes as he was her former boyfriend and there are some interesting revelations, twists and dilemmas going on. It's wonderfully written by Russell T. Davies, brilliantly directed by Joe Ahearne with some lush location work of Cardiff and some exciting action sequences.

`BAD WOLF'/'THE PARTING OF THE WAYS'

And if that wasn't enough, the final two episodes of this DVD are brilliant by comparison. Again some brilliant directorial work from Joe Ahearne and some fantastic plot and dialogue from the hand of Russell T. Davies. It's Chris Eccleston's final showdown as the Doctor and it proves to a `fantastic' one!

Set in the future of 200,100, this story follows on from the story `The Long Game', where the Doctor thought he managed to solve the problems of Satellite 5 and the Fourth Great and Bountiful Human Empire. Instead he's only made it worse.

The first episode sees the Doctor, Rose and Jack taken out of time and being put in these reality game shows for TV. The Doctor is put on `Big Brother', Rose on `The Weakest Link' and Jack on `What Not To Wear'. But these are games with a deadly difference as you get distingrated whenever you get evicted or voted off. Of course this is all some huge set up as a massive Dalek fleet ready to invade the Earth. It's an exciting showdown with an epic battle in the second episode.

I've enjoyed these two episodes so much that I couldn't help watch them over again and again. I enjoyed watching the `game show' parts of `Bad Wolf' which were really exciting. The Anne Droid joke in `The Weakest Link' was really amusing. I also enjoyed the confrontation scenes on the Dalek ship when the Doctor, Rose and Captain Jack meet up with the Emperor of the Daleks for the first time.

There are some wonderful guest performances in this episode including Jo Joyner (`Eastenders') who played sweet Lynda with a `y' not with an `I'. She could have been a potential companion to the Doctor and was so sad when she got killed by the Daleks in the end. There's also Paterson Joseph who plays Roderick up against Rose in `The Weakest Link'. And of course there's Anne Robinson (playing the Anne Droid) as well as Davina McCall (as the Davina Droid in `Big Brother'). And of course there's the wonderful Nick Briggs doing the voice of the Daleks as well as the Emperor himself.

As I said before, this the last to feature Christopher Eccleston as the Doctor and it's such a shame since he was fantastic in the role before regenerating into David Tennant. I hope this is not the last we ever see of him. It's also the last regular appearance of John Barrowman as Jack Harkness as he goes off to do `Torchwood', but that's for another day.

So to sum up, a brilliant collection of episodes to watch and enjoy. They conclude the first series of Doctor Who and rightly so with some brilliant scriptwriting from Russell T. Davies and some wonderful directing. Here's to the Christopher Eccleston era of `Doctor Who'.

Next it's with David Tennant as the Doctor and the first story of his tenure is 'The Christmas Invasion'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic end to a fantastic season, 26 Sep 2005
This review is from: Doctor Who : Series 1 - Volume 4 [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Being old enough to have watched Dr Who (mainly Tom Baker and then Peter Davidson) the first time, I eagerly awaited the new series. It was more than I could hahev ever hoped for and this set of episodes, showcases the talent of Christopher Eccleston.
The ending did make me shed a tear and I am sorry to see him leave but am sure that David Tennant will make a briiliant Dr.
The beeb have outdone themselves with Dr Who and I am counting the days until the next series!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who : Series 1 - Volume 4 [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For my Godson, 19 Jun 2014
By 
M. Wusche "NicWoosh" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who : Series 1 - Volume 4 [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
My Godson is a huge Dr Who fan and just loved these old series. I bought the whole series so you might see this repeated. I will be purchasing the reset of the back catalogue for him over a period of birthdays/Christmas. He has not said anything negative so take that as a great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who : Series 1 - Volume 4 [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
very good to watch as I doctor who fan.

would tell others to watch it.

like watch it on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very happy grandaughter., 19 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who : Series 1 - Volume 4 [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Was purchased for an avid fan of Doctor Who & she was absolutely delighted with it & I am a smiley nan! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who DVD, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who : Series 1 - Volume 4 [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
I would definately recommend this DVD a must have for any Dr Who fan. Bought for my son and he has watched it over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who: Series 1: Volume 4, 1 Aug 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who : Series 1 - Volume 4 [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is a great send off for Christopher Eccleston, with Captain Jack Harkness (played by John Barrowman) remaining with the Doctor. The three spectacular send off episodes as as follows:

Boom Town: The TARDIS crew take a holiday, but the Doctor encounters an enemy he thought long since dead. A plan to build a nuclear power station in Cardiff City disguises an alien plot to rip the world apart. And when the Doctor dines with monsters, he discovers traps within traps.

Bad Wolf: The Doctor, Rose and Captain Jack have to fight for their lives on board the Game Station. But a more dangerous threat is lurking, just out of sight. The Doctor realises that the entire Human Race has been blinded to the threat on its doorstep, and Armageddon is fast approaching.

The Parting of the Ways: Rose Tyler has seen danger and wonders alongside the Doctor, but now their friendship is put to the test as Earth plunges into an epic war. With the Human Race being slaughtered, the Doctor is forced into terrible action. Will the time-travellers ever be reunited?

The Parting of the Ways sends out Christopher Eccleston as the Ninth Doctor and brings David Tennant into the shoes of the Tenth Doctor. You will never be forgotton Christopher, your Doctor was fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DOCTOR WHO SERIES 1 VOL 4, 27 Feb 2010
By 
Angela J. Welch (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who : Series 1 - Volume 4 [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD was as new still in its wrapping and I received it within a week of ordering it I was very pleased with the DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who : Series 1 - Volume 4 [2005] [DVD]
Doctor Who : Series 1 - Volume 4 [2005] [DVD] by Christopher Eccleston (DVD - 2005)
3.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews