Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merry Good Game
Robin Hood is similiar in style to commandos, but is set in medieval England. Each level sees you sneaking around castles (each level is beautifully hand drawn and detailed) taking out guards, rescuing merry men or stealing gold and treasures. Between, each main "castle" mission, you also have the choice of ambushing a convoy in the forest, to steal more gold. Between...
Published on 30 April 2006 by Ant Goober

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood: The Legend of Sherwood PC
I didn't persevere with this game. The graphics are not as clear as, say, the Stronghold series, and I found it a bit fiddly switching character controls over between Robin and one of the merry men who accompanies him on each mission. In fighting hand to hand, you have to click and hold and make a sweeping circular motion with the mouse to operate the sword. Quite...
Published on 22 Feb 2006 by EJ


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merry Good Game, 30 April 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Robin Hood: The Legend of Sherwood (PC) (Video Game)
Robin Hood is similiar in style to commandos, but is set in medieval England. Each level sees you sneaking around castles (each level is beautifully hand drawn and detailed) taking out guards, rescuing merry men or stealing gold and treasures. Between, each main "castle" mission, you also have the choice of ambushing a convoy in the forest, to steal more gold. Between every mission, you return to your base in Sherwood Forest, where you set your merry men to work, either making arrows or other weapons for use in missions, or training them to fight, increasing their statistics. Brilliant, beautiful strategy game. (If you like this, I also recomend Desperados. Buy them both for 5 each off amazon!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good representation of the Robin Hood legend!, 9 Feb 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Robin Hood: The Legend of Sherwood (PC) (Video Game)
This game was a thrilling piece of PC software--both complicated and fun at the same time. It requires both strategic abilities and a lot of courage too, to take on the guards throughout the levels!

I found that one of the most entertaining features of this game was the area of Sherwood, visited between, before and after missions, where objects are produced. This makes the game stand out from the rest.

The graphics, I agree, are not brilliant, but it is made up for in the intuitive form of fighting--no more hammering the keyboard keys, this uses graceful, swift moves of the mouse which are easy to pick up.

The storyline is close to the legend of Robin Hood, and is also educational while it is played because the gamer learns not only about the legend, but also about this history of the 1100s.

In conclusion, I think this is a cleverly put together piece of software, and is very fun to play--but is also difficult, which means it is exciting also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little buy., 4 April 2009
By 
K. Hardy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Robin Hood: The Legend of Sherwood (PC) (Video Game)
I have had this game for ages, and every so often i have to go back and play it again.

Now first of all i don't know anything about the Robin Hood stories so i can't say if it is completely acurate, or totally made up. Although in all honesty, a lot of people will just be interested in playing the game.

Firstly it is a more 2D based game, where you basically have control over certain characters. Each character can do different things, such as Robin himself who can shoot arrows, Little John who can punch enemies round the head etc. Each character comes with certain sayings when they are fighting, little bit annoying once you hear them a hundred times! The overall plot of the game is very interesting and very addictive. Various missions are included from killing off people, to saving your own "merry men"

The graphics have been mentioned in past reviews, personally i think for a 2D game they look brilliant. The buildings are very detailed, specially the castle walls, which really does help to make the game as good as it really is.

Well worth the price it sells for now, and you may find yourself slightly sniggering to some of the comments said by the various characters. Great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin Hood: The Legend of Sherwood (PC) (Video Game)
Working extremely fantastically well even when it is loading it will just take 2 sec, in which I am most impressed l
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood: The Legend of Sherwood PC, 22 Feb 2006
This review is from: Robin Hood: The Legend of Sherwood (PC) (Video Game)
I didn't persevere with this game. The graphics are not as clear as, say, the Stronghold series, and I found it a bit fiddly switching character controls over between Robin and one of the merry men who accompanies him on each mission. In fighting hand to hand, you have to click and hold and make a sweeping circular motion with the mouse to operate the sword. Quite neat/original in some ways but got a little boring and repetitive after a while. You can click on the intended final destination for a character and let the machine find the path through (if there is one) which helps somewhat. In general though, I will stick to first person games of the NOLF2, Max Payne type and, on the more stragtegic side, the Stronghold and Total War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars avoid, 16 Aug 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Robin Hood: The Legend of Sherwood (PC) (Video Game)
all the voices in this game have southern accents including robin hood - this game isnt anything to do with the northern england legend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robin Hood: The Legend of Sherwood (PC)
Robin Hood: The Legend of Sherwood (PC) by Sold Out Software (Windows XP)
Used & New from: 0.55
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews