Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good but not their best, 3 Nov 2006
This review is from: Chapter V (Audio CD)
I bought Chapter V with no knowledge of Staind's previous work, mainly on a whim, and I thought it was great.

The opening riff of Run Away grabs you, and it's chorus will stick in your head for days. Right Here follows it, confirming a great album. There are soulful, heartfelt and honest lyrics from Aaron Lewis, who seems to pour himself into every song. Staind have given several songs more anger than the others, and Paper Jesus is particularly good, politically based hard rock. They also have brilliant softer moments though(Schitzophrenic Conversations). I liked the thought of Reply, which is the band's thankyou to all their fans.

So, great rock album huh? The reviews on here certainly make you think so. However, if you go to any major critic site, quite a lot of people seem to hate both this album and its creators. They are after all, members of the nu-metal "plague".

But if you look past the critics, look past the hated "nu-metal", look past the bald fat man singing, you will find an amazing band. So I would urge all Staind fans to buy this album, it's a really great to have on your shelf.

If you are new to the band though, I would advise you to buy Break the Cycle or 14 shades of grey. Both of these albums are more soulful, more heartfelt than their equivalents on this album, and Staind's earlier work, Dysfunction and Tormented are more angry and pained than their equivalents on this album. Unfortuneately, Chapter V sits in the no-mans land between their original anger and their later sorrow.

Still truly great, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars V Stars For Chapter V, 6 Sep 2005
This review is from: Chapter V (Audio CD)
Staind return with 'Chapter V,' great news for fans, better news for those left relatively unfulfilled by their last album '14 Shades Of Gray.'
By looking at the track listings up the page first impressions may indicate a dark tone of religious cynicism with tracks entitled 'Paper Jesus' and 'Devil,' however as Fred Durst well and truly knows a negative first impression can lead to a misperception.
'Chapter V' contains a blend of both heavy metal and post grunge riffs and a more acoustic, melodic essence which has provided the band with many a success in the past. The heavier tracks such as 'Paper Jesus,' 'Cross To Bear,' 'Falling' and 'King Of All Excuses' resembles the early career of Staind's self-released debut album 'Tormented' and follow-up 'Dysfunction.' This is encouraging for both the long time fan and the new member of the fan club.
There is a sense of maturation in the band's musical execution of this album.The pick of the slower ballads include 'Schizophrenic Conversations' and 'Everything Changes,' the latter, personally, seemed to echo Switchfoot's 'I Dare You To Move.'
One thing that stood out to me was how Mike Mushok's(lead guitarist) displayed his talent that I have been waiting to hear for years. Mini guitar solos occur on 'Schizophrenic Conversations' and beautifully fine solo on the final track 'Reply.' In fact all the band members have excelled themselves in this album and should be very proud of their efforts on this particular album. The inspiration of the likes of Alice In Chains is clear throughout the album, but obviously Staind add their 'personal genius' to create the fifth chapter in the Staind encyclopedia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Album!, 11 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Chapter V (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the grounds that i like this particular band's other work. I enjoyed "Break the Cycle" and "14 Shades of Grey" and so i thought that this could only get better.
I was not dissapointed. With great, influential lyrics and brilliant music this album is a definate 5 stars. I'd advise anybody who may not be familiar with this band to either try another album from this band or to become familiar! This is a great album for anybody who is a current fan. If you are not a current fan my advice to you is to try one of the previous albums mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good!, 10 Aug 2005
This review is from: Chapter V (Audio CD)
I have just bought this album as ive been waiting for it for a while now, and oh yes, it was well worth the wait, the guitar riffs in run away (a great opener) and the intro to paper jesus will just get you fired up for the rest of the album, the mellow songs just seem to blend in perfectly with the heavier songs, great lyrics - which you would expect from aaron. I would rate this as their best album, all the songs have potential to be great singles, its a shame their not has highly rated over here, definately one of the most underated bands, its time to spread the word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Staind..., 12 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. N. J. Henderson (Bude, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chapter V (Audio CD)
Anyone who is a fan of Staind's early work will not have been impressed with any of their efforts since 2001, but for fans of alternative, hard rock this album is a must.
Staind now deliver a more commercial friendly rock sound, extremly well suited to mainstream radio.
Lead single "Right Here" is a prime example, Aaron Lewis's moody lyrics suited over distorted guitars and powerful drums, "Why can't you just forgive me?" he cries out in this song.
Overall, Staind deliver a modest album here, it dosn't really scale the heights of "Break The Cycle," but "Chapter V" has it's very strong moments and sure this album should keep Staind fans more than happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Staind are pushing their boundaries, 8 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Chapter V (Audio CD)
Schizophrenic conversations is an epic piece of music from the start, flowing neatly in to a sweet solo, and ending witht the same strength that it began with. It is easily my favourite song on the album as a whole. Some could call it the new Its Been A While. Everything Changes is also a lighter number which is'nt that disimilar to outside in some respects. It is also easy to see Layne Staleys influence on Aaron in the chorus to Run Away. Falling, Please and Right Here instantly become stamped to your head. Cross to bear and Paper Jesus take a slightly heavier stint. This album is a masterpiece in its own right. I would predict Schizophrenic Conversations being a big hit in the very near future. Go buy, listen, sit back and relax to this CD NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously addictive, 16 April 2006
This review is from: Chapter V (Audio CD)
I bought this cd after reading the reviews, mostly on a whim! I wasn't disappointed, I love all the tracks and most are seriously addictive. It's a great cd to add to your collection, one you're guaranteed to play over and over again. (Especially good listening at extreme volume) Can't really say anything that hasn't already been said about this album other than urge anyone to buy it. So go with your whim and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Staind in their finest hour in terms of contrasted styles., 10 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Chapter V (Audio CD)
I cant sum up just how brilliant this album is in total, so I'll just write a small review about each of the songs.

1. Run Away: 8/10 This song is an exelent opening track and gives you a very good idea of how the whole album sounds.

2. Right Here: 10/10 The first singe from the album and widely considered as Chapter Vs own 'It's Been A While' track.

3. Paper Jesus: 8/10 A very powerful song that goes back towards Staind's earlier sound.

4. Schizophrenic Conversations: 10/10 By far the best song on the album. The slow and melodic sound is the perfect contrast to the rest of the albums tracks.

5. Falling: 9/10 More of a traditional 'metal' sounding song, Falling is easily one of the best songs on the album.

6. Cross To Bear: 7/10 This one is probably the worst song on the album, yet still brilliant.

7. Devil: 9/10 Slower than most other track on the album, Devil is the perfect example of Staind's newer sound.

8. Please: 8/10 Please is a slow sounnding song with a very heavy riff about three quarters of the way though it and a very heavy riff to go behind the chorus.

9. Everything Changes: 10/10 Even though it is the acoustic version of the song, Everythnig Changes still offers alot in terms of a powerful riff and very melodic vocals.

10. Take This: 8/10 I'd say this is the albums main melody. Its extreamly slow and relaxing. Its the albums answer to Break The Cycles 'Epiphany'.

11. King Of All Excuses: 10/10 The heaviest song on the album is the closest thing to Staind's roots on this album. It's mind blowing.

12. Reply: 9/10 A song wrote by Aaron to thank all of the bands fans for all of their support over the years, it is the perfect way to end an almost perfect album .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After a blip ... they're back, 14 Aug 2005
By 
Chris Read "Chris Read" (Northampton,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chapter V (Audio CD)
Anyone who like me thought 'Break The Cycle' was a simply breath taking piece of work, may, like me have been disappointed with the follow up '14 Shades...'
I fell in love with band the moment I heard Cycle .... the blend of Mellow vs bone shaking riffs is for me just as good as it gets ....
The MTv unplugged backed up the emotion I felt poutring out of them ... and then the full on live experience left me feeling that after my 50th gig, I wasnt gonna see a better show .... and its a shame so many people are missing out ..... it was one of those 'I feel old' moments .... not only did I not see another 30 year old there ..... Im not sure i saw 20 year old there either ... but that just gave me a glow ..... it was packed ... and tells me in our younger generation, music in in good hands ...
This album is a masterpiece .... more mature than 'Cycle' and yes probably more commercial ... but some of the grit is back and it ends up being a kind of mid ground between the last two albums ....
On 'Grey', the vocal melodies just werent cutting it for me, and i was quite frankly gutted and did not hold hight hopes for 'V' .....
lets just say it is great to be this wrong ... and im so glad CDs dont wear out like LPs used to
What amazed me when I heard Cycle was how much emotion could be got across with such simplistic songs ... well they have matured ... and it adds a new dimension to the songs
My favorite band ... I hope they are around for a very very long time .... so go do the musice world a favour ....buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Break The Cycle Pt. 2, 6 Aug 2005
This review is from: Chapter V (Audio CD)
Staind did it again!!! I have already bought and listened the "Chapter V" album and, trust me, it KICK ASS!!! The album mixed both part of Staind's music, from melodic to hard-rock and, this album proves the maturity of Staind in creating music. Powerful songs of Staind are: Run Away, Paper Jesus, Falling, Cross To Bear, King Of All Excuses and, melodic songs are: Right Here, Schizoprenhic Conversations, Devil, Everything Changes and so on. You will not be disappointing in buying this album and, i think it will be the best album of 2005 so, go ahead and get for yourself a copy of this album!!! STAIND, I LOVE YOU ALL!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chapter V
Chapter V by Staind (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews