Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last - The Professionals on DVD
This is the one I have been waiting for - Series 1 is suddenly made available on a package of 4 discs, no more hunting through the "Granada Plus" listings for re-runs, the package is well put together and allegedly in "production" order which makes viewing even more fascinating watching the styles and the vehicles change throughout the run. It is an...
Published on 5 Aug 2002 by Martin Hore

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No extras to speak of, wrong order
Okay: the professionals are cult tv. funny, tough and very politicaly incorrect.It's still fun to watch although the first season is still relatively weak. Unless you absolutely want it complete, I'd suggest the second and third season. But I don't understand why in this collection the episodes are in the wrong order? The episodes are well restored but no extras to speak...
Published on 28 Feb 2008 by TKr


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last - The Professionals on DVD, 5 Aug 2002
By 
Martin Hore (Standish, Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
This is the one I have been waiting for - Series 1 is suddenly made available on a package of 4 discs, no more hunting through the "Granada Plus" listings for re-runs, the package is well put together and allegedly in "production" order which makes viewing even more fascinating watching the styles and the vehicles change throughout the run. It is an absolute pleasure to be able to watch these programmes without advertisement breaks for the very first time... Marvellous. Season One had a couple of mediocre episodes but also it`s fair share of absolute classics as the characters and programme themes evolved. Still some unanswered questions though, two esquisitely crafted stories "When the heat cools off" and "Everest was also conquered" both feature a different intro with a very young looking Bodie and Doyle (Cowley looks the same) yet they weren`t pilot episodes according to the "Mission briefs". An extra bonus is the never before seen episode "Klansmen", a crying shame LWT/Granada didn`t broadcast this back in 78, it`s clever storyline hides a message that probably would have had an impact even then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a particularly good pure malt scotch, 8 Aug 2002
By 
Martin Blanchard (Beaumont, SA Australia) - See all my reviews
I was very pleasantly surprised that these shows had dated as little as they had. Apart from the hair, clothes and cars they stories still stood up relatively well.
We had many fantastic evenings of nostalgia as up to 8 family members/friends wanted to be present for each evening we were watching the men from CI5.
There always could have been more in the special features, but they were OK. I spent my Saturday nights when younger religiously watching the Professionals, and now I can do it again. I ordered this item all the way from Australia as the version released here had only 4 episodes and I am extremely glad I did.
The screen tension between Bodie(Lewis Collins) and Doyle (Martin Shaw) crackles delightfully after all these years and Cowley (Gordon Jackson) is just the same as I remember him. The human side keeps trying break through and occasionally looks like it might succeed. The lovely window sticker was delightfully surprising touch.
I have just gone ahead and ordered Season 2 and look forward to much more action!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is TV entertainment at its best., 19 Oct 2004
The description says "all the episodes from series One" However, the episodes viewed in different countries were often placed in a different series for broadcast. Therefore, I think it's a good idea to list the episodes you get on this DVD.
1.'Old Dog with New Tricks', 2. 'Long Shot', 3. 'Where the Jungle Ends', 4. 'Killer with a Long Arm', 5. 'Heroes', 6. 'Private Madness, Public Danger', 7. 'Female Factor', 8. 'Everest was Also Conquered', 9. 'Close Quarters', 10. 'Look After Annie', 11. 'When the Heat Cools Off', 12. 'Stakeout', 13. 'Klansmen', 14. 'Rogue'.
As I saw these episodes when I was a kid, in order that sentimentality should not cloud my judgment for this review, I thought it might be a good idea to view this DVD package with an American friend who had never seen "The Professionals" before. We both agreed that "Female Factor", "Everest was also conquered" and "Close Quarters" were simply excellent in all respects and my friend has become an instant Professionals fan. This is TV entertainment at its best. I must add though that other episodes such as "Killer with a Long arm" and "Rogue", we found quite unconvincing and at times silly. Overall though, a thoroughly enjoyable DVD package and one which I would recommend to anyone who likes action and adventure, untouched by the PC department.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 70's re-visited, 30 July 2002
By 
Richard Edwards (Birmingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Move over Swarzeneger, get lost Stallone. make way for the original hard men. Naff Fashions, Dodgy haircuts & fast cars. The series that made the Capri a star. Of course its got too be the Professionals.
From the moment the plate glass shatters & the Granada smashes through. you know its action,action,action all the way.
I was 16 when the series first hit our screens, not old enough to drive however dieing to get into my dad's car & practise handbrake turns & fast cornering.
Bodie, dead hard ex-para (& SAS ?). hard drinking ladies man. what better a role model.
Doyle, Honest copper (a novel concept in the 70's), ugly git, very dodgy hair style & even worse clothes. Yet he still pulled the birds (giving hope to us all).
Cowley, Old Scotch Git, however he'd kill you if you called him that. like your dad except 10 times harder.
I remembered all of them fondly & now with the release of these DVD's can relive my youth. Glad Martin Sheen did not pull the plug on the release of these as he has done in the past.
Great episodes, cant wait for season 2 to be delivered.
So If your driving around Brum & you see an MPV skidding around corners on 2 wheels, doing handbrake turns etc. its only me & I've been watching the boys again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You're not regular coppers!" "No, we're worse, much worse.", 8 May 2008
By 
Kenneth M. Pizzi (San Mateo, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Professionals: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
And "Adam 12" this ain't. These cops never heard of the Miranda rule!

A terrific action-packed police series from the UK, but only available in Region 2 encoding, so you will need a multi-region DVD player to watch them. Hopefully, a DVD collection will be available in Region 1 encoding for us here in the USA. Check [...] for ordering if interested.

Although the series was criticized for being too violent and somewhat sexist upon its release, The Professionals is both a gritty, tense, and realistic crime series. These episodes are a refreshing antidote to the politically-correct police dramas that poliferate today's cable and regular broadcast networks with cops that are apparently more comfortable in the laboratory than fighting the bad guys.

Ex-soldier Bodie and former street cop Doyle (Lewis Collins and Martin Shaw), are the agents for CI5 with Scotsman George Cowley (Gordon Jackson)as their no-nonsense boss. All three characters are unconventional, tough, and uncompromising foes of international crime, corruption, terrorism and anarchy. Seriously, this is an enjoyable and entertaining crime drama--the action simply does not let up.

The interplay and the banter between the three characters is excellent and, at times, very amusing. Bodie and Doyle are a couple of wiseasses who often take the law into their own hands and require Cowley keep them in line. The scripts and the stories around are interesting and hardly feel dated at all.

The transfers in this set are uncut and digtially remastered and look reasonably good for their age (circa 1977-80).

The series is an unconventional and refreshing combination of action and drama a la "Starsky and Hutch" and "Lethal Weapon." Exciting viewing all the same..Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From British television's Golden age., 17 Aug 2002
Feeling just as fresh as it must have done nigh on 25 years ago, The Professionals represents everything conspicuously lacking in much of today’s British drama series. Quality acting, high-octane action, and writing (as George Cowley would say) ‘as tight as a Scotsman on Burns Night’ are what make the tales of CI5 the very paragon of the genre. Regrettably, in an era of vapid long running serials based in the mundane surroundings of hospitals, police stations and pleasant English villages, it would appear the sense of adventure the likes of Brians Clemens brought to the small screen have been steamrollered by the needs of producers (no doubt under pressure from anxious Channel bosses) to worship the perfunctory pillars of populist television.
There is little doubt in my mind that The Professionals should be regarded as a classic example of the television art form. Whilst it could be argued that the characterisation of the central characters (particularly the pseudo-gay relationship of Bodie and Doyle) is sadly neglected, it is done so for one very deliberate, very worthwhile reason – to keep the tempo of the stories as pacy and punchy as possible. CI 5, at the end of the day, is not a place for sensitive characters of an indecisive disposition. It is an organisation designed to combat the most ingenious plots aimed at toppling civilised society, and as such it needs men who don’t consider there lives of great importance. This is not to say that the characters do not generate pathos. Indeed, the very fact that the programme rejects all the pretentious trimmings of most other dramas adds to the characters’ charms. Moreover, we get to like them through their work as a team, the acting of the central players (Martin Shaw, Lewis Collins and most notably the superb Gordon Jackson) and their apparent infallibility. Just the way Cowley removes his glasses reeks of unimpeachable authority.
At its core however, The Professionals extols the virtues of imaginative screenwriting. Through a careful mix of comic book action and gritty realism the series had an uncanny ability to keep an audience on the very edge of its seat; particularly in these early episodes, in which the fears of a British nation very much aware of terrorism and organised crime, are expertly exploited. Plotlines of the likes of Private Madness, Public Danger, Close Quarters and Klansmen, in which Clemens took the brave decision to make Bodie a racist, were either uncomfortably close to home (Klansmen has never been aired on terrestrial television) or uncannily prophetic. The reassurance of the entire series though, was that thanks to a combination of British wit, cunning and ingenuity, the criminals never won out.
Bizarrely then (considering it attracted audiences of over 14 million), The Professionals has often been the subject of criticism..The Guinness Book of classic British television states “it’s difficult to find anyone with a kind word to say about The Professionals”. Well I hope I have gone someway to redress the balance. In a world of flawed, socially retarded television detectives this sort of escapist entertainment is the very thing British television needs to produce once again. Buy the first season on DVD and enjoy a piece of television drama from its halcyon days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A weeks worth of nights in......., 1 July 2002
By A Customer
Please, everybody buy this! It may seem like alot to spend in one go, but take a chance because its worth it. And, if you don't like it you can always sell it as used on Amazon so some sensible person can watch it. All I remembered about the Professionals was that my dad used to watch it so I actually bought it with him in mind, and thank god, he doesn't have a DVD player! This is just hours gun-toting, un-PC, no nonsense British CI5 agents (new government organisation-criminal intelligence 5) Bodie and Doyle bombing it around in Ford Capris' and other seventies cars I don't know the names of, screeching to a (sped-up) halt, never locking the car doors (but then, it was the seventies) and saving giggly, wide eyed women who even put up with the occasional 'pull yourself together woman!' resounding slap. Like all cop dramas, neither can hold down a relationship 'because of the job'. But the women still fell into bed with them anyway. Its like English Starsky and Hutch but better.
And of course, not forgetting Cowley the battle-axe boss who favours them like sons in a 'I used to be just like you' fashion. You'll be continually surprised by the challenges they face- hitmen, atomic bombs, terrorists, london mobsters, kidnappings, crazy people...the list is endless. And when the dated look wears off and you get into it (not that there is anything wrong with dated-it is twenty five years old) you actually see how well done it is for the time and have to wonder how much expense went into making it.
Unlike the previous review (sorry!) I found that the way the sound had been gated spoilt it abit most notably in the first episode, though I don't know whether that was on the original recording or added when it was remastered but they've basically removed background noise except when there is speaking and the result is long spells of un-natural silence.
But don't let that deter you! Martin Shaw, Lewis Collins and Gordon Jackson did this series proud.
Get some popcorn and some icecream and take the phone off the hook to watch this or even take a couple of days off work!
Heres a quote to tempt you..."This isn't a regular bust-you're not coppers!" "No, we're worse. Much worse."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hardest Men In T.V History, 11 Jun 2002
By A Customer
What can I say about this box-set? It is an absolute wonder, stunning in every way.
The episodes are shown in order of production (as they were filmed), and each one presented with background information.
The best thing about this d.v.d set, in my opinion, has got to be the sound quality. It is very
crisp and clear, a joy to listen to. The overall picture quality is the best you're going to get with a show of it's age. The packaging is simply fantastic, and the accompanying booklet about The Professionals' origins & production is very entertaining.
Lewis Collins, Martin Shaw & Gordon Jackson work wonderfully together, and give the show it's
watchablity.
Overall, a classic T.V program on an an equally classic box-set.
YOU MUST BUY THIS, NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still as brilliant!, 6 Aug 2006
By 
Michael Gerrard (Geneva) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Professionals: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I remember The Professionals from my childhood. Just watching the opening credits is enough to take me back! The amazing thing is that it hasn't lost any of it's entertainment value.

The Professionals are three characters, Cowley, Bodie and Doyle. They are part of a counter-terrorist and counter-criminal team known as CI5. The stories are often based around finding a hitman or stopping some kind of terrorist attack. This gives The Professionals a relavence today. Indeed it also shows us that the world hasn't changed so much - apart from the TV being more entertaining back then!

If you've not seen The Professionals before, you like cop shows and you are not crazy about being politically correct, then you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous but great, 21 Nov 2010
By 
shpadoinkle - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Professionals: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Want to go back to late 70's London when men were invincible, the police (or CI5) could do whatever the heck they wanted, and women were all blonde, brainless and scantily clad?
Look no further. Here is your 4-disc, digitally remastered time-machine. Although by digitally remastered I think they mean they've just cleaned a bit of the fluff off the film. It's very watchable quality though.
There's great chemistry between CI5 agents Bodie and Doyle, and pretty good stories. It's tongue in cheek, and occasionally quite funny. There's also a lot of unintentional hilarity caused by the sexism. I suppose I should find it a bit offensive, but to be honest, it was 30 years ago - and fortunately for me, it's just funny now.
Its like another world. It's got flared trousers, big collars, boxy cars and everything.

Here's the episodes:
Old Dog with New Tricks - the Home Secretary is kidnapped
Long Shot - George Cowley (the Boss)is under threat by an assassin
Where the Jungle Ends - A band of mercenaries rob banks
Killer with a Long Arm - Another assassin is on the loose
Heroes - A US politician is assassinated (frikkin' assassins)
Private madness, Public Danger - a nutter tries to poison the water supply
The Female factor - The KGB, pimps and Prime Ministers.
Everest was Also Conquered - A case from the 50s needs solving
Close Quarters - Bodie and his 'bird' Julia are trapped in a country house by terrorists
Look After Annie - Bodie and Doyle have to protect a left-wing Christian evangelist
When the heat Cools Off - A man Doyle put in prison claims he is innocent
Stakeout - in a bowling alley, obviously
Klansmen - Not shown on TV. Are the Ku Klux Klan in Britain?
Rogue - Bodie and Doyle's CI5 mentor goes rogue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Professionals: Series 1 [DVD]
The Professionals: Series 1 [DVD] by Pat Jackson (DVD - 2005)
£49.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews