Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a poetic tale
Lynn Stopkewich's tale is a fascinating twist on the usual love story, following Sandra Larsson (engagingly performed by the suitably intriguing Molly Parker), whose strange childhood attraction with death develops further after she starts working at a funeral home as an adult. The film poetically portrays the trobled woman as she embarks upon a relationship with medical...
Published on 19 Mar 2007 by The Sundance Kid

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weird and brave
I'm a fan of Harold & Maude and Six Feet Under, and I though this would be in the same vein. Even Six Feet Under didn't go into the territory that this film explores. It's a taboo subject. The director hasn't shirked any details, which is commendable. It's a shocking film, and I it was educational to watch, a real art-house experience - worthy, slow and weird.
Published on 2 Jan 2010 by William Cohen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a poetic tale, 19 Mar 2007
This review is from: Kissed [1997] [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
Lynn Stopkewich's tale is a fascinating twist on the usual love story, following Sandra Larsson (engagingly performed by the suitably intriguing Molly Parker), whose strange childhood attraction with death develops further after she starts working at a funeral home as an adult. The film poetically portrays the trobled woman as she embarks upon a relationship with medical student Matt - as well as acting on her attractions to some of the corpses she embalms at work. Enthralling and slightly bizarre this is definitely a very interesting film. Whoever said romance is dead...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great flick !, 16 Feb 2001
This review is from: Kissed [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
A must see for those with a keen interest in abnormal psychology.It relates the story of a girl who loves to engage in necrophiliac sex, but it is done in such a virtous way that there seems to be nothing at all wrong with what she is doing. Emil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film about love and Necrophilia done tastefully, 12 April 2007
By 
G. Jones (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kissed [1997] [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
A touching story about a young girl obsessed with death who grows up and becomes a necrophiliac. A tastefully made and moving film exploring sexuality. It's the only film I've ever seen that doesn't portray necrophilia as sick and disgusting but shows us through the main character's eyes why it fulfils her. If you enjoyed Secretary you should

give this film a try. It also has a beautiful soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weird and brave, 2 Jan 2010
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Kissed [1997] [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a fan of Harold & Maude and Six Feet Under, and I though this would be in the same vein. Even Six Feet Under didn't go into the territory that this film explores. It's a taboo subject. The director hasn't shirked any details, which is commendable. It's a shocking film, and I it was educational to watch, a real art-house experience - worthy, slow and weird.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A film about love and Necrophilia done tastefully, 14 Dec 2006
By 
G. Jones (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kissed [DVD] [1998] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A touching story about a young girl obsessed with death who grows up and becomes a necrophiliac. A tastefully made and moving film exploring sexuality. It's the only film I've ever seen that doesn't portray necrophilia as sick and disgusting but shows us through the main character's eyes why it fulfils her. If you enjoyed Secretary you should

give this film a try. It also has a beautiful soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very "art house", 15 Aug 2011
This review is from: Kissed [1997] [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
This film had great reviews when it came out and I never got to see it as it had limited theatrical release in the UK, so when I spotted it on DVD I snapped it up. 15 years maybe tastes have changed, I remember it being called inspiring, brave, and similar epithets but now it just seems weird and uncomfortable watching.

The performances are edgy and tense and there is a palpable darkness woven throughout the film. It perhaps lacks some of the naturalism and humour which more recent movies examining the extremes of human behaviour have.

But if you are looking for a movie about necrophilia your choices are limited.

I'm glad I watched it but I'm in no hurry to watch it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Film, 30 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Kissed [1997] [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
A very unusual subject for a film. As in all films of off the norm subjects one does have to have an open mind. I liked it because of it, tastefully handled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kissed [DVD] [1998] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Kissed [DVD] [1998] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] by Lynne Stopkewich (DVD - 2005)
£53.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews