Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nintendogs chihuahua and friends
This game is great.You look after your dog like a real one!
The dogs you start off with are:CHIHUAHUA,boxer,cavalier kc spaniel,shetland shheepdog,yorkshire terrier and german sheperd!
Published on 5 Feb 2009

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nintendo Games for 6 yr old
This game was purchased for 6 yr old grandson. I am pretty good on the computer, but have to say I found this game difficult to get going. Having enlisted the help of a savvy 15 yr old so did he. It looks like it could be fun but not easy to follow instructions we found. So up to a point a bit disappointing I'm afraid.
Published on 31 Oct 2009 by Ca Rider


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nintendogs chihuahua and friends, 5 Feb 2009
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendogs Chihuahua & Friends (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This game is great.You look after your dog like a real one!
The dogs you start off with are:CHIHUAHUA,boxer,cavalier kc spaniel,shetland shheepdog,yorkshire terrier and german sheperd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TranQu Reviews, 19 July 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendogs Chihuahua & Friends (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Review (Reviewer: JVG 2)

Computer Game

Nintendogstm

Genre: Virtual Pet/RPG

Rating:5* (five platinum stars)

Review:
Nintendogstm is a truly exceptional game. It defies conventions. When this was first announced, there was a debate as to whether it was going to be any good. The offspring of games like Pokémon, Project Cabbage and Hey You Pikachu, it demonstrates that voice recognition does have a role in gaming. Training virtual dogs and winning prizes while whupping someone at wii tennis all while timing how long the pasta has to be in the oven has got to be a tip top schizophrenic experience. I love this game so much that we've bought it twice.

Visuals:10
Quite simply, this game looks better than Oblivion. Ok, maybe that's a bit of an overstatement, but the fact of the matter is is that these dogs actually resemble real canines. They move like real dogs, they yawn a bit like real dogs, and yet for some reason, motion capture technology was not used in this game, unlike Resi 4, another winner of the Golden Pencil Award. Perhaps strapping motion sensors to real puppies would have been cruel. Nevertheless, These dogs look astounding. The boxers and Chihuahuas are especially cute. Amazingly, this is a handheld game as well. Who knows what magic Miyamoto is capable of. Perhaps he is a White Mage.

Aural:10

The jazziest tunes ever to feature on a handheld accompany barking, whining, yawning growling and howling so convincing that it confuses real dogs and frightens a real cat in my vicinity, Possibly the best feature, though, is the keyboard. This allows you to play real tunes and teach the dogs how to bark. Eliza, whom I donated to the Dog Hotel, was proficient in this respect. Pete Tong, understandably, was so good at learning music that he often persuades other Nintendogstm to mimic his songs. Well, he was chosen by my ex-housemate who is into dance music. Look out for other musical items in the game, such as the scratchable LP's and the music boxes.

Mastery: 10

I was thinking of giving this game an 11 for mastery. It defines the DS; it has sold millions, and will enter the multi million sales figures soon (assuming it has not done so already). I have bought some Nintendogs tm trading cards and they are so cute. Some people think the game is rubbish: quite simply, this is because they have little patience. Blow bubbles, inflate balloons, jog, stroke, indulge in a session of tummy rubbing, all in one game. Mastery is definitely the name of Nintendogs tm

Longevity: 10

This game offers plenty in terms of its scope for gamers and curious bystanders alike.
Nintendogs tm is a highly addictive game, and has near-universal appeal. Because of this, I give it a 10 for its lifespan. These dogs seriously mean business. They almost killed me. Parting with them is a costly experience. Nevertheless, for people willing to give up a bit of their lives, they will receive a unique and rewarding companionship. Making a commitment is seldom easy, but with Nintendogs tm you receive an excellent package. There are many items to collect, more than 20 different breeds to play with, including Dalmatians and Jack Russell Terriers, and if you're feeling a bit crazy, try aiming for the Spaceport Interior design, or training a dog that gets Gold at Championship level in all three contests, or becoming The Master like me. (I have more than 50,000 trainer points). I work with the likes of the maverick Pete Tong, the demon-possessed husky hybrid Pazuzuu and the demonic Junior (two Alsatians and a Siberian dog). Who will you adopt? Colin the German? Ada the mysterious? Or will you be inspired by bubbles? Pick up this game and find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 9 Oct 2005
This review is from: Nintendogs Chihuahua & Friends (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
After I killed my tamagotchi all those years ago I was sceptical about investing in another pet simulation game. However, unlike tamagotchi, a) you're pet can't die (yay), and b) the game is far more interactive and therefore more rewarding than earlier games in the genre.
By far the best feature of Nintendogs is the ability to talk to and train your dog through use of the DS' built-in microphone. If ever you see someone randomly yelling 'sit' or 'lie down' on the train, you will know why. I have had my copy of the game for a day now and have been playing on it virtually non-stop. My Nintendog is a cute little German Shepherd called Joni, and I have already taught her how to sit, roll over, lie down, shake hands and wiggle her bum. Call me sad, but it's incredibly cute, and this game will melt even the hardest of hearts.
Aside from teaching your dog new tricks (the list of which is incredibly extensive), you can play with them, take them for a walk, groom them and even enter them into contests. Through the latter, you can earn money (a nice touch is that the 'money' of the game is displayed in local currency), which will allow you to buy supplies, new dogs, or even a new decor for your home. That is really all there is to the game. However, it is so involving and rewarding, it is definitely worth buying. The incredibly realsitic visuals and animations, coupled with the voice recognition technology, perhaps makes this the most lifelike pet sim released. A game like Nintendogs could not be pulled off on any other system. This is the DS' killer app, and can be enjoyed by absolutely everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 19 Nov 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendogs Chihuahua & Friends (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This game is a great game. It uses all the great features the ds has. There are so many great things you can do and so many breeds to choose from. All the dogs are really cute and so lifelike. It is just like you have your oun dog, in real time, in real life! A great game, a must-have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS THE BEST GAME EVER!, 14 Oct 2010
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendogs Chihuahua & Friends (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
HI NINTENDOGS IS GREAT I HAVE CHIHUWAWA DASHUND AND LABRADOR AND FRIENDS.
YOU START OFF OUTSIDE A KENNEL YOU HAVE TO KNOCK ON THE DOOR USING THE STYLUS OR THE A BUTTON.
THERE ARE 6 DOGS TO CHOOSE FROM.
PICK THE BREED CAREFULLY AND MAKE SURE YOU HAVE THE RIGHT GENDER.
LOOK AT THE DESCRIPTION CHOOSE THE DOG THAT SUITS YOU THE MOST.
YOU TAKE YOUR DOG HOME AND YOU STROKE IT.
THINK OF A NAME 7 LETTERS MAX.
TAUGHT IT ITS NAME?
NOW CALL YOUR NINTENDOG OVER CALL ITS NAME 3 TIMES.
NOW TEACH IT SIT.
DONE THAT?
NOW CALL YOUR NINTENDOG OVER AND SAY SIT.

YOU MIGHT HAVE SEEN THE PERSON THAT SAID IT WAS BAD THAT YOU CAN'T DELETE THE NAME SHE SHOULD LOOK IN THE MANUAL YOU CAN DELETE THE WHOLE GAME BY PRESSING A,B,Y,X,L AND R.

THERE ARE LOADS AND HEAPS OF STUFF.
I'D SAY MY FAV TOY IS EITHER THE PEACH KART OR THE HELICOPTER.
(YOU USE THE BUTTONS TO MAKE THEM GO AROUND)

MY FAV COLLAR IS EITHER THE DINAMITE ONE THE FLOWER ONE OR THE SPOTTY ONE.
MY FAV BOW IS PROBABLY THE CHECKED OR STRIPED.
MY FAV FLOWER IS PROBABLY THE HIBISCUS
MY FAV SUNGLASSES ARE PROBABLY THE PARTY OR 3D
MY FAV WIG IS PROBABLY THE CLOWN WIG
AND MY FAV HAT IS HARD PROBABLY THE YELLOW KNITTED HAT OR THE PARTY HAT.

MY FAV SPORTS ITEM IS PROBABLY THE LIFE RING DISC,THE PIZZA DISC OR THE GREEN SPONSER DISC.

MY FAV ETC. ITEM IS PROBABLY THE DOLL

MY FAV MUSIC ITEM IS PROBABLY EITHER A RECORD THAT MAKES THE DOGS DANCE OR THE PIANO

AND MY FAV CLOCK IS PROBABLY THE MARINE CLOCK.

BUY COOL SUPPLIES, WALK YOUR DOG AND MUCH MORE!

BUY THIS GAME!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nintendogs 4 life!, 25 Mar 2008
By 
M. Finney "Meelie" (Leek) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendogs Chihuahua & Friends (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This game is BRILL!To be honest i'd say this game is great for all ages!
I'm seven and i love it!You can enter three kinds of contest but my
favorite is the disc contest.You have to feed your dogs and give them
water.Over all it's just great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to keep your kids quiet, 29 Dec 2006
By 
G. Horsham (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendogs Chihuahua & Friends (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This is a truly amzing game, for several reasons. The game play is believable and addictive. You are in control of your own destiny and the further you get (more money you get) the more you can do. In addition it keeps you kids quite for ages and ages. Value for money, 10 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars virtal puppies, 11 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Nintendogs Chihuahua & Friends (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
For anyone either wishing they had a real dog or missing their real dog, this is perfect solution, so dogs are realistic they almost seem cuddly!
choosing a puppy from the different breeds (they all have different personalities, is fun and then after you have trained your dog/dogs you can enter them in different competitions which is q,fun.
i really enjoy this game, once i figured out how to train my first dog, which seems to be a bit naughty!
anyway top marks so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nintendogs, 29 Dec 2007
By 
Sa Darby - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendogs Chihuahua & Friends (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
My daughter has this game for christmas, and after what seemed like an age to try and figure out you had to teach it its name before you could do anything, she had been on it no stop, she loves dressing her dogs up and taking them for walks..
The only downside i have found with this game and would love some helpful advice if possible... I have a ds and when i load it into my console it loads just whre my aughter left off.. there must be a way i can have my own set of dogs without losing m duaghters info... because of this i wouldmark it down as youcan buy this game pre-owned and how dissapointing would that be for people who have to end up with other peoles dogs !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars little hint, 18 Jun 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendogs Chihuahua & Friends (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
on nintendogs the mic. is terrible but..buuut,when you get a dog it tells you to speak clearly and you will hear a american lady say some dogs names.

now anytime you want to trai your dog just immitate the ladies voice with the word of choice!

<<<<<REVIEW>>>>>

this is a amazing game for begginners to the ds

you can feed,play,pet(stroke),walk,train and wash your dog

the graphics are brill and look soo realistic.

the compititions (agility/Disc/skills) have certain stages

from starter to grand

you can upgrade different food and drink for your dog

get new houses and new toys.

even different tricks have to be earnt by loyalty from your dog.

you can meet other dogs in the street and find prezzies by walking,

bark mode allows you to join up with friends and exchange gifts

you can keep up to 8 dogs and they dont have to be the same kind!

thats all im off to buy the last edintion of nintendogs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nintendogs Chihuahua & Friends (Nintendo DS)
22.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews