Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing collection of good old Hammerfilms
The little Hammer studio very often had to look for partners overseas to produce their amazing pictures. While other big Film studios like Warner and MGM released “their” Hammer films some time ago on DVD it seems that these eight (European!) movies rested for ages in the vaults of the Universal studios in LA. It was impossible to get them here in Austria for...
Published on 9 Jan. 2006 by Teenage Werewolf

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Brides of Dracula" is NOT in its proper 1.66 aspect ratio!
I bought this solely for "Brides of Dracula", in the expectation that it was presented in its proper theatrical aspect ratio (1.66:1). IT WAS NOT!

I have "Brides of Dracula" in the 4:3 (1.33) ratio and, yes, the sides have been cropped, but it, also, has MORE image at the top & bottom. This Hammer Horror Series DVD of "Brides of...
Published 1 month ago by PhillyJQ


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thrills & Chills Galore, 2 Jun. 2010
By 
This review is from: Hammer Horror Series [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is a nice little collection of eight Hammer films from the 1960s, released on two double-sided discs. The films are as follows:

Disc 1 - Side A
THE BRIDES OF DRACULA (1960) * * * * *
Screen Ratio: 1.66:1
Running Time: 86 minutes
Directed by Terence Fisher

One of Dracula's disciples, Baron Meinster (David Peel), creates havoc in an exclusive girls' school. Can Dr. Van Helsing (Peter Cushing) put a stop to his evil antics?

THE CURSE OF THE WEREWOLF (1961) * * * *
Screen Ratio: 1.85:1
Running Time: 93 minutes
Directed by Terence Fisher

A boy called Leon, who is a bastard child that was born on Christmas Eve, is destined to become a werewolf, according to legend. Strangely enough, that's just what happens.

Disc 1 - Side B
THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA (1962) * * * *
Screen Ratio: 2.00:1
Running Time: 85 minutes
Directed by Terence Fisher

A lavish film version of Gaston Leroux's classic tale with Herbert Lom as the mysterious phantom. The real villain of the piece though is a composer called Ambrose (Michael Gough).

PARANOIAC (1963) * * * *
Screen Ratio: 2.35:1
Running Time: 80 minutes
Directed by Freddie Francis

The thought-to-be-dead brother of an heiress suddenly turns up again to claim his inheritance but is he really who he says he is?

Disc 2 - Side A
THE KISS OF THE VAMPIRE (1962) * * * *
Screen Ratio: 1.85:1
Running Time: 88 minutes
Directd by Don Sharp

A newly-wed couple on their honeymoon in Bavaria get mixed up with a vampire cult.

NIGHTMARE (1964) * * *
Screen Ratio: 2.35:1
Running Time: 83 minutes
Directed by Freddie Francis

A thriller with lots of twists and turns as a teenage girl witnesses the murder of her father by her mother and then fears for her own sanity.

Disc 2 - Side B
NIGHT CREATURES (1962) * * * *
Screen Ratio: 2.00:1
Running Time: 80 minutes
Directed by Peter Graham Scott

Also known as "Captain Clegg", this action-thriller is about a notorious pirate and smuggler (played by Peter Cushing) who poses as a vicar to avoid suspicion.

THE EVIL OF FRANKENSTEIN (1964) * * *
Screen Ratio: 1.85:1
Running Time: 87 minutes
Directed by Freddie Francis

Frankie's up to his old tricks once again and brings his creature back to life with the usual disastrous results.

All of the films in this collection are well worth watching, especially if you are a Hammer fan, but the best of the bunch (in my opinion) is Terence's Fisher's "The Brides Of Dracula".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eight 'Andy 'Ammer 'Orror Flix: +++/***** = Bloody Recommended., 24 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Horror Series [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This Region one 2 disc/8 film boxed set has been reviewed many times on both the U.K and U.S.A. sites. Before buying I hesitated a lot because many have said the discs they were sent had faults, when viewed, owing to 'cramming' 2 films on each side of one disc: a most annoying and ridiculous issuing formate.
24/3/2011: I have now had time to see/hear all 8 films and with the exception of 'Paranoiac', which displayed 2 separate brief (less than one second) aspects of visual corruption, ALL the other films played back virtually faultlessly. N.B: I viewed each film very carefully making sure all of each was carefully seen and heared.
For anyone who likes Hammer Horror I can't recommend this Series of 8 films highly enough. For me an added bonus was that 4 of the films I'd never seen and surprised me by all being good, as were the other 4 that I had seen.
If you're looking for a film critique about each of the films, there are lots of reviews here so no need to add any more; I'd be repeating on what's already been written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Horror Series [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Kiss of the Vampire and Brides of Dracula are classics and look great on this release. Curse of the Werewolf is also well worth a watch and hard to get hold of on DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Hammer, 24 July 2010
By 
John Graham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Horror Series [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
If you are a hammer films fan ,then this is a must have for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Brides of Dracula" is NOT in its proper 1.66 aspect ratio!, 26 Jan. 2015
By 
PhillyJQ (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Horror Series [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I bought this solely for "Brides of Dracula", in the expectation that it was presented in its proper theatrical aspect ratio (1.66:1). IT WAS NOT!

I have "Brides of Dracula" in the 4:3 (1.33) ratio and, yes, the sides have been cropped, but it, also, has MORE image at the top & bottom. This Hammer Horror Series DVD of "Brides of Dracula" has LESS image at the top & bottom, and a TINY bit more at the sides. Sure, it fills a 16:9 screen, but it has been blown-up in order to do that (and, consequently, a little less sharp than my 4:3 DVD).

My estimate is that this is more like a 1.40:1 presentation. And not any better than my full-screen DVD because it's a little less sharp! Are the other films on the disk in their proper ratio? I don't know, but if Universal disregarded the proper ratio for "Brides of Dracula", why should they respect the ratios of the other films? Boy, am I glad that I didn't waste money a new DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Horror Series [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Imprescindible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Horror Series [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Horror Series [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Item as described - fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hammer Horror Series [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews