Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars37
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2014
I bought this album in the sixties after seeing the mothers on the new yo air BBC2 and I wasn't disappointed. It's just a great album full of satire aimed at hairy fairy hippies and at the same time the total over-reaction by the establishment of them.
This CD reissue is much better and the earlier CD issues, it's more true to the vinyl version. Can't really pick out individual tracks as it runs as a piece and its better for it.
I love the album, love the concept, love the standpoint Zappa took. Yes it's great !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
I love Zappa and this is one of his best ever offerings.
Kenny's noomies will be with me for life
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
This is an excellent album but be aware it's the original censored 1968 version not the 1984 re-mix.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
There is not much more that can be added to what's already been said. This, the third of Zappa's early period trilogy, is arguably his most accomplished. It's an absolutely mezmerizing work of art in which any discerning music fan ought to never tire of. The album is a work of vision, wit, grace and technical proficiency. On the surface it sounds fragmented and disjointed, but in essence it is a cohesive and erudite work of beauty. This one, alongside 'Burnt Weeny Sandwich', are Zappa's supreme masterpieces.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This classic album, a devastating satire of the 1960s hippie scene, is comprised of mostly short songs interspersed with even briefer linking snippets. One of the most memorable songs, Who Needs The Peace Corps? is all about San Francisco with acerbic observations on an aspiring hippie daydreaming about the big time in Height Street. Concentration Moon and Mom & Dad are more serious social commentary but Harry You're A Beast and What's The Ugliest Part Of Your Body? bring out the laughs again.

Absolutely Free is a tuneful ditty and Flower Punk with its nervous rhythm takes the listener into the head of an ambitious, highly materialistic flower child. The instrumental Nasal Retentive Calliope Music is pure found sound a la Edgar Varese, Let's Make The Water Turn Black sounds like a singalong folk tune and The Idiot Bastard Son is a mix of talking vocals, sound FX and snatches of chorus. There are gripping instrumental textures in the lyrically sharp Lonely Little Girl and Take Your Clothes Off When You Dance.

Then follows the reprise of What's The Ugliest Part Of Your Body, the penultimate track Mother People with lovely snatches of melody, including what sounds like classical music sequences. The album concludes with the only long track (over 6 minutes), called The Chrome Plated Megaphone Of Destiny, another excursion into Varese territory with its SFX. Overall, despite the different styles of music and the many short tracks, the album is quite cohesive. At first listen it sounds messy but repeated play will soon enough reveal the magic.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
At first listen i was unsure about this recordFirstly the brevity of songs then the music,but;I now love it and play it whenever I can.
The cd was delivered in quick time and is exactly what I wanted.So if you want good service and value for money this supplier is the one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2008
This eighties remix of WOIIFTM generally gets slated for taking a 'rockist' approach to a dirty psychedelic classic. I'd just like to say in favour of this version that songs like 'Mother people' and 'Flower punk' have so much more clout here and sound timelessly weird and inspiringly aggressive compared to the more wacky and understated mixes on the original. Furthermore the censored lines have been restored to their original eyebrow-raising splendour. Good reasons to check this underrated reworking I think.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
top of its time !!!!.one of zappa's best albums,he sticks it in to the hippy movement big time for sure !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
What's the ugliest part of your body contains one of the greatest lyrical truths of all time, listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
Tracks don't match the hype that this album received - although some are very funny!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)