Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not perfect, 11 Mar 2007
This review is from: A Million In Prizes: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Iggy's best of, from early years with The Stooges (ignoring his first group The Iguanas, from whence he got his name) through to collaborations with Bowie, dodgy 80's synths, comedy duets, finally ending up...well, back with The Stooges again!

Just about everything on disc one is great, but Raw Power is over represented whilst the ultimate Stooges classic album Fun House gets one measly track. Even with the first ten tracks being Stooges performances, there are still classics missing. Understandable, as Iggy has lots of great solo stuff to fit in to two discs.

Understandable until you get to disc two anyway, where you suddenly face two live versions of Funhouse songs. This is annoying in two ways - firstly becuase albums like Solider, Instinct and American Caesar are under represented, and secondly...why didn't they put the proper Stooges versions of the live tracks on here??? The inclusion of the pathetic Well Did You Evah is baffling. This track has finally stopped being included on Blondie compilations, and now here it is again on Iggy's. Why?????

But what the hey, this can be picked up cheaply, and if you don't know Iggy this will give you a reasonable over view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent selection..., 7 Aug 2005
By 
John David Charles Hilton "Creative spark...." (Redcliffe, Bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Million In Prizes: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Like most anthologies, this one is aimed at interested parties, rather than committed fans. Apart from two live tracks, this is all straight from the relevant albums.

The collection opens with the killer 1969, the first of ten tracks from the Stooges days.

The classic 'bowie' years follow, and it is good to hear China Girl and Tonight in their proper versions. The brilliant Passenger makes for an excllent finish to the first disc.

Side two doesn't contain many well known tracks but is just as solid as the first CD. They even manage to pluck two good songs from the underwhelming Blah Blah Blah album. Well, Did you Evah! is a great fun duet with Debbie Harry and the closing Iggy and the Stooges reunion (Skull Ring) makes for a fitting end to this compilation.

This is a thoughtfully compiled and nicely presented collection. The remastered sound is sympathetic to the originals and looses none of the power of the early Stooges work. The two short essays in the booklet are informative for the uninitiated. And that front cover picture is a masterpiece.

Iggy Pop is one of rock's masters. His lust for life is almost unparrelled. If you are a rock fan and don't have any Iggy in your collection yet, then this collection is a great way to start...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the whole story & back again, 28 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: A Million In Prizes: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Having found Iggy in the 70's listened to him in my 20's & lost him when i did the parenting stuff, thinking i'd grown up! I was blast back to something i don't want to lose or leave ( you know that association of times & songs & people etc!). It's all there & for any part-time forty-something it's a must. Just for the reverse sleeve of a man worth a million in prizes. This is something so deserving in it's title & a must in any cd collection. Everyone should listen to this glittering piece of passion & burn with desire & never grow old without a fight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the seminal stuff on CD 1, 25 Nov 2007
This review is from: A Million In Prizes: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Definitely an anthology of 2 halves, this one. CD1 is awesome with lots of early Stooges tracks and the best of his solo stuff "Lust for life", "China girl", "The Passenger" etc. "Search and Destroy" is speaker-blowing brilliant! You can tell this is important, seminal stuff - the kind of stuff you've always been aware of but had never really located as being Iggy Pop before. When you get beyond the "wild man of rock" tag and the stories of his legendary debauchery, it comes as a bit of a surprise to realise what a good vocalist he is and has written some very good and interesting lyrics. As for CD2.... apart from the nice melody on "Candy", "Wild America" and "Real Wild Child" I could have done without the rest of it. I always feel record companies are scraping the barrel when they stick live tracks from this or that recent "festival". But as this is likely to be the only Iggy Pop record I buy I'm content enough for the riches contained on CD1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Niceeeee, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Million In Prizes: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Got to love a bit of Iggy, a good bargain and a decent collection of tracks!! :D :D I bought it for the well known songs but its great to have a bit more in the collection,niceeee :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it!, 26 July 2009
By 
D. L. Wilkinson "Dean" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Million In Prizes: The Anthology (Audio CD)
If you have a passing interest in hard rock,punk,new wave and pop music from 1969 to 2003 get this compilation.Then buy all the albums!
I can't think of anything bad to say.It has several lesser known non-official album tracks that are great as well.
Iggy has always been consistantly interesting for at least the past 40 years and judging by his latest album Preliminaires,shows no sign of stopping being interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The rise & fall of Iggy..., 18 Feb 2008
By 
C. Whyatt "Music Lover" (Wargrave, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Million In Prizes: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Five stars for the first CD, which has some of the best and most influential music ever made on it, not no stars for the second CD, which documents the sad collapse of Iggy's career after the 70's. A duet with Debbie Harry defines the words 'rock bottom'. Buy for CD 1, use CD 2 for you coffee cup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Iggy, 11 Mar 2007
This review is from: A Million In Prizes: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Iggy Pop is one of the legendary characters of rock music. Like Ozzy, Alice Cooper and Keith Richards he is one of the great survivors. Indeed he can even give old Keith a run for his money in the most wrinkly living rocker stakes. Iggy and the Stooges have always been the darlings of the critics, especially post punk. The Stooges together with the MC5 and the New York Dolls were usually thought of as the precursers of punk. This is undoubtedly true, although I believe all three of these bands simply weren't ultimately good enough to be classed as truly great (like most punk bands!) and it's not really surprising that they didn't sell in their lifetimes. Of course all three and the subsequent punk movement itself owed a great deal to a much greater and unsuccessful in their lifetime band - the Velvet Underground. The Velvets were much more original and varied and are probably quite rightly regarded as the most influential rock band this side of the Beatles. I would say that The Stooges were actually better than the New York Dolls and the MC5. Indeed, to me the early MC5 are little more than a tuneless row and Iggy is certainly a more distinctive rock singer than the MC5's Rob Tyner, whilst the Dolls, despite having a few good songs, were very inconsistent. However, I do think the Stooges were also thoroughly inconsistent. The first album has three classics: '1969', 'I Wanna Be Your Dog' and 'No Fun' and all are included here. The rest of that album is much weaker and 'We Will Fall' in particular is a ten minute dirge which is waste of vinyl. The second Stooges album 'Fun House' is the one the critics really rave over, but it's too atonal for me - 'L.A. Blues' in particular is just a noise - and understandably that album is only represented by one track on this compilation: 'Down On The Street'. Although two later live versions of 'Fun House' songs - 'TV Eye' and 'Loose' - do feature on the second disc. For me 'Raw Power', the third and final (original) album by the Stooges (now called Iggy and the Stooges) was their best. Once again three tracks are included here: 'Search and Destroy', 'Gimme Danger' and the title track. The Stooges always had great song titles! There are a couple more 'Raw Power' tracks that I would like to have seen included in 'Penetration' and 'I Need Somebody' but I suppose five of that albums eight tracks would have been too much. There are also a few outakes here by Iggy and The Stooges, none of which are as strong as the songs that made the final albums. Some people would argue that you really need to buy 'Fun House' as well, but I think this anthology pretty much covers everything the Stooges did of note.

Moving on to Iggy's solo material there are nine tracks from his two most famous and best albums 'The Idiot' and 'Lust For Life', including such classics as 'China Girl', 'Nightclubbing' and 'The Passenger'.

The quality of the material dips somewhat on the second disc as it cannot be doubted that Iggy was inconsistent and produced a lot of poor albums in the 80's and 90's. Having said that, there is still a pleasing amount of good stuff even on the second disc such as 'Real Wild Child' which always reminded me of Billy Idol.

The sleeve notes by Lenny Kaye and Danny Fields don't really amount to all that much, but there is comprehensive annotation of each song's recording, personnel and original source which is always nice to have on an anthology.

Whilst it is inconsistent this anthology does contain all that was on the previous Iggy compilation 'Nude and Rude', and much, much more. Therefore it is undoubtedly worth buying as it really contains everything of note by this legendary but inconsistent artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Million In Prizes: The Anthology
A Million In Prizes: The Anthology by Iggy Pop (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews