Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you must only own one Zappa album....
...you are missing the point!
As a self-confessed Zappa bore who owns every CD he ever released (and maybe a few more he didn't!) I find it hard to recommend just one album. "We're Only It For The Money", however, should be in any 60's rock fan's collection as representative of the era while mocking the culture that grew up around in it. Zappa once claimed he was...
Published on 28 May 2003 by G. Nunn

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning
This and the other 2 fer are the ones that had the drums and bass rerecorded, avoid! You can now get the original versions as stand alone which I guess all the other reviews are for
Published on 13 Jan. 2013 by 70s


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars masterpiece, 31 Mar. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is not much more that can be added to what's already been said. This, the third of Zappa's early period trilogy, is arguably his most accomplished. It's an absolutely mezmerizing work of art in which any discerning music fan ought to never tire of. The album is a work of vision, wit, grace and technical proficiency. On the surface it sounds fragmented and disjointed, but in essence it is a cohesive and erudite work of beauty. This one, alongside 'Burnt Weeny Sandwich', are Zappa's supreme masterpieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Snippets & Substance, 20 Jan. 2008
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: We're Only in It for the Money (Audio CD)
This classic album, a devastating satire of the 1960s hippie scene, is comprised of mostly short songs interspersed with even briefer linking snippets. One of the most memorable songs, Who Needs The Peace Corps? is all about San Francisco with acerbic observations on an aspiring hippie daydreaming about the big time in Height Street. Concentration Moon and Mom & Dad are more serious social commentary but Harry You're A Beast and What's The Ugliest Part Of Your Body? bring out the laughs again.

Absolutely Free is a tuneful ditty and Flower Punk with its nervous rhythm takes the listener into the head of an ambitious, highly materialistic flower child. The instrumental Nasal Retentive Calliope Music is pure found sound a la Edgar Varese, Let's Make The Water Turn Black sounds like a singalong folk tune and The Idiot Bastard Son is a mix of talking vocals, sound FX and snatches of chorus. There are gripping instrumental textures in the lyrically sharp Lonely Little Girl and Take Your Clothes Off When You Dance.

Then follows the reprise of What's The Ugliest Part Of Your Body, the penultimate track Mother People with lovely snatches of melody, including what sounds like classical music sequences. The album concludes with the only long track (over 6 minutes), called The Chrome Plated Megaphone Of Destiny, another excursion into Varese territory with its SFX. Overall, despite the different styles of music and the many short tracks, the album is quite cohesive. At first listen it sounds messy but repeated play will soon enough reveal the magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a masterpiece, 21 Jan. 2014
I bought this album in the sixties after seeing the mothers on the new yo air BBC2 and I wasn't disappointed. It's just a great album full of satire aimed at hairy fairy hippies and at the same time the total over-reaction by the establishment of them.
This CD reissue is much better and the earlier CD issues, it's more true to the vinyl version. Can't really pick out individual tracks as it runs as a piece and its better for it.
I love the album, love the concept, love the standpoint Zappa took. Yes it's great !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zappidy Doo Dah., 27 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At first listen i was unsure about this recordFirstly the brevity of songs then the music,but;I now love it and play it whenever I can.
The cd was delivered in quick time and is exactly what I wanted.So if you want good service and value for money this supplier is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars zappa at his best, 24 May 2013
By 
douglas morrison (aberdeenshire Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
top of its time !!!!.one of zappa's best albums,he sticks it in to the hippy movement big time for sure !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unappreciated revision, 7 July 2008
This review is from: Order As Ryko 10503 (Audio CD)
This eighties remix of WOIIFTM generally gets slated for taking a 'rockist' approach to a dirty psychedelic classic. I'd just like to say in favour of this version that songs like 'Mother people' and 'Flower punk' have so much more clout here and sound timelessly weird and inspiringly aggressive compared to the more wacky and understated mixes on the original. Furthermore the censored lines have been restored to their original eyebrow-raising splendour. Good reasons to check this underrated reworking I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Original 1968 Recording, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent album but be aware it's the original censored 1968 version not the 1984 re-mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars they couldn't do it now..., 8 Oct. 2011
By 
S. Green (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
had this album on vinyl 40 years ago and it "blew my mind", along with (ahem) other things. Left the turntable behind many years ago and like many other favourites never got it on CD - until now. This stuff is iconoclastic dynamite, full of vitriol against the commercialisation of rebellion, and the phoniness (is that a word?) of those jumping on to and buying in to the superficial trappings of a movement they never truly understood. Probably the best showcase for Zappa's warped genius. Plus it turned me on to the works of Kafka, and how many rock albums can do that! Let's make the water turn black!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, but requires repeated listenings., 22 Oct. 2007
By 
This one is a classic. It is certainly one of the weirder Zappa albums, but it grows on you with each time you hear it. It all fits so nicely together, I rarely listen to one or two tracks from this album, but rather hear the whole thing from start to finish.

I know a lot of people will find this a bit weird, and perhaps too challenging, but give it a chance, and you'd be surprised at how some of the crazy sounds and collages become your dearest favourites. The album is also packed with humour and satire, if you wish you can focus on the lyrics until the album gets through to you.

But please; don't dismiss this album as "some weird zappa-stuff". You will be rewarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

We're Only in It for the Money
We're Only in It for the Money by Frank Zappa (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews