Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These guys are 'genius', as Vince Noir would say.
The Mighty Boosh is (the Office aside) the best comedy I've seen in the past decade, I remember seeing the ridiculously stupid teaser to advertise the show on BBC3, the sketch of Bob Fossil jiggling about to 10CC's Dreadlock holiday and then after it had finished, saying 'and that's why I don't like Cricket'. I thought 'I have to watch this, it's insane!'
What sets...
Published on 28 Aug. 2005

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Mighty Boosh
I have just watched the first eight episodes of the Mighty Boosh and I'm still not sure what to make of it. Whilst there are undoubtedly some moments of comedy gold, there are also many moments of pretentious nonsense.

People keep telling me how original the Boosh is but I can't see anything that original at all. All the surrealist gags and DIY costumes are...
Published on 2 Mar. 2008 by R. Mullaney


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These guys are 'genius', as Vince Noir would say., 28 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh [DVD] (DVD)
The Mighty Boosh is (the Office aside) the best comedy I've seen in the past decade, I remember seeing the ridiculously stupid teaser to advertise the show on BBC3, the sketch of Bob Fossil jiggling about to 10CC's Dreadlock holiday and then after it had finished, saying 'and that's why I don't like Cricket'. I thought 'I have to watch this, it's insane!'
What sets the Boosh apart from other comedies of the day is their clever semi-surreal imagination, and the ability to write a darn good plot and storyline, there seems to be so many gags, wacky characters and even a song per episode it makes you wonder how they all fit it into half an hour each week. Some of the characters are fantastic, Bob Fossil the crazy American zoo owner, and my favourite; the bully boy Dixon Bainbridge, (Pity he's not in the new series)
The DVD is feature packed so you get your moneys worth, commentaries on 4 of the episodes; Bollo, Tundra, Electro, and Hitcher, out-takes, picture gallery, Boosh music, History of the Boosh and Inside the Zooniverse Featurette.
I'm glad to see other reviews here already, until then I thought I was the only person in the world who'd ever seen the show, no-one I've ever mentioned it to knows of it, so if you haven't seen this priceless gem, you should definitely check it out, and if you don't, you've gone wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the biggest "must-have" DVD ever, 11 Aug. 2005
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh [DVD] (DVD)
I imagine most people who will pre-order this already know exactly what this is all about - so no need for gushing praise or glowing reviews.
Those of you who are unfamiliar with the mighty boosh will probably wonder what its all about. Lets put it this way......... If you found Fawlty Towers, or Spike Milligan in any of the "Q" series, or Monty Python funny, then you will find The Boosh beats them all. Its one of the very few TV programs that has ever made me truely laugh out loud - and I dont just mean your normal snigger. I am talking funny to the point of crying here. Its impossible to try to write down what makes it funny, but MY favorite tv moment of ALL TIME has to be the silly hat routine in one of the shows.
And dont think for one second its only 15 year old spotty schoolboys who will find this funny. I am too near retirement age than I care to admit. It works on many levels.
I wont lie and say you will find it funny from the first minute. It takes a bit of time to learn the characters and see how they interact with each other to really appreciate the full picture. Persevere and you will tap a rich seam of comedy that will surprise you. Its the one DVD its worth buying a DVD player for....................GO ON......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last the Mighty boosh returns- second series and a dvd, 15 July 2005
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh [DVD] (DVD)
Whereas Little Britain has made it on the back of catchphrases and repeating the same old sketches, Mighty Boosh has taken the harder route to success by actually being funny and cleverly written. There really has never been a sit-com like it and I'm not even sure if it is a sitcom. The characters are great and every episode you just want to explore the crazy Zoo-niverse these guys live in. There are some great episodes, such as the one where Howard's mentor Tommy Nooka has a head of cheese and nibbles at it, or the green Jazz-funk playing Hitcher with the big thumb ('you love it you slags!'). Lets just hope that the best British comedy since the office gets the recognition it deserves. Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally unique - the most original comedy for years, 12 Aug. 2005
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh [DVD] (DVD)
The Mighty Boosh has to be one of the most truly bizarre and crazy comedy series ever made. Imagine the silliness of Monty Python with pop-culture references littered throughout, and mix that with outrageous storylines and wonderful characters...and you're half way there. The adventures of Howard and Vince are captivating and utterly hilarious.
However, from experience of recommending it to my friends, I know the show can create a powerful love/hate reaction. From the first moment I saw it I knew it was something for me, I love the quick-wit and bizarre phrases and crack up whilst watching the show. However I've known people to simply stare at the TV and ask "why is that funny?". I would definately recommend that you watch the show on TV before you buy the DVD (if you've never seen it before that is), because although in my view it is an absolutely fantastic comedy series, you may not agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Comedy at its Best!!, 5 May 2007
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh [DVD] (DVD)
I love British Comedy, such as the IT Crowd, which was what got me into The Mighty Boosh as Noel Fielding was in it. So I started watching the Boosh on the internet, and I loved it! Yes it's crazy and end completly differently to how you would expect it to! Also each ep has some weird musical piece in it. Also it has funny animations in it, such as Charlie the chewing gum. If you love British comedy or you just want something different and 'out there' then go for this, you wont regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boosh is mighty!, 9 Oct. 2007
By 
S. Bentley "stuarthoratiobentley" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh [DVD] (DVD)
Howard Moon and Vince Noir work at the Zooniverse, a zoo where the animals talk, where fights are held between zookeepers and kangaroos, where caddish owner Dixon Bainbridge, aided by his oafish underling Bob Fossil can trap the true owner in the Jungle Room for ten years and create hideous mutant hybrids. Howard aspires to greatness, believing himself to be an artist, actor, singer, even though he has very little talent. Vince likes pretty clothes and fit birds. There's a shaman called Naboo, a gorilla called Bollo and a fox called Jack Cooper.

To say the Mighty Boosh is surreal is a bit of an understatement. It is joyously daft, featuring creatures made of bubble gum (cf. Charlie, he's a hubba bubba nightmare), silly songs about how to "calm a llama down, calm a llama down", and some of the most entertaining cross-banter since Morecambe and Wise. That much of the show is ad-libbed (despite having scripts) lends a fantastic sense of spontaneity. It has a fabulous homemade charm.

The show has me in stitches every time I see it. The commentaries on the DVD are rather good too. Although rarely do they actually touch on what's going on onscreen. It's best to just let it wash over you. If you like Garth Marenghi, Father Ted, Black Books, Spaced or even the Goodies, I think you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!, 8 Sept. 2005
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh [DVD] (DVD)
That is what i did when i watched this awesome show! The ideas and jokes crammed into the highly enjoyable half hours are simply brilliant. The characters alone make this a great show, but its the wacky storylines and odd world that Julian Barrett and Noel Fielding have created that really do the job. Highlights include the green cockney hitch hiker and the story of his massive thumb, the kangaroo fight, Bob Fossils amazing lack of animal knowledge, and the spirit of jazz!
It was good to see an original and funny comedy on tv and imagine my delight when I found out a dvd was coming!
This isnt really the kind of show that will get bad reviews here, simply because if you're buying the dvd you probably love The Mighty Boosh anyway! As the second series ended recently and I craved more Boosh action I bought the audio series on cd, which contains the episodes broadcast on the radio. I highly recommend that too!
Roll on series two on dvd!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come with us now, 7 Jun. 2009
By 
EA Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh [DVD] (DVD)
Sometimes I wonder what they have in the water in England. First they produced "Monty Python," and now they have "The Mighty Boosh."

And while the basic description (two guys have wacky adventures at zoo) sounds like a slightly-out-of-the-ordinary sitcom, the reality is anything but. "The Mighty Boosh: The Complete Season 1" is a sitcom drizzled with acid and punched through with the surreal, where the most mundane activities become freakishly bizarre. Lots of raunchy humor, silly puppets, songs and journeys into other realms -- it's a head-trip, and you'll love every second of it.

It takes place in a mildly run-down zoo called "the Zooniverse," run by the deranged manager Bob Fossil (Rich Fulcher) and with the awkward cream-poet Howard Moon (Julian Barratt) and flamboyant wacky Vince Noir (Noel Fielding) working as zookeepers. The bane of Howard and Vince's existence: the evil and sinister owner Bainbridge.

First off, Bob decides to use nude photos of Howard's "freak" body to blackmail him into fighting a kangaroo. Probable result: death by disembowelment, especially since Howard is a pathetic boxer, and Vince's attempts to toughen him up aren't quite enough. Will true love for Mrs. Gideon inspire Howard to victory, or will Vince's magic dust vision (courtesy of the shaman Naboo) reveal the way to kill-a-roo?

And yeah, it gets weirder after that. Way weirder.

Vince and Howard's bizare escapades continue throughout the season: they set out to rescue vanished animals that may have been captured by the evil Bainbridge, venture into the arctic to find the giant sapphire Egg of Mantumbi, seek to save the zoo from destruction by finding the former owner in the Jungle Room, explore the world of authorial fame (involving a wad of bubblegum and a black-magic crocodile), and grapple with the Spirit of Jazz to save an electronica band.

And when the talking ape Bollo is dying, Howard is forced to dress in a gorilla costume to preserve zoo funding -- only to be mistakenly taken when the Grim Reaper comes. Vince is his only hope (if he can stop focusing on his hair). And when the boys have to take Ivan the bear to an animal prison, they run afoul of... the Hitcher.

Few shows revel in the utterly, unapologetically bizarre the way "The Mighty Boosh" does -- the entire first season is awash in surreal twists (a tiny techno club for mice), running gags, random musical interludes (including arctic hip-hop) and freakish sight gags ("As the saying goes, you are what you eat... and I'm freakin' cheese!"). Though it has the external trappings of normalcy, there is not a single scene that is not in some way surreal.

Each episode starts with a seemingly normal sitcom dilemma, but then the plot rapidly mutates into a string of strange occurrences, usually with tongue planted so far in cheek that you'll probably never see it again. Even the incomprehensible jokes (why is Howard dressed like Gandalf?) are hilarious. It's also pretty brilliantly written, with countless quotables ("It's impossible to be unhappy in a poncho"), tasteless jokes, and gloriously tongue-in-cheek dialogue ("Some say he is the devil himself. Others say he is a man pretending to be the devil with green makeup and special lighting").

But the crowning touch is Barrett and Fielding. Howard is rather fuddy-duddy, awkward and considers himself artistic, while Vince is dandyish, arrogant and has the attention span of a gnat -- and both actors are brilliant at bringing these guys to life. And Fulcher is horrendously, disgustingly awesome as the offensive zoo manager, who never knows the animal names ("hairy Russian carpet-guy") and abuses schoolchildren and Howard alike.

Surreal, trippy and utterly bizarre, "The Mighty Boosh: The Complete Season 1" is one of those wonderfully bizarre shows doesn't even need a laugh track. I have to kiss you passionately on the mouth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ingeneous!, 16 Jun. 2007
By 
M. Lockett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh [DVD] (DVD)
Completely different to anything you'll ever watch. The might boosh series 1 tells the crazy tales of what two completely different best friends get up to whilst working in a run down zoo. Such events as travelling through a portal of mirrors guarded by a talking cloth man named Mr. Susan, and being terrorized by a walking piece of chewing gum (Hubba bubba nightmare) named charlie. This brilliantly, laugh out loud, random series is without a doubt the most crazy and hilarious comedy ever to hit british TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Boosh on UMD, 20 Aug. 2006
By 
Dante the Igniscient "ashend10" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Mighty Boosh can be desribed as surreal, abstract or just plain stupid. It is certainly different as the two main characters, Vince Noir and Howard Moon have adventures as zoo keepers at the zooniverse or abstract worlds populated by polar bears that talk or Mr Susan - the man with disco balls for testicles.

The most memorable character is zoo-manager Bob Fossil "nicey nicey zoo zoo for him and her and me and you," and his mental condition which prevents him from associating any animal in the zoo with its real name. Dixon Bainbridge, the moutache-twitching, faschistic adventurer is always causing trouble what with creating mutants and his ruthless quest for the egg of mantumbi.

Many of the better UMD videos available are now falling in price and this two-disc set is now less than nine pounds. There are play all, episode select, scene select and subtitle options here. It is full screen and the picture quality is excellent. For those people who need Firmware upgrade 2.60 these discs have it.

This is miles better than series 2 and for the price it is difficult to fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mighty Boosh [DVD]
The Mighty Boosh [DVD] by Noel Fielding (DVD - 2005)
£3.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews