Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Nightmare" and "Paranoiac" At Last!!, 22 July 2007
By 
Mr. B. Fraser (London United Kindom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Horror Series [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This little set is worth it alone for the above chillers, which have superb production values.
The BFI in London has the only 35mm print in the country of 'Nightmare' and a splendid film too, crisply shot in Black + White, superbly photographed as is 'Paranoiac' from the Francis/Sangster team. The others are entertaining too and seldom seen on Television, definitely worth adding to your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just an added note., 14 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. Martin D. Saunders (Portland, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hammer Horror Series [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I agree with all those who love this set. It's brilliant."Night Creatures", however, is not really a horror film, more a costume drama, with Peter Cushing and Oliver Reed as 18th Century smugglers.It was originally released as a second feature to "Phantom of the Opera",(also in this collection),under the title of "Captain Clegg". It's actually a pretty faithful adaptation of Russell Thorndyke's novel "Doctor Syn".This may be of use to those who didn't recognise the American title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing collection of good old Hammerfilms, 9 Jan 2006
This review is from: Hammer Horror Series [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The little Hammer studio very often had to look for partners overseas to produce their amazing pictures. While other big Film studios like Warner and MGM released “their” Hammer films some time ago on DVD it seems that these eight (European!) movies rested for ages in the vaults of the Universal studios in LA. It was impossible to get them here in Austria for a very long time. So although I have to have a multi region DVD player and a NTSC compatible TV and despite the quite high costs for transport and customs duty I am very glad that this collection finally came out because this here is great stuff from the house of Hammer!
There are two double-sided DVDs with these movies;
The Brides of Dracula starring Peter Cushing
The Curse of the Werewolf starring Oliver Reed
Phantom of the Opera starring Herbert Lom
Paranoiac starring Oliver Reed
The Kiss of the Vampire starring Clifford Evans
Nightmare starring Jennie Linden
Night creatures starring Peter Cushing
The evil of Frankenstein starring (of course) Peter Cushing
No extras like trailers or audio commentary (which is a bit of a shame)
Only “Phantom of the Opera” was kind of a disappointment for me. Herbert Lom is a great and powerful actor and Terence Fisher was one of Hammers best directors but for me this film still is a boring and unconvincing version of the story by Gaston Leroux.
All the other movies are very good and highly enjoyable especially the three with the great Peter Cushing (who is absolutely adorable in “Night creatures”) and of course the films with the young Oliver Reed. “The Curse of the Werewolf” alone is reason enough to buy this DVDs.
Every fan of Hammer, Peter Cushing and good old Gothic Horror should buy this collection. It is really great entertainment!
Just buy it and see for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars some forgotten gems., 9 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Ward Davies (Canterbury , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hammer Horror Series [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
this is a collection of rather obscure hammer films that include both horror and thrillers.

best films here in my opinion, are "brides of dracula," "night creatures" and "curse of the werewolf."

the latter has been fully restored after spending years being broadcast minus about 5 minutes or more. now running at approximately 92 minutes, the film makes more sense.

the one and only peter cushing leads the way in three films including one of his most famous characters, baron frankenstein.

"kiss of the vampire" is one of the stronger entries in this collection. the weakest is "phantom of the opera."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent set, 31 Oct 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hammer Horror Series [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
These eight films are difficult if not impossible to get hold of on region 2 and hardly ever get shown on television. So this set which I bought from Amazon.com is well worth getting, and its quite a bargain, hence it gets 5 stars.

So far I have only seen three of the eight films. Although long ago I may well have watched them all.
Brides of Dracula is a minor classic starring Peter Cushing. Ok its missing Christopher Lee, but its directed by Terence Fisher who made all the best Hammer films.
Kiss of the Vampire has some classic moments although it is let down by a plot with some large holes in it and the absence of Christopher Lee is more important that in Brides of Dracula as they let Noel Willman try and impersonate him which doesn't work!
Paranoica is a clever psychological thriller in black and white with Oliver Reed which has some suspenseful moments and certainly merits a second viewing.

The set is on 2 double-sided discs (two films per side - four films per disc) and is nicely packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous compendium, 19 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Horror Series [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I have waited for years to get hold of some of these, Oliver Reed in Curse of the Werewolf and Paranoiac, a truly under estimated actor, he is stunningly handsome and believable, Paranoiac in black and white gives it an edge to a great thriller with a twist
Recommend the box set to all Hammer House fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS HAMMER BOX SET IS A BARGIN, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Horror Series [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
well first of you will need a multi region dvd player this box set is not region 2. the 8 movies in this set are brides of dracula the curse of the werewolf disc 1 side A. phantom of the opera and paranoiac disc1 side B.the kiss of the vampire and nightmare disc 2 side A. night creatures aka capten clegg.and evil of frankenstein disc 2 side B .this is a great set at a good price if you buy the movies separte the price is well over 100 pounds .so if you like hammer films this is a must buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb bargain, 25 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Horror Series [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Unlike other buyers of this set, I experienced no problems with audio/visual quality. However, yet again I opened a brand new, factory-sealed DVD case and found the discs marked with scratches and finger prints. This is totally unacceptable - brand new DVDs should be in mint, pristine condition and not look like some secondhand purchase. What on earth goes on in the places where these things are manufactured!!??!!

This set is a bargain. Several of the films are available as individual features and would cumulatively cost more than this set if they were bought individually. With this package the price averages at something less than £2 per picture.

I was infuriated that I was obliged to pay Royal Mail an £8 "handling charge" before I could take delivery of this item. Royal Mail applies this charge to any package which has been intercepted by HM Customs. I was charged £3.06p Import VAT which I don't necessarily have a problem with. However, I do have a big problem with having to hand over a further £8 to Royal Mail in order to get my hands on my property.

If I owe HM Customs £3.06 it is up to them to contact me directly and give me the opportunity to pay online. They can then forward the package in the usual way. Why the hell should Royal Mail get involved? What entitles them to make these exorbitant charges? They did absolutely NOTHING to warrant making that £8 charge. The only service they provided was the one I had already paid for, i.e. delivering the item. This is nothing less than an act of legalised theft. It is utterly scandalous that this should be allowed to happen.

So, after paying postage on the item I had to pay the additional sum of £11.06p before I could take delivery of the goods I had already paid for. The total value of the order was £17.26p.

Yet another example of Rip Off Britain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great set of Hammer oldies, 18 Jan 2014
By 
Ken Raus "Ken Raus" (Lugdunum) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammer Horror Series [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This set of eight films hardly needs review although if you haven't the monochrome Paranoiac or Nightmare separately,you'll find them here and excellent they are,both concerned with madness and conspiracy...as another revueist says,Reed is an underrated actor but so was Linden also excellent in Russells Women in love.

The other six films are colour,one of which is the classic Curse of the Werewolf...I like complete credibility in film fiction so bought a Spanish lingo version but the two monochrome films wouldn't play,anyway and there is no French dub I know of for Phantom of the opera, probably not one of Hammers best efforts,whereas The evil of Frankenstein is available with a German dub which I already have as I do,Brides of Dracula.

Kiss of the vampire and Night Creatures were harder to get,like the two monochromes and all look to be fine prints and most are now available as separate discs in various versions-this is a bargain set,although extrasfree,perhaps because no spare room on cramped discs.THE CURSE OF THE WEREWOLF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can you picture a better cover?, 8 Nov 2012
This review is from: Hammer Horror Series [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Peter Cushing in a dramatic pose, Oliver Reed displayed in undoubtedly the best werewolf makeup ever done, on a glascine cover that slides off to display even more spooky environments beneath. I've put this edition on a plastic stand forefront of my prized dvd sets.
"Curse of the Werewolf" was the dominant reason for purchasing this set.
I actually discovered this movie after seeing the musical "Oliver" rendition of the Charles Dickens classic, in which Oliver Reed, as Bill Sykes scared the hell out of me as a young boy.
Well the additional film features included with this set proved extraordinary as well.
There are 4 fliks with Reed included in the set and in my mind this becomes a treasure for that reason alone, for I believe he was an exceptional actor. God bless him, we miss him.
Cushing, as has been noted frequently, is one of a very few definitive actors in this genre and in my mind defined the 'give it all you've got" attitude to acting. Of all the actors I could have a cup of tea with, he is foremost on my list. God bless him, he is missed.
So why own this set? I've just given two reasons but I'll provide one more.
It's HAMMER at their finest. Again, we have titles provided that are not readily available otherwise and to own such a compilation surpasses my expectations.
The films all display (for me) at excellent quality and I think the issues that were frustrating some at initial release have all been dealt with. At the price offered, it would be tragic to pass this up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hammer Horror Series [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£15.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews