Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC DOGGY FUN!
I really like this game, its so good!
you buy a breed of dog, you can keep 3 at home and 5 at the dog hotel, you can unlock breeds buy raising your trainer points or connecting with other nintendogs game owners. you can buy and breed you want, name it, teach it commands, take it for walks, see how it dances to music, stroke, feed, give it something to drink, play...
Published on 27 Jan 2008 by crazygal

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars do not like it
not our cup of tea used to other games which we like thank you thank you another time might buy more games
Published 4 months ago by Madeline Marie


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC DOGGY FUN!, 27 Jan 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendogs Labrador Retriever & Friends (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I really like this game, its so good!
you buy a breed of dog, you can keep 3 at home and 5 at the dog hotel, you can unlock breeds buy raising your trainer points or connecting with other nintendogs game owners. you can buy and breed you want, name it, teach it commands, take it for walks, see how it dances to music, stroke, feed, give it something to drink, play with it, bath, groom and acessorise your puppy or puppies. you can buy your care products at the pet supply shop, you can get toys and acessories while on walks. you can also meet other dogs while on your walks. with a beautiful scenery, your walks are great, your dogs walking meter will increase so you can go on a nice long walk together. i feel training your dog can be hard, if you have a smart dog breed, then it won't be so hard. stroking your dog is great, your dog reacts so realastically to your kind actions, but marks madly and gets angry at some mean actions, and i mean REALLY bad actions, not small mistakes, but don't worry, your dogs allways in a good mood. your dog might runaway if you don't care for it properly. your dogs react to SOME, pieces of music, you can make your own music on your keyboard, you have to buy one though. you have toys, acessories, extras, music, clockes and care items. you can read books on different sections of training and caring for your dog. enter it in competitions, you have to pracrice first though, you can earn money from competions and all your competions will be filed into your dogs compition file and all the tricks it has learned will be stored into the tricks file on your dogs status. you can check if your dog is hungry, thirsty, clean, whats its eaten lately, name, gender, breed and how many minutes youv spent with it for a day. you can bath and groom your dog, long haired have a different shampoo and brush than the short haired. you can donate a dog you don't want anymore, buy new things, get money by selling some of stuff or put some of your dogs into the doghotel. you can take them for walks and meet new dogs and get presents, your dog will go to the toilet on the street though. you can change your room, eneter competitions, feed, give it something to drink, play, stroke and train your dog. everything is so realastic. the graphics are just WOW! the background sounds are good too! i really like this game, i hope my review was helpful to you, i definitely recommend this game to ANYONE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nintendogs! : ), 25 Nov 2006
By 
J Green (Scotland the Brave) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendogs Labrador Retriever & Friends (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I have to be honest. I don't own this game. I am getting it for xmas and I play my friends all the time. She owns all the nintendogs games and three real labs so yay lol. Anyway this game is soooo much fun. It's like having your own little doggies!

*You plan a route and take them for walks

*You can meet other dogs and find things on your walk

*You can go to the kennel and look at or purchase new dogs

*You can play games with your dogs and enjoy feeding them, giveng them a shower, patting them ect.

*You can train them new tricks

*You can take them to dog shows and win awards

*You can choose cute lil names for them

*You can choose from labs, dalmations, dashounds and chiwawas.

*Buy items for your dogs including food, toys, water and collars.

*Its one of the best DS games at the moment so if you like dogs then just buy it!

*I like labs the best but you can choose any!

I hope this review helped you and enjoy the game (if you decide to purchase it!)

Lil Zo, 12 yrs old, big nintendogs fan!

:)

:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 12 April 2007
By 
twinmummy (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendogs Labrador Retriever & Friends (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I got this for my 8 year old daughter when it first came out. She is still really into it, so that must be a good sign! I'm a cruel mummy, and wont get her a real dog, so she has to make do with this! She now has about 5 dogs on the go on this game, and has them all trained up and coming first in all the contests...

Its a really great game in my opinion. The graphics are great, and its good that it gets kids to realise that pets need feeding, walking and bathing too.

By the time I let her have a real dog, (a long time yet!) she should be a pro!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXELLENT GAME!!!!, 6 Oct 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendogs Labrador Retriever & Friends (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
You will love this game, it has all your needs.
just like caring for a real dog you must feed, bath, groom, walk, play, train and clean up after your dog, and this is how you do it on nintendogs.
go to the pet supply shop during a walk or while at home. here, you can buy shampoo, short hair and long hair, you can buy brushes, short hair and long hair, you can also buy food, natural dog food bag, dog food in a can and normal packets of dog food, choose your amount and if you have enough money, buy them! you can get milk and water, and you can treats, biscuits and jerky treats are available. you might also get toys! pull ropes, keyboards, talking parrots, balloons, red and blue fris-bees, you also get red and black collors and red and yellow ribbons.

during walks you have the chance to visit the parks, you might have an empty park or a couple of other dogs might already be in the park, so you have a chance to let your puppy with them. you can go to the pet supply shop to buy things for a slightly lower price then going direcly to the shop from your home or the agility training grounds were you can train your dog for agility trails. before you walk you must make your route on your map, erase the route if necessery. go over blue pumping question marks to find the surprise gift while on your walk. going on your walk is easy, and very fun, pull the lead to make your dog run along side you, give your dog a rest when you go home. when you pass the area where the question mark was, you will find a present or another dog and his or her owner waiting to chat with you. sometimes you get surprise presents without even plotting them on your map, this is a sign that you are being a good owner.

competions are hard work, the training and the competing, even if your dog is smart and active. you practice for disc competions in the park, when you do do it in the park, make sure you do it when dogs are around, your dog might not partisipate very well. you can practice disc competions at home aswell. you will scored on how far, how many discs you throw and your dog catches, you get more if your dog jumps in the air and catches the disc. obedience trails unlock a whole new set of commands teach your dog the commands by talking into the michrophone, it will take a few trys to get your dog used to the trick your trying to teach it, so give it time. remember to practice alone as your dog might get distracted.

agility trails can be practiced in the arina, do jumps, tunnels, sea saws and the twisting bars. lead your dog and as it learns the better it will do.

if your dog is hungry or thirsty, make sure you feed it or give it something to drink, bath and brush your dog if it gets dirty.

you can get many accesories, with ribbons, hats and collars, many sports items, with balls, discs, and chewy or soft toys. you can get many toys, with remote contolled items, to bubble blowers and other entertainment items. choose from a wide selection of food and you also get C-Ds, you can change your clock or play with extras, usless and soecial items, all this can be unlocked while on a walk. you can unlock new dogs too! you can also unlock different types of houses. name your puppy and off you go. you can send your puppy to a dog hotel if you want to look after your other dogs, you can only keep up to 8 dogs, in the hotel 5 dogs, at home 3. you can also do barkmode, you can see another persons dog in your nintendo, you meet in a secret park, you can also listen to a recording the person has left you, you can also exchange presents!

stroking is so lovely. the graphics are fantastic, exellent pics, so realistic! its like everything is real! love your dog, interact with them and live with them, you can also donate a dog you would like leave for a certain reason.

well, i hope i said enough, see yah! oh and buy this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best game ever, 18 Aug 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendogs Labrador Retriever & Friends (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I really think you should buy this game as it's worth it. If my Mum and Dad would let me I'd play it every hour of the day!!!!! It was my first game for the DS and easily the best.

You can have up to eight puppies - they never grow up. My first one was a black labrador retriever, and I've still got her. Some of the other ones I've donated so I could get new puppies.

I'm saving up for Seaside at the moment, which is like a private beach for your home, but it costs 50,000 - I'm up to about 12,000 at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


191 of 205 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding A Must Have Game, Buy A DS For It, 10 Oct 2005
This review is from: Nintendogs Labrador Retriever & Friends (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
"At first glance, Nintendogs looks like the most childish game EVER. You train a PUPPY which you can call any name you want, eg. Lucky or Maxwell, and sit there and stroke it. But as the saying goes; never judge a book by it's cover. You delve into Nintendogs and descover a whole other world of entertainment. For a start, it's the most realistic puppy simulator EVER, although it still has Nintendo charm. It uses voice-activation (which, to be honest, is rubbish, but we'll dwell on that later), and clever use of the touch screen.
It may sound clichéd, but Nintendogs truly is a game for all ages. Hey, I can prove it. My dad's as tough as nails (REALLY!). He served in the army, and is very disiplanary. He hates it when I act immature, although he actually ASKED for a go on Nintendogs. And enjoyed it. That's quite an achivment; he would never DREAM of chosing, say, Mario over Halo. He says that Mario's a bit too childish for him. He's an IT specialist, so he knows what makes a good console (or, at least he thinks he does!). Anyway, let's not get too personal.
Nintendogs is a winner on all levels of play; it's addictive, it's clever, it's innovative, and most of all, it's fun. Play consists of training a puppy, teaching it commmands via the microphone and touch screen. It's all very sophisticated. You can enter your puppy in different contests; including Disk Catching, Agility, and Obedience trials. Another huge part of Nintendogs is walks. The walks are great. Map out the route you'll be taking using the touch screen, and then use a leash to control your dog while walking. It's pure gaming gold. On walks you'll expect to find 'presents'; this is to say, parcels, wrapped in paper. Not the OTHER 'present'. God, no. Most times you'll find an item you already have, such as the utterly useless bubble blower, or perhaps a shoe, and occasionally, you'll find the odd hat. Although the fact that somtimes you end up with a stick will annoy even the toughest of players. It makes me cry.
Back home, you get a full selection of toys and gifts you have collected in the game; items range from white leather boots to remote controlled Mario Karts. All Nintendogs have different reactions depending on which item is used; for example; my Golden Retriver; Lewie, hates the stick. He simply sits there and growls. While my sisters Chihuaua; Tom, absolutly loves it, but hates the dog photo (a personal favourate of Lewies', may I add). This is influenced by different personalities; some dogs are well behaved, some dogs aren't, and so on. The way you train them influences their overall personalities.
Now. The Microphone. Where to begin? Well, for a start, it's rubbish. It hasn't got a good enough frequency to be used properly. It's far too sensitive. It picks up FAR too much static. Even on low, the Microphone persists on being rubbish, although low works better than medium or high. The microphone is simply not good enough. Luckily though, GAME stores group Ltd. have realised this, bringing out a DS headset, which consists of an earbud and ajustable microphone. Imagine the Xbox Live headset, only smaller and weedier. You plug it into your DS, and you're away. No messing around. And because the GAME microphone picks up more Bass than Trebble (unlike the built in one, which does the complete opposite), it's much more efficient, too. It would be well worth investing in for Christmas. PLUS, GAME are flogging it for about 9.99, so you better get there quick. Trust me, gamers. I'm getting one.
(This was NOT intended as advertisment for GAME stores group Ltd. I was simply stating a fact.)
All this aside, Nintendogs has turned out to be an outstanding DS game. It uses the functions properly, and has a neverending replay value. That said; Nintendogs isn't actually a game. It's an experience. And one not to be missed, at that. This is what the DS needs to pull it out of the PSP's dust. Congratulations Nintendo, on what is, another truly outstanding game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nintendogs Labrador y, 4 Oct 2006
By 
.. (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendogs Labrador Retriever & Friends (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This is a really fun and funny good innovative game.You start off with not much money and you have a choice of about three dogs to choose from.Then you have to buy hair shampooo and brushes for grooming your dog and toys to play with like a frisbee. Then you move into your house into a big spacious living room where your dogs are enterained and live.Then this is where the game starts you get to train your dog in three different ways like learning to catch doing special tricks and obedience.When you tap the screen the dog comes up to you and you can stroke him and he likes it.you can take him for walks to the choice of two parks a quiet one to practise and another to interact with other dogs.Sometimes on out for walks your dog will might bring back a present.when you enter competitios you do it for money and you get graded so make sure your dog is well trained.Everday see your dog make it come to you and an idea will come above his head touch it and you have some time to teach your dog s trick or just sitting.Overall this game is really good and innovative for the industry but once you have done it with your dogs and upgraded there isnt much to do so there isnt much replay value.Still get though its a brilliant game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How much is that Doggy in the window? - by Holly, aged 12, 28 Aug 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendogs Labrador Retriever & Friends (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Nintendogs is a fun and rather addictive game. You start off by choosing from a range of 6 cute puppy breeds (you unlock more breeds as the game progresses) and then take him or her home.
It takes a few minutes for your puppy to settle in and then you can name it. You use the microphone to say your puppy's name out loud (but speak clearly and at a reasonable volume or it will not work)
Once your puppy has learnt its name, you can take it for walks and enter it in competitions. Make sure you stroke your puppy and play with it regulary or it might get annoyed and run away.
Walking your dog gives it the opportunity to exercise, meet other dogs, train in the gym, play in the park and find presents on the street. Every time you take your dog for a walk, the distance that it walks is increased next time you take your dog out. The first time you take your dog to the gym, it will be slow, probably knock down jumps and be scared of the see-saw, but these things will gradually improve every time you visit the gym. Use your stylus to guide your dog through the obstacles and to indicate where the dog should go. Practising in the gym will help you when you enter agility events.
You can also practise for disc competitions in the park by selecting a disc to train with from your inventory in the sport section. Throw the disc by using the stylus and if the dog doesn't bring it back to you, tap on the bottom screen to make the dog come to you.
Obedience trials are usually difficult (especially when in the championships) You train your puppy for obedience trials at home. It is better to work individually with your puppy when training (because your puppy can get distracted), so it is best to leave any other dogs you have in the dog hotel. The only thing that annoys me sometimes about the game is training (obedience) because it's very difficult to teach your puppy the right commands, and sometimes if you say "sit", it might lie down, which can be irritating.
Once you have money (winning money in competitions or selling items in the second hand shop), you can re-style your house with lovely designs at the interior decorator's shop.
Overall, it is a good game with realistic graphics, good microphone and extremely cute puppies!!
I would recommend this game to younger players and dog lovers!
Happy Gaming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great!, 21 May 2007
By 
Mr. J. Deakin "Pony lover" (cambridge, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendogs Labrador Retriever & Friends (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I bought nintendogs because it was so popular and because of the good reviews. I wasn't disappointed. The graphics are better than the graphics on any of my other games, and I think it is amazing the way the dogs react to what you do. It is a bit repetitive, but i keep playing to earn enough money to upgrade my house and to make my dogs have more stamina. here is a list of the things you can do:
. train your dogs. i don't normally train my dogs though, because they don't
listen.
. go for walks. the more you walk, the more stamina your dog has. on your
walks you can go to the gymnasium, to train for agility trials. if you
train a lot they DO get better. the discount shop, where you can buy cheap supplies, and the park. sometimes there are other dogs in the park .go shopping, there are 5 shops, the pet supply shop, the dog hotel, where you can keep up to 5 dogs, the interior designer, where you can remodel your house, the second hand shop, where you can sell things, and the kennel, where you can buy and look at dogs.

I think i have said enough because there are so many other reviews, but i don't see why some reviews are so bad, because this is a REALLY GOOD GAME!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Clever, 12 July 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendogs Labrador Retriever & Friends (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
To the person who chose Tetris over this... Why?!!! Tetris can be played on almost anything this is a unique game. The interactivity is very clever and I love the way you can blow bubbles by blowing onto the screen.

You can do a number of things with your puppy. The obvious things are feeding, watering and walking. You can also teach your dog to respong to your commands by training it with voice commands. There are also competitions that are quite challenging that you can enter. This is the main way of gaining money.

As well as this because it's in real time it's more like caring for an actual dog. If you neglect it, it will become upset and so on. There are also new things to buy at the shop as days go by and there are also secret items to discover and collect.

I thoroughly enjoy this game and so does my friend (he's 21) Its a fun game. Brilliant for young children as it shows looking after something rather than smashing it to bits, and also fun for Big Kids like me =)

Try it! You can always take it back if it's not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nintendogs Labrador Retriever & Friends (Nintendo DS)
22.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews