Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting and captivating, British music at it's best.
I missed this album first time around, and after seeing the video for 'Further' on MTV2, I had the buy the album. 'Further' immediately grabs you buy the neck and demands to be listened to. It's a beautifully crafted melodic trip along the kaliedoscopic multi-layered indie-rock highway that is Long-View.
Whilst 'Further' is an excellent example of what Long-View are...
Published on 26 July 2005 by Daryll Holland

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good effort, but Run of the Mill album
This is an album that could have reached so many but in the end, reached so few.

No doubt its tunes are infectious & carries distinctly genuine aura about them but its problems are mostly lyrical shortcomings. For instance, 'Can't Explain' begins with "You know what they say / At the end of the day / But days fade away". It's difficult to imagine song-writing...
Published on 9 Feb. 2012 by Gigoer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting and captivating, British music at it's best., 26 July 2005
This review is from: Mercury (Audio CD)
I missed this album first time around, and after seeing the video for 'Further' on MTV2, I had the buy the album. 'Further' immediately grabs you buy the neck and demands to be listened to. It's a beautifully crafted melodic trip along the kaliedoscopic multi-layered indie-rock highway that is Long-View.
Whilst 'Further' is an excellent example of what Long-View are all about, each song on the album stands out in it's own right. From the equally haunting 'Can't Explain' to the uplifting 'One more try', this album is guaranteed to please.
A break from the current 'Alternative' market, saturated with cliched eye-liner wearing whiney teens and talentless guitar smashing Nu-Metal pop bands, Long-View play straight from the heart.
For me, this album is a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classy grower, 29 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Mercury (Audio CD)
This is an excellent debut album.
I heard Further and was keen to hear more from the band. However, some of the reviews I read suggested that this was a one track album with Further being the stand out track. Then I heard When You Sleep, Nowhere and Can't Explain and I decided to take the risk.
As the reivews I read suggested, Further is a stand out track, but the album also contains a number of other excellent tracks. It is far from a one track album. In fact for me there are only two filler tracks on the album - Falling For You and Falling Without You. The album is well balanced with rockier tracks such as Electricity, Can't Explain, When You Sleep, Nowhere and the superb Will You Wait Here, and more moody tracks such as I Would and Still.
The album ends beautifully with the plaintive sound of This Is. Ignore the comparisons to Coldplay, Elbow, Doves, Embrace etc. Thre is a Mancunian feel to the album, but it stands on its own merits and its own sound. Buy it and perservere. Youll be rewarded in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best album this year, 27 July 2003
This review is from: Mercury (Audio CD)
with the lack of true guitar bands this year, i have to say i was waiting with bated breath for this album's release. And it didn't dissapoint. as soon as further kicks in, you know you are in for a good ride.
If you like leaves, elbow, coldplay and electric soft parade, you can't go far wrong.
I gave this album four stars because it could be slightly more varied but only a minor niggle.
Go buy this album-best debut of the year for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an amazing album, 5 Sept. 2005
By 
This review is from: Mercury (Audio CD)
what an awsome album! i have had the record for over a year and it has yet to bore me!! every single song is a winner and not one of them can be said to be less than the others.
if you are thinking of buying this album i higly recomend you do.You will be so glad you did.It will be worth it,promise.once you have the cd you will wonder why this band have yet to become stadium fillers. for people who truly appreciate great music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top band deserving of your attention, 16 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mercury (Audio CD)
These reviews can be tedious so I'll keep it simple: top band + ace tunes = fantastic debut album. Longview are a rare breed, a band that can lift you up one minute and drop you on your arse the next (this is a good thing!) If you've not heard much, or anything, by Longview then this is one of those moments when you bite the bullet and take the risk - BUY THIS ALBUM! I promise you, you will not be disappionted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's good, but it's not quite *the one*..., 4 Mar. 2004
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mercury (Audio CD)
I've read quotes from Longview (and their heowge singer and songwriter Rob McVey) about how the chart doesn't matter to them, and only greatness is worth aiming for. They are bold sentiments, but good ones to hold. Longview aren't there.
They are, however, a band possessing a thoroughly nice sound which is enjoyable to listen to. The problem, as is highlighted in most reviews, is undoubtedly the lyrics, which (for the most part) seem uninspired and a bit predictable. The second single, can't explain "You know what they say, at the end of the day, but days fade away" is a prime example. However, if you don't dwell for too long on the bits of this album that are like that, it is excellent. Falling For You, Further and I Would are my highlights, but the album is something you need to take as a whole, really, with a variety of emotion-driven soft rock conveyed brilliant.
Longview's sound is somewhat similar to little-known Indie band Lowgold (Lowgold also have a song entitled Mercury, a small hit back in 2000). Despite this, Longview feel like a band that might, given two or three albums more practice (and a bit more work on lyrics, come a good deal closer to greatness than they do here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adopted Mancunians Come Good, 10 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Mercury (Audio CD)
Lying somewhere in between Travis and fellow Manchester artists the Doves, Longview (like Haven before them) relocated to Manchester to finalise and release this album, and it seems some of the scene's rock heritage has rubbed off on this excellent debut.
The opener "Further" is an excellent advert for and example of the quality on this album. The opening guitar recalls Travis - Writing To Reach You, while the vocals instantly bring to mind Jimi Goodwin of Manchester's Doves.
Mercury is a soothing relaxing album, take the chorus from "Electricity" or "I Would" as a prime example. Songs such as "Nowhere" and the almost anthemic "When You Sleep" with its catchy four-chord progression are sure to bring in the sales the band richly deserves. Top marks also for bringing in female vocals on a couple of songs.
The standout track for me is "Further", and although this album does contain some real quality material, it does rather trail off towards the end into several decent, though forgettable and rather boring tracks, hence the four-star rating.
One for fans of the Liverpool and Manchester indie-rock bands from Echo & The Bunnymen to Doves and Haven, as well as the likes of Coldplay or Turin Brakes. Fans of Scottish indie bands such as Travis or Mull Historical Society would also be well advised to take notice.
In a world where RnB, HipHop, Rap, Dance and Pop rule the Top20, it's great to see new rock bands still selling albums and making quality real music. The Thrills, Athlete and Longview have all released class albums this year, long may the trend continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Energy In All The Right Places, 7 Sept. 2005
By 
Mr B J O'Leary (Olney, Bucks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mercury (Audio CD)
I saw Longview support Elbow and was blown away with their energy. After listening to the album, that energy and sincerety comes through very strongly. The whole album bristles with catchy tunes without ever becoming annoying. I've had the album since its release 2 years ago and I still play it weekly. An all round good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best debut album for a long time, 10 Aug. 2005
By 
D. Hurrell "Huzzellio" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mercury (Audio CD)
This album is a masterpiece, as soon as you hear the 1st track, Further, you know you're in for something special. It's very rare indeed that you hear an album that absorbs you like this one with every single track being beautifully crafted with no fillers featuring in the track lineup at all. As this is the third time Mercury has been released it would have been nice to finally hear some new material, however, some tracks have been nicely reworked.
Put quite simply, this album rates as one of the best debut albums in a long time.
I just hope this time the band finally get the recognition they deserve.
Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real "grower"., 3 Sept. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Mercury (Audio CD)
First time i listened to this album, i thought "so, so - a bit different".
Second time, you realise that it's eminently listenable and very, very good indeed. No need to single out any tracks, they are all good.
I'm not sure if this is an album to wheel out to impress mates - it's more of a personal, thought-provoking and uplifting record for the ipod. That's probably why they aren't more recogised as a band yet - you can't place them into any current UK music category.
But, it's certainly refreshing to hear something different and this certainly is. Very good album indeed that i would recommend to anybody with an ear for uplifting and multi-layered songs filled with soul and meaning.
Take a chance, i did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mercury
Mercury by Long-view (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews