Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finding Your Calling Friendship With God
When I first saw this on TV many years ago it blew me away.Eventually several years later I managed to order it from abroad.Richard Todd is an amazing actor.The film is based on the true story of Peter Marshall, the Scottish-born minister who left Scotland to fulfil his purpose in life and become a Chaplain of the US Senate.He becomes pastor of the prestigious Church...
Published on 12 July 2007 by S. A. FRANKLIN

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't able to watch the DVD as the DVD wasn't ...
Wasn't able to watch the DVD as the DVD wasn't compatible with my player (needed a multi regional player). Was not informed that it was for the USA market.
Published 2 months ago by Colin Lees


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finding Your Calling Friendship With God, 12 July 2007
By 
S. A. FRANKLIN (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man Called Peter [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
When I first saw this on TV many years ago it blew me away.Eventually several years later I managed to order it from abroad.Richard Todd is an amazing actor.The film is based on the true story of Peter Marshall, the Scottish-born minister who left Scotland to fulfil his purpose in life and become a Chaplain of the US Senate.He becomes pastor of the prestigious Church of the Presidents, in Washington D.C and serves as spiritual guide for the Seante.Marshall was a compelling speaker who inspired young people to renew thier interests in church,thought his faith should be fun and was a man of integrity.Love the part in the movie of meeting God on the clift top and his calling being confirmed,and knowing the call of God in His life, acknowledging it and seeing it through amidst all challenges facing him.An inspiring movie for all to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Religion without ridicule, 24 Jan 2010
By 
W. J. Marshall (southampton, hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man Called Peter [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This has to be the best ever film made by a major hollywood studio about christians and the christian faith.It is a forgotten gem,boasting superb performances and a script which paints as true a picture of christians as you are likely to see in a mainstream film.Richard Todd is superb in a performance which should have won him acting awards galore.This film is moving,touching and superb drama.As a christian i find this film both a challenge and a testimony to the power of God.See it and you will be moved to tears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man of God, 9 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man Called Peter [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Richard Todd plays Peter Marshall in this uplifting film of his life. It shows how he committed everything to God and how he rested on His promises. There are several scenes in which Peter gives a sermon. One where he answers the tired old question that is so often demanded - prove to me there is a God - is particularly challenging. He says,"I can't prove to you there is a God. How can my tiny mind prove the existance of so great a power? You say a flower is beautiful - prove to me that it's beautiful. There are some things you CAN'T prove."

In another sermon he speaks of death to a group of Navy personnel. He tells them how tomorrow is promised to no one but that death has lost it's sting and that it's like stepping into another room. The next night Pearl Harbour is bombed and these men and women are called to war.

Peter Marshall had a zest for life, joy in his heart and a deep love for and fellowship with God. He trusted God all the way and had a peace and contentment throughout his life that all true Christians have and sadly, atheists will never know or understand. This film shows that very, very well. It is a truly excellent production, I cannot praise it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... region 2 when the film stars one of our greatest British actors Richard Todd, 15 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man Called Peter [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Had to buy this in Region1 (US) as not available in Region 2(UK)
Why this film not released in region 2 when the film stars one of our greatest British actors Richard Todd. The film is a biopic and its
a very religious film , and very uplifting , as it portrays a man totally committed to his faith in the boss(Jesus Christ) as he puts it in the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MAN CALLED PETER, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man Called Peter [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I DID NOT ANY THING ABOUT THIS MOVIE AND IT STARTED RICHARD TODD WELL STORY ABOUT YOU PERSON CALLED PETER WHO WANTED BE SAILOR AND ALL OF SUDDEN SOMETHING CHANGED HIM I WILL NOT GO IN TO DETAIL THIS IS FAMILY FILM I DEAL FOR ANY TIME OF THE YEAR PICTURE GOOD SOUND GOOD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truth based testimonial, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Ann Turner "Christian" (Huddersfield, W Y, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man Called Peter [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Loved this as a young woman and now I see why as it's a story of courageous young woman who meets with God and a good man. A good combination which proved mightily fruitful in their ministry under Holy Spirit guidance. A good film and encouraging for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw this movie 58 years ago when I was 15 years old and it made a great impression on me.
To be able to access it now and watch it is great. I recommend it to anyone who is seeking God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man Called Peter [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Aman called peter is a very inspiring film ,I would recommend this film to every one,it shows what you can do if you try
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FILM, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man Called Peter [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
ONE OF THE BEST FILMS I HAVE SEEN FOR A LONG TIME,RICHARD TODD IS A GREAT ACTOR.LOOK FOREWORD TO SEEING MORE OF HIS FILMS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A heartwarming and inspiring film, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man Called Peter [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
An excellent, if slightly dated film. Should be essential viewing for all feminists who should listen to the wisdom expressed in the speech made by Peter's future wife. Sadly I feel this message along with the general theme of this true story is destined to be lost. If you dare let yourself be warmed and inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man Called Peter [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£5.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews