Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Player for Talking Books
I am delighted with this purchase. My old player broke down, and having previously owned a Roberts radio, I knew it was a quality name. As I listen regularly to talking books, both on CD on cassette - my own and from the library, I still need a player for these combinations. I consider this an excellent machine. The sound quality is clear and the diction precise...
Published 18 months ago by Jenipen

versus
62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but sometimes delicate.
I bought this Roberts CD/Radio/Cassette player some months ago, in late summer 2012, after my previous portable stereo box from another manufacturer stopped working (the switch to select between CD, radio or tape failed). I was pleased to be able to buy the good, better-looking Roberts product, and I am still glad of it, but I have discovered a 'however' about it. Apart...
Published 21 months ago by Patrick Holt


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Player for Talking Books, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts CD9960 CD FM/MW/LW Radio Cassette Player (Electronics)
I am delighted with this purchase. My old player broke down, and having previously owned a Roberts radio, I knew it was a quality name. As I listen regularly to talking books, both on CD on cassette - my own and from the library, I still need a player for these combinations. I consider this an excellent machine. The sound quality is clear and the diction precise. Although I have not used it for the radio very much, I have tried it and that is also very good. The price was excellent and I thought it was extremely good value. I am sure it is equally good for playing music as it is for the spoken word. I would certainly recommend it to anyone who enjoys listening to talking books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but sometimes delicate., 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts CD9960 CD FM/MW/LW Radio Cassette Player (Electronics)
I bought this Roberts CD/Radio/Cassette player some months ago, in late summer 2012, after my previous portable stereo box from another manufacturer stopped working (the switch to select between CD, radio or tape failed). I was pleased to be able to buy the good, better-looking Roberts product, and I am still glad of it, but I have discovered a 'however' about it. Apart from not being a DAB radio (I know you can't get them attached to Cassette recorders, for whatever reason) it turns out that the internal amplifier is temperature sensitive. When the ambient temperature falls below about 14 degrees centigrade, it stops working. The CD spins, is being read, or the radio is on, but nothing comes out of the speakers. This is unfortunate given the abnormally prolonged winter here in the UK 2012/2013. Those finding it difficult keeping up with fuel cost inflation nowadays should bear this in mind, and the manufacturer should get to fixing the issue in future products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best buy of the year., 14 May 2012
By 
A. Cairns "bookworm" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts CD9960 CD FM/MW/LW Radio Cassette Player (Electronics)
I think it is very good and I am pleased to be able to get local FM radio and news again and I'm also happy to play tapes and cds on it. I have quite a choice now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Faulty Roberts CD9960 FM/MW/LW Radio Cassette Player, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts CD9960 CD FM/MW/LW Radio Cassette Player (Electronics)
The cd player produces good sound, better than my wife's old Panasonic player which had stopped working, and the radio produces good, clear sound. But when she used the cassette player for the first time, some five weeks after the Amazon Returns date, she found that there is a strong grating sound as the cassette spindle rotates. We rang Roberts who said that the player is faulty and needs to be returned to them. We will have to pay for recorded delivery to Roberts who will repair it free and pay for its return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was a good find!, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts CD9960 CD FM/MW/LW Radio Cassette Player (Electronics)
This was a birthday gift for my Mum. She wanted to still be able to play her old cassettes but have a cd player too. I couldn't find a DAB digital radio that offered those but the radio on this seems very good.

Very straightforward and easy to use, a great buy for the price and Mum is thrilled with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, 17 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts CD9960 CD FM/MW/LW Radio Cassette Player (Electronics)
For a good while, I spasmodically searched for a truly portable radio (i.e. with a handle) that also played tapes and CDs. With the Roberts CD9960 I have found it! I was not expecting "concert-hall" sound and this machine doesn't give it. However, sound reproduction is good for a radio that does all three things, and which you can carry around. The only fault I have to fin is that the controls on the left (On/Off etc) are fiddly and hard to read at a distance. And the radio tuning dial is hidden at the back. I had to consult the instructions to find out where it was! Overall, a valuable recruit to my audio army!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply the best, 28 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts CD9960 CD FM/MW/LW Radio Cassette Player (Electronics)
Roberts radios are top quality, they produce good sound and live up to their reputation, they are also attractive pieces, perfect for any home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little stereo, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts CD9960 CD FM/MW/LW Radio Cassette Player (Electronics)
This is a brilliant little stereo, convenient for carrying from room to room. Good quality sound, goes to a loud volume (unlike many portables)and boasting all the normal basic features, without money-wasting frills. Even pleasing to the eye! SO worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roberts CD9960, 9 Mar. 2013
By 
B. Moody (West Sussex , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts CD9960 CD FM/MW/LW Radio Cassette Player (Electronics)
Purchased this product as it is portable, compact and still has an integral cassette player. It has a very pleasant sound and is easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boogie box player, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts CD9960 CD FM/MW/LW Radio Cassette Player (Electronics)
compact player. bought because I still have tapes. Would have really like is to have been digital. Good sound & is easy to operate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roberts CD9960 CD FM/MW/LW Radio Cassette Player
£58.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews