Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Football Game Ever Got Better
Pro evo 5 better than any other footie game out there at the moment.FACT. It has an addictive quality like pro evo 4. Once you have grown familar with the slight tweaks made by Konami to passing, dribbling, and shooting, you can't stop playing it, the changes make it more like football compared to previous installments. The gameplay is much more addictive, enjoyable, and...
Published on 15 April 2006 by Luke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating
I'm not a serious gamer, I don't really have the TIME to be a serious gamer, not enough time to master every single control technique. I like to be able to pick up the controller and have a decent game of football.

PES 5 is a really fun game, but I get the feeling it could have been so much better. Its great fun to play, looks great and flows along at a good...
Published on 11 May 2007 by Mr. B. J. Roberts


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Football Game Ever Got Better, 15 April 2006
By 
Luke (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 5 (Xbox) (Video Game)
Pro evo 5 better than any other footie game out there at the moment.FACT. It has an addictive quality like pro evo 4. Once you have grown familar with the slight tweaks made by Konami to passing, dribbling, and shooting, you can't stop playing it, the changes make it more like football compared to previous installments. The gameplay is much more addictive, enjoyable, and realistic than Fifa. Fifa may have the licences but the gameplay is what counts, if your really bothered you can change names, kits, even clubs badges, in the edit mode. The Master league is better than last year and you will enjoy progressing through the seasons, winning trophies as your team improves, eventually becoming the number one team in europe.The multi-player is fantastic and matches become a matter of life or death with extreme tension filling the room just so you can prove your the best pro evo player, and you can by going online and aim to be the best in the world. There are bad points which include: the tackling is very hard and have to be timed perfectly or it will be a free kick, sometimes the referee will be biased towards the computer, but this just makes you more determined to win, also the side stepping move is now too easy to do,(sometimes by accident) and when it is always performed during a match it makes the game unrealistic. Aside from that this a real football game for anyone with an interest in football.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better then PES4 by a long way, 15 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 5 (Xbox) (Video Game)
This game gets some funny reveiews sometimes. Some people in their wisdom feel that this game doesn't deserve 5 stars. These people are purely fair weather footy players - they have not grafted with the older version of PES4 day in day out for over a year, getting to know its deep nuances. If they had, they would notice that PES5 is easily a far superior game to what was already something approaching exquisite.
Yes I understand where they're coming from - perhaps for their liking there are a few too many similarities with PES4. Perhaps so - but to my mind the best features have stayed for good reason, but what has increased plentyfold, are all the little subtleties, that only the purest PES4 fan could notice. The range of touches, and animation is so vastly improved,as to almost be dramatic. This in turn just increases the believability of the game, but also the complexity of it. So much more is possible then was before. The touches and tweaks have added whole extra dimensions to gameplay that simply didn't exist before. Konami hae excelled themselves at filling in all the gaps.
The gameplay itself is tighter too. Defenses are not as easy to break down as before, (praise be for this), and you really find yourself having to grind out results. You also notice how much more important each player is in PES5. Every man needs to do their jobs, and ball watcher's will be prosecuted. The game is to my mind more simulation like then PES4 - which again makes it better. Your enemy will constantly be trying to outwit you in the field, putting through cunning through balls and deft one two passes - you really have to keep a tight eye on your back line. All in all its a much more rewarding and involving experience then PES4 ever managaed and a big step forwards for the series - if you don't think so - you haven't played it enough - simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pro Evolution Soccer 5 – Zen Football, 24 Nov. 2005
By 
Sick Mouthy (Exeter, Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 5 (Xbox) (Video Game)
Every time a new PES is released it takes a period of adjustment, even for hardened veterans, to get used to the subtle modifications from the previous version. Each time it feels harder to control the ball, more difficult to pick a pass, and more frustrating trying to dribble, shoot, cross etcetera when you fail almost every time. But there is always a sense of a learning curve, of getting a little bit more in touch with how the mechanics have altered.
With PES5 the adjustment period (for me at least) was longer and harder than with any other version. Even now, after several weeks, I am often frustrated by my inability to pull off things I did without thinking in previous versions. For a long time I was convinced that Pro Evo had jumped the shark, had become too hard, too realistic, had become a simulator rather than a game and in doing so had lost the point of why people played it in the first place – because it’s fun.
Patience is needed with this version more than any other. PES5 requires a state of Zen football, something beyond concentration and effort. It takes a long time to adjust to the point where the game becomes instinctive, but once it does- oh wow.
The pace of the game is slower, more thoughtful. Passing and possession are key, a sensible approach to tempo is important, slow build-ups and approaches, probing the opposition for weaknesses. Passing is harder, dribbling is harder, tackling is harder – the game will not play accurate passes for you, will not automatically nick the ball off your opponent if you just tap the tackle button randomly in their vicinity. Everything needs to be timed, anticipated. You will lose possession and not get it back easily. You will give away countless free-kicks and receive yellow cards for challenges you thought were fine. You will not create scoring opportunities often. This will frustrate you to the point where your controller is in danger of being hurled at the wall.
But hang on. Set it to ** difficulty and play with Arsenal, Barcelona or AC Milan to get your confidence back. Learn the game again. View it not as a video game but as a football game. Think how players actually move, how the dynamics of a game actually flow. Adjust your approach. Give it time, feel that lack of satisfaction when you win, reset to *** difficulty and start again with a clearer head.
PES5 is the best PES ever. On first glance it looks the same, but there are more player details than ever before – different dribbling styles, the option to have players with untucked shirts, to give them friendship bands. The animation is smoother and more realistic – players strike the ball with greater fluidity, their hips more, their shoulders drop. The ball spins and swings in the air more, free-kicks dip better, the ball moves faster through the air… OK so the Bernebeu appears to be empty for almost every game, the commentary is still shocking and the background music needs to be turned off every time you load it, but… Give PES5 time. I nearly didn’t but I’m glad I have now. The feeling when Samuel Eto’o scores a tap-in after a good move between Ronadinho and Van Bommel down the left side eclipses the triumphs of earlier versions. It takes a long time and a great deal of patience and commitment, but for those people who, like me, don’t really play any other video games but have loved PES for years and play it almost every day, it is most assuredly worth it in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pro Evolution Soccer 5, 22 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 5 (Xbox) (Video Game)
Pro evo 5 is far better than fifa 2006!!!!
If you are looking for licenses buy fifa, but if you want a fun, realistic proper football game but PES5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEATS FIFA BY FAR!, 28 Dec. 2005
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 5 (Xbox) (Video Game)
This game has all you will ever want in a football game, its got the realism, the graphics and ofcourse the gameplay. Firstly, there is a new weather type ; snow. This has really good quality. Also the faces of the footballers are very defined and you can tell konami have put alot of work into this. Also as you may know from pro evo 4 there were not many licenses, but guess what they have finnally started to evolve. Chelsea now have the branded shirt and as do Arsenal and many other teams including Juventus and Inter Milan and also Real Madrid. To put Pro 5 into one word.. MUST! and i have all of the FIFA series and i thought i should buy PES5 and see what its like.. and trust me, PES5 is god!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still king of the football sim., 21 Oct. 2005
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 5 (Xbox) (Video Game)
Pro Evoloution Soccer 5 is a master peice of gaming. How do they manage each year to improve on the game? I must admit to being a bigger fan of pro evo 3 then 4 but I always knew that pro evo 4 was better. There's no mistake here. Pes5 is the best football sim by far. The game run's more smoothly and there plenty of new options to keep even the most hardcore fan entertained. One option I like is playing in the snow and how good it look's. More licences have been made availble so you get that extra feel. overall if you're a fan of football then you must purchase pro evo 5 as it's in the premier leauge of football sims.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating, 11 May 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 5 (Xbox) (Video Game)
I'm not a serious gamer, I don't really have the TIME to be a serious gamer, not enough time to master every single control technique. I like to be able to pick up the controller and have a decent game of football.

PES 5 is a really fun game, but I get the feeling it could have been so much better. Its great fun to play, looks great and flows along at a good pace. Its also great fun with two players but its a different story against the AI.

Long balls don't work, neither do through balls, the opposition has a sixth sense that tells them exaclty where the ball will go. Its impossible to score from free kicks, nearly all my shots seem to be blocked by the defender and why is it that every tackle results in a free kick to the opposition?

The biggest downfall of football games, I find, is that they are either too easy or too difficult. Playing on the easiest setting I can score ten against Arsenal, but by putting it on a higher setting, I am outplayed by teams I've never even heard of, with all the opposition players suddenly transforming into players of Zidane like quality! How many times can a player just waltz through my defence shaking off a dozen tackles before hammering home a shot from 25 yards.

I am also positive that the statistics of players don't actually make a difference. Top class players like Rooney and Gerrard have no first touch, can't pass a ball and lose the ball as soon as the first half hearted tackle comes in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You Might Feel Dissapointed, Don't Fret!!, 24 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 5 (Xbox) (Video Game)
Along comes the annual debate: "FIFA is so much better becasuse it has all the real names and teams." Great. Have fun when you are cruising 4-0 up as Rushden and Diamonds against Barca in the 33rd minute. ITs a fun game sure, but it is nowhere near PES on gameplay.
However, this latest installment may startle the diehard PES fans. No longer can you play the slick game and simply run down the wing, turn on a sixpence and dart into the box. Things have been tweaked. You need to be smart. You need to keep possession and find the simple pass and build-up the attack.
As you start you will find yourself continuously giving the ball away and then getting pulled up by the ref for a simple little trip trying to regain it. It will frustrate you, but as with the other Pro Evo games, one day you will click.
Now excuss me, I have to attempt to beat West Brom.
Yours,
Jake Johnson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, I have defected to PES5....., 23 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 5 (Xbox) (Video Game)
I bought Fifa 06 and was fairly disappointed with what the development team had done to what I think was not that bad a game in Fifa 05.
Yes, I had bough most of the Fifa games over the years.
Then I took a step onto another level. I bought PES5.
You boys who have Fifa don’t know what you are missing.
THIS is total football!
OK it has not got the licences and all the fancy candy.
You play PES5 for a week and you won’t even remember what all that fuss was about.
It is not an easy game to start with. But like another reviewer said, one day it will all click. And when it does you will be laughing with joy!
PES5 does give you far more control. The goals you score are amazing. The game play is challenging. There are loads of options you can set to tweak the game play. You can play in a Manager Mode as well as League and Cup. Practice, create players, earn points to spend in PES shop, you can even change team names as well. Save your goals! So much stuff to do.
I can honestly say that this is the best Footy game I have played.
I can’t compare with previous PES releases, because I was blinded by the hype of FIFA.
But I really have seen the light with PES5. Live life, Live Football!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pro Evo has Evolved, 27 Oct. 2005
By 
Mr. J. Swainson "joeswainson" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 5 (Xbox) (Video Game)
This game is the most realistic football sim to date hands down. The sence of reality could put off some gamers though due to its inital difficulty. The pace has been slowed down creating a less arcade like feel compared to previous konami titles such as ISS. The ball physics add to this realism, often the ball pings off a player feet if not controlled properly for example. If you run in to back of a player you trip them up so you give awy alot of freekcks at first but soon learn to control your guys well. A training mode once again has been added which is very useful to all th PES virgins with various challenges and scenarios such as passing, freekick and build up play practice.
The realism means often a lower scoring game on the harder settings in commparrison to Fifa 06. You cant just play a throughball from midfield run on to it and score like in Fifa. In most cases it takes a few neat passes or an good high ball to create an effective attack. The level of in game detail is impressive such as some players shirts hanging out and seeing their air in cold weather plus snow on the pitch all add to the games emmursive feel.
Various game modes such as your obvious cup and leauges are good fun although the Masterleague is the most popular mode. Similar to Fifas Carrer mode this involves you selecting any team then taking them from div 2 upwards , you can buy players etc managing your team to glory. The format of the Masterleague is a little unrealistic though with one 2nd div the four main divisions. You can customize these or have the presetting which is one Eeglish, one Spannish and one Italian then one random league. If you are used to Fifas realism this could dissapoint.
This games main floor is that it is only partially lisenced, with Spannish,Italian and Dutch all there, plus a few random teams including Chelski and Arsenal as well as The old firm. This means you have to Edit the Prem and Bundesliga Which takes time but is worth it. You can change the team names, strips badges, players names and league names as well as all the cup names!!!
I bought Fifa when it came out played it for two weeks and exchanged it for this. The fact is fifa gets boring you are always scoring the same sort of goal where as you never score the same sort of goal on PRO EVO. Apart from the master leauges weird format this is a very good game not perfect but very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pro Evolution Soccer 5 (Xbox)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews