Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last!
I don't know why it took so long for the second series of this fantastic show to come out on DVD - it feels as if I have been waiting for an eternity! This show is so well written and so well acted that you truly believe these characters are real. So much so that when I saw my favourite character Janice, in the Heat magazine adverts, I nearly passed out. Really, everyone...
Published on 3 Aug 2005 by salemskye.com

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too short
Some good scenes and certainly worth having at the price but not up to the standard of the first series.
I think the problem with the second series is that too many new characters - Claire's sister, Kenny's girlfriend, the Spanish goalkeeper, the publisher and his daughter - are introduced. Since this is only a 6 x c.25' series there just isn't enough time to...
Published on 14 April 2010 by Ulrome


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last!, 3 Aug 2005
This review is from: The Book Group: The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
I don't know why it took so long for the second series of this fantastic show to come out on DVD - it feels as if I have been waiting for an eternity! This show is so well written and so well acted that you truly believe these characters are real. So much so that when I saw my favourite character Janice, in the Heat magazine adverts, I nearly passed out. Really, everyone should have this DVD in their collection (along with the first series), as it is a show you have to watch again and again to actually hear every joke and aside, see every gesture and facial expression, and experience every joyful moment. James Lance for once, is NOT desireable - and it takes genius to pull that off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book Group - Welcome Back!, 10 Aug 2005
By 
F. V. L. Buliciri (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book Group: The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
After such a long wait for Series 2 of The Book Group to come onto DVD the magic moment has finally arrived. The Book Group has been one of the most original, wittiest and unforgettable black comedies to hit our screens in recent years. It's a pity that it hasn't attracted the same massive following like Sex and The City or Footballer's Wives.
American ex-pat Claire and her international group of readers have returned and this series has certainly proved to be more entertaining than the first series. I found Janice's love triangle with Rab and his Spanish boyfriend Anselmo highly amusing as well as Claire's rivalry with her sister Jean who comes to Scotland to visit her. It's interesting to see Kenny's developments as a character throughout the second series when he's the first member of the Book Group to get his book published and the events that unfold in his life because of this.
There is so much to enjoy in the second series so anyone who loved The Book Group the first time will not be disappointed with this follow up. The Book Group will always hold a special place in my heart because I set up my own reading group at work because I loved this series so much. One year my group is still going strong and I've certainly learned to look and appreciate books in a different way due to the influence of this brilliant programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Sometime its written just the way that you said", 25 Jun 2013
By 
Transatlantique (Nowheresville, Oklahoma) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Group: The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
The second series takes the viewer to a new level introducing even more memorable and interesting characters. I won't talk about plot lines, favourite characters and such because that borders on spoiling it for those who haven't previously seen it. Refer to my first review of the first series. However, it is a nice change on the opening sequence with the boat moving across the loch.

Unlike the first series, there are no extras, except for subtitles, on this DVD. It would have been nice to have seen outtakes and more interviews with the additional cast member Karen Kilgariff, and the guest appearances of Andoni Gracia and Kerry McGregor.

However, I will reiterate that; it is filmed in a widescreen aspect ratio, and you will have to adjust the viewer on your widescreen telly so that it will present 16:9 without the letterbox-for-1:33-screens black borders. It would have been nice for this to have been formatted for widescreen televisions as that is the way it was filmed. The quality of it is good, but would have been nicer with a finer transfer. Maybe its my player. Again, blu ray would have been extraordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking for more, 9 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Book Group: The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
I have just found this series and am hooked. However, after watching series 1 and 2, please please can we have more. Love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky and fun, 14 May 2012
By 
Eolake "eolake (.com)" (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Group: The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
It's quite different from series one, especially that it swims in sex scenes. But they are comedic and intelligent, just like the show as a whole. Very dry and off-beat comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic read., 16 Mar 2011
By 
David K. Thomson "dkthomson" (Aylesbury, Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Group: The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this series avidly when it was first broadcast. All I can say is that it has lost none of its humour or charm. An absolute must for a lover of British humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rare occurrence, 5 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Book Group: The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
Sequels or second series are rarely as good as the original but the threads of the sub plots continued with many unexpected twists. If anything funnier than the first series and all this for the price quoted is a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too short, 14 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Group: The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
Some good scenes and certainly worth having at the price but not up to the standard of the first series.
I think the problem with the second series is that too many new characters - Claire's sister, Kenny's girlfriend, the Spanish goalkeeper, the publisher and his daughter - are introduced. Since this is only a 6 x c.25' series there just isn't enough time to develop them without edging the established characters out of the way, which is what happens.
A pity C4 couldn't have managed a longer run - say ten episodes rather than six - then it might have worked as well as series 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but well worth it., 3 Feb 2009
By 
Billy Blues (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Book Group: The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
There's so much to love about this show that even when it falls short of the brilliant first season, it's still ten times better than most other shows out there. The characters are all brilliantly drawn, and the story lines are unique. In short, not as great as the wonderful season preceding it, but if you loved that, you'll have to see this, (and for the most part), you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Second series - second best, 7 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: The Book Group: The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
The first series of the Book Group was original, quirky and altogether fascinating and is a must see. The second series, while retaining some of these elements veres off in an odd direction. At times, a little post-modern, sometimes sentimental, sometimes hilarious and at others a little more like bad porn. I was disappointed with this series after raving to all about series 1. I suspect that for completeness you should see both but the first series is the one on which to concentrate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book Group: The Complete Second Series [DVD]
5.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews