Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best gay films around
(See synopsis above)

This is a very touching and wonderful film about a promiscuous gay man Christian (Wes Ramsey) who makes a bet with his friends that he will sleep with one of the Mormon boys, Aaron, who has moved into his block. Yet the more Christian gets to know Aaron (played beautifully by Steve Sandvoss) the more he realises what a superficial and...
Published on 19 May 2006 by H. R. Trigg

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear
One word for this movie is Awful. Another word is terrible. What a waste of time and money. If i had my way i wouldnt even rate it one star.
Published 12 months ago by Sakazoke


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best gay films around, 19 May 2006
By 
H. R. Trigg "howietUK" (Swindon, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latter Days (DVD)
(See synopsis above)

This is a very touching and wonderful film about a promiscuous gay man Christian (Wes Ramsey) who makes a bet with his friends that he will sleep with one of the Mormon boys, Aaron, who has moved into his block. Yet the more Christian gets to know Aaron (played beautifully by Steve Sandvoss) the more he realises what a superficial and shallow life he leads, and begins to fall in love with the Mormon lad (who is suppressing his homosexual tendencies). Once the `church' finds out about Aaron's sexuality, he not only has to deal with his own issues with being gay but also the repercussions within his Mormon family and church. This film really surprised me; it's got a real heart to it, and deals with the subject matter in a sensitive and respectful way. I must admit to shedding some tears during the film and it's the kind of film you can watch over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving film - I loved it, 30 Jun. 2008
By 
Andrew (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latter Days (DVD)
I found this film very moving. You are left wondering what has happened half way through like one of the main characters and you can't really be sure but you hope and hope and then....
I loved the film, the two leads are very attractive and the story of their love so romantic (yet a harsh story) you will be very touched. It grabs your attention and feelings and holds onto them. Highly recommended. The extra with cast interviews is also good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did I say charming?, 8 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latter Days (DVD)
There's no doubt that Steve Sandvoss is the best thing about Latter Days and makes this film unmissable. Mesmerizingly handsome, as the sweet-natured idealistic Mormon missionary who has to deal with both his awareness of his sexuality and his religion's condemnation of homosexuality, he gives a performance that will charm the pants off you! He brings such a sweet naivety to the role, and such likability, even when the dialogue is clunky you somehow are convinced by him, and more than a little in love!

Phew, well, the rest of the cast is also excellent. The characters are probably a little too stereotypical for comfort but they are drawn and acted beautifully, and I empathized with all. Wes Ramsey as the beautiful and shallow party boy of the relationship is comparatively, a little too cardboard and not wholly convincing. The excellent Jaqueline Bisset's character seems inspired by Mrs Madrigal from Tales of the City and so unoriginal, and Joseph Gordon-Levitt (so good in 3rd Rock!) as the Mormon with attitude is somewhat wasted but very good. Erik Palladino - as Keith Griffin who is suffering from AIDS - deserves a mention, his performance is very moving, funny and convincing.

This film is obviously far from perfect. It hasn't the best of scripts and there are some filmic ideas to contend with that I personally found a touch crass and jarring, and so much feels formulaic, just tick the boxes! Although heartfelt, the soundtrack has little subtlety, which is unfortunate in that music plays quite a significant part in the film, but some of the songs are sweet and work well enough in context.

What this film has in abundance is charm, you get the feeling that the cast and crew meshed well, and it was obviously a labour of love of C. J. Fox, the writer and director, the idea having come from his own experiences as a Mormon youth. There is a lot of skill in evidence in both the directing and writing that would definitely make me seek out C. J. Fox films with the expectation that things can only get better, and I'd love to see what he could do with a bigger budget.

Sentimental romantic that I am - which can make me very forgiving - I loved it! I know it's a film I will go back to and watch again and again, and so would recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch this, it's worth it!, 14 April 2009
This review is from: Latter Days (DVD)
I think the writer/directors idea of taking who he was and who he is and sticking them in a film together is a really interesting one. I love the subtle humour in this. The two leads play the parts really well and have chemistry on screen and of course, they are very appealing to the eye!!! The supporting characters just add to the film. I knew the ending before I saw this, but still find Christian taking the watch back to Aarons mum quite moving. I like the whole it's fated parts of this film, it didn't feel like forced fate. A,'oh that's very convenient' type of fate. All in all I love this film. It gives me the happy ending I wanted, plus the fact I think religion should never win over love, especially when so bigoted. I like the fact that characters redeem themselves or try to in a sense too. ie Ryder, Aarons mum. Good way of showing people aren't just one thing. Even with my no time for religion, I found it good to see that the Mormon characters were shown as young blokes, farting, messing around, moaning etc ie still being young blokes who just happened to be religious. Loved also we see Aaron who's quite deep, but showing he has a sense of humour and Christian who comes across as a 'marshmallow peep' isn't all he seems.
The bleakness of Aarons being 'de-gay'd' contrast well against the rest of the film and left me thinking how sad it was people think these places need to exist and that people feel they need to go to them. All in all this is a great film. It takes the light and makes it amusing, while building a convincing love story and takes the dark and makes it bleak and then of course, my happy ending I eagerly awaited!!!! Buy this, rent this, whatever you do, just see it. It's well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb feel good movie time after time, 17 April 2007
By 
Andrew Browning (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latter Days (DVD)
This surely has to be one of the all time best Gay films of the last decade. Beautifully written and touches on emotions that i think all of us can associate with. The story tells of Christian, a waiter and party & man animal accepting a bet to corrupt young Aaron, an out of town Mormon Missionary, and the resulting emotions, tears, humour & at times thought provoking moments that accompany the journey of these 2 - rather stunning - young men. The film did indeed end in a few tears, not only for the characters - but for me also. Touching, humourous and a film you will want to watch again and again basically sums it up! The only downside, has to be the crying scenes - where the acting coach obvioulsly wasn't present!! But see for yourselves!

The soundtrack is also worth a listen to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Honest Look at Homophobia within the Mormon Church., 26 April 2011
By 
Malcolm (Edlesborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latter Days (DVD)
I found this film was an honest attempt to re-create what has to be a 'true story' for more than a few young Mormon males. Steve Sandvoss portrays a sensitive, loving, yet vulnerable young man (Aaron) who has the 'misfortune' to fall in love with a guy whilst serving his two year term
as an LDS/Mormon missionary in Los Angeles.

Coming from a religion which 'mind-controls' it's youth from baptism (age 8) through to adulthood, with the belief that any form of sexual activity outside of male to female marriage, is a crime on a par with murder, Aaron is dragged back home, taken before a church court, excommunicated and forced into a treatment facility for being gay.

That is the basis of the film, but as this happens on a daily basis to some poor soul, I do wish that C.Jay Cox, could have made time for some discussion within the film of the Mormon church's teaching that "It is better that my Son come home dead, in a pine box, than return home having lost his virtue (chastity). The director Mr. Cox made a brave statement in making this film but it does not go far enough into the issues. Perhaps he still has family in the LDS church and did not wish
to rock the boat too much.

It does to some extent, sidestep, Mormon attitudes towards 'sexual sin'. Any form of sexual liason straight or gay is seen as evil. The one time President of the church David O.McKay said, "Your virtue (chastity) is worth more than your life". That teaching still prevails in 2012. Too many young Mormons of both genders have committed suicide when all they needed was love and a shoulder to lean on. Most Mormon's are decent people but they still follow the rule that allows young people with sexuality worries, to feel self-hate. We can only hope that this "one true church" as the LDS church claims itself to be, becomes more Christ-like in it's attitudes but knowing it's history
this is highly unlikely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant change-of-heart film, unusually focussing on Mormons, 27 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latter Days (DVD)
It says a little about how little I think before buying a DVD that it was only some way into the DVD that I realised the meaning of the film title.

Christian is a slightly stereotypical west coast gay hedonist. Aaron is a deadly earnest Mormon missionary, all white shirt and tie and customarily doing all in a pair (each to protect the other from exposure to temptations). Christian, ironic name if ever there was one, makes a bet he can lay one of the missionaries and sets his sight on Aaron. In the process of achieving his ambition, at a price, he finds value in Aaron's calmer lifestyle and encounters the best and worst of the world of religious zealotry.

Steve Sandvoss plays Aaron with gentle subtlety, Christian is played as more shallow and therefore it can be hard to tell what is Wes Ramsey's acting and what is down to the character of the part. Joseph Gordon-Levitt, who has been outstanding in other films, has a role in the film, but frankly did not stand out enough for me to ask myself who played that part. You have to suspend disbelief here and there at how events pan out, but overall it is a good film to watch and a recommended buy.

One observation - Aaron and Christian meet just outside the airport building at a stopover. The location seems identical to that in North by North West - does anyone know if it is?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching and sincere, 20 July 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latter Days (DVD)
This was a joy to watch. I loved this film. Though the story line is a little slow in places and you wish that Christian and Aaron would just get a room, it's well written and has a touching story line to it.

I don't mind admitting that I was touched with the sentiment at the end of the film when Aaron and Christian finally get back together. Nor do I mind saying that I truely felt sorry for Aaron when his parents put him in a correctional facility thinking that he could be "cured".

This was a film that I really enjoyed watching and would recommend watching to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rigid Cult, Damaged Souls: L.D.S. Mormonism's Impact Movingly Depicted, 16 Jan. 2013
By 
Gerald Parker "Gerald Parker" (Rouyn-Noranda, QC., Dominion of Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Latter Days (DVD)
So many other Amazon.ca reviews of "Latter Days" have said enough about most aspects of this wonderful film, that I just want to limit my comments to the very genuine realism of the movie's depiction of the Church [i.e. cult] of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The maternal side of my family hails from Utah, my mother having been born in Salt Lake City, and when she reverted to the L.D.S. cult (having been physically tortured as a young child into becoming a member of a Baptist sect by the third of my Mormon grandfather's many, many wives, most of whom were not Mormon, thankfully, though crazed enough in other ways) she dragged my step-father, half-brother, half-sister, and me into the L.D.S. cult along with her.

Some folks will think that this motion picture's portrayal of the L.D.S. Mormon cult surely is exaggerated. Not so. This is far from either morbid Mormon-bashing, on the one hand, or from laugh-provoking humour at Mormon expense; of the latter sort of thing, one thinks of the scene in the gay erotic video, "The Bella Villa" (a William Higgins International production), in which a persistent doorbell ringer interrupts two naked gay men, the young man at the door resembling at first glance a pesky L.D.S. Mormon missionary (alone, however, not with a companion!), but who turns out to be either a dildoe-delivery dude or door-to-door salesman of such sex toys. The depressing depiction of L.D.S. Mormonism (which requires no overstatement to make its impact) in "Latter Days" is right in detail, in mood, in its repressiveness, in the uptight culture that this cult breeds in every way (and which, incidentally, do not compensate adequately for such good aspects of L.D.S. Mormonism as its zeal for higher education and its appealing hymnody and choral tradition that are so musically notable).

I wept when I saw this film, so true to my memories and extensive knowledge of L.D.S. Mormonism is this movie. The scene of the "church trial" that the wayward gay missionary undergoes is unbelievably, suffocatingly, and realistically evocative of the funeral home decor, gloom, and stifling atmosphere of a L.D.S. "ward" or "stake" house (i.e. the equivalent of what would be a local church or meeting house in Christian terms), of the legalistic, unbending self-righteousness of the bishop and elders judging the gay missionary without even the slightest trace of human compassion or understanding, and all the rest of the "kangaroo court" proceedings of this scene. However, it is when the lad frees himself at last from his Mormon bondage and joins up with his non-Mormon ("gentile" in L.D.S. lingo) boyfriend, back in California, that is the point at which I lost my composure, the first time (in a cinema theatre) that I saw it, and sobbed uncontrollably from the emotion of seeing him drop his L.D.S. Mormon shackles.

A note to non-Mormon viewers is not to confuse the L.D.S. cult (i.e. the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, based in Salt Lake City, Utah) with the R.L.D.S. (Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints) church (now preferring to use the name Community of Christ, with its principal institutions based in Independence, Missouri, and Lamoni, Iowa, in the U.S.A, with Canadian headquarters in Guelph, Ont.), which is Christian, trinitarian, renowned for its peace orientation and generous spirit. There is no need for a film which would reveal the nature of the R.L.D.S. (Community of Christ) denomination, since this denomination is rather harmless, but yet more films like "Latter Days" are essential to unmask the worthlessness and oppressive institutional wickedness of the Utah-based L.D.S. Mormon cult.

I do not, as a Lutheran Christian (having reverted after Mormonism to my step-father's childhood Christian tradition) condone homosexuality (even if I struggle with it myself, often quite unsuccessfully), but neither do I believe that any religious group should have the unloving harshness towards gay people that the L.D.S. Mormon cult in post-W.W. II times has become notorious for displaying and acting upon. Thankfully, my entire family, immediate and extended, has left L.D.S. Mormonism and converted to Protestant Christianity, with the exception of one very dear elderly lady, who, fortunately but all too untypically, is in no wise the kind of biggot, despite her misguided loyalty to the L.D.S. cult and to her Utah family roots, that so many L.D.S. Mormon women and their men are; there are folks even in the most disastrously negative cults whose spirits rise above the meanness of which their religion reeks.

See this film, buying the DVD of it from Amazon.ca to view it again and again, and pity those L.D.S. missionaries who come to your door, and, more importantly, refuse to believe their deceptive tactics and rhetoric, which this movie so compellingly reveals in all their ugliness. This is more than a movie; it is a vivid learning tool about a negative socio-religious phenomenom that deserves rebuke and the opprobrium in which this film covers it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The First Mormon to Rock since The Osmond's (probably)!, 1 Mar. 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Latter Days (DVD)
This has been on my `to watch' list for ages, so I finally got to see what all the fuss was about and was pleasantly surprised. It stars Steven Sandvoss as Elder Aaron Davis (a Mormon missionary), he has been sent to L.A. to bring the word of God to the uninitiated. He moves into an apartment opposite Christian (Wes Ramsey) who is a waiter who likes to hook up with gay men whenever possible, i.e. all the ruddy time.

In a pique of post work stupidity his co workers challenge him to `turn' one of the Mormons. He has already spotted Aaron and likes what he sees and wastes very little time in `going for it'. Big problem is that whilst having many wives was ok in the Mormon religion, being with a man is absolutely verboten. This point is rammed home by a sprightly Joseph Gordon-Levitt (Elder Paul Ryder) who, as ever, puts in a short but excellent performance (see `Mysterious Skin').

Whilst Christian may have been motivated by cash, it soon becomes painfully clear that he has genuine feelings for Aaron who comes across as a caring, loving and devout young man. What transpires will pull them apart and leave them guessing as to how to move on.

I really enjoyed this film; it is well acted, directed and filmed and tells a very difficult story with care and compassion. C.J. Cox who both wrote and directed this has clearly done a piece straight from the heart and it shows in the attention to detail. All of the supporting actors are above good and no-one is black an d white. Just as in real life people are a mix of what has influenced them and the old battle between nature and nurture is played to the full. An offbeat enjoyable and sometimes challenging drama - I hope you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Latter Days
Latter Days by Jorge Furtado (DVD - 2005)
£6.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews