Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Final Cut
I saw this film a few years ago and the only thing I could remember was that it I enjoyed it and that Robin williams played a straight role.
Watched it again and my opinion remained the same great film!
Robin Williams plays a cutter who edits films of peoples lives (people have a chip that records their lives inserted when they are born, creepy thought as it...
Published on 23 Feb. 2010 by Serenity De Arth

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars great concept wasted
This film could have been so brilliant, it's so frustrating to watch. The idea of the film is inspired, the acting is faultless and the direction and look of the film was superb.

But the story went absolutely no where and just as you think the story IS going somewhere, the film ends.

What a massive waste of time and potential. It's such a shame.
Published on 17 Sept. 2011 by bizmandan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars great concept wasted, 17 Sept. 2011
By 
bizmandan (staffordshire, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Final Cut [DVD] (DVD)
This film could have been so brilliant, it's so frustrating to watch. The idea of the film is inspired, the acting is faultless and the direction and look of the film was superb.

But the story went absolutely no where and just as you think the story IS going somewhere, the film ends.

What a massive waste of time and potential. It's such a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Final Cut, 23 Feb. 2010
This review is from: The Final Cut [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film a few years ago and the only thing I could remember was that it I enjoyed it and that Robin williams played a straight role.
Watched it again and my opinion remained the same great film!
Robin Williams plays a cutter who edits films of peoples lives (people have a chip that records their lives inserted when they are born, creepy thought as it records EVERYTHING)
Robin has the job of making people look wonderful and that they never do anything wrong and then this recording is played at the funeral.
So you can imagine some of they things that he has to edit and the consequences that go along with that responsibility.
I wont go into too much detail as I wouldn't want to ruin the film for you but Robin Williams is great when he plays straight roles and this is no exception.
Great film worth watching as is another straight role One Hour Photo Robin Williams is actually creepy in that film One Hour Photo [DVD] [2002]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent, unconventional, and psychologically powerful, 30 Jun. 2005
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I really liked The Final Cut. It may not have enough excitement to appeal to some viewers, but it is intense in its own narrow, low-key fashion. The story takes place in a futuristic setting, but rookie writer/director Omar Naim doesn't approach the story from a what-if science fiction angle; this is really the story of one man's inner soul and how one significant memory can haunt you even as it is shaping your destiny.
The story is centered on a fascinating premise - that one's memories can be recorded and played back after the individual's death. The Zoe chip makes this possible; it's a synthetic implant that grows along with you as it records every single moment of your life. After your death, a sort of highlight reel of your most significant memories is put together and shown in a special Rememory service for all your family and friends to watch. Condensing someone's life into a couple of hours is a tough job, and it takes a talented professional cutter to do the job right. Alan Hackman (Williams) is one of the best cutters out there. He sees everything from each person's life, including some pretty awful stuff, but he gives the family the good memories they yearn for. There are plenty of protesters out there opposed to the Zoe chip, including one of Alan's old colleagues. Like leftist protest groups everywhere, these guys have no problem resorting to intimidation and violence - they only worry about the ethics of their opponents, not their own. Everything comes to a head when one of the bigshots behind the Zoe chip dies. Hackman has the job of cutting the Rememory, but the protestors want the data in order to pin something on the dead guy and bring down the company.
Hackman sees someone in the subject's memories that take him back to a memory that has haunted him his entire life. He rather desperately tries to find the individual and gain some kind of psychological closure for himself, throwing his monotonous life into turmoil and placing himself in great danger. It's a mission of self-discovery - and that only complicates matters.
The Final Cut showcases a great story - dark and personally claustrophobic, poignant, and always fascinating. Happy it isn't, nor is it conventional. It is serious, intelligent, and contemplative, raising all sorts of moral questions on both sides of the Rememory debate. By this point, we all know that Robin Williams is a master of drama as well as comedy, but it is still somewhat mesmerizing to see him carry this entire movie with his remarkably low-key persona. Some people may not like the dark cinematography and tone of the film, but I think they are great strengths that reinforce the artificial nature of the whole Rememory business. Hackman is basically unphased by all of the evil things he witnesses on his guillotine cutting machine, but you can only internalize so much without it exerting some kind of effect on you. The price he pays to do his job well is his increasing isolation from his fellow men. This character, not the Rememory technology, is the story here. As such, The Final Cut may not give everyone what he/she wants and expects from it, and I think that explains the mixed reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Final Straw, 21 Jun. 2010
By 
A. WILLIAMS (Wales, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Final Cut [DVD] (DVD)
After purchasing this DVD it sat in my collection for quite a while before eventually finding its way in the DVD player. Overall the film had some brilliant strengths, its very dark and watchable for a huge majority. The film can be quite slow at times, and the story does seem to stall a fair bit. Robin Williams is great in the film and had the script and story been better it would have been a GOLD performance.

The film has one let down. And it's a big one - THE ENDING... I have never seen such a LAZY way out of a film, I could hardly believe it. The story had been strong all along and seemed to be building up to a climax. Which never came. That, and that along ruins what could have been a great film. A mediocre last line is spoken followed by an ending that is as bad as the "waking up and finding it had all been a dream" ending. Overall I would NOT suggest this film. Even die-hard Robin Williams/Thriller/Suspense lovers will really struggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Final Cut - A Wasted Opportunity, 27 Sept. 2005
This review is from: The Final Cut [DVD] (DVD)
Final Cut is based around a fantastic idea - 1 in 20 people have a brain implant that records their lives so that when they pass away somebody (a 'cutter - Robin Williams character) edits the collected footage to make a condensed movie version of highlights that show the deceased in a good light. Once again Williams puts in a fine performance as he did in 'One Hour Photo'.
The main problem with Final Cut is that it fails to capitlise on it's ideas. It could have so much more, but I feel that it was mostly a wasted opportunity.
Not so much a thriller as a presentation of ideas and moral questions. Still worth a look, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great concept - not so great end result, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Final Cut [DVD] (DVD)
Almost everyone agrees that the idea behind `The Final Cut' is pretty sound - we visit a world where people can record their entire lives via a `chip' inserted into their brain at birth. Plus we have Robin Williams in one of his `serious roles' (which I prefer him as, after watching him in The Fisher Kind, The World's Greatest Dad and - the excellent One Hour Photo).

Unfortunately, despite its intriguing premise, The Final Cut doesn't live up to expectations. Not only does Robin Williams (uncharacteristically) `phone-in' his performance, coming across as bored and uninteresting, but the film itself is about as interesting as he appears to be.

Through his work as a `cutter' (someone who splices together people's memories after they die for the benefit of their grieving relatives), he discovers some dark secrets that need to be investigated. If you read the blurb for this film, it mentions that his dark discovery leads him into danger. Well... there lies the problem - I just didn't feel the danger at any time. Maybe the film didn't have the budget to add in any sort of `chase scenes' that have become synonymous with this sort of film, but he just sort of wandered here and there for an hour and a half.

Ultimately, despite the good ideas behind the film, I just found it a bit dull, which was a shame as the idea and talent on offer should have added up to so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's Mork when you need him?, 2 Jan. 2006
By 
Mr. Joe (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Final Cut [DVD] (DVD)
THE FINAL CUT is relentlessly dark and somber. I found myself wishing for a cameo by Mork, or perhaps even Mindy, to lighten the mood.
It's sometime in the future. Affluent parents can have an implant placed in their unborn child's brain that'll record all the sights and sounds seen and heard during that individual's life from birth until death. Then, after death, the implant's data are able to be downloaded into a computer as a series of scenes sequentially numbered according to the person's age in years, days and hours. Those vignettes can be edited by a "Cutter" to create a visual remembrance of the deceased. A sort of "This Is the Best of Your Life" souvenir for the survivors. Alan Hakman (Robin Williams) is such a Cutter, one of the best in the business when it comes to cleaning up a depraved life's visual record into something suitable for family viewing at the wake.
A childhood trauma involving the accidental death of a playmate, as well as the early demise of his own parents in an auto accident, have left Alan devoid of much emotion. Rather, he experiences life vicariously through his cutting jobs. According to one of the rules of the profession, a Cutter cannot have an implant. Alan discovers by chance that he has one, not being told about it by Mom and Pop before they were killed. So, the essence of the film becomes that old saw, "He who lives by the sword, dies by the sword", as Hakman comes into conflict with a renegade Cutter (James Caviezel) now running with the right-to-privacy militants that want to put the kabosh on implant technology.
Once again, Williams shows that he's an exceptional dramatic actor at the complete opposite of the spectrum from MORK AND MINDY. Because of Robin's performance and the reasonably clever concept of the implant technology, I wish I could've liked this film more, but couldn't because the central plot was so unengaging and turned-back on itself. It didn't go anywhere that made me sit up and say "Way cool!". The script was perhaps conceived by a film editor with a vicious hangover. It didn't help that the cinematography was moody and joyless - dark rooms, dark streets, and dark buildings. Even the Cutters' workstations were constructed of gloomy, retro-looking wood. And Caviezel's character elicited nothing from me whatsoever. (Of course, after you've played Jesus, anything else is a comedown.)
THE FINAL CUT is best left for a DVD rental when the computer is down and you can't surf the Web using "depression" as your search engine key word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Adequate...., 2 May 2014
By 
L. Lloyd-green (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Final Cut [DVD] (DVD)
Try's to cash in on the recent spate of serious thriller roles that Mr Williams seems to prefer nowadays, but unfortunately this film falls a long way short of the others, it's slow paced and follows a formulaic path that doesn't quite fit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Buy It!, 9 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Final Cut [DVD] (DVD)
Poignant film that, in my limited opinion, captures a sliver of the real and hidden personality of the late, great Robin Williams. Up there with One-hour Photo and Dead Poets Society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy, 29 Nov. 2013
By 
Stephanie Murray "Push over !" (Sao Paulo) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Final Cut [DVD] (DVD)
Quite a good film ,,,,, of course any movie with Robin Williams is a must ,,, he can be funny bit is also a great actor ,,, worth watching either way ,, +++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Final Cut [DVD]
The Final Cut [DVD] by Omar Naim (DVD - 2005)
£4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews